Div 3 2026

The generation that just put in is slowly dying off, and we now have the WIFM generation, where it's "What's in it for me". I've even had parents and players ask how much I get paid. My reply is a few dim sims and a can of Coke, which is a shock, as many people think everyone at local footy is earning a dollar.

I hear you however tbf, it is not just selfishness, people do have a lot less time. In previous generations it was quite common for women not to work, or only work casually. Mothers etc would gladly do a Thursday night or Saturday as they had time and it was also a great weekly social catchup for them.

It all gets back to the same thing - the housing crisis in Australia. We turned housing into an investment vehicle rather than a social right, prices predictably exploded and now everybody has to work and work more just to achieve the basic necessity of a home.

So many people still crap on about what houses are worth… the social cost is enormous and everybody pays it. It’s a creeping change over 30+ years and it is too late to change now.

In fairness probably wrong use of words. Don’t agree with BYO, But also don’t agree with $8 cans
I will have to plead guilty to this in the early 70's. Ones and twos played in the GF at Mitcham. No beers sales during the game but you could BYO to games. I had a very large Esky back then that fitted 6 doz tinnies. Cans were 25 cents back then and for $18 I filled it up in prep for the game and Sunday celebrations. I played in the 2's and watched the 1's win. I had my Esky that I was using as a seat on the outer side of the ground (that's where I parked). Sometime towards the end of the 1st quarter a bloke came up to me and asked if he could buy a can. I said I didn't have any change and he said no problem and gave me a dollar. When I left I had problems holding up my pants. I had nearly $70 in one and two dollar coins in my pockets, but didn't have anything left for our pleasant Sunday morning. Luckily autopilot was very effective back then.

Those were the days!! Not only did you bring in your own grog you profited as well 😂!! Then let me guess you piled 10 mates into a 5 seater and drove home pissed haha we were all guilty of that back in the day!!

I had 13 in the car one night, but not that night. I think I slept under a Hydrangea that night.

20 years ago we had a whole group go to Baysie to watch the GF. Back then there was parking inside but cars had the boots inspected. One of the goalies had a Hillman Hunter or something which had enough room under the bonnet to fit the esky. He popped the boot, got the wave and drove though. They never asked to look in the engine bay though...

Favourite from those days was one incredibly tightarsed mate who objected to the finals entry fee at Ringwood. We were all young and poor tbf, but the rest of us paid.

Anyway a couple of streets away he got us to pull over so he could jump in the boot to skip the gate fee. We let him, knowing full well that boots were checked on entry 😂

I like the story, but $1 coins were introduced in 1984 and $2 coins in 1988.

Oakleigh had a really strong team in, not just Swan but had a few others play aswell i think
A weeks a long time in Football.
Donvale were missing their starting Midfield aswell. No Haig/Currie Rausa Wignell Zalac and Matt Day. And Duncan kicked something like 0.8. Scoreboard flattered them

Scoresby just favourites to win it now.

Donvale haven’t looked good the last month.

Uftg going along well

Should be a good finals series

Scoresby just favourites to win it now.

Donvale haven’t looked good the last month.

Uftg going along well

Should be a good finals series
I still reckon Donvale are the team to beat smashed Scoresby in the first half in both games, don't think they'll let them back into games come finals.

Barring any fresh injuries against Knox, Donvale will probably have their best 22 in. Giles was rested, Haig and Pell had a run in the 2s and Zalac is due back this week. Credit to Scoresby though, that last qtr was unreal. Easily the 2 best teams but Upper Gully on their day . Should be a good finals series

The standard injury update. Thanks Cheez

Div 3 2026