Diet, Supplements and Enhancers

Just want some advice on eggs. I'm currently eating 3 eggs per day except for the weekends. I consume the whole egg. Usually I have two for breakfast and in the afternoon I will mix one in with milk.

I keep hearing a lot about cholesterol and eggs. Are eggs really that bad for you?

The last couple of years I have been eating a lot of tuna as well. I have heard rumblings that too much tuna isn't good for your health either. Is there any truth to this?

NB/ I eat a lot of eggs and tuna because they are cheap ways to get protein. I don't want to spend heaps of money on supplements which I reckon are overated.

i know people who eat 15 eggs a day, they're fine. I'm no doctor though *shrug*

Found this site

Bulknutrients.com.au - In terms of products it's fantastic. Looking at making up some of my own pre and post workout drinks (for a far less cost than the big brands) with what they have to offer (Beta Alanine, BCAA's, Creatine etc)

Another great cheap site that Mofra got me on to is Puresupplementpowders.com, their product line isn't as big but again good prices.

A much better alternative to all the big branded supplements

On the above point, I would never recommend someone to have a shake instead of eggs, however the difference in cost relative to the amount of protein you are getting from each product would be fairly similar.

And yes, there is no problem unless you have a history of high cholesterol as stated above. Even then its easily fixed by taking out a couple of the yolks.

Interesting point.

Next time I'm at the shop I'll buy 5kg's of Steak to get the equivalent of a couple of teaspoons of BCAA's :thumbsu:

It's much, much cheaper to buy amino acids separately. I eat 3 High protein meals a day (Chicken, beef etc) and would get no where the amount of Amino Acids that my body can utilise. Therefore supplements do wonders.

Interesting point.

Next time I'm at the shop I'll buy 5kg's of Steak to get the equivalent of a couple of teaspoons of BCAA's :thumbsu:

It's much, much cheaper to buy amino acids separately. I eat 3 High protein meals a day (Chicken, beef etc) and would get no where the amount of Amino Acids that my body can utilise. Therefore supplements do wonders.

LOL...sounds like you're reading straight from the label

How the **** did anyone ever get big and strong before shoveling "AMINO ACIDS" and "PROTEIN" down their gullet by the spoonful ?

Think about what you're saying.

If you eat big and eat right and train heavy, none of that supplement s**t you buy will make any difference except in your head. Apart from using creatine years ago, which may or may not have a small effect, the only supplement i ever used was cod liver oil capsules, because i am allergic to seafood.

YOU NEED TO EAT 16,000,000 COWS AND 90 ACRES OF WHEAT TO GET THE BENEFITS OF JUST ONE SPOONFUL OF SUCKER SUPP!!!!

haha, you again? I understand you bagging some supplements but Amino Acids? Come off it.

What me again?

You need to get off the whole "i need supplements" mindset. How long have you been training? Why don't you try food and weights first, then when you hit a wall try supplements? Then you'll see the truth.

Try iron addicts and muscletalk for info

http://www.ironaddicts.com/
muscletalk.co.uk

If there is a point to taking any supplements you'll find out exactly the what/how/when/why/how much on those sites

I can see how pros might want to take alot of supplements, often they're training twice a day, their bodies are massive, their bodies are trained over decades to use every mg of s**t they pour down their throats

Thanks for the site; they recommend plenty of good sites to buy supps from :D:thumbsu:

I know exactly what you're saying however, you're preaching to the wrong person I don't take supplements because they will make me huge, I take them to assist in any way possible, especially during Uni holidays, where I am working full time lifting 5 days a week as part of my job. When I get back into Uni I will most likely have to cut down my supp expenditure and rely more on home cooking.

Further, I'll be the first person to tell a newbie to stay away from supplements, just like you do, because of the points you mentioned above. To say you don't need supplements is 100% correct, to say they are useless is just ignorance.

