Review Dimma is the right man

Knicks, Giants
For everyone that thinks Dimma should get the sack should get a grip.
The coach has minimal influence on game day.
He loves this club as much as we all do and I'm 100% confident he is the right man.
The players love playing for him. Watch the interview with Lloyd and see the respect he has for Dimma.
Our club is renown for sacking coaches when things go wrong.
In my years of being a Richmond supporter and member of 20 years our administration is finally united from the board and president to the Benny Gale and Dimma.
We have improved every year for the last four. When was the last time that happened at Richmond?
The completion is as close as it has been with the emergence of GC, GWS and the Bulldogs.
If your 10% off on game day, most likely you will lose.
WCE showed last year how much injurys can hurt.
We need more class in the starting 22 and more depth and that will come.

Minimal influence on game day but nearly 100% say on team selection. Stop picking blokes that let you down each week.

It was also his idea to end the rebuild and draft recycled hacks from dud clubs. That's 100% him saving his arse.

He has his contract extension which was deserved. NOW time to be the guy that FINISHES a Richmond rebuild. Not half arse it like every other coach. Do that and you'll get another extension. Don't and we will be stuck in mediocrity and you'll be looking on seek.com.au.

Ball is in his court. He has 3 fricken years to finish it. That's a fricken long time. He has 2 years before there will even be a consideration of him getting the arse.

I swear if this rebuild stays half arsed we should give the next bloke a 20 year deal just to make sure they do it properly.

I agree with you regarding Dimma.
I love the bloke and he has turned our club around.
At the moment though, he is not getting the best out of our players, so of course questions need to be asked.
In my opinion, it is the forward line coach and midfield coach that need to go.
Our forward line has been absolutely putrid all year and we have gone from a team who used to dominate possession of the footy, to a team being dominated.
Simply not good enough.
There is enough talent in our squad to be a top 8 team and we should expect nothing less.
The loss last week to the bulldogs was just horrendous.

The thing that I dislike about Hardwick, is his blatant favouritism of players despite their performances not being up to standard.
King, Petterd, Grigg and Vickery just to name a few.
These players are not AFL standard and should not play in our team.
Until he shows a bit more aggression at the selection table then I won't be fully convinced he is the man to take us that next step.

A lot will be known about how Dimma is seeing all this at selection this week.

Grigg has to be dropped, last night was final straw for me. I don't want to see Petterd back either. Thomas should be dropped too but that won't happen

A lot will be known about how Dimma is seeing all this at selection this week.

Grigg has to be dropped, last night was final straw for me. I don't want to see Petterd back either. Thomas should be dropped too but that won't happen

Can't play Thomas and Jackson in the same team.
It just doesn't work.
Plus they are both apparently 'battering rams' according to Dimma, but where was there protection of Cotchin last night?
That's right, it was non existent.

His selections this week were a step in the right direction. He actually omitted one of his favourites in King - on form alone - and was vindicated. Could be the start of something!

I'd hope to see Madonna in next week, perhaps for Newy.

His selections this week were a step in the right direction. He actually omitted one of his favourites in King - on form alone - and was vindicated. Could be the start of something!

I'd hope to see Madonna in next week, perhaps for Newy.
Agree. On last nights performance of Lloyd we won't see King again.
Newman should play off the HBF where he can actually play and has played for the last 10 years

Minimal influence on game day but nearly 100% say on team selection. Stop picking blokes that let you down each week.

It was also his idea to end the rebuild and draft recycled hacks from dud clubs. That's 100% him saving his arse.

He has his contract extension which was deserved. NOW time to be the guy that FINISHES a Richmond rebuild. Not half arse it like every other coach. Do that and you'll get another extension. Don't and we will be stuck in mediocrity and you'll be looking on seek.com.au.

Ball is in his court. He has 3 fricken years to finish it. That's a fricken long time. He has 2 years before there will even be a consideration of him getting the arse.

I swear if this rebuild stays half arsed we should give the next bloke a 20 year deal just to make sure they do it properly.
We always knew there wasn't going to be enough talent over the last four drafts for us to rebuild solely through the draft. Maric, Hampson, Chaplin, were all pretty necessary acquisitions, and due to the nature of KPP players we could have sunk heaps of picks and years of development and still not get anything for it(Vickery). Picking up Thomas, Banfield, Stephenson, Petterd etc aren't stopping our rebuild, either they simply give us some options who have performed at the level.

Where I feel we have lost our way is picking too many guys that were drafted as depth in the first 22. At selection we are far too conservative and are wasting games on King, Newman, Foley, Thomas, and not persisting with younger players or giving the ones we are playing more important roles(Vlaustuin at halfback...).

