Do Geelong have the best home ground advantage in the AFL?

GMHBA fixturing is a…

That doesn’t explain the mediocre crowds we’ve consistently had against you though, with with the exception of the last two matches (where you’ve been the home team) Richmond vs. Geelong matches in Melbourne have almost always drawn very mediocre crowds. Meanwhile our home matches against Essendon (who have been a mediocre side for the best part of 2 decades now) have averaged the same amount at a consistently near or at capacity Docklands as the record highest against the Tigers at all.

The fact that Richmond fans have consistently not shown up for decades to our home games in Melbourne even when 1) their winning and 2) the weather is nice shouldn’t be our problem.

We don’t have that issue with Hawthorn, Collingwood or Essendon.

So Cats Home Games

vs Hawthorn 53k
vs Essendon 63k

vs Hawthorn 73k
Vs Richmond 43k

vs Hawthorn 73k
vs Collingwood 43k

vs Hawthorn 74k
Vs Essendon at Etihad 29k

Vs Collingwood 40k
vs Carlton at Etihad 32k

vs Hawthorn 80k
vs Essendon at Etihad 43k

Cats Away games vs Richmond at the G
2019 65k
2018 67k
2016 45k

Should I keep going back? The only team that constantly draws well for Geelong Homes games in Melbourne is Hawthorn for obvious reasons, but you haven't even packed out Marvel vs Essendon so whilst let me be very clear for the Cats fans in the room yes you should play 11 games in Geelong and zero in Melbourne the crowd figures show it isn't the Melbourne teams fault you don't draw well in Melbourne, even against Collingwood and Essendon.

Sorry Sterge have not quite mastered the how to respond to multiple posts angle yet, but factors such as grounds changing
names do make the gap in venues played come down a little, but when a team is hot the AFL should exploit their drawing
power and this year with the no crowds angle maybe it's time to send the Hawks, Bombers and Magpies down to GMHBA.
My points are subtle sometimes and easily misunderstood as critique, but it all makes sense somewhere out there.

That's my point though if you take only the regularly played at AFL grounds there is only 10 and we have played at everyone except Tassie, what more are teams supposed to do?

Since when have the admins decided to allow trolls to become mods on here?

Are you going to contribute or just post Bay 13 style garbage as per the quoted post?

Have you read any of my other posts? Understand you might be a bit slow so let me know when you get to them and have something meaningful to add

Seems a pretty valid complaint from my point of view. Flipside Richmond supporters couldn't fulfill their modest allotment of tickets for the Kardinia Park match. Using this logic Richmond fans were scared sooky lalas? 🤣 🤣
No the "latte sipping hipsters" as you labelled them just rather not go down to a cold town full of bogans. I mean it is a s**t hole after all lets be frank. I remember flying over with my brother to watch Freo beat the cats in the QF in 2013 and I can assure you it was not a pleasant place at all. Also the standing room ferrals were out of control when they got rolled, we almost needed a Police escort back to the train station. Says it all!

Maybe the AFL have put the strap on the biggest draw the game has ever seen, maybe they like the $$$$$$$.

Without knowing you're complete job history it is hard to chart your journey through life, I worked for Greg Norman and
in a weird twist of fate I also liked getting naked, go figure.
My point exactly. Using the data set in a flawed manner doesn’t help your hypothesis.

And there are many other variables that need to be considered when attempting to determine a club’s membership and on field success.

That doesn’t explain the mediocre crowds we’ve consistently had against you though, with with the exception of the last two matches (where you’ve been the home team) Richmond vs. Geelong matches in Melbourne have almost always drawn very mediocre crowds. Meanwhile our home matches against Essendon (who have been a mediocre side for the best part of 2 decades now) have averaged the same amount at a consistently near or at capacity Docklands as the record highest against the Tigers at all.

The fact that Richmond fans have consistently not shown up for decades to our home games in Melbourne even when 1) their winning and 2) the weather is nice shouldn’t be our problem.

We don’t have that issue with Hawthorn, Collingwood or Essendon.
I was agreeing with you though. Only talked about the number of games Geelong hosted Richmond at the MCG is not a lot in comparison to Hawthorn and Collingwood.

My point exactly. Using the data set in a flawed manner doesn’t help your hypothesis.

And there are many other variables that need to be considered when attempting to determine a club’s membership and on field success.
True, I guess my point is with the way things are at the moment it presents an opportunity to use teams a little differently
without the burden of the balance sheet. The lack of crowds made little difference to me because that was the way footy
sounded back when I played (Knackers, you're hot you're hot), but I know the fans make the game and grow the game.

Still unsure why Richmond and Pies fans are so scared of playing Geelong at Kard Pk.

