Did Someone Say KFC?

What's the story with Chris Mayne? Of all our players, he would be the one who most resembles a chook, but maybe it's my wild imagination.

Hahaha …

… you know Claris Mayne is vegan, right?

bammac

Jun 22, 2010
Hawkes Bay Magpies
I would prefer that we retained the image of a working class team and having KFC as a sponsor certainly helps in that regard.

The Dogs are seen as the working class club, I don't think we have been considered working class in the last 20 odd years. Not with the the record membership numbers and partnership deals over that period.

Any logo on footy gear looks sh*t. The names given to stadiums which change with the sponsors are sh*t. The commercialisation of the game and many other things in life is sh*t. Which is why I don't care much who sponsors our club. I don't like the logos on merchandise or the players costumes but it's a fact of life now.

There are many reasons why sponsors get on board …

(1) To raise awareness of a new product into a marketplace. Eg: MG cars (Port Adelaide)

(2) To maintain awareness of an established product in the marketplace. Eg: Hyundai (Carlton)

(3) To raise awareness and profile of a brand in the marketplace for staff recruitment purposes. eg: Woodside (Freo)

(4) To raise the national profile of a local brand. Eg: XL Express (Lions)

(5) To lay the foundation for a local AFL team. Eg: Tasmania (Hawthorn)

(6) To legitimise / sanitise a brand that isn’t all rainbows and fairy dust. Eg: KFC, McDonalds, Coke, etc, etc.

Given preferences, you’d want a sponsor partner based on reasons 1…5 ahead of reason 6.

Sep 29, 2004
Merimbula
Bengals
Aren’t the “Hard Yakka” jumpers highly valued?
Indeed. Also have the black version and the white version of the Yakka training jumpers.

Attachments

• E676264A-897C-4841-9E2F-5A3F68CF325E.jpeg
    E676264A-897C-4841-9E2F-5A3F68CF325E.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 29
Somebody posted earlier in this thread, around a $ few million a year

Doesn't sound that much? So in effect the AFL could have gotten rid of jumper sponsors by simply not increasing the salary cap between 2016 and now.

It seems to me that all of these "necessary" revenue streams are simply so that industry salaries can continue to inflate ridiculously.

What's the story with Chris Mayne? Of all our players, he would be the one who most resembles a chook, but maybe it's my wild imagination.
Chook? Good looking rooster I'd say.

1637489891979.jpeg

All the grievances of sponsors from the SJWs:

1. KFC - Junk food, unethical, polluting, violent, aggravating, toxic-masculine brand.

Not sure being anti junk food makes someone a SJW ? I’ve known Pauline Hanson devotees who wouldn’t go anywhere near fast food with your mouth.

Haven’t heard the “polluting“ angle before, what are we talking about, farting chickens?

Haven’t heard the ”violent“ or “aggravating” angle either, what are we talking about, the Colonel getting into utensil fighting? Pretty sure that’s illegal.

And “toxic masculine”? No.

What else is there?

Not sure being anti junk food makes someone a SJW ? I’ve known Pauline Hanson devotees who wouldn’t go anywhere near fast food with your mouth.

Haven’t heard the “polluting“ angle before, what are we talking about, farting chickens?

Haven’t heard the ”violent“ or “aggravating” angle either, what are we talking about, the Colonel getting into utensil fighting? Pretty sure that’s illegal.

Nothing masculating about men acquiring KFC boobs.

snagbreac

Sep 13, 2021
Man City, BHAFC, Washington FT

What else is there?
SJWs are all for natural living. KFC disturbs this.

Pollution: factory farms and waste, the slaughter process, air pollution from drive thrus (Google it).

Violent: KFC farms have got a long history of cruelty.

Aggravating: Have you ever seen SJWs vs KFC eaters? Violent as.

Toxic masculinity - SJWs can make that out of anything.

I've amended it to avoid an argument.

Trickster

Jul 27, 2014
New Orleans Saints
Did KFC get hammered to this extent when they sponsored the big bash?

Maybe they'll give us those big buckets (in black and white of course) instead of membership caps this year...

In this day and age and after the year we've had, our brand is probably not as premium as it was before. Throw in covid and reduced dollars and tbh I'd be happy to have landed a decent sponsorship deal.

I personally think we have bigger concerns as a club and supporters. For those that don't like it and are aggrieved, and that's fair enough if so, people have choices on what they can do. Similar to those who now want to eat more KFC. Do whatever suits.

Extending that further, for those that want to view the AFL sponsors, there's as many there that are in the same category and beyond.

Did KFC get hammered to this extent when they sponsored the big bash?

Big Bash is a league, not a club. There’s not the emotive attachment to a league like there is to a club. If KFC started sponsoring the AFL, nobody would care one way or the other.

watt price tully

Nov 2, 2012
SJWs are all for natural living. KFC disturbs this.

Pollution: factory farms and waste, the slaughter process, air pollution from drive thrus (Google it).

Violent: KFC farms have got a long history of cruelty.

Aggravating: Have you ever seen SJWs vs KFC eaters? Violent as.

Toxic masculinity - SJWs can make that out of anything.

I've amended it to avoid an argument.

You mean this?

"Chickens' throats are slit and the animals are dropped into tanks of scalding-hot water to remove their feathers, often while they are still conscious and able to feel pain. KFC lets frustrated factory-farm and slaughterhouse workers handle live birds, so many of the animals end up being sadistically abused." from: Why KFC? - Kentucky Fried Cruelty

What I don't understand is besides the ethical considerations ( & that's a pretty big besides) why go for unhealthy products? In case anyone didn't notice there's an obesity epidemic out there and a diabetes type 2 epidemic out there caused in large part by eating processed foods. Why be promoting unhealthy fatty foods whose advertising often targets kids?

lenny&carl

Sep 23, 2003
#1 Daft Prick
Poor people could buy $10 worth of ingredients and make a lovely healthy meal. Takeaway conglomerates pumping out ‘cheap’ food appeals to the masses for convenience not a healthy cheaper option.
People are lazy, people are fat and people are accustomed and nurtured towards it from a young age. Fine piece of marketing and consumer wants given over for. What kid doesn’t want, need or have a birthday party at Maccas?
But people pushing the ‘cheap food‘ alternative are kidding themselves.

Yeah, we delegate health and fitness to "the stars" while smoking drinking gamblng eating fast food... and watching them on the telly.

lenny&carl

Sep 23, 2003
#1 Daft Prick
So your solution is for all non-indigenous folk to leave Collingwood, Fitzroy and St Kilda as starters, then gradually clear out of the rest of the country, creating a refugee crisis of 26 million people pouring from planes and boats into foreign lands. Great idea and so practical too!

Anything else is intellectual ignorance, apparently.