Differences in the "Marks of the Year"

Banhammer Big House Under 70s
I reckon you could give more than 1 mark of the year.:o

The mark we associate with Mark of the Year conjurs up Modra, Bosustow,Hart (as in Royce) & Brereton, in our minds.

There needs to be one other and quite seriously, ONLY one other and not a myriad such as the

....I combed me hair,pulled up my socks, checked the wind with a piece of turf, spit on my hands type mark....

And that is the "Hardest (tough at the ball) Mark of the Year:mad: :mad:

There will be too many marks that go unrewarded otherwise, in the course of a year.

ONLY one remember

And er...Go Crows:confused:

obviousbly you could give more than 1 mark of the year, because there are lots of great points, but there isn't really any point.

It's called Mark of the Year, because we give it too that 1 mark, that the majority of people, believed stood above the rest.

There merit in two

The majority (as you call it) are not always right....or more to the point have the same perceptions

Youve only got to look at the 3,2 and 1 votes by so called experts to see that some poor prick was stiff at missing a Vote!!

And Er ....Go Crows:p

Mark's of the Year should be those that stick in your mind! I couldn't honestly tell you who won it last year...or even the year before.

The three marks of the 90's that stick in my mind are Brett Allison's effort againt Collingwood IIRC, Tony Mordra's mark against Noth Melbourne in 1993, and Shaun Smith's 'Mark of the Century' in 1996.

It's been hard picking the Mark of the Year, but i don't believe that the mark should always be the most spectacular. Courage should also count...but then again...people are always going to vote for the spectacular i guess!

can't remember who won it last year, but Brett Burton one it in 1999, with that mark on Nathan Burke, but i reckon the one he took against Fremantle was better - hes feet were at the same heigh of Andrew Wills shoulders, and he knees weren't bent. He got some serious hang-time then.

In 1998, Winston Abraham and Jeff Farmer took those two speccies, but i can't remember who ended up winning the mark of the year.

Shaun Smith in 1996 was unbelievable.

Modra in 1993, and that's all the marks i can remember for the last decade.

Which M-O-T-Ys (or should that be Ms-O-T-Y?) can yours truly remember? Ummm...

1976 was Billy Picken over Robbie Muir (?)
1977 could have been Trevor Barker's hanger at the Lake Oval over (I think) Ricky Quade
1978 Peter Moore straddling Mike Fitzpatrick.
1979 not sure...possibly that Roachy one against Hawthorn or the Barker screamer at Windy Hill.
1980 no idea
1981 "Whoarrr Bosustow! Mark of the year!"
1982 Raines over David McMahon
1983 ???
1984 Wayne Carroll at the SCG (shoulda been Dennis Banks at the Western Oval)
1985 ??? Gazza possibly ???
1986 Dunno...was it that Ezard one over Harry Madden...or maybe Tony Morwood in the 1st semi v the Roys?
1987 One of Capper's triumvirate of speckies. Take yer pick.
1988 SOS over Starcevich
1989 Lynchy over the North backline
1990 ?
1991 would have been Brett Allison over Gav Crosisca
1992 nothing springs to mind
1993 Mods
1994 Either Mods at the Gabba or Ablett over Pert.
1995 Shaun Smith
1996 Not sure. Chrissy Johnson took a few that year though!
1997 not the foggiest
1998 Winnie at Manuka
1999 far too recent too be etched in the memory
2000 ditto

Burton didn't win it in 1999, it was Matthew Lappin. The Birdman was robbed cause he had 3 nominations and people probably voted equally for all 3, giving Lappin the award. Oh well.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

1977 could have been Trevor Barker's hanger at the Lake Oval over (I think) Ricky Quade
1979 not sure...possibly that Roachy one against Hawthorn or the Barker screamer at Windy Hill.
1980 no idea
1983 ???
1986 Dunno...was it that Ezard one over Harry Madden...or maybe Tony Morwood in the 1st semi v the Roys?
1988 SOS over Starcevich
1990 ?
1993 Mods
1995 Shaun Smith
1997 not the foggiest
1998 Winnie at Manuka
2000 ditto

1980 John Roberts (forget who was under him)
1983 Ken Hunter pack mark
1990 Michael Mitchell I think, and he got the Goal of the Year in the same game from memory
1999 or 2000 - Matthew Lappin won it one of those years

lappin definatly took a screamer in round 1 on 99, against essendon up against the point post
cant remember who it was over, dean wallis maybe
im also pretty sure he won mark of the year

last year dustin fletcher took a great mark that was a nomination

Memorys

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

1980 no idea
1983 ???
1988 SOS over Starcevich
1990 ?
1993 Mods
1995 Shaun Smith
1997 not the foggiest
1998 Winnie at Manuka
2000 ditto

Gee theres some great memorys there, -one of the toughest to take was one by Keith Grieg back when I followed North. From memory he got cleaned up but it was sheer guts, against the Magies I think
:eek:

And Er....Go Crows:eek:

1990 WAS D.JARMAN REACHING OVER THE OPPONENT AND STEALING THE MARK.

THATS ALL I KNOW.

#19 DIEGO

PS 1986 WAS DIEGO WITH HIS HAND OF GOD GRAB V ENGLAND

MY DAD SAID DO NOT FORGET YOUR TIES BACK IN ARGENTINA.

I once saw Ian Downsborough take a chest mark. That should have been 'mark of the century' because of the extreme level of difficulty for him to even play.

Shame on you, Mr.Ripper, for mentioning Ablett's so-called "mark" over Pert.

I really hate it when umpires pay marks that haven't been held. That decision was a friggin' disgrace. I'm still spewin' over it.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
I once saw Ian Downsborough take a chest mark. That should have been 'mark of the century' because of the extreme level of difficulty for him to even play.

Ill pay that, theres a few others playing for Geelong this weekend!!

And er...Go Crows

AlfAndrews admonished...
Shame on you, Mr.Ripper, for mentioning Ablett's so-called "mark" over Pert.

I really hate it when umpires pay marks that haven't been held. That decision was a friggin' disgrace. I'm still spewin' over it.

Sowwy Alf. :o

Actually, there were a couple of other pretty 'iffy' grabs in that list; namely the two '79 candidates and also SoS's 1988 fly.