D3 Division 3 2011

Round 2 Preview

Wicks over Kew by 18 Pts (It has been a commonly held belief for the last decade, shut down the Mahony boys and you shut down Elsternwick. It was no surprise to see that neither Craig nor Brian featured last week and therefore the Wicks were comfortably accounted for. Kew will be looking to continue this poor start for the home side but can’t it happening at EP2)
Hoes over UHS by 6 Pts (There are at least four games I can see going either way and this is the first of them. Uni High are certainly a club on the up with links to Victoria University and Flemington Juniors in recent times, however, this is just the kind of game they have dropped over the years. Ivanhoe will make them accountable for every possession and might just have better conversion in front of the sticks if Holland continues to fire. Hoes just).
House over Westies by 24 Pts (All reports from Ross Gregory have been glowing in relation to Powerhouse’s performance last Saturday, but the fact remains is that they were jumped by Albert Park early and only hit top gear in the second half, due to Burnside’s dominance. The Magpies may not have beat much in the eyes of many, but that is grossly unfair on the Bears as Truslove’s men played with a confidence unseen for much of 2010. I give them an outside chance, but class should prevail).
Hawks over YV by 2 Pts (I defy anyone to split these two first round losers as we simply don’t know how good their opponents were. Based on this I can only split them by a whisker and will err on the side of caution and side with the home team. Toby “Leonard” Cohen to be amongst the Hawks best.
Falcons over the Rams by 3 Pts (See the review of the Hawks/Yarra Valley game. I simply have no idea in this one and will side with Albert Park. Both sides let leads slip last week. Anthony Lewis to continue his good form).
Blues over Gryphons by 12 Pts (Monash are going for 11 straight senior wins, but one thinks they will meet their Waterloo at Toorak Park. The Gryphs now have a second Mackie starring with Todd joining brother Clint at ECR, however, I think the likes of Josh Chapman and Jimmy Musster will prove too much. Will be an entertaining contest no doubt).

Round 2 Review

My tips were about as accurate as a Drew Morphett commentary. 2/6 for a cumulative total of 7/12, placing me amongst the weakest of the D3 forum. One can only improve…

No doubt that the most underrated team of the season so far has been West Brunswick. Two and zip and the big scalp of Powerhouse has the press salivating and stalwarts like Ocker Fyffe, glowing with pride. I recall Ocker telling me at the VAFA Dinner last month to expect a much improved Magpies, but I thought he like many others on that night was just wording his team up. Full credit to Damian Truslove and his coaching panel for having his chargers ‘purring’. The other big winners last round were The Bushrangers, who easily accounted for a most disappointing Hawks and The Four Blues who gave Monash a football lesson in the premiership quarter at Toorak Park. Uni High won a close one away at Ivanhoe that will leave Leigh Cole and many others at The Boulevard feeling like they let one slip. Truth is the boys from the Zoo were never in trouble with Lachlan Habel playing a blinder. The Bears won well at little Elsternwick, but one feels it could be a long season for the black and reds unless there is a dramatic turnaround in skill acquisition. The Falcons did what most expected to the Rams who are finding the jump in class a bit trying thus far…

Round 3 Preview

Prahran over Hawks by 61 Pts (We are only at the end of April, but Betfair has installed The Blues as clear Premiership Favourites. What has really impressed the scribes has been the evenness of the Prahran squad, few superstars and many avenues to goal. Add to the mix a relentless work ethic and a well structured game plan and you have a professional unit indeed. Unfortunately, Hawthorn has shown few of these traits and will be beaten comfortably. Leigh Northway to be best afield).

Gryphs over Falcons by 16 Pts (Monash would not want to have a third quarter lapse again this week as Albert Park are a fair team that will test them all the way with the likes of James Brick and Dylan Muscat in full flight. However, Monash are always tough to beat at home and should salute in a fiery contest between two old rivals. Dan Baxter to star for the home side).

Wicks over Rams by 14 Pts (Panic stations at Elsternwick if they drop this one, so one has to select them, but their form has been so disappointing in 2011 you cannot pick them with any confidence. The Wicks will look to old stalwarts like Craig or Brian Mahony for inspiration, but will have to be careful as Mt Lilydale are capable of some pretty inspiring football themselves when Justin Roberts and Tommy Wall fire. Will give the Wicks one last chance before I write them off).

Westies over UHS by 3 Pts (The Battle of Royal Park is perhaps the most famous derby in the lower sections of the VAFA and this year has the added flavour of being a battle between co-tenants. These two near neighbours have not always been the best of friends on the field and I expect there to be no love lost. There may be some that are surprised by this selection, as I tipped UHS to come 2nd this year, but if Robert Henham can continue his stellar form, I reckon the parochial McAlister faithful can do enough to get the Magpies over the line).