I still think the rebuild is progressing but we are at a crossroad, Griff and McBean are showing something so we may be okay for talls, which leading into this season was my biggest worry, but as a few thought preseason, we are another top line midfielder short. Since it looks like we will get a decent pick, hopefully there is a slider like James Aish or Sam Mayes still on the table.

Oh and our gameplan sucks balls.

We always knew there wasn't going to be enough talent over the last four drafts for us to rebuild solely through the draft. Maric, Hampson, Chaplin, were all pretty necessary acquisitions, and due to the nature of KPP players we could have sunk heaps of picks and years of development and still not get anything for it(Vickery). Picking up Thomas, Banfield, Stephenson, Petterd etc aren't stopping our rebuild, either they simply give us some options who have performed at the level.

Where I feel we have lost our way is picking too many guys that were drafted as depth in the first 22. At selection we are far too conservative and are wasting games on King, Newman, Foley, Thomas, and not persisting with younger players or giving the ones we are playing more important roles(Vlaustuin at halfback...).

I still think the rebuild is progressing but we are at a crossroad, Griff and McBean are showing something so we may be okay for talls, which leading into this season was my biggest worry, but as a few thought preseason, we are another top line midfielder short. Since it looks like we will get a decent pick, hopefully there is a slider like James Aish or Sam Mayes still on the table.

Oh and our gameplan sucks balls.
Agree on the necessary guys but we over did it and we keep blokes too long. It's like the philosophy is keep our own dud in case we draft a new dud.

Your 2nd paragraph is exactly what I'm getting at. And that is why those guys in your 1st paragraph have stopped the rebuild. They get played over guys who can take us past mediocre.

We have been brilliant at cherry-picking guys for needs. They give us the mature bodies to allow us to play some kids.

We have then just picked up trash on top of them and stopped playing kids. That's where we ****ed up. As I said last week it's still salvageable. This week was a good start. Now with a loss don't shit your pants and revert to the hacks. Keep backing in the youngsters.

Agree on needing another top line mid. Maybe even 2. I'd look at a pacy one if we can and then another brute like Bampton if he lasts through. Reckon he's got a bit of the Dunstan's. Will get underrated and slide. Problem is we will probably underrate him too.

the rise of a club is not a linear thing, there are going to be improvements and also drop offs. the club cant lose its head when things fall off, need to keep supporting and working to get back on track. Also for all the crap flying about on Dimma's use of Riewoldt, I understand why he is doing it. His goal is for us to win a flag and we wont do it until we develop other forward options aside Riewoldt. If we keep the same game plan as last year we will only get as far as last year. therefore to take the next step, renovations have to be made and those things can take time to get right. so yea, we might have a tough start to the year, but hopefully things will turn around. we werent going to win the flag this year anyway, so if it takes another couple of years to get the right plan and find the right players so be it

Can't play Thomas and Jackson in the same team.
It just doesn't work.
Plus they are both apparently 'battering rams' according to Dimma, but where was there protection of Cotchin last night?
That's right, it was non existent.

This is 100% correct. Players like Thomas were brought to this club for this very reason. Im not for ugly and illegal football but if its happening to us than im all for someone from our team playing dirty.

Someone like Thomas needed to the club thing and Hit Macafer off the ball knocking him out. Someone needed to make a statement. Cotchin is our captain you protect him by whatever it takes.

If he is the right man then he needs a miracle to survive the year unless he makes a change. He can thank his lucky stars malthouse has the blues 0&4 otherwise the blowtorch would be well and truly upon him. His stubborn attitude he has shown to the media this year will bite him on the rear end unless he learns from it. He may well be right about playing jack further from goal but as losses add up and jacks goal return dries up he will feel the heat. The media love the taste of coaches blood and at the slightest sniff they will go after him.

His group is out of form, injured and lacks leadership. Now he can't do this on field himself but he can sure as hell demand that those picked do. Even he said last night that Cotchin lacked support on the ground but why wasn't the message delivered? If the message was delivered to the group but not executed then he has further worries.

He has enjoyed an extended honeymoon thus far but now he has built this list of kids and recycled guys and he needs to get them to perform and the results will come.

Dimma was definitely the right man to build the playing up from scratch. A lot of faith was put into his decisions and he had the results on the board last year. I felt we over achieved last year - I knew we would play finals, and I had us at 7th or 8th. This year 5th or 6th. We were never going to be a top four side this year.

All credit goes to the board, the coaches, the administration and the players for the rebuild.

Over the summer, Dimma and co decided to make changes to the gameplan. Well documented and I quote his word "fiddled" at every opportunity. across the intra club games, Martin was across half back, Jack up the ground and Ellis was given "run with" roles.

