D3 Division 3 2013

Will be a great game to watch. Not great conditions for footy but I think these two sides will both be top 4. Watch out for the new Wingman for Kew and a couple of new onballers. They are without there main ruckman and a bunch of others this week but will be still a strong side on paper. Aquinas have a couple of new forwards from the EFL, a couple of smalls who will be dominant in 2013.

Speaking to a few guys I know from Kew it appears that they have attracted a wide range of players from other clubs. Basically by word of mouth in regards to the culture and mix of players. Appears EFL players have made the switch to aquinas. How will they fit in this season? Are they individuals or team players. Should be an interesting one to play out. Where is the praccy?

Interesting you talk about culture at Kew when their coach is the biggest flog this side of the yarra.

Justafan, this isn't a forum to take cheap digs at other clubs so take it elsewhere. I know for a fact that Kew has an extremely strong culture which is reflected in the fact that it has 4 teams this year (under 18s, seniors, reserves, clubbies) as opposed to 2 a few years back. Watching D3 last year it seems like a clean competition with healthy clubs all round

The cheapshot wasn't aimed at the club at all, it was aimed directly at the coach. I think the club has done extremely well to get to stage you say, even more so considering the guy in charge.

Richo I'm not sure how you know so much about our recruits but you've obviously put a lot of work into your research. Not all of the 15 from the EFL will play senior footy though. The secret to getting them to come across is the fact that 90% of the list are within 5 years of age of each other and best mates from school. Some blokes can afford to give up small money at paying clubs in return for having fun with their mates 3+ times a week.

Kew reserves appeared a bit too strong for our 2s side. Had an extra 5 or so on the bench though (similar in the ones).
The seniors game was relatively even though. Both sides showed a bit. Only 20 minute quarters and the rain came down heavily starting in the second so not many goals were kicked after that. Scores were something like
AQUINAS 4.7 31 - KEW 2.2 14

So it appears the new Aquinas recruits gave the boys from Kew a bit of a touch up? 11 scoring shots to 4?

Not too sure about bigger bodies Richo, our third oldest player was last years B&F winner who has just turned 24. Apart from 'Fossil' Toomey every player is under 25, with the vast majority 22 or younger.

Not talking about age coolbananas! Kew looked like a fairly light team on the weekend and it seemed as though they had some juniors running around.

Yes 'Richo', Kew were a skeleton of their usual selves but it was still a good contest ruined by heavy rain which made for uncomfortable viewing. However, I think this is the rivalry to watch! Expected a few more fireworks but played in the grand old fashion of a true practice match rather than an AFL exhibition game in London.

Unfortunately I'll be away tomorrow and will miss the real showstopper (starter)... RC v Kew (u18s) at Vic Park (collingwood, not Kew)... 9:45am... come down for a look everyone! It'll be followed up by a couple of barnstormers... RC v Eley Park.

Anyone know the scores from the Kew V Richmond Centrals Under 18s this morning. Many good young kids from either sides who could step up and play senior footy in 2013?

Went down for a gander after catching up with a few mates for brekky in the area. Kew much too strong for the Richmond boys (at least i think it was Kew in the white tops). ended up being a 15+ goal margin. Looked a really solid unit of kids, should do well. I think they had 10+ blokes on the bench compared to the standard 4 that RC were running, so undoubtedly that had something to with it. Still, RC looked pretty ordinary from this observers point of view

Therry u/18s far too strong for UHS Flem Juniors who only had the bare 18??

Reserves and Seniors travelled to Caroline Springs to take on the WRFL. Reserves won easily with Puff Puff running out of it!!!!! Seniors much more competitive and when I left late UHS just in front. Better players for UHS were Chisholm, Winters, Waters, Watts, NoAl and Beezwax.

Best Wishes to young Tim K who broke his leg in his first game back from a break with the Bullants.

Nikko out!

Puff Puff

I didn't see the match but from what I heard, the Kew U18 team are in a league of their own. They have a squad as such, with players being cut and they train 4 times a week. I hope the U18 lads from Richmond don't take it too hard as I don't think all the teams will be like that.

Centrals Reserves & Seniors won both their games by 10 goals or so.

Aquinas OC
Kew
UHS-VU
Richmond Centrals
Elsternwick
La Trobe Uni

St Francis Xavier
Swinburne Uni
Albert Park
Powerhouse
South Mornington
Old Westbourne