The House over the Hoes by 33 Pts (I expect Powerhouse to bounce back in fine fashion at home on Saturday as Ivanhoe’s form has been okay, but hardly spectacular. Burnside will give the House first use of the ball and I doubt anyone will be able to quell the influence of big Paul Edwards in front of the sticks. Powerhouse easily).

Yarra Valley over Kew by 11 Pts (I predict the Bushrangers will be the only away winner of round 3, but, by the same token, I would not be surprised to see an upset. Michael Ross is in great early season form and skipper Aaron Carman is an inspirational leader who will make it tough for the visitors. However, half of the Yarra Valley boys found the scoresheet last round and this evenness should see them get the points.

Good luck to all

Quasi

Ivanhoe will get up. the soul of the club has been restored with the inclusion of James Brown.

Watch me, I got it!

Great that the footy's back after having to eat all those chocolates.

Prahran vs. Hawthorn
Monash Gyphons vs. Albert Park
Elsternwick vs Mt Lilydale
West Brunswick vs. UHS-VU
Power House vs. Ivanhoe
Kew vs. Yarra Valley

I see Prahran Vs Hawthorn is being played up at Assumption College, I gather Hawthorn agreed to this prior to the season? Will it be a regular fixture with the merger?

Hoping to play one, maybe two games per annum at the Ground. Was a great day for both the Club and the School on Saturday and look forward to the next trip up there in 2012!

The dreaded injury curse has hit the Hoes once again. Would you believe 2 key position players got carried off on a stretcher in the first 10min of the game at Powerhouse yesterday! The boys battled hard the entire day being extremely undermanned and only went down by 2 goals in the end. Luckily Glen Francis was back, otherwise the margin surely woud have been greater.

Agree there Mr Love, was not good seeing the 2 boys go down, don't know if we will see them again this year, lets hope for the best though.

As soon as we get a couple back we lose some more players!

anyway, was a pretty good game regardless, but again the Hoes not able to get the job done on the score board. Powerhouse have some strong forwards, and a very good tap ruckman. Hoes probably ran out of legs a bit, a few guys need some more games into them to hit top form, Francis will be good for the run, and hopefully the injuries ease up now.

another big game with Albert Park this week, both teams 1-2. 2-2 looks a shit load more appealing than 1-3. 8 point game!!!

Gents,

Rumours insist that Power House had a "Special Guest" Assistant Coach during their game against Ivanhoe on the weekend.

A certain Brisbane Lions Captain J. Brown helping out his old playing mate and Premiership Teammate Martin Pike!

Can anyone confirm or deny?

Agree there Mr Love, was not good seeing the 2 boys go down, don't know if we will see them again this year, lets hope for the best though.

As soon as we get a couple back we lose some more players!

anyway, was a pretty good game regardless, but again the Hoes not able to get the job done on the score board. Powerhouse have some strong forwards, and a very good tap ruckman. Hoes probably ran out of legs a bit, a few guys need some more games into them to hit top form, Francis will be good for the run, and hopefully the injuries ease up now.

another big game with Albert Park this week, both teams 1-2. 2-2 looks a load more appealing than 1-3. 8 point game!!!

What happened? Two players injurred at the same time?

Gents,

Rumours insist that Power House had a "Special Guest" Assistant Coach during their game against Ivanhoe on the weekend.

A certain Brisbane Lions Captain J. Brown helping out his old playing mate and Premiership Teammate Martin Pike!

Can anyone confirm or deny?

Yes Dee Three, I can confirm that J. Brown was in the box with Pikey. I actually listened to Pikey's 3 qtr-time address with the game in the balance (Phouse up by 2pts)and was far from impressed. (Repeated himself a fair bit.) However he did make mention of the huge effort of the Hoes being 2 down in hot conditions all day. Agree with you Mitch -- a must win this Saturday.

Seen seven sides now and no-one is a standout although I'm yet to cast a discerning eye over Prahran and Yarra Valley.

Hoes had their chances but they are just a little off the pace and can tidy up a few things and with a bit of work be a contender.

One thing we do have to tidy up is the attendance in the oppositions's rooms after the game.

There was half a dozen of us in there and a poor reflection on us as a club and individuals.

No excuses boys, everyone should show their heads in the rooms after the game whether at home or away!

What happened? Two players injurred at the same time?

2 seperate incidents, in our back 50.

first a shaulder, then a knee. unfortunately These things happen in a game of footy, but it was on a couple of minutes apart probably, so the trainers were under all sorts of pressure!

