D3 Division 3 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Gia77

Hasn't transferred from what I can see.

Doesn't seem to be any transfer outs from Box Hill from the mens since mid Feb. Have Box Hill actually retained their list? Or is the VAFA hiding the outgoing transfers to hide the downfall?

Said it before could go get good money+goal incentive at Div 3/4 EFNL
when players are putting in the hard yards and playing in front of two Men and a blind dog makes for a pretty poor atmosphere and a lot more attractive to go and play in a different comp where you get a bit of a crowd and some atmosphere, The VAFA say no alcohol at games as we want a family friendly comp well my question is where the F%^K are the families ? especially at lower grade teams. Enough of this bull shite and think about opening up the bars and see if you can start attracting some heads to the local footy and get some much needed money into the clubs

When you have clubs coming back from the dead offering anything with a pulse money what chance do VAFA clubs nearby have? Nunawading will genuinely get beaten by 200+ weekly with what they’ve paid for

when players are putting in the hard yards and playing in front of two Men and a blind dog makes for a pretty poor atmosphere and a lot more attractive to go and play in a different comp where you get a bit of a crowd and some atmosphere, The VAFA say no alcohol at games as we want a family friendly comp well my question is where the F%^K are the families ? especially at lower grade teams. Enough of this bull shite and think about opening up the bars and see if you can start attracting some heads to the local footy and get some much needed money into the clubs

Agree but lets be honest money from beers aren't going to save these clubs.
Might know someone who knows the coach at Doncaster.
Few box hill seniors boys going there to enjoy a winning feeling
When you have clubs coming back from the dead offering anything with a pulse money what chance do VAFA clubs nearby have? Nunawading will genuinely get beaten by 200+ weekly with what they’ve paid for

Doncaster have signed bulk ashwood/BHN/swinburne uni/Forest hill and nuna players. They aren't going to win a lot however getting back on the park is a win in itself.

To make the D3 competition viable for what potentially could be the final season, would the VAFA look at playing some of the very very strong thirds teams and playing them in Div 3? They'd be more than competitive.

It could have allowed Chadstone, Eley Park, Swinburne and now possibly BHN to play with one side for the year and allowed for a more structured competition.

What about reserves you say? The reserves of the remaining sides (WP, Centrals, Hawthorn, AP and La Trobe) could play in the thirds comp for the year. Still play at home when the seniors play at home, just against another side on the weeks they don't play a team that has seniors and reserves in D3.

A crazy idea I know, unfortunately as it stands D3 is going to have 5 sides and when winter hits forfeits will no doubt rear their ugly head.
This. We should be more like Adelaide and Perth here and have lower grade sides of bigger clubs play as 1s/2s in a lower grade rather than multiple thirds teams - Adelaide Uni and north beach in Perth are 2 that come to mind …

Agree but lets be honest money from beers aren't going to save these clubs.

Doncaster have signed bulk ashwood/BHN/swinburne uni/Forest hill and nuna players. They aren't going to win a lot however getting back on the park is a win in itself.
I agree bar sales alone won't be the total panacea but it might help get people there to the games also increasing canteen sales and give the seconds a bit more of a social reason to hang around .going bak into the dim dark ages when I played the second used to hang around and have a few beers watching the seniors now most of the second bugger off .

The social aspect is key to recruiting and retention. Opening the bar woud solve a lot more problems than it caused.

Albert Park have paid ads running recruiting players as well. Any word from HQ regarding Div 3 fixture updates? Round 1 is 3 weeks away

The VAFA lower leagues are dying at an accelerating rate.

Put a summary of past 10 years with clubs leaving and reverting to clubbies and it’s alarming.

Have heard a rumour BHN may re emerge into southern league in 2027

The VAFA lower leagues are dying at an accelerating rate.

Put a summary of past 10 years with clubs leaving and reverting to clubbies and it’s alarming.

Have heard a rumour BHN may re emerge into southern league in 2027

They are no where near southern league perimeters.

Heard their women's team has folded (had low numbers anyway)

Would love to know what's going on because its becoming a clown show at HQ

They are no where near southern league perimeters.

