DIVISION 1 2013

Mate, I would think that a concerned life member would put his hand up to nominate for the committee to make change and ensure this matter is dealt with by the club.
I don't think any committee would turn down a passionate life member who wanted to form a sub committee to get to the bottom of this. Put you hand up, organise some other members who feel as strongly as you do and put the time into investigating what happened and report back to the committee. Otherwise, leave it be and let the elected committee decide on the course of action.
Airing this out on a public forum is doing nothing but rubbishing and undermining YOUR club.

And Bedford calling someone else surly.....WOW!!

Agree with much of what you say Rissoles but winter tenancy actually ends 1 September for most clubs so VAFA slugged for ground hire for hosting finals whether it is a VAFA or non VAFA ground. Advantage with a VAFA ground is of course that the host club can make some $ on the canteen and post match bar.

Additionally many types of council simply don’t let football progress into September, as they want to start preparing turf wickets for cricket – particularly the Premier or Sub District grounds. We bid for finals last 2 seasons but council knocked us back for reasons outlined above. We even had the ridiculous situation of our 1s, 2s and 19s still being involved in finals but having to train elsewhere due council cricket pitch preparations.

Being such a huge comp with so many grades finding suitable grounds will always be troublesome and there are the geographical factors to consider. I reckon all things considered they do a reasonable job.

Bedford. Great idea. Maybe not free as VAFA do need to pay for ground hire but maybe gold coin entry. However I can’t see those money hungry grubs at HQ going for that. They have an overseas junket this year to pay for.
Agree with a significant part of your post Rooster. Fairly much the crux of my earlier brief response.

Just by-the-bye was talking to someone from the SFL today and according to him they only use enclosed grounds for their finals. Mordialloc, Clayton and Cheltenham. All enclosed and all with cricket pitches. Springvale was part of it but is no longer.

Agree with Bedford about allowing free entry into lower level games. It's not as if the VAFA is cash- strapped.

perspective, you don't do yourself any favours here by carrying on the way you are. Let it go.

Guys, I've removed a number of posts above from public view. The proper place for that discussion is at the club, not here. As go_nodders said, "Airing this out on a public forum is doing nothing but rubbishing and undermining YOUR club."
But is was fun while it lasted.

Agree to have it removed. IMO

On a much happier note, it's a fantastic day for footy at Ormond as Chuck Hinton staggers out for his 600th game of amateurish umpiring. Lets hope the football is far better quality than his bouncing and whistleblowing! Seriously, have a great day out there guys and all the best for today's festivities and after-match thirst quenchers.

We can now say that the Rovers will be one team named in the 2nd semi final matchup at least. The two questions are 1) Who will the Rovers go up against; 2) Where will the game be played at, seeing there could be a major argument between the VAFA and the SFL over ground use for finals? Surely, the VAFA could allow the clubs that finished 1 and 3 to host the semi finals in Divisions 1-4?

Forget the 2nd semi final that's just a formality Jase. You'll be there for the big dance and if the confidence flowing out of Boss James is any indication the silverware is there for the taking.;)

Don't worry AM, the Monders are not far off with a couple a big ins to come. All the best to former player Sam Clements who broke his leg yesterday for Rovers
Understand you can't get green and gold streamers anywhere along the bay from Port Melbourne to Frankston, bedford. All bought for the post season celebrations.:)

176 tackles counted yesterday. Fair idea of how fierce the contest was.
Broken fibula & displaced ankle socket, bedford. Not the best debut in enemy colours on his former home patch. Surgery went well this morning. Kudos to the Ormond folk that clapped him off. Nice to see that sportsmanship still exists.
The club has placed a large order of Premiership bumper stickers, hats & t-shirts, such is our confidence. We also think the VAFA should reward us for the perfect season and lock in a home GF now. #spareme

Seeing that Trevor Barker Oval might be out of action due to long overdue ground renovations, and also that some grounds might be needed by the SFL, any chance of Punt Rd Oval Richmond (it should be called Jack Dyer Oval) being the D1 Grand Final venue? After all,it's an enclosed venue, and it would give spectators who would be going to the MCG later that night to watch some footy being played. The Tigers would say 'we didn't play in the grand final, but at least we hosted one!'

NOBS 10 zip in D1 2008. Out in straights sets - and lost 7 of last 10 including finals. Jas, I'd ask mum to hide the key board for a few weeks!

Totally agree! plenty of footy still to come and a few teams definately still well and truly in premiership contention! As everyone may of noticed, probably one of the most even Division 1 competitions in a long time!

Very true and a lot can happen between now and seasons end. That said, I think there's only one team in the VAFA that remains undefeated. So their crew have every right to be feeling pretty good about themselves right now. And I'm being serious this time!

From what we've seen and assuming Willy was just a horrible day against us, I don't think the top 4 will change. Maybe the order. Ormond were super impressive on the weekend and as I mentioned earlier will be there at the pointy end. If the top 4 remains as is for another week they will play each other in Rd.12. All 4 sides will know a lot more about their season after then.

A bit off topic guys but I was after some help. I've got no idea about the VAFA but I was wondering how D1 or premier C would compare with D2 of the northern league or D2 of the EDFL as I'd like to find a club but I don't want embarrass myself on the first night of training haha. Thanks

I can't understand why we have another break due to a representative game, when we already had one a couple of weeks ago for the SA-Victoria Under 23 game. Surely a round of club footy could be played the day before the VAFA v Victoria Country game next week. In 2001 there was a round of club footy played the day before the C-D4 State of Origin game between Victoria and the West Australia Amateur Football League at Sportscover Arena.

It's the only time during the season that there are school holidays, Jase. I think it's a great initiative to have the weekend off. No doubt many clubs have players, supporters, members & volunteers who would appreciate the timing of this break to spend time with their families away from the footy club.

DIVISION 1 2013