Seen seven sides now and no-one is a standout although I'm yet to cast a discerning eye over Prahran and Yarra Valley.

Hoes had their chances but they are just a little off the pace and can tidy up a few things and with a bit of work be a contender.

One thing we do have to tidy up is the attendance in the oppositions's rooms after the game.

There was half a dozen of us in there and a poor reflection on us as a club and individuals.

No excuses boys, everyone should show their heads in the rooms after the game whether at home or away!

I am guilty of not hanging around on the weekend, usually like to have 1 after the game but was unable to this week. however we probably are lucky to have 7 blokes shower most weeks!!! gotta start laying down some more fines for stinky behaviour.

however we probably are lucky to have 7 blokes shower most weeks!!! gotta start laying down some more fines for stinky behaviour.

Agree with that Mitch.

What's the story with the no showers. It's like a junior side.

Posted by DEE THREE
`Brisbane Lions Captain J. Brown helping out his old playing mate and Premiership Teammate Martin Pike!`

You Sure???? Was there and didnt see the Big man, and i reckon it would have been hard to miss him......

Posted by DEE THREE
`Brisbane Lions Captain J. Brown helping out his old playing mate and Premiership Teammate Martin Pike!`

You Sure???? Was there and didnt see the Big man, and i reckon it would have been hard to miss him......

I wasn't there..I was watching the Hawks get hacked by Prahran

I just heard a rumour that J Brown was there with Pikey.

buddy-love posted earlier that he WAS in fact there...so I guess it's true!

Daniel Perry made a successful comeback for yarra valley reserves on the weekend, should be back to tear the comp apart this weekend.

Tips for Round 4

Tipped 6 out of 6 last week.

Progress 13 out of 18

Yarra Valley v Power House Yarra 22 points
Ivanhoe v Albert Park Albert Park 18 points
UHS-VU v Prahran Assumption Match of the Round UHS by 5 points
Mt Lilydale v West Brunswick West by 25 points
Hawthorn v Elsterwick Elsternwick by 10 points
Kew v Monash Monash by 8 points

Yarra Valley vs Power House
Ivanhoe vs Albert Park
UHS-VU vs Prahran
Mt Lilydale vs West Brunswick
Hawthorn vs Elsterwick
Kew vs Monash Gyphons

Progressive 9 from 12.

Prahran Assumption v Hawthorn - 56 points.
Monash Gryphons v Albert Park - 16 points.
Elsternwick v Mt Lilydale - 4 points.
West Brunswick v UHS-VU - 24 points.
Power House v Ivanhoe - 35 points.
Kew v Yarra Valley - 61 points.

Progressive 14 from 18.

No time for a review this week so will will keep it quick.

Yarra Valley v Power House - 29 points. YV too strong for a not quite firing Powerhouse.
Ivanhoe v Albert Park - 12 points. Ivanhoe impressed last week. Might struggle if injury issues are true but home ground will still see them over the line.
UHS-VU v Prahran Assumption - 25 points. Match of the Round. Will be a good test to really see where UHS are at as they really haven't played anyone of note yet. Will be brought back to the middle of the pack here.
Mt Lilydale v West Brunswick - 30 points. Westies true colours came through last week. Travel will be tough but should notch up a win here.
Hawthorn v Elsternwick - 20 points. Elsternwick only a marginally better side but will keep improving throughout the season.
Kew v Monash Gryphons - 44 points. Gryphs going along ok and will account for Kew comfortably.

Round 3 Preview

Prahran over Hawks by 61 Pts (We are only at the end of April, but Betfair has installed The Blues as clear Premiership Favourites. What has really impressed the scribes has been the evenness of the Prahran squad, few superstars and many avenues to goal. Add to the mix a relentless work ethic and a well structured game plan and you have a professional unit indeed. Unfortunately, Hawthorn has shown few of these traits and will be beaten comfortably. Leigh Northway to be best afield).

Gryphs over Falcons by 16 Pts (Monash would not want to have a third quarter lapse again this week as Albert Park are a fair team that will test them all the way with the likes of James Brick and Dylan Muscat in full flight. However, Monash are always tough to beat at home and should salute in a fiery contest between two old rivals. Dan Baxter to star for the home side).

Wicks over Rams by 14 Pts (Panic stations at Elsternwick if they drop this one, so one has to select them, but their form has been so disappointing in 2011 you cannot pick them with any confidence. The Wicks will look to old stalwarts like Craig or Brian Mahony for inspiration, but will have to be careful as Mt Lilydale are capable of some pretty inspiring football themselves when Justin Roberts and Tommy Wall fire. Will give the Wicks one last chance before I write them off).

