D2 Division 2 - 2012

Top4: Just to clarify things. The three times PA played Monash last year they had come off tough games against Yarra and/or they had injuries. Both Parsons and mussaster were out in the close one at monash's home deck, but please, dont put the two in the same bracket...

I do think that Monash has what it takes at times to mix it with the best, but due to their stumpy, slow midfield, they cannot sustain it through and entire season.

PA boys to go through undefeated. Been smashing the gym all summer, running day and night, whereas I bet the monash boys spent most of their preseason at the local sinking pots!

WhoAmI? :confused:
Johnny was at the Monash v Prahran Praccy match today and there is nothing between these 2 teams from what I saw.
Both teams will be pushing for the 4.
I dont think Prahran will be the top team this year. In fact they wont win round 1.

Johnny, did Sleight play? Is he playing this year?

Any particular reason you don't think they will be as good as people say?

Any other praccy results anyone?

Go Turtles.

Just gonna do some more predictions:

Therry
Old Paradians
Prahran Assumption
Monash
Eltham
Latrobe
Bulleen
Emmaus
SMS
SMD

but then again the top 4 could probably be a bit different...
and also the middle 4 teams...
and hell why not the bottom 4...

let's see where we are all at in a few weeks! should be interesting.

Johnny was at the Monash v Prahran Praccy match today and there is nothing between these 2 teams from what I saw.
I dont think Prahran will be the top team this year. In fact they wont win round 1.

Johnny rockin' the third person narrative there. I have heard that much hype about prahran in recent months. good to hear they are mortal like the rest of us.

Don't really understand why your so pessimistic Guru. Really exciting times ahead down at ferndale. The influx of talented juniors will outweigh the influence of any obese CHF 'guns' we've picked up in the past. This along with a coach that actually has a game plan and structures will see massive improvement this season. Can't be any worse than the last couple of seasons anyway...

Seem to recall a game against eventually premiers st johns last season. Half the team were u19s. Don't have to be a seasoned footballer to apply pressure and follow structures. We'll go alright this year.

'poet out'

Reckon Janeo would be really disappointed someone from the club is coming on sprouting off at the mouth like this using his name. I genuinely hope the boys play finals this year. SMS is a wonderful club with wonderful people, but this is really disappointing and not a good reflection on a good group of people. There is a really young exciting group down there and I think they have the right people to take them forward. I am a paid up gold saint and am looking forward to getting down to Ferndale as much as possible this year when my footballing commitments allow me.

However pretty disappointed with what is written here. You take the good and the bad when you coach but reckon this is pretty shithouse to be honest. You do the best you can with what you have and I am bloody proud of the fact that at my time at the club we made a grand final and managed to stay up in D2 against the odds.

I will walk in with my head held high when I come to the club proud that people like George, Jamo, Troy, Purce, Luke and I worked their arses off to put the club into a position that they can move forward and get themselves up to D1 and maybe C in years to come.

Easy to take pot shots at people under the cover of an alias and behind the confort of your computer.

I will walk in with my head held high when I come to the club proud that people like George, Jamo, Troy, Purce, Luke and I worked their arses off to put the club into a position that they can move forward and get themselves up to D1 and maybe C in years to come.

Easy to take pot shots at people under the cover of an alias and behind the confort of your computer.

That you can Bails. Came so close to a premiership in '09, I think the right cards fell our way that day.

Just on Troy Fairbairn, never have I had such a respect for an opposition coach/player as him. Had some great battles with him on the field & a he's terrific bloke off the field. Came close to a reserves premiership too, just got injuries at the wrong end of the year.

But I agree it's rather disappointing trolls coming on here imposing as someone they're not

Reckon Janeo would be really disappointed someone from the club is coming on sprouting off at the mouth like this using his name. I genuinely hope the boys play finals this year. SMS is a wonderful club with wonderful people, but this is really disappointing and not a good reflection on a good group of people. There is a really young exciting group down there and I think they have the right people to take them forward. I am a paid up gold saint and am looking forward to getting down to Ferndale as much as possible this year when my footballing commitments allow me.

However pretty disappointed with what is written here. You take the good and the bad when you coach but reckon this is pretty shithouse to be honest. You do the best you can with what you have and I am bloody proud of the fact that at my time at the club we made a grand final and managed to stay up in D2 against the odds.

Well said Bails.. Disappointing to see comments like that.

That you can Bails. Came so close to a premiership in '09, I think the right cards fell our way that day.

Just on Troy Fairbairn, never have I had such a respect for an opposition coach/player as him. Had some great battles with him on the field & a he's terrific bloke off the field. Came close to a reserves premiership too, just got injuries at the wrong end of the year.

But I agree it's rather disappointing trolls coming on here imposing as someone they're not

Cheers Fish! We did have some good battles....pretty sure you won most of them!!!! I just couldn't get a kick on you...Was having a chat with Lex the other day.. seems you guys are still going well!! Good luck this year.

Top4 popped his head in on the w.e also. Both sides looked to still have a couple out, more so the gryphs after speaking with both coaches after the game. Prahran looked a little unfit and didn't run out the game as well as they may have last year. Last years D3 GF BOG Parsons was very unfit and showed very little interest, maybe the hunger that was there last year is gone for the blues.

Looking forward to rd1 this week lads.

Does anyone here know anything about how La Trobe's going? Heard some bad things from the weekend. Pumped by Yarra Valley (D3) in both grades?

Not sure about LaTrobe Full Press but Therry were massive winners in 1's and 2's (20+ goals both) against St Johns Div1 on the weekend.

Very impressive. Tipping big year for the Therry boys.

Does anyone here know anything about how La Trobe's going? Heard some bad things from the weekend. Pumped by Yarra Valley (D3) in both grades?

