Div 3 2026

Police have arrested a man following an assault at a local football match in Upper Ferntree Gully on Saturday.

Hearing some really big issues for UFTG now. Unfortunately they had a big lunch that day which meant a large amount of people in attendance at the game. Police, Council, EFNL and Liquor Licensing all involved. Liquor Licensing particularly interested in where alcohol was being sold and then consumed.

The worse thing is it probably has nothing to do with anyone at the function but because it happened on the same day as an alleged assault resulting in charges being laid, everything will be examined.

No real shock that the ordinary coldy supporters are involved, often bringing their own alcohol to opposition grounds and firing off some pretty foul abuse throughout the day. Father of aforementioned afl player notwithstanding

57yo Coldstream man with minor injuries. Going with that’s the old man

44yo Seville man a chance of getting charged.

You would think with where they live there both Coldstream supporters?
Strange incident

Police have arrested a man following an assault at a local football match in Upper Ferntree Gully on Saturday.
Hope im wrong but hasn't he got form here? Didn't he have another altercation a few years back at Coldy?

No real shock that the ordinary coldy supporters are involved, often bringing their own alcohol to opposition grounds and firing off some pretty foul abuse throughout the day. Father of aforementioned afl player notwithstanding
Have heard this a few times now about Coldstream supporters bringing them own alcohol to away games.

In fairness to the people doing it, I've been to a few grounds this season who are charging $8 a can

That’s not fairness. If you don’t like it then don’t drink. You wouldn’t take your own grog to a pub and the prices there are far higher.

It takes so much money to run a footy club. Everybody has their hand out (cheaper drinks, cheaper food, higher match payments) yet precious few want to contribute.

It’s low, low behaviour for anybody to BYO.

That’s not fairness. If you don’t like it then don’t drink. You wouldn’t take your own grog to a pub and the prices there are far higher.

It takes so much money to run a footy club. Everybody has their hand out (cheaper drinks, cheaper food, higher match payments) yet precious few want to contribute.

I remember many years ago an opposition club rolled up at EB, set up a BBQ and Esky for sales on the otherside of the ground for their supporters.

Go to an AFL game and then complain about local footy prices. We've got it pretty good at local footy, full-strength beer, and great food options. Overall, the costs are pretty reasonable, and sure there are a few that don't pay, but the majority do.

Not sure the clubs at fault. Don’t have a bar on that side of the ground. They don’t sell glass, on saturdays. Why can’t the individuals be held accountable without the clubs being implicated. The players that left the field should be punished, but that’s it. Neither clubs history is spotless, but what happened had nothing to do with what was happening the other side of the ground. As for the rumour file, it wouldn’t have raised an eyebrow if fritters kid wasn’t in the afl. Let th

I remember many years ago an opposition club rolled up at EB, set up a BBQ and Esky for sales on the otherside of the ground for their supporters.

Sounds like Wantirna South who were absolute shockers for that back in the day. Disgraceful and were a hated club.

I would stress that is very much in the past for WS.

BYO piss to grounds is an ordinary act but clubs charging 8 bucks for a can of draught is an ordinary act as well. Good way to put opposition clubs off spending any money when they visit if you’re going to take the piss with food and drink prices

Who has $8 cans? I get $6 or $6.5 at most. Pre-mix $8 or $9. My only complaint is that a few clubs don't cater to those wanting zero-sugar pre-mixes.
$6-$6.50...maybe before COVID, when volunteers were running can bars, canteens BBQ's that price was ok
now clubs are having to pay people to help... hence the $7.00 beer and $8 or $9 spirits

$6-$6.50...maybe before COVID, when volunteers were running can bars, canteens BBQ's that price was ok
now clubs are having to pay people to help... hence the $7.00 beer and $8 or $9 spirits
I must only go to clubs with volunteers working beer booths as I haven't paid over $6.5. Finals are different.

Volunteers are getting harder and harder to find; this is discussed yearly. I know one club sought assistance from Junior parents to help run the junior game canteen (1 hour per parent per home game) as the senior volunteers were running the canteen at the junior games. The club was met with crickets, so the club said, No junior volunteers, no canteen. The Junior parents begrudgingly came on board, and after a few weeks realised it wasn't that hard.

Some clubs have sold the canteen to someone and sought X amount per game. That's had mixed results.

Yeah you can pretty much forget getting volunteers to run canteens or bars.

People are just clueless as to the reality of the situation. They think it’s the 1990s with heaps of parents and past players helping out. There are none.
The generation that just put in is slowly dying off, and we now have the WIFM generation, where it's "What's in it for me". I've even had parents and players ask how much I get paid. My reply is a few dim sims and a can of Coke, which is a shock, as many people think everyone at local footy is earning a dollar.

Who has $8 cans? I get $6 or $6.5 at most. Pre-mix $8 or $9. My only complaint is that a few clubs don't cater to those wanting zero-sugar pre-mixes.

Majority of clubs had $7 can last year. Most have stayed at $7 this year except one club was at $8, but its the first time i have ever seen it. Pre mix are now between $8.50 - $10

Div 3 2026