Westies over UHS by 3 Pts (The Battle of Royal Park is perhaps the most famous derby in the lower sections of the VAFA and this year has the added flavour of being a battle between co-tenants. These two near neighbours have not always been the best of friends on the field and I expect there to be no love lost. There may be some that are surprised by this selection, as I tipped UHS to come 2nd this year, but if Robert Henham can continue his stellar form, I reckon the parochial McAlister faithful can do enough to get the Magpies over the line).

The House over the Hoes by 33 Pts (I expect Powerhouse to bounce back in fine fashion at home on Saturday as Ivanhoe’s form has been okay, but hardly spectacular. Burnside will give the House first use of the ball and I doubt anyone will be able to quell the influence of big Paul Edwards in front of the sticks. Powerhouse easily).

Yarra Valley over Kew by 11 Pts (I predict the Bushrangers will be the only away winner of round 3, but, by the same token, I would not be surprised to see an upset. Michael Ross is in great early season form and skipper Aaron Carman is an inspirational leader who will make it tough for the visitors. However, half of the Yarra Valley boys found the scoresheet last round and this evenness should see them get the points.

Round 3 Review

5/6 (12/18 cumulative) was a far better return and gives me renewed hope...

An acquaintance of mine once said that percentages are the true indication of who will feature at the business end of the year, and if this is to be taken as gospel, we have three teams that are considerably above the rest. Most would have Prahran and Yarra Valley as teams most likely to feature in September, but one must also consider Uni High a serious threat. The way in which the combine deposed of the Pies on their home turf has shot a tremor through the competition and we are beginning to take notice. An antipodean, analysis points to long seasons for both the Hawks and Rams who remain winless and diminished in spirit due to demoralising losses on the weekend. Many thought the Hawks may be a contender in 2011, but one goal in three quarters at Kilmore was ordinary whichever way you scrutinize. The Gryphs and Powerhouse look as though they are amongst the next bracket of teams who are likely to challenge for finals action, as both had relatively comfortable, but unspectacular home wins against the Falcons and Hoes respectively. To that end, I would not be writing off Ivanhoe or Albert Park as they have shown glimpses of fine form in all of their encounters and will be tough to beat at home. The Wicks got on the winners list with an effortless victory at little Elsternwick, but I will reserve judgment until they meet better opposition.

Round 4 Preview

Prahran over UHS-VU by 3 Pts (Clear match of the day and it should be a cracker. Perfect conditions forecast at McAlister has one salivating with Andrew ‘Tragic’ Johnson at one end against Peter Christoforo at the other proving a headache for both defences. Let’s hope both coaches employ attacking game-plans as there will be the temptation to drop a few extra behind the ball. Logic says to pick the home side when in doubt, but The Four Blues are arguably a class above all when they hit top gear. I will select them in a thriller with Steven McIntyre best afield).
Ivanhoe over The Falcons by 25 Pts (The loser of this drops right off the pace and it is unfortunate that the Bankers are away from home again. From what we have seen so far in 2011, neither team possesses a potent forward line so I expect a dour and tough affair with defences well on top. Dan Bonney to continue his good early season form).
Yarra Valley over The House by 16 Pts (We will be able to more accurately assess the worth of Pikey’s boys after they take on the Bushrangers at Domeney. Ryan Pollard is proving to be one of the more dangerous men around the sticks in D3 and if he continues to fire I see the home side winning by far more. Powerhouse are a reasonable side though and will be in it for much of the day).
West by 6 Pts over the Rams (Danger game for the Pies who really let me down last weekend, but I will forgive one more time. Lilydale is a venue that the Rams play most effectively, but their form has been so poor – particularly in defence, that you cannot select them. The margin may be closer than many will predict).
Wicks over Hawks by 11 Pts (The Hawks are not as bad as their formline suggests, but their confidence is low and that may be the telling factor. Elsternwick will have to work much harder to secure the four points, but if Aaron Thornton continues to trouble the scorers I think they will do enough).
Monash over The Bears by 16 Pts (I do not share the view that this is a lay down misere for the Gryphs. One of the bottom three will probably win this week at it may well be the Maroon & Golds if they either go in with a complacent mindset or kick inaccurately, a habit that they are fast becoming renowned for. Still two wins from three and numerous avenues to goal has Monash holding all the trumps and they should get home with Dan McConville prominent).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Hoes just got over the line vs AP. It was all about Harry Post taking big grabs and strutting. My man Francis better watch out, the man love could be shifting...