Yarra Valley will win D3 this year. Ivanhoe touched up SMS as well last weekend in the ones.

Johnny, did Sleight play? Is he playing this year?

Any particular reason you don't think they will be as good as people say?

Any other praccy results anyone?

Go Turtles.
Sleight didnt play but will play the year. Christoforo is gone which is a massive loss plus they have lost a few other top line players.
Both sides had a few missing so there is plenty of upside coming into round 1. But certainly Prahran wont be the world beaters everyone on here are expecting.
I reckon BT will beat them in round 1.

Well we're almost there. With one last training to fine tune everything its nearly time for the real stuff. Everyone is brimming with confidence right about now but come 5 o'clock saturday arvo or prehaps even halftime of the main game that confidence may have taken a beating for some. Who will that be? The star recruits may become "star recruits". Or prehaps "that kid from the country" may actually be given a name when he turns it on. The time for talking is nearly over.....nearly!

Guru Out!

Sleight didnt play but will play the year. Christoforo is gone which is a massive loss plus they have lost a few other top line players.
Both sides had a few missing so there is plenty of upside coming into round 1. But certainly Prahran wont be the world beaters everyone on here are expecting.
I reckon BT will beat them in round 1.

Sleight a definate starter in the first month of the season. As for other players, muss, persons, etc ran around and arent really interested in pracci games. Lets me honest, not many sides are. Just want to get some players out on the park for a run before round 1.

Once the PA boys get more conditioning into them, they will come home with a wet sail. There could be an unexpected loss here or there early in the year, but once there is continuity in the way they go about things, LOOK OUT!

I hear that La Trobe are quiet underdone, lacking preparation for round 1. Also look for them to be off to a slow start, even a slow season due to lack of committment and desire as a club to do something substantial.

I hear BT are a bunch of arrogant footballers. Look for them to play like they are the best thing since sliced bread, as they believe they are too good for D2 footy. Time will tell...

Johnny, finally, what players did monash have out? They looked pretty much full strength, other than the velvet sledge hammer "flowerday".

He will get suspended 3 times this year with his brain explosions whacking blokes behind the play!

Sleight a definate starter in the first month of the season. As for other players, muss, persons, etc ran around and arent really interested in pracci games. Lets me honest, not many sides are. Just want to get some players out on the park for a run before round 1.

Once the PA boys get more conditioning into them, they will come home with a wet sail. There could be an unexpected loss here or there early in the year, but once there is continuity in the way they go about things, LOOK OUT!

Excuses then a pump up.

I hear that La Trobe are quiet underdone, lacking preparation for round 1. Also look for them to be off to a slow start, even a slow season due to lack of committment and desire as a club to do something substantial.

Ouch "lack of committment and desire as a club to do something

I hear BT are a bunch of arrogant footballers. Look for them to play like they are the best thing since sliced bread, as they believe they are too good for D2 footy. Time will tell...

More fighting words

Johnny, finally, what players did monash have out? They looked pretty much full strength, other than the velvet sledge hammer "flowerday".

5-10 players out including many of the first 10 selected players each week imo

He will get suspended 3 times this year with his brain explosions whacking blokes behind the play!

Interesting post.

Hi all,

Long time player (PA), Long time reader, first time poster.

If I could add my two bobs, after playing in the Praccy against Monash last week, I see it inevitable that both sides go deep into finals action. We dominated last season, (got boring at stages!) and Monash, while finishing 5th, we're clearly the 3rd best team. And let's face it, there isn't much of a step up in class, Bulleen Temp and SMS aren't up to the grade and La Trobe are seasoned battlers.

2011 D3 Clubs unite!

Hi all,

If I could add my two bobs, after playing in the Praccy against Monash last week, I see it inevitable that both sides go deep into finals action. We dominated last season, (got boring at stages!) and Monash, while finishing 5th, we're clearly the 3rd best team. And let's face it, there isn't much of a step up in class, Bulleen Temp and SMS aren't up to the grade and La Trobe are seasoned battlers.

2011 D3 Clubs unite!
Funny you say BT aren't up to the grade because you won't get near them on saturday mate!! You PA boys thinks it's going to be a walk in the park like last year, but Saturday will be a rude awakening for you lot.
OUT!

Fight! Fight! Fight!

Good to seem some banter on hear lads. I'm putting PA v BT down as match of the round! Numeral Ned thanks for spicing things up a little. Hopefully the PA boys don't get too bored running around in d2 this year.

Funny you say BT aren't up to the grade because you won't get near them on saturday mate!! You PA boys thinks it's going to be a walk in the park like last year, but Saturday will be a rude awakening for you lot.
OUT!

Just to make it clear to everyone, rocket66 has no connection to BT. He is talking absolute rubbish on this forum and his comments are no reflection of BT opinions. WHOAMI?, you have clearly made your opinion of BT purely on what one idiot has posted in resent months...

I have no idea what his motives are but its pretty sad because noone knows who he is.

Just to make it clear to everyone, rocket66 has no connection to BT. He is talking absolute rubbish on this forum and his comments are no reflection of BT opinions. WHOAMI?, you have clearly made your opinion of BT purely on what one idiot has posted in resent months...

I have no idea what his motives are but its pretty sad because noone knows who he is.
That being said. Im in the rocket corner on this one. I reckon BT will beat Prahran on Sat.

Hi all,

2011 D3 Clubs unite!

Prahran had better players that those in D3, simple as that.
To say the games were boring shows a complete lack of respect for all the clubs you played against last year.
If you were such a good footballer and were so bored with the opposition, if you had any sort of mettle you would play up the grades in a standard which was more suited to your ability.
You probably wouldn't as no doubt you would get found out.

Worst comment ever......