"Do A Swan"

I reckon Iles will be more of a Ben Johnson now that I think of it

More of a steady rise up the ranks than going from reserves player to handy half backer to good midfielder as Swanny did in less than 36 months

Another one Could be Egan!:thumbsu:

Nicholls would have been my pick for the smokey, however it now sounds like Dids is extremely unlikely to go on the long term injury list, so Nichoills may not get an opportunity.

I'll pick Richards to be the player who most "comes of age" this year and proves his doubters wrong.

Surely Dawes would be going on the LTI list?

Nicholls would have been my pick for the smokey, however it now sounds like Dids is extremely unlikely to go on the long term injury list, so Nichoills may not get an opportunity.

We hope to see Dids ASAP. However, he looked wobbly this morning and he was limping a fraction. I've got my doubts if he would be back for Round 4 - let alone Round 1 - yet anything can happen between now and Round 4, so we must stay positive.

Yeah but either way they wont put him on the LTI list because as soon as you do that you cannnot have him back until he "serves his time" on that list.

But as per above, I forgot about Dawes.

I reckon Nicholls would easily get the gig ahead of Martin Clarke. Clarkey will no doubt be a superstar but at the moment he is a project player and hasn't even played VFL reserves. In fact I think even Wellingham and Macaffer should be higher on the pecking list than Clarke because they have played footy at a competitve level.

Guy Richards for me.
He has already proven himself a couple of years back as far as I'm concerned, but of course he needs a big one this year to remain on the list.
I think he'll play 1st ruckman most of the year.

I reckon Nicholls would easily get the gig ahead of Martin Clarke. Clarkey will no doubt be a superstar but at the moment he is a project player and hasn't even played VFL reserves. In fact I think even Wellingham and Macaffer should be higher on the pecking list than Clarke because they have played footy at a competitve level.
Exactly - As talented an athlete as he may be, he has yet to play a competitive game of football against another side.

Obviously we will wait until he debuts at Williamstown and averages 60 possessions, 25 marks, 45 tackles, 20 clearances and 15 goals per game for the first few weeks before bringing him into the senior side.

Iles will never make a jump leap like Swan, because he'll never be at that level. Iles is average at best, we need to accept that as supporters I think, that not every kid we get will be a star.

I'll stand corrected, but if Iles ever becomes a 'vital' part of our line up, I'll be blown out of the water. I think he's average on every level, where as someone like Davies, like Swan, could end up going either way... Exploding and being a real cat outta the bag, or falling out and remembering what could have been... With Iles I think he could be a solid back pocket, but never really anything much greater?

I hope I do get proven wrong though! :)

I also think Harry will no doubt secure he's spot this year, especially with the passing of Wakelin. I think he will become a very solid regular, hard to say he would explode like Swan though.

Nicholls will be our future Swan, I have no doubt. We will wonder why this kid spent two yrs on a rookie list... They will wonder why he was on a rookie list at all!!! :)
I agree that not everyone will be a star but Iles has done more than Swan at the same age. I don't think people are expecting Iles to explode on to the scene Swan did (Swan took a while to do this anyway) but they are expecting him to get more games and perhaps to become a solid member of the team. I myself am not so sure but wouldn't be surprised if it happened.

I rekon Swan will "Do a Swan"
I rekon he will step up heaps again this year.

I expect him to improve with another preseason under his belt, but he won't be as great as last year. He was very good last year. He will have a lot to do with where we finish on the ladder and (fingers crossed) in the final eight.

Don't forget Chris Dawes could certainly go on the LTI list allowing Nicholls to be elevated.

Derek Hine said as much around draft time

"Do A Swan"