D3 Division 3 2011

Watts - injured since Kew along with a few others. Shocking injury to the Monash Gry's number 11 - hope all is mending ok. Think it will be a long recuperation. Any news Quasi?

Compound fracture of the ankle so certainly a long road ahead for Malloy.
Had surgery last night which by reports went well. Apparently told by the surgeon he will never play footy again. I'm not sure that's the case, but fingers crossed he will make a full recovery. Also a keen cricketer with my mail telling me was going to play at Ivanhoe this year but that wont be happening now.

Well done to the Uni High boys and staff in the sportsmanship shown on the weekend, particularly #49 who was first on the scene when Malloy went down and helped calm him down and kept his leg/foot still.

Moving on, should be a great 2 games this weekend. A professional outfit like PA should only be stronger after the bye, however hasnt been much between them and YV all season. PA by 2 kicks.
Ivanhoe have been in great form and were in the game against YV for most of the day. However the Gryphons played their best game of the season to dispose of Uni High. Malloy a big loss so will be interesting to see how they will structure up. This one I feel will come down to the last kick of the day, I'll go with the Gryphons by 3 pts.

Whats the venue like out at St Bernard's?

Big, wide runs North/South and traditionally windy!!

Nice work by the ammo brains trust to shift it all around again .... muppets.

Chump.

word on the street is that they had it all worked out with a few vfl grounds & all the councils pulled the grounds on fri.

when collingwood gets olympic park up and running the vafa MUST get access to it for this time of the yr

word on the street is that they had it all worked out with a few vfl grounds & all the councils pulled the grounds on fri.

Any word Members Section on WHY the councils pulled the grounds on Friday?

Anyway, no biggy - just thought it strange that we had all Div 3 teams
(apart from PA's) play at Central res on the weekend....and now that all gets shifted to StB's ????

Chump

Any word Members Section on WHY the councils pulled the grounds on Friday?

Anyway, no biggy - just thought it strange that we had all Div 3 teams
(apart from PA's) play at Central res on the weekend....and now that all gets shifted to StB's ????

Chump

Not to mention the fact that you have Banyule, NOBS, and Therry who are all based in the north playing in Waverley, while Monash, Prahran & Yarra who are all eastern suburbs based are travelling to Essendon.

Defies logic unless the perception is the ground & facilities at Waverley are significantly superior to that of St Bernards.

True to form, another mystifying decision from the VAFA but I know those participating wouldn't care where it was played, although the gate takings may take a bit of a hit as a result I'd imagine.

Not to mention the fact that you have Banyule, NOBS, and Therry who are all based in the north playing in Waverley, while Monash, Prahran & Yarra who are all eastern suburbs based are travelling to Essendon.

Defies logic unless the perception is the ground & facilities at Waverley are significantly superior to that of St Bernards.

True to form, another mystifying decision from the VAFA but I know those participating wouldn't care where it was played, although the gate takings may take a bit of a hit as a result I'd imagine.

Don't even think about bringing logic into this Midas!!

I think the viewing from Central Res is better. A massive hill looking down on the ground at ST'b's - if they use the ground on the left - gives you a unique look for local footy. The rooms are fine and ground is usually pretty good - should be firm.

That being said - if we are fortunate enough to win and play the week after in a prelim..... we would play on the moon!! Go Hoes!!

Chump.

DEE FREEE - As you full well know No-one gets paid in the Ammos! Considering I baulk at paying for a beer I doubt I would lash out on some good old fashioned bribery.

It would be interesting to hear from UMPY'S ADVOCATE about your comments re. umpires but i heard on the grape vine he has been muzzled by a collective group of football adminstrators who have not used bribery but thuggary to silence him.

What I do think though, is that mutual respect of player and umpire has led to some much more objective decision making. You should know because my sources tell me you have umpired more than most at Ammo level and after a long period disguising yourself in this Forum you have been something of snake in the grass!

Any way I should make way for others, and this competiton will be a whole lot better off with one less thug hanging around! So for EDDIE THE EAGLE, who would seem to have flown the coop, you can come back and play again and you don't have to be scared anymore!

Bemused...I am officially bemused at this rant of a post! You obviously have been on an extended end of season (career) Mad Monday!

The Power House boys have been known to knock back a few in their time and this season they were very present and very vocal in our rooms after the game against us...Great for bar sales...!

Looks like it was a disappointing season for the House at both levels...probably good that you did retire and let a few young kids have a crack.

You can now put up your feet at the bar and sledge your old team mates next season and remember that "the older you get, the better you were".