Heard their women's team has folded (had low numbers anyway)

Would love to know what's going on because its becoming a clown show at HQ
As someone from a smaller School Boy Club, who his only running 3 teams this year, it’s very hard to attract players outside our circle. We have so much competition in our area and then You add the Labor Government’s Big Build, where there is too much money to work on the weekend.

Of course clubs with no school or junior club alignment are going to struggle.

I’m not sure what the VAFA can do.

A lot people get on here and say VAFA needs to do something, but no one makes any positive suggestions.

Max “2026” Leader

As someone from a smaller School Boy Club, who his only running 3 teams this year, it’s very hard to attract players outside our circle. We have so much competition in our area and then You add the Labor Government’s Big Build, where there is too much money to work on the weekend.

A lot people get on here and say VAFA needs to do something, but no one makes any positive suggestions.

Max “2026” Leader

Can add cost of living and how bad traffic is at the moment too. with the eastern shutting all the time 20 min drives are becoming 40 min drives.

Max “2026” Leader

There is things VAFA can do and many have been suggested on this forum before.

Fix scheduling so no more games at ridiculous times. Eg. Teams travelling 1 hr to play required to start at crack of dawn. Who wants to leave home at 7am for a game of footy?

Allow clubs to sell beer after midday without need for a sit down banquet. This can raise funds and entice supporters and reserves players to stay for the day.

Provide umpires to all sections where they are needed especially under 19s. Three umpires in some senior games but none allocated to some under 19 games? No thanks.

Be fairer on grading so if clubs have multiple club 18 teams they play according to ability not just spreading teams across all sections.

Max “2026” Leader
I have a few Max. These are just of the top of my head and realise I am probably opening myself up to ridicule but in the absence of any others I will throw up these for consideration/discussion. I have been howled down previously for raising some of these but that’s ok. The VAFA are reluctant to change anything but here goes:
  • Shorter seasons. 15 rounds will do. See below as to how this achieved. Will reduce the burden on volunteers, officials, players, grounds etc.
  • 8 team divisions. Everyone plays each other once – home and away. More equitable results as it seems we have 1 or 2 teams in each grade every year who get routinely flogged every week.
  • Like other leagues adopt a ‘one up one down’. I know I’m on the minority here but have never liked losers of a grand final being promoted. The ‘reward’ for the disappointment of a losing a GF more often than not is weekly floggings and a quick return from whence they came. My club a classic case in point. Lost a B grade GF by 100 points then endure a winless A grade season the following year. A few exceptions but rarely do runners up make any sort of impact in the higher grade.
  • Cap number of teams per club. 3 x Thirds maximum. U19s in good shape so reluctant to touch that but some my argue for maximum 2 x U19s. I respect the counter argument which is valid but based on current tracking we are heading for a 4-grade senior competition in 10 years. Are people happy with that? We are losing clubs left right and centre, and not just district clubs. If serious about supporting clubs in the lower grades we need to try something.
  • Abolish interleague, particularly those costly interstate junkets. Nobody really cares and the money saved should be invested back into supporting member clubs or reducing affiliation fees. If you must, do it every 4 years.
  • Broaden the responsible service of alcohol. While not the saviour that many believe it would be, surely it is time to expand the current restrictive policy. FWIW I was until recently against serving grog in the VAFA but have now changed my tune as the social and financial benefits to clubs in the current environment outweigh what I once considered an important point of difference. Not open slather like some comps but maybe open the bar at ¼ time in seniors. We are already doing it to some degree but are confining those who want to imbibe to the clubrooms/social club. Onus on clubs to make it work and if it turns pear shaped then we risk having it changed back.
  • If feedback from the lower division clubs is that travel is an impediment and might influence a move out of the VAFA then consider the re-introduction of divisions based on geography. Personally I prefer equitable results over convenience but if enough clubs want this then it should be considered.
  • Controversial and hard to describe in a few lines but maybe some clearer guidelines around what constitutes amateur status. It is very ambiguous and open to interpretation – eg jobs (player/partners/family) VFL payments, ‘prizes’ and ‘awards’ etc. Doubt a proper deep dive has ever been done on a player or club.

