Ding Dong Belly

Daphne

Jan 12, 2001
How unfortunate that Belly got so many Boos. I suppose that it really meant that so many were hurt by his decision.
I think that belly has lost his Dinga Simmo or maybe Stevo, and then He has also lost his donga Harvey and Shannon, and if you have lost your dinga and your donga then yhou cant ring that bell. Well I think you all know what I mean.

Belly learnt the hard way that you don't walk out on something good.

Yeh sure, he might have the Maccas franchise, the law practice, one hand on the Freo captaincy and the other on their B&F, all the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ and everything ... but I ask you - who is the winner here...

..oh my god, he's the winner isn't he?

I've really got to think out these conundrums better.

I can understand. If the whitches hat / statue that you pass to is a complete ******* then you good work is wasted. Oh well my wish is granted that team wont play finals for a long time and that was all I asked for when he went. At least he can afford a good holiday every September. But when it comes down to it what would you rather be doing?

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Well, my match review for bigfooty/afltips.com (check the appropriate board) is a special effort for Peter Bell. :D

People did boo him, but it had nowhere near the venom that Leigh Colbert got from the Geelong crowd. I didn't boo him (although I did p*ss myself laughing at some of his clangers during the match). We got plenty of good years out of him, but he has made his choice.

Still, I wonder what he was thinking as our midfield chopped Freo's to pieces........you know, when he was with us, he always seemed to play with a bit of spark, a bit of cheekiness.....today, it seemed like he was playing with regret in his heart.

Now to Boo or not to Boo seems to be a common discussion point amongst Roos.

I will say this.

Love 'em or hate 'em (I'll take the latter), Carlton's treatment of Hamill at least showed their supporters they won't be bent over, sent a message out that 'ya don't walk out on Carlton' and would have made some of their players just a little more ginger about leaving.

Hopefully the Roos' lovey dovey farewell to used-Dinger didn't send a subliminal message to other players that 'it's ok to leave, they won't hate me'. It's better if they really burn to leave Arden St - anything that makes it easier is bad....

... I think.

Originally posted by Shinboners
I didn't boo him (although I did p*ss myself laughing at some of his clangers during the match).

At times he did seem like the Belly of old, getting the ball out of the packs with a perfect handpass to the likes of Grant, Stevo, Boomer etc.... whom then delievered a perfect pass to the forward line. Like you, I didn't boo him - why waste my time.

I gave him a solid boo the first time around but then thought why bother. Its just an absolute waste seeing him play for Fremantle. Why did he leave. With blokes like Martyn, Carey, Stevo, going to hang there boots up in the next few years there will be plenty of salary to go around, he could have even have been our next captain. Just a waste. He deserved every boo he got, remember the only reason he left was for money and not because he wasn't on a reasonable wage because he wanted more.

I agree with Shiners, he looked as though he playing with regret, none of the spark and yap that he had at North.

Originally posted by choppy
I gave him a solid boo the first time around but then thought why bother. Its just an absolute waste seeing him play for Fremantle. Why did he leave. With blokes like Martyn, Carey, Stevo, going to hang there boots up in the next few years there will be plenty of salary to go around, he could have even have been our next captain. Just a waste. He deserved every boo he got, remember the only reason he left was for money and not because he wasn't on a reasonable wage because he wanted more.

I agree with Shiners, he looked as though he playing with regret, none of the spark and yap that he had at North.

Too right Choppy, with Martyn, Stevens and Carey in their 30s, and Blakey about to start his late 20s again, the salary cap will be a bit kinder to us next year, especially with Carey going onto the veterans list freeing up half of his likely $700-800k salary.
The greedy little Pink Purse Kid could have waited another year and had money AND finals AND eventually the captaincy of a real team. All he has now is 30 ineffectve touches a week, a few bundles of cash lying around the house, and the likely captaincy next year of a team that is so bereft of talent and leadership that he will "earn" that captaincy by sheer default.

It was hard to see Belly running around in the worst designed gurnsey in the league once again, but at the end of the day he got a touch up from Simmo and the Dorkers got a touch up from the World Champions......it's a beautiful thing!!!!

PLEASE NOTE: When the Shermanator isn't writing posts on this forum you can catch him at various Detention centres throughout Australia helping the Illegal Immigrants escape.

Well, my match review for bigfooty/afltips.com (check the appropriate board) is a special effort for Peter Bell. :D

People did boo him, but it had nowhere near the venom that Leigh Colbert got from the Geelong crowd. I didn't boo him (although I did p*ss myself laughing at some of his clangers during the match). We got plenty of good years out of him, but he has made his choice.

Still, I wonder what he was thinking as our midfield chopped Freo's to pieces........you know, when he was with us, he always seemed to play with a bit of spark, a bit of cheekiness.....today, it seemed like he was playing with regret in his heart.