Thanks for the site; they recommend plenty of good sites to buy supps from :D:thumbsu:

I know exactly what you're saying however, you're preaching to the wrong person I don't take supplements because they will make me huge, I take them to assist in any way possible, especially during Uni holidays, where I am working full time lifting 5 days a week as part of my job. When I get back into Uni I will most likely have to cut down my supp expenditure and rely more on home cooking.

Further, I'll be the first person to tell a newbie to stay away from supplements, just like you do, because of the points you mentioned above. To say you don't need supplements is 100% correct, to say they are useless is just ignorance.

Obviously, it's a huge industry. As i said, unless you need them imo there is no point. I take CLO because i need it. Then again i'm an AS user, i don't really need those :)

Find it kind of ironic that you're going on about "eating and training right" before resorting to supplements, yet you're the only one on this board that's taken the short cut of anabolic steroids.

The only one who admits it at least. There have been plenty of questions and queries about AS on here over the years....i assume they're not all just for the sake of conversation

You know well enough i'd trained and done powerlifting on and off for a decade before i ever touched AS.

How can it be a short cut if you've already done the hard yards? A short cut is hitting the juice at 19 or 20, not at 30 and with 10 years of hard work and injuries.

Anyway, i have nothing against supplements except for the ones that don't work. In my experience and from knowing plenty of people who train the only supplements that work as advertised is AS. If someone is going to spend hundreds of dollars a year on all sorts of stupid supplements, why not just do a well educated and well managed course of AS? There's a reason AS are illegal or prohibited....they actually ****ing work. Why do you think most of the task force/star group police in Australia are on the juice? Ever trained at an army gym in Townsville for example? Huge juice culture. Again, because it's the only thing that works.The second any of these legal supplements worked even 1/10th as effectively as AS they would be prohibited as well.

How many of these wonder supplements....amino acids and proteins and all that rubbish...how many of them are banned from professional sports? None....what does that tell you?

/goes and guzzels a MUG of NOxplode.... :D

for what it's worth i'm not really into amino acids either, eat protein for mine

and from what i hear, roids are in all the commercial gyms these days aren't they? or at least easily easy to get...

for what it's worth i'm not really into amino acids either, eat protein for mine

and from what i hear, roids are in all the commercial gyms these days aren't they? or at least easily easy to get...

yeah there is alot of sustanon, HGH, dianabol and stanazol being done, especially by young guys, footy players etc. Primobolan is in demand as well but harder to get for casuals and it is expensive

I think the demand for HGH from older men is pretty high, especially if you go to yuppy gyms there are alot of mid life crisis types smashing the back out of HGH. They think it is the elixir of youth. The same types with brand new tatts trying to make everyone think they are old school tatts.

heavier duty stuff like cypionate and enanthate, which i am stacking atm, not so much as younger/footy player types fear the side effects

As far as roids go, it's easy to get, pretty cheap and not particularly high priority for cops except for traffickers i guess. They would look pretty ****en stupid if they went hard on juice when half the force is on it anyway. You see the size of some of the star group/task force guys getting around? Whether on TV or in the CBD or whatever on a night out...some of those guys are monsters.....

They would look pretty ****en stupid if they went hard on juice when half the force is on it anyway. You see the size of some of the star group/task force guys getting around? Whether on TV or in the CBD or whatever on a night out...some of those guys are monsters.....

It's obvious that many in Australian forces (police/military) are juicing, predominantly specialist units. Now I'm aware I'm being naive here but just how do they get away with it considering drug policy's and testing methods in place?

Personally i don't know, i'm not privy to drug testing policies in whatever service. It's possible state police might not get tested for steroids? Or masking agents. As you and i have both said, specialist units are definitely using it. Not that i give a s**t either way, good luck to 'em.

In the army, specifically the infantry, i would say there has to be an unofficial policy of don't ask don't tell or something, because i've trained in military gyms in townsville in the last 2 years and i can tell you with 100% certainty some of those guys are juicing. Even in the local footy leagues up there (AFL) they stand out like dogs balls. I'm not sure what real benefit there is for them, being top heavy. Cops i can understand, having to deal with some big, out of control units on the street. But grunts...i dunno. I've heard stories of huge juiced up yanks in afghanistan who can't handle more than a couple days out bush because of how massive they are. But i haven't been there myself so take that with a grain of salt.