An April Fools Classic from the boys at St John's

View attachment 2568494

Everyones pretty happy this is a joke I think
I have a few Max. These are just of the top of my head and realise I am probably opening myself up to ridicule but in the absence of any others I will throw up these for consideration/discussion. I have been howled down previously for raising some of these but that’s ok. The VAFA are reluctant to change anything but here goes:
  • Shorter seasons. 15 rounds will do. See below as to how this achieved. Will reduce the burden on volunteers, officials, players, grounds etc.
  • 8 team divisions. Everyone plays each other once – home and away. More equitable results as it seems we have 1 or 2 teams in each grade every year who get routinely flogged every week.
  • Like other leagues adopt a ‘one up one down’. I know I’m on the minority here but have never liked losers of a grand final being promoted. The ‘reward’ for the disappointment of a losing a GF more often than not is weekly floggings and a quick return from whence they came. My club a classic case in point. Lost a B grade GF by 100 points then endure a winless A grade season the following year. A few exceptions but rarely do runners up make any sort of impact in the higher grade.
  • Cap number of teams per club. 3 x Thirds maximum. U19s in good shape so reluctant to touch that but some my argue for maximum 2 x U19s. I respect the counter argument which is valid but based on current tracking we are heading for a 4-grade senior competition in 10 years. Are people happy with that? We are losing clubs left right and centre, and not just district clubs. If serious about supporting clubs in the lower grades we need to try something.
  • Abolish interleague, particularly those costly interstate junkets. Nobody really cares and the money saved should be invested back into supporting member clubs or reducing affiliation fees. If you must, do it every 4 years.
  • Broaden the responsible service of alcohol. While not the saviour that many believe it would be, surely it is time to expand the current restrictive policy. FWIW I was until recently against serving grog in the VAFA but have now changed my tune as the social and financial benefits to clubs in the current environment outweigh what I once considered an important point of difference. Not open slather like some comps but maybe open the bar at ¼ time in seniors. We are already doing it to some degree but are confining those who want to imbibe to the clubrooms/social club. Onus on clubs to make it work and if it turns pear shaped then we risk having it changed back.
  • If feedback from the lower division clubs is that travel is an impediment and might influence a move out of the VAFA then consider the re-introduction of divisions based on geography. Personally I prefer equitable results over convenience but if enough clubs want this then it should be considered.
  • Controversial and hard to describe in a few lines but maybe some clearer guidelines around what constitutes amateur status. It is very ambiguous and open to interpretation – eg jobs (player/partners/family) VFL payments, ‘prizes’ and ‘awards’ etc. Doubt a proper deep dive has ever been done on a player or club.

Excellent points. Go apply for a job at the VAFA!

Great points I have one or two as well,
No 1 supply enough umpires for all grades and reserve grades thus elevating the the pressure to get volunteers to do this I know this is hard but its harder for lower grade clubs to get this done .
No 2 stop fining the clubs for every small infraction that happens on a Saturday, Lower division clubs with a small all volunteer staff are under enough financial pressure all ready with out having to find extra money fill the VAFA coffers

Great points I have one or two as well,
No 1 supply enough umpires for all grades and reserve grades thus elevating the the pressure to get volunteers to do this I know this is hard but its harder for lower grade clubs to get this done .
No 2 stop fining the clubs for every small infraction that happens on a Saturday, Lower division clubs with a small all volunteer staff are under enough financial pressure all ready with out having to find extra money fill the VAFA coffers
All great ideas,

Given there may be only 5 teams in D3 this year, a mate suggested that it should only be a final two with a best out of three GF series.
It was an amazing idea. Can you imagine Game 3????
This may be a bridge too far but I reckon this year is the year to try something different in D3.
A left field idea is needed to create some excitement in this division. Its all bad news at the moment.

All great ideas,

Given there may be only 5 teams in D3 this year, a mate suggested that it should only be a final two with a best out of three GF series.
It was an amazing idea. Can you imagine Game 3????
This may be a bridge too far but I reckon this year is the year to try something different in D3.
A left field idea is needed to create some excitement in this division. Its all bad news at the moment.
Should there be only five teams left in D3, or perhaps more or less, should HQ consider propping those into D2 and having a Final 6, (or 7 or 8) ?

Just thinking.