But in your case, it would be..."the older you get, the older you get"...

DEE FREEE - As you full well know No-one gets paid in the Ammos! Considering I baulk at paying for a beer I doubt I would lash out on some good old fashioned bribery.

It would be interesting to hear from UMPY'S ADVOCATE about your comments re. umpires but i heard on the grape vine he has been muzzled by a collective group of football adminstrators who have not used bribery but thuggary to silence him.

What I do think though, is that mutual respect of player and umpire has led to some much more objective decision making. You should know because my sources tell me you have umpired more than most at Ammo level and after a long period disguising yourself in this Forum you have been something of snake in the grass!

Any way I should make way for others, and this competiton will be a whole lot better off with one less thug hanging around! So for EDDIE THE EAGLE, who would seem to have flown the coop, you can come back and play again and you don't have to be scared anymore!

You have gone too far now - change your name - CONFUSED.

Are you suggesting that my whole reason for having this online pseudonym is not legitimate. If he is an Umpire I'll eat my whistle!

His rants are more due to the fact that after so many years he is yet to play 50 games cause he can't get picked in the ressies.

I am insulted that you could even toy with the idea that he don the whites and adjudicate the game. Shame Shame Shame.

Just got back from a flying visit to my friends in the Northern Hemisphere, what a long flight for a little eagle like me. Bemused, I must say that in my 200+ games I've come up against bigger and scarier guys than you and lived to tell the tale. I'm just not a big rap for guys who go out there looking for an easy target to snipe or fight, not what I see as tough. I'm a bigger fan of the guys that put their bodies on the line to get the footy. Enjoy your retirement!

Welcome back!

I agree whole heartedly! And thank you for the well wishes.

Hey Bemused...how did you manage to get yourself on the front page of the Power House website. And being chaired off by a couple of players that actually look like they are struggling to carry you!

And don't worry about Eddie the Eagle...anyone who comes on here spruiking about "I played 200 games..." etc is just an insecure Division 3 Reserves back pocket player...

...oh and by the way...congrats to whoever built it...it's a ripper website!

Week 1 – Finals Preview

Five teams have qualified and all the old clichés are true. It is a whole new ball game. Whilst Yarra and Prahran are playing like world-beaters, it means nothing if they cannot produce the same form over the next few weeks. Similarly, the Gryphons recent poor form can all be forgotten if they regain their mojo come Sunday and take this into the ensuing weeks.

Qualifying Final

Yarra over Ivanhoe by 41 Pts (It is one all between these two and naturally home ground has determined the winner. On that proviso, the neutral territory at Glen Waverley could mean a very close contest, but the fact remains that the Hoes were destroyed by The Bushrangers a month back at Domeney and I see no good reason for this to discontinue. Yarra possess a dogged defence, a solid midfield and a potent forward mix headed by the Yeo boys and the fine conditions will accentuate their superior skill acquisition. The Hoes will look to Ash Close or Ben Plowman for inspiration, but I suspect these key players will be targeted and holes will be evident in Ivanhoe’s depth).

Elimination Final

UHS over Monash by 8 Pts (One would assume that this will be the closer of the two finals this weekend as the previous meetings between these sides have been decide by less than a kick. Nothing separates the teams on paper, but I must side with Uni High as the Gryphons form over the last six weeks has been abysmal. Winning form is so important for finals teams and Monash have only been able to salute over the relegation threatened Hawks since mid-July. The combine will look to quell the influence of Matt Fletcher in the midfield, whilst Monash will closely check Lucas Gorringe and Russell Matthews. Both teams have a reasonably good spine and I can’t see this being a shootout, therefore, I feel that the bottom six of the respective teams hold the key. It will possibly come down to whichever team structure holds up the best in the clinches and I feel UHS may just have the answers. Monash will look the winners at some time in the second half, but I feel they will fall just short. Sam Payne to be best afield).