Regret in his heart???
Comon you must be joking.

Not only is he home in a young and "un and coming side", but yes ill admit it, he is earning bucket loads of cash.

This along with the fact he is probally a likely captain next year.Not to mention that he wont always attract the number one tagger, would point to him loving his new found team.

He won 2 premireships with the Kangaroos and a best and Fairest.If you ask me he did everything possible during his time at the Roos and needed new challenge's.

Regret in his heart
Hardly

Your forgetting he was playing his old side.A side that had him groomed to take on the captaincy and a side that saved his career.A coach that showed faith in him against the odds.You cant hardly expect him to have a blinder.

Had the Roos deslited him of there president/coach come out and abused, then maybe a good game could be expected.

choppy - In an interview with Peter Bell he said that he was going to return home to Perth to (i) Be with his family & (ii) His partner was moving to Perth and he was going to follow her.

Do you reckon this was all genuine or was he after the bigger dollars?

Peter Bell left North for his own reasons, whether that be for a career in the media, for the 1.2 million ? or personal reasons. His reason for returning home is immaterial. Yesterday I was to happy cheering the form of Corey Jones, Shannon Watt et al. I just did not wish to waste my energy on an opposition player.

Originally posted by GoEagles
choppy - In an interview with Peter Bell he said that he was going to return home to Perth to (i) Be with his family & (ii) His partner was moving to Perth and he was going to follow her.

Do you reckon this was all genuine or was he after the bigger dollars?

Belly was/is? one of the most genuine blokes in AFL , who I am I to know why he left. There are 3 reasons why he would leave

1) Football career - given that he was possibly a future captain at North, had played in a winning side, would have continued to play finals then it is not this (despite Sabre's ascertion that he needed a new challenge) I would have thought being a three or four time premiership player would be more desirable than making finals at best with Freo.

2 ) Money - Fremantle offered him an amount well beyond what North could pay him.

3) Personal - Wouldn't have a clue nor care about his personal life. The other reason was that he left Melbourne for his law career. I thought all the major law firms are in Sydney or Melbourne.

Overall I think North has come out of it okay in terms of the draft picks and young kids we picked up.

In terms of his football career its a waste of his time. What has he acheived this year at Fremantle. At best they are two to three years away from being competitive by which time he will 27 , 28. there are not many short little fat guys (Liberatore and Williams (Carlton) the exception) that play beyond that age.

Sabre

Why wouldn't Bell have some sort of regrets? After all, when he went over to Freo, he probably would've been told about how good the coaching set up was, how well run the administration was, and how they had a great batch of up and coming young players. After 11 rounds, your coach is gone, the administration is a shambles, and all those young players haven't signed contract extentions. Oh, and you're on the bottom of the ladder with a 0-11 record.

Nonetheless Sabre, it's funny you should stumble onto this topic. Anyway, a source in WA had sent a tape over to me just recently. It was a secret recording from the contract negotiations that Peter Bell had with Fremantle. Unfortunately, I can't reveal the source of this tape, but if there is a footy club out there looking for a coach with 2 1/2 years senior AFL experience, just drop me a line and I'll pass the info on. The tape goes:

Freo rep: "So Peter, let me tell you about our administrative professionalism"

Peter Bell: "Show me the money"

Freo rep: "Er, um....do you want to hear about our coaching plans? We've got Ric Charlesworth on board"

Freo rep: "Um....how about if I introduce you to some of the young players who will look up to you as a role model"

Freo rep: "Er, look, we see you as a future captain of the club"

Peter Bell: "Show me the money. Oh, and when will you put Shaun McManus out to pasture?"

Freo rep: "Okay, we see where we are....here's you contract"

Peter Bell: "Can you put an extra zero on the end of that number????"

Later....4.45pm, Sunday June 10, Colonial Stadium, Peter Bell walking, head down, up the players race......we heard him say, "What the f*ck was I thinking when I signed that contract with Freo???"

:D :D :D :D :D :D

Later....4.45pm, Sunday June 10, Colonial Stadium, Peter Bell walking, head down, up the players race......we heard him say, "What the f*ck was I thinking when I signed that contract with Freo???"

Show me the money.:(

Sabre

Why wouldn't Bell have some sort of regrets? After all, when he went over to Freo, he probably would've been told about how good the coaching set up was, how well run the administration was, and how they had a great batch of up and coming young players. After 11 rounds, your coach is gone, the administration is a shambles, and all those young players haven't signed contract extentions. Oh, and you're on the bottom of the ladder with a 0-11 record.