But grunts...i dunno. I've heard stories of huge juiced up yanks in afghanistan who can't handle more than a couple days out bush because of how massive they are. But i haven't been there myself so take that with a grain of salt.
If you're carrying a Minimi and somehow end up with the radio pack, I dare say you'd prefer to be built like Arnie rather than Lance Armstong ;)

Pilots and some higher risk jobs get drug tested on a semi-regular basis too, yet some of these guys don't have a problem with occasional pills or lines. In my time in the forces the only drug testing I ever had done was urine which makes it pretty dificult to catch anyone from what I hear. If you're got a good operator in an area of staff shortage, drug testing would be pretty low on the list of priorities.

Unless they're hitting dat dere celltech pretty hard...

Thanks to the Pez Despenser and origninally Mofra I think for the http://www.puresupplementpowders.com/ website.
I ordered some creatine, whey concentrate and casein from them at 10pm on the 22nd of December... and it was here at 10am this morning, on the 24th. Pretty bloody good service.

A question for my fellow supplementers, how on earth do you measure out the correct quantities for those sups? :D

You can use scales or use a teaspoon (~5g) Tablespoon (~10g)

Sounds to me like Shcism has a problem with the advertising industry.Direct your anger at the Power Balance Bands while you're at it :thumbsu:
Everyone knows you can't believe everything you read.

Just want some advice on eggs. I'm currently eating 3 eggs per day except for the weekends. I consume the whole egg. Usually I have two for breakfast and in the afternoon I will mix one in with milk.

I keep hearing a lot about cholesterol and eggs. Are eggs really that bad for you?

The last couple of years I have been eating a lot of tuna as well. I have heard rumblings that too much tuna isn't good for your health either. Is there any truth to this?

NB/ I eat a lot of eggs and tuna because they are cheap ways to get protein. I don't want to spend heaps of money on supplements which I reckon are overated.

I wouldn't stress one bit about eating three eggs daily. Your body produces nearly all your cholesterol. The cholesterol you eat doesn't add to that, rather your body will probably produce less to keep this in balance. Cholesterol levels are one of the most misunderstood things even amongst many healthcare professionals. If you want to know more I'd be happy to help but to keep it simple yes 3 eggs daily are good.

With regards to the tuna I personally avoid eating too much of it due to
The mercury in it. I'm also not a massive fan of canned food due to the chemicals in them such as BPA. Lots of people don't mind and are perfectly healthy.

If you want cheap protein then buying bulk whey powder can be the way to go as it's cheap per serving. The only problem with buying 20kgs is forking out 300 bucks but then you've got your protein sorted (about 550 servings) for a long time

Bulk nutrients - rocky road flavoured protein matrix is delicious.

And I tried the berry lemonade flavoured pre work out this morning and tastes just like a lemonade flavoured Icey pole

Only taking creatine at the moment before a workout.

Used to drink the whey protein from Bulk Nutrients fairly often but I haven't bought anymore since running out. I haven't noticed any major difference and lifts are still improving.

Never tried BCAAs - is it worthwhile?

Only taking creatine at the moment before a workout.

Used to drink the whey protein from Bulk Nutrients fairly often but I haven't bought anymore since running out. I haven't noticed any major difference and lifts are still improving.

Never tried BCAAs - is it worthwhile?

If you get enough protein from food there is no need to take a protein supplement, they work no better than food but are convenient for most who struggle with time, cant be bothered cooking more food or struggle to eat the required amount of food.

The research on BCAA's are mixed, with new research coming through saying they aren't that beneficial (i didn't read the reports). Once again like any legal supps they won't do any harm (if taken in the recommended doses), nor will they be some magical pill. If you can afford them and think they offer you some benefits then go for it.

Personally i like the recovery BCAA's i take them as an intra work out or after a run.