Why ?

Every club is chasing Hawthorn's style, and over summer, they made significant improvements - even after losing their best player, they found ways to improve. Clinical disposal and outrageous running capacity. What did we do to improve ? Setup up a gutless beanpole as our new "go to" target in the forward line, place our strongest midfielder across half back and then place our dual Coleman medalist "up the ground" as a "decoy" for Vickery.

This "fiddling" with the squad and new gameplan is atrocious. Seems the media were on to it very quickly, the supporters are on to it, and now the coaches put Jack back at full forward and Vickery is still as useless as before. Jack can't stand his ground due to his weight loss as part of his "new role" and Martin spent most of the third quarter at half back against Collingwood.

Form a coaching point of view, 5 years of the rebuild was a huge success. We reward the coach another 2 years and he rewards the faithful with a new gameplan and a "fiddle" with the playing group which has netted us two losses side made up of kids, a loss against a team we have not beaten under dimma's watch, and our only win was scraping over a basket case Carlton that even Melbourne beat ! In six months, Dimma has sent the playing side backwards and insipid performances from his mates are disgraceful.

I think the solution is to work towards what made our team a winning side last year. First step is to relegate his mates to the VFL for a month. no more favors to Grigg, Edwards and Vickery. Chaplin and Grimes are on notice. One has to go when Rance is fit. Start playing some kids that have had time to develop, but are not getting opportunities - Madonna, Arnot, Elton and McBean for a start.

No excuses, no more dumb answers at press conferences. Pick a team that has a desire to play contested footy. The coach's job is to win premierships, not friends. Get ruthless with this group or show them the door before Dimma gets shown the door. I think all eyes are on the coach, and how he responds to his mistakes.

This is 100% correct. Players like Thomas were brought to this club for this very reason. Im not for ugly and illegal football but if its happening to us than im all for someone from our team playing dirty.

Someone like Thomas needed to the club thing and Hit Macafer off the ball knocking him out. Someone needed to make a statement. Cotchin is our captain you protect him by whatever it takes.

I said it before but if King was playing Macafer wouldn't have been an issue. Either way it would have been brought to a head.
Having the hardest and scariest player in the league is very handy in an ordinary side.
Because of his physco toughness I think we've relied on him too much.
I don't know the win lost record with King playing but I rekon he's our spiritual leader out there.
Need another one because he may be cooked.

I said it before but if King was playing Macafer wouldn't have been an issue. Either way it would have been brought to a head.
Having the hardest and scariest player in the league is very handy in an ordinary side.
Because of his physco toughness I think we've relied on him too much.
I don't know the win lost record with King playing but I rekon he's our spiritual leader out there.
Need another one because he may be cooked.
But we would still go backwards. It would be faux toughman stuff, as he cant really do anything anyway. He would probly just get suspended and we would have lost anyway. Time to find out who the next bastard on the field is.

Let's be honest, if King or Thomas got suspended for 4 weeks, that's not going to hurt all that much. One bloke who I have always thought should be a good enforcer is Vickery, but he doesn't seem interested.

Half the threads are demanding his head on a plate now, so no idea how you think there is no consideration of giving him the arse. How far away are we before some moron pulls another petition stunt to spill the board just because he thinks he can do a better job?

Put this on the KPI thread, relevant here IMO.
Damien Hardwick doesn't need to go, but he does need to evolve
The first stage of his coaching career appears to be over, the club is stabilised, improvement every year culminating in a finals appearance has been achieved, our list is now well balanced age wise & the foundations of a successful club have been laid.
To achieve this the club needed players like Newman, King, Jackson, Deledio to be the solid core while Cotchin, Vickery, Reiwoldt, Martin, Ellis, Rance, Conca, Grimes & Vlaustin matured physically & mentally, to this end recruits like Maric, Grigg & Houli et al have been instrumental in our development, don't lose sight of the horribly restrictive, even unfair, drafting disadvantages we, and others, have had to endure recently.
We appear to have hit a wall improvement wise, and indeed appear to have slipped. But it's only four rounds in & the losses of Deledio, Maric & Rance in particular have hurt us big time, more than they should have? Maybe, but the lack of form of Vickery, Ellis, Reiwoldt, Grimes & Chaplin has made this much worse.
Even though the season is not yet a write off, it may be time for some short term pain in exchange for some long term gain.
Newman, King, Grigg may have to make way, Vickery, Grimes & Ellis may have to spend time in the twos, all have the talent to bounce back & Arnot, McDonough, McBean, Lloyd, Gordon, Lennon etc entrench themselves in the side.
It's evolution not revolution, and let's not throw the baby out with the bathwater.