Week 1 Finals – Review

1/2 (73/110 cumulative)

As per normal this season there was a predicted result and a minor upset in the first week of the D3 Finals. The Gryphons played their best footy in a couple of months, destroying a lacklustre Uni High in the Elimination final. The Gryphs coaching staff employed an attack at all times philosophy and this worked a treat as the combine squandered chances with the breeze early on. Lee Wells was at his devastating best in a big game – his work rate is phenomenal for a man now well into his thirties – and Marc Loricco was damaging in the clutches. The win was set up early on, but confirmed in the second term when the Gryphs finished the half with five goals in as many minutes – a move that broke the back of UHS – and blew the game wide open. Uni High had some valiant contributors, with the likes of Sammy Turner and Hugh Lovell prominent, but they never recovered and in the end were humbled to the tune of 51 points. The Qualifying Final was a far closer affair withthe Bushrangers taking three and a half quarters to shake off a plucky Ivanhoe. The best players come to the fore in finals encounters and Ben Plowman continued his fine season with a dominant display for the Hoes, however, the depth of Yarra Valley tested their opponents in the end. The Bushrangers are arguably the greatest ‘family’ club in the VAFA and this time it was the Trend boys, led by Ben & Jono who were the unlikely heroes of the team. The Hoes – unlike UHS – get another chance this weekend and should remain confident they can get another crack at the top two.
It would be remiss of me not to wish Mick Malloy of Monash a speedy recovery after his compound fracture of the ankle. All the VAFA community wish you well.

Week 2 Preview

2nd Semi Final:

Four Blues over the Bushrangers by 23 Pts (I suspect this match will follow a similar path to the Q/F except this time it will be The Bushrangers on the negative side of the ledger. The best sides always play an uncompromising and brutal style of football and I expect this to be no different, Goals will be hard to come by and the predicted windy conditions will no doubt play a role. The toss of the coin is vital and if Yarra can win this and make good use of the breeze, they will be in it all day, but I feel the superior skill acquisition of Prahran will be the necessary buffer that propels the club back into Division 2. Jimmy Musster to continue his stellar season with best afield honours).

1st Semi Final

Hoes over the Gryphons by 11 Points (Due to the vagaries of a 12-team draw, these two sides have not met since mid-May. On that day the Gryphs had possibly their best away win of the year, but there has been a lot of water under the bridge since and I would pay little mind to it. It may be wet on Sunday and even though the big ground may suit the Gryphons, this may quell the influence of the marking targets of Wells and Madden. Similarly, Ash Close may not be able to exert too much influence for the Hoes. I suspect both teams will tag the key midfielders of Collins and Fletcher and hence the depth of these respective midfields will be the key. I favour Ivanhoe just as they have the capacity to sustain an intense effort for a little longer. Will be close and hotly contested though).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Progressive 76 from 108.

You seem to have caught up quickly Quasi. You been fiddling the tipping figures?

Yarra Valley vs Ivanhoe - 25 points. YV will ensure there is no repeat of their loss to Ivanhoe earlier this year. The bottom 3 finalists are kidding themselves if they think they can run with YV or Prahran. Let's just play the premiership now. I suspect the better Yeo will be back from his rest so the margin could even be more.

UHS-VU vs Monash Gryphons - 5 points. This will be a really tight game and don't expect either team to give an inch. Whilst the Gryphons have had poor form in the past month and a half, they haven't played the football they are capable of and still just lost to UHS last time these teams met. I think with last years finals experience they will lift and just get over the line.

Progressive 78 from 110.

Should be a good week of footy. Unless something strange happens we have the Clash of the Titans in a Grand Final preview. Also what is really the Grand Final of the Best of the Rest.

I just wish VAFA would get us to play at non-VAFA grounds. Every year I look forward to having a beer whilst watching the games in finals. So you could imagine how distraught I was showing up to Glen Waverly on the weekend.

Prahran Assumption vs Yarra Valley - 10 points. I'm going out on a limb here and tipping against the 4 Blues. I'm not really sure how to take the last two rounds where each team has had a crack at the Hoes. If we look at those margins you'd be silly to tip against Prahran. But finals are a funny game. This will be a bruising affair with YV having more to prove. I also don't like tipping teams coming off the bye. I'll be keeping an eye on the umpy favourites such as Musster and Sleight from PA. Beal, Pollard and Yeo from YV.

Ivanhoe vs Monash Gryphons - 12 points. These teams seem to have swapped ability half way through the season. Gryphons started well to Ivanhoes lackluster effort, then about 8 weeks ago, Ivanhoe turned the tables. Since then they have had 6 wins compared with Monash, lucky to have 3. Funnily enough Monash fared about 5% better percentage. But that is all out the window with both teams playing quite well last week and in good form. Gryphons have a very solid defence with the likes of Baxter and Wells but struggle up forward not only in opportunities but also accuracy. Windy day wont help this so am tipping the Hoes. Again I'll be keeping an eye on the umpy favourites Harris and Collins from Ivanhoe. Wells and Fletcher from Monash.

Selections for the weekends finals matches.