Nonetheless Sabre, it's funny you should stumble onto this topic. Anyway, a source in WA had sent a tape over to me just recently. It was a secret recording from the contract negotiations that Peter Bell had with Fremantle. Unfortunately, I can't reveal the source of this tape, but if there is a footy club out there looking for a coach with 2 1/2 years senior AFL experience, just drop me a line and I'll pass the info on. The tape goes:

Freo rep: "So Peter, let me tell you about our administrative professionalism"

Freo rep: "Er, um....do you want to hear about our coaching plans? We've got Ric Charlesworth on board"

Freo rep: "Um....how about if I introduce you to some of the young players who will look up to you as a role model"

Freo rep: "Er, look, we see you as a future captain of the club"

Peter Bell: "Show me the money. Oh, and when will you put Shaun McManus out to pasture?"

Freo rep: "Okay, we see where we are....here's you contract"

Peter Bell: "Can you put an extra zero on the end of that number????"

So Shinners... can you include mp3 attachments in your post... now that would be funny...

Hmmm.....the match reviews still haven't been posted (although those on the AFLTIPS.com mailing list have received it....by the way, it was wrongly credited to Mark O'Conner), so, here was my take on the Roos versus Fremantle.

Dear Peter

This is a letter to say thank you for taking the time to come back to Colonial Stadium to visit your old friends from North Melbourne. It was so nice to see you again and we trust that you took our warm welcome in good humour. It looks like you’ve found the West Australian lifestyle to your liking. Your body seems to have filled out a little bit, which is totally understandable in light of the fabulous West Australian seafood and the legendary Margaret River wines that our ex-pat Sandgroper friends tell us about. But I guess you’re earning good money over there and you need to spend it on something.

We must also thank you for the entertainment provided by the twenty-one friends that you brought over with you. We haven’t had such a good laugh since heaven knows when. You fooled us by running onto the ground dressed up as footballers, but spent the time acting like a troupe of circus clowns and, well, you really did give us a pleasant surprise. I’d like to offer you two pieces of advice though. You know when you all run out onto the field? Well, you could do better with the music. That song you’re currently using just doesn’t do you and your friends any justice at all. May I suggest that you run out to the theme song to the Benny Hill Show? I think that song and your friends would be a perfect match. Also, I would suggest that you enter as a group into next year’s Melbourne Comedy Festival. I’m sure you’d pack them in. If you do well enough, you might get invited to the Edinburgh Comedy Festival with all expenses paid, and that would save you the embarrassment of asking your hometown fans for the money for an end of season trip.

I also admire how you’ve taken such a down to earth attitude to your new friends. We know how successful you are, and most people would understand it if you stayed aloof from all the merrymaking, you know, play the straight man to all the chaos and disorder that surrounds you. But it was great to see you bumble and fumble around like your friends. It shows great humility in doing as much as you can to fit in. In fact, you fitted in so well that it would be hard to believe that you were once a part of North Melbourne.

May I also apologies for the behaviour of some of your old friends. Quite frankly, I thought it was rude the way that Byron Pickett, Corey McKernan, Glenn Archer, Matthew Burton, Anthony Stevens, Shane Clayton, Shannon Grant, and one or two others would run rings around you and your friends as you tried to perform. I don’t know what got into them, especially Shane Clayton. In the third quarter, and in a manner totally out of character for him, he ran back and took a contested pack mark. He even went back and nailed the goal. I must say that it was all very strange. There was also Byron Pickett showing off by scoring three goals in three minutes in the third quarter (although I’m sure he was only trying make an ironic interpretation of that old phrase, “things always happen in groups of three”) and of course, Matthew Burton making a fool of his old club by dominating the ruck and snaffling a couple of goals. We’re sorry if these old pals of yours took the spotlight off the efforts of you and your friends.

I trust that you’ll be away overseas during September. I’m sure you’ll be somewhere exotic like Aspen, the Swiss Alps, or even Monte Carlo. If I were you, I’d invest all the money you’re making and buy a share in a holiday apartment at one of these resorts with a permanent booking for September as it looks like you’ll never, ever have to perform again in that month for the rest of your career.

Thanks again for visiting. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best Regards
You old pal
Shinboners

p.s. That Heath Black chap. He looked so home sick today. I tell you what. We have a chap here who would prefer to be back in the relaxed atmosphere of Fremantle. We can send him over to you if you send young Black over to us. That’s a win-win situation, although I’m sure you’ve forgotten the meaning of the term “win”. But just trust me on this one. A win is a good thing and this is about the only way that you’ll experience one in the foreseeable future.

Originally posted by Daphne
I heard Denis say in the after match media chat, that Freo had some great young players in their side. So expect to see one or two of them at Arden Street next year.:p

From what I can gather from Freo's inability to get their young players to sign contract extensions, expect to see one or two of them at each of these training venues next summer: Arden Street, Princess Park, Victoria Park, Windy Hill, Kardinia Park, Punt Road, Moorabbin, Glenferrie Oval, Western Oval, Football Park, the SCG, and the Gabba. :p :D

Ding Dong Belly