Do Geelong Fans Still Want To Get Rid Of Mensch

I'm a richmond supporter but I think geelong would be crazy to get rid of Mensch. He is tall, talented and isn't too bad in front of goals. All clubs could do with a Mensch. (Except for Essendon who don't need anyone else)

Yep. We still want to get rid of him.

He has never taken an over head mark in his career, he continually drops his head under pressure and is only at best a 60% shot at goal.

With Geelong having Ling, and the two Mooney's, there is no need for him.

This season he has played 3 good games, and the rest he has gone missing. Anyone who want's him can have him.

Of course they won't get rid of him.

If they did, their supporters would have to find someone else to blame their losses on.

And sorry gocatsgo but I have never seen an individual player criticised so much by his own supporters.

Sainter,
The bomber criticed calthorpe just as much but finally came to their senses, had he been playing in the prelim last year and been in the same spot as wallis was he would have tried to crash through fraser brown the same way he did in round 20something in 1995 against richmond which i might ad lost us that game

Sainter - come up and watch a Swans home game with Dale Lewis in the squad

THEN you will see a player getting ruthlessly hammered by his own supporters ...
wink.gif

While I reckon that Mensch IS useless, if you want bagging by your own come on down and hear the reception that McCabe/Dixon and Lord cop. I swear that McCabe is given so much from so called 'supporters' its a wonder he doesnt ask for a transfer.
Also is Richardson still getting it down Magpie land way. And McCartney seems to draw it at North.
The Bombers, well just watch them go when they do lose one, they will be calling for half the team to be cleared!

Yes Grendel, McCabe does cop too much as he does 2 several good things for every bad one.

I wish people would get off Lord as he made the 3 goal winning margin on sunday, and negated the dodgy umpiring - did you see whn McCabe was pinged for an attempted mark - his opponent totally ignored the ball ?. And Lynch's free for a goal makes Lloyd seem like a student 'faker' by comparison.
And Hasn't lepper been cited yet ? Mistake Barker's head for the ball did he ? Would have fitted in well at St Kilda. Akermanis was quite ferocious in the end though, but started on the bench because they didn't like handstands last week.

Carn the 'Teasers'

By making an example of Geelong supporters attitudes towards certain players, it would be wrong of me to suggest that our supporters are any different. The Wakelin's used to cop heaps of crap from supporters and still do to a small extent but they have improved considerably and are quite popular now. Tim Elliott takes the cake now as our supporters most criticised (and laughed at) player. It is a shame that so many supporters treat their own players so poorly but it appears as if it happens at all clubs.

I think you are drawing a long bow there Pessimistic. But if you are going to live on your success of the 1980's, I suppose there is no harm in tarnishing our current players as being the same as the 70s and 80s. I would have expected more from you to be honest.

Grendel

Fair point I suppose - I was at the game that Barry Davis was booed off at Half time. I was also as Salmon's last game. Both very dissappointing. I was also at pretty much every game of Kevin Walsh's career but that's another story...

That said, a lot of us feel for Wally down bomber way...

Don't think we'll be calling for too much blood outta this team Grendel - I mean who would you target? Maybe Blumfield for the large wage claim? That's about it... the only reason Bomber fans carried on so much was we had a team with Doolan, Calthorpe, Somerville & Sporn... nothing left to complain about now...

Should be an interesting game this week BTW Grendel...

Dutch

It wasn't too long ago that Menschy came 5th in a GFC best and fairest. I reckon that you Cats fans who bag him out are in the same ilk as the invertebrate scum who abused Bill Brownless in his down periods - despite the exemplary service he did his club most of the time. Mensch stood up while everyone else messed their pants against the Saints so lay off him, the way he's going he'll have fifty goals for the season having already kicked a rather accurate 38.15 so far. He is also a top bloke. Grow up you disloyal, fickel scapegoating mongrels.

Grendel

Happily, Jason McCartney has won over the hearts of the North fans. He's been great for us since about mid-98....in fact, the game where he turned it around was vs. St. Kilda at Waverley in '98...he took thrased Peter Everitt and has been a very good centre half back for us ever since.

The current victims of the Roo boo-boys are David Calthorpe and Corey McKernan. Calthorpe I can understand, but McKernan? You'd think that after all the great games that he's played for us, the fans would cut him some slack, but sadly, North seem to have as many small time fans as those Essendon "fans" who booed Paul Salmon. We just haven't started booing yet, but if that ever happens, I will feel totally sickened.

Fair call Shinboners, just the games ive been to he has copped it from some Northerners around me. Calthorpe I can understand
biggrin.gif
The Dutchman alluded to the same thing with him. Funny how some blokes just seem 'built' to cop abuse.
Dutch fair call to re the aforementioned David C and Benny Doolan etc, still when you DO lose again (here is a hopeful thinking Hawk already has his seat booked) in the not to distant future
tongue.gif
I can see some of the old bomber "get rid of him sheedy, whats he getting a game for, been costing us all year" type of talk happening.
Pess, what is it with Barker and getting whacked in the head?? Fist sorry first up the WC's twice, copped another one (pretty sure accidental) against the Woods and now the orange roughy decides to have a go to!!!
Yea the umpiring was a disgrace, the McCabe (again twice) holding the ball. Wouldnt mind if the same had been paid down the other end.
Still better yet to win not only interstate, but also with the boys in white against us to! AND why is it we never get on the right side of those bloody controversial goal umpiring decisions? Fair dinkum had even one gone our way? The Dons hitting the post at Waverly in 98 seemed to start it and its gone on since then.
Oops getting carried away have to stop before it turns into a Dan length post (kidding Dan)

Do Geelong Fans Still Want To Get Rid Of Mensch