Semiors.
Second Semi Final.
Prahran vs Yarra Valley

First Semi Final
Ivanhoe vs Monash Gyphons

Reserves.
Second Semi Final
Prahran vs Yarra Valley

First Semi Final
UHS-VU vs Hawthorn

Selections for the weekends finals matches.

Semiors.
Second Semi Final.
Prahran vs Yarra Valley

First Semi Final
Ivanhoe vs Monash Gyphons

Reserves.
Second Semi Final
Prahran vs Yarra Valley

First Semi Final
UHS-VU vs Hawthorn

Seniors

The boys from Toorak park to win by 6 goals. Big trip for the Yarra boys.
The hoes to win by plenty Monash are soft and lack skill.

Reserves
Prahran
Hawthorn.

Im tipping Yarra over Prahran.
Prahran has won both games during the year by less than 2 goals. And games could have gone either way. I reckon Yarra is due. Savage, R.Pollard and Collie to control the game through the middle and Trend will get the stopping Job on Musster. Probably the only player in the league capable of doing it.
Yarra by 10 points.

Monash over Ivanhoe by 3 goals.
Not sure why Quasi always talks about Wells from Monash. Hes been a good player over the years but is now pushing 40. Ivanhoe need to stop the influence of McConville through the guts. And the run of Wilson off the wing. Ash Close up forward looms as the danger player and if he gets conditions to suit he could kick a bag. But with a little rain and wind predicted I think that helps Monash and could set up a Monash v Prahan Prelim next week.

Johnny out.....

Seniors

The boys from Toorak park to win by 6 goals. Big trip for the Yarra boys.
The hoes to win by plenty Monash are soft and lack skill.

Reserves
Prahran
Hawthorn.

If Monash are soft and lack skill then UHS-VU must be the softest and most skill less team every to play in D3.

Johnny out.

Im tipping Yarra over Prahran.
Prahran has won both games during the year by less than 2 goals. And games could have gone either way. I reckon Yarra is due. Savage, R.Pollard and Collie to control the game through the middle and Trend will get the stopping Job on Musster. Probably the only player in the league capable of doing it.
Yarra by 10 points.

Monash over Ivanhoe by 3 goals.
Not sure why Quasi always talks about Wells from Monash. Hes been a good player over the years but is now pushing 40. Ivanhoe need to stop the influence of McConville through the guts. And the run of Wilson off the wing. Ash Close up forward looms as the danger player and if he gets conditions to suit he could kick a bag. But with a little rain and wind predicted I think that helps Monash and could set up a Monash v Prahan Prelim next week.

Johnny out.....

Dosnt wilson play in the backline, and if im looking correctly didnt mcConville play in the 2s last week.

Is johnny trying to lead us on is he...

Dosnt wilson play in the backline, and if im looking correctly didnt mcConville play in the 2s last week.

Is johnny trying to lead us on is he... Today 16:07Dosnt wilson play in the backline, and if im looking correctly didnt mcConville play in the 2s last week.

Is johnny trying to lead us on is he... Today 16:07
Dosnt wilson play in the backline, and if im looking correctly didnt mcConville play in the 2s last week

With you top 4. Doubt McConville will play and don't even know who the other bloke is. Although if he does have a good game I'll be the first to yell out, "Nice one Wilson" after popping a Jila mint!!!

Is johnny trying to lead us on is he...

McConville coming back from injury. Very handy mid fielder, hard at it and very athletic. Would be a certain inclusion.
Wilson player of the final series in D4 last year.
Tom Hanks might be at the game to cheer him on.. WILSON

Gryphons looked very impressive. McConville and Wilson had great games.
Yarra on the other hand were very disappointing. Trend had the better of Musster. But clearly that wasnt enough. The Prahran mid field dominated.
Id reckon Prahran would be wanting a Yarra victory this weekend. Monash have matched up very well against them this year.
Bring on this weekend!
Quasi, stay off the bandwagon.

Gryphons looked very impressive. McConville and Wilson had great games.
Yarra on the other hand were very disappointing. Trend had the better of Musster. But clearly that wasnt enough. The Prahran mid field dominated.
Id reckon Prahran would be wanting a Yarra victory this weekend. Monash have matched up very well against them this year.
Bring on this weekend!
Quasi, stay off the bandwagon.

Johnny, surely you can't think the Gryphons are any chance in the prelim?

They have been flogged by Yarra Valley twice this season.

Wamba...a few frustrated players after the siren yesterday, with one in particular getting reported for using some bad language towards the umpires.