GRAND FINAL
TREVOR BARKER OVAL 11:45am SUN 11/9
West Brunswick
BrunswickWest BrunswickBrunswick
1st SEMIFINALvsvs
Old ParadiansOld ParadiansWest Brunswick
Ivanhoe

Are all games officially counted as wins ?
I was told yesterday at Ivanhoe by our president the result will stand although the game was terminated at half time?

Are all games officially counted as wins ?
I was told yesterday at Ivanhoe by our president the result will stand although the game was terminated at half time?

G'day BU30,

I was told the same thing at the luncheon and believe that as the game had made the Half time mark that VAFA rules give the points and % to leading team. This looks to be confirmed by the VAFA website today for all games that were not abandoned before half time.

On a side note - huge turn out for the luncheon at Ivanhoe on the weekend for their Life Membership day. Some Ivanhoe greats inducted to Life Membership and Hall of Fame status. Was great to catch up with some ex-teammates and tell stories over a few beers.

Chump

G'day BU30,

I was told the same thing at the luncheon and believe that as the game had made the Half time mark that VAFA rules give the points and % to leading team. This looks to be confirmed by the VAFA website today for all games that were not abandoned before half time.

On a side note - huge turn out for the luncheon at Ivanhoe on the weekend for their Life Membership day. Some Ivanhoe greats inducted to Life Membership and Hall of Fame status. Was great to catch up with some ex-teammates and tell stories over a few beers.

Chump
Snuck in from your humpy mate, free hot shower and a feed?

Manningham announced special general meeting to merge with Yarra Valley Old Boys and move to Bulleen

As we approach the final round of the 2022 season, which has been a very difficult one for the club we have the following announcement regarding our great club moving forward.

From Secretary Noel Bullen

We all know what a difficult season this has been and the Committee is determined not to be in the same situation going forward. We were approached by Yarra Old Grammarians to merge our Clubs and, after much consideration, including a number of face-to-face meetings, we believe the best outcome is to proceed with a merger.

Immediate advantages are:

1. Continue to play at Koonung Park
2. Improved playing list, both in standard & size
3. Increased administrative resources
4. Both Clubs financially sound so even greater financial strength

We believe the future for the new Club is bright. Jointly, and separately, we have put plans in place to look at the recruitment of new players in 2023.

We believe the Cobras will be a great place to play next season and hope that all of our current players join us in the next exciting chapter of the club. We will be in touch with all of you to reiterate how important you are to us, both on and off the field. We appreciate the fight you have shown this season to keep us alive.

We will be conducting a Q&A at training tomorrow night and we encourage as many of you as possible to be in attendance for that.

Manningham announced special general meeting to merge with Yarra Valley Old Boys and move to Bulleen

As we approach the final round of the 2022 season, which has been a very difficult one for the club we have the following announcement regarding our great club moving forward.

We all know what a difficult season this has been and the Committee is determined not to be in the same situation going forward. We were approached by Yarra Old Grammarians to merge our Clubs and, after much consideration, including a number of face-to-face meetings, we believe the best outcome is to proceed with a merger.

We believe the future for the new Club is bright. Jointly, and separately, we have put plans in place to look at the recruitment of new players in 2023.

We believe the Cobras will be a great place to play next season and hope that all of our current players join us in the next exciting chapter of the club. We will be in touch with all of you to reiterate how important you are to us, both on and off the field. We appreciate the fight you have shown this season to keep us alive.

We will be conducting a Q&A at training tomorrow night and we encourage as many of you as possible to be in attendance for that.

That's big news, progressive on both clubs behalf to continue to offer footy in season 2023. I wish the new club all the success going forward.

Does this change the relegation for season 2022???

Wow, big news ...

Congratulations to both clubs in their pro-active approach in wanting to preserve elements of their respective clubs. An outlook such as this takes COURAGE, it does not suggest weakness or defeat. It is dealing with the reality of the NOW and not being attached, at all costs, to the past. The current committee is trying to preserve some of that History by giving it a chance of a future. I wish both clubs the best of luck moving forward.

This is a sign of the times and the difficulty in running viable sporting clubs right now. It is especially difficult in the lower divisions of VAFA football if you do not have a vibrant school connection/feeder group. Much has changed in the past 20 years within our competition (and society) and IMHO more clubs will merge, fold or leave the VAFA in the coming years as the gap between the have's and have not's widens within the VAFA.

Chump(stradamus)

so judging by this they'll keep manningham name?
That's big news, progressive on both clubs behalf to continue to offer footy in season 2023. I wish the new club all the success going forward.

Does this change the relegation for season 2022???
3 teams on 48 points in div 3. relegate mangingham/yarra & powerhouse and bring 3 div 3 teams up, then only relegate westbourne? going to be tricky regardless

I think that would be unlikely. Trips to Kilsyth, Silvan, Chirnside Park and Croydon North (EFNL) or Kinglake and Kilmore (NFNL) wouldn't really whet the appetite when your current furthest trips are Aquinas, Power House and Brunswick.

I would assume Div 2 would be one down and two up this year to keep 10 clubs in Div 2 unless somehow both Cobras and Yarra fill the relegation spots.

so judging by this they'll keep manningham name?

3 teams on 48 points in div 3. relegate mangingham/yarra & powerhouse and bring 3 div 3 teams up, then only relegate westbourne? going to be tricky regardless
As I mentioned, drop 1 promote 1. I reckon Pagan (current coach of Yarra) will coach and build relationship with school. Yarra would be happy to get of Leeds Street!

Manningham Coach (Frank) signed with Nunawading in 2023, would think they stay in VAFA Chump. I think its time for VAFA to drop 1 and promote 1.

And your boys win D2, go up and will need to hire a coach (Bus) to travel to Peninsula!

I think a lot to happen before we are looking at hiring a bus to anywhere Brainy T!

Chump.

I think that would be unlikely. Trips to Kilsyth, Silvan, Chirnside Park and Croydon North (EFNL) or Kinglake and Kilmore (NFNL) wouldn't really whet the appetite when your current furthest trips are Aquinas, Power House and Brunswick.

I would assume Div 2 would be one down and two up this year to keep 10 clubs in Div 2 unless somehow both Cobras and Yarra fill the relegation spots.

Maybe they are looking beyond just next year when it comes to things? Travel Included.
Both sides have/had significant player numbers who had previously played in EFNL so maybe that holds a little more appeal?
If both financial, paying players could be an option?
A few locally based clubs in higher EFNL divisions, so may have a look if the coach, environment and $$ are appealing beyond playing at the highest level?

Chump

No confirmation of that rumour on Saturday at the Life Members lunch from the people I spoke with Seemyhat

Seems some at VAFA H/O and other clubs in VAFA/NFNL are the ones driving that 'bus'.

Chump.
I don't think VAFA head office would be driving that bus