Its not as though they would ever be gifted an uninterrupted last 2 months of the season playing home games at Kard Pk, knowing the GF is also played at Kard Pk.
That would never happen for any club, right ? I mean pffft lol, imagine if they got their last 10 straight gifted to them at home.
I like how the streak gets longer every time someone retells it. Our grandchildren will tell of the time Richmond rode to a premiership on a wave of a thousand straight home games.

I'm always amused how some West Coast supporters just couldn't enjoy their club's premiership because it absolutely destroyed this argument and the victim narrative.
Still, it hasn't stopped some of you whinging like a pack of Geelong supporters.
You peanut

I like how the streak gets longer every time someone retells it. Our grandchildren will tell of the time Richmond rode to a premiership on a wave of a thousand straight home games.
The players actually camped on the MCG ground for 7 straight weeks leading into the 2019 Grand Final.

Well look at you, worked up all that courage to talk and yet all you managed was some cheap little angle of deflection.
How about we all give you a pile of "likes" for that effort.

The 2019* flag.

* Yeah we know. Everyone knows.

Too scared to travel down to sleepy hollow. Try not to make it so obvious.

Well look at you, worked up all that courage to talk and yet all you managed was some cheap little angle of deflection.
How about we all give you a pile of "likes" for that effort.

The 2019* flag.

* Yeah we know. Everyone knows.

Too scared to travel down to sleepy hollow. Try not to make it so obvious.
We're very happy to have taken the 2019* premiership thanks...oh and we would be even more happy to take the 2020* flag as well! Would love nothing more to see the salt keep pouring out :cool:.

Geelong play 9 of their 11 home games at GMHBA
Most of the MCG teams play 10 of our 11 at the MCG
and the post you quoted discussing how its stupid to ignore the away game component as well was just completely ignored by you. Or could you not read?

most mcg teams play 5 away games at their home ground.
geelong plays 0 away games at their home ground.

6 game differential.

plus geelong plays 2 home games at their oppositions home ground.

mcg teams may play a game at docklands against an Interstste side. Not a docklands based team. So they still have home support advantage.

Remind me, when was the last time Geelong played 11 home games at KP?
Why does that even matter now though? When was the last time Geelong finished redevelopment and increased the capacity twofold? When was the cut-off point to freeze things the way they were? Remind me, when was the last time an AFL game was played in China? Cairns? NT? 18 teams? What year did we need to be playing 11 games at Kardinia Park in order to get the rightful amount now? Richmond didn't always play home games at the MCG, things change. Seems a really stupid argument to be frank.

and the post you quoted discussing how its stupid to ignore the away game component as well was just completely ignored by you. Or could you not read?

most mcg teams play 5 away games at their home ground.
geelong plays 0 away games at their home ground.

6 game differential.

So take Richmond's 2019 for example

13 Games at the G
10 Homes and 3 away
but in reality
8 Neutral
and 5 home

14 games at the G
7 Neutral
7 home

11 games at the G
6 neutral
5 home

For arguments sake lets look at Geelong 2019
9 games at GMHBA
5 at the G 2 as the 'home' team and 3 away and 2 x Hawthorn & 1 x Essendon, Richmond, Collingwood
So really 3 Neutral and 2 Away

Most games at the ground offer no advantage at all. Would I rather 9 Genuine home games, absolutely.

Alright before this fine thread descends into chaos and loses total control let us look at the perceived Geelong home ground
advantage through the eyes of one man the great Tom Hawkins an icon of self discipline and control.

GMHBA: 195 x Goals, 83 x Games, (2.35 average) for 74 x Wins, 9 x Losses.
MCG: 130 x Goals, 75 x Games, (1.73 average) for 45 x Wins, 30 x Losses.
Marvel Stadium: 104 x Goals, 43 x Games, (2.42 average) for 33 x Wins, 1 x Draw, 9 x Losses.
Gabba: 25 x Goals, 9 x Games, (2.78 average) for 6 x Wins, 3 x Losses.
Domain Stadium: 24 x Goals, 11 x Games, (2.18 average) for 6 x Wins, 5 x Losses.
Metricon Stadium: 18 x Goals, 6 x Games, (3.00 average) for 4 x Wins, 2 x Losses.
SCG: 14 x Goals, 5 x Games, (2.80 average) for 3 x Wins, 2 x Losses.
Adelaide Oval: 14 x Goals, 9 x Games, (1.56 average) for 4 x Wins, 5 x Losses.
AAMI Stadium: 9 x Goals, 5 x Games, (1.80 average) for 3 x Wins, 2 x Losses.
Canberra Oval: 8 x Goals, 2 x Games, (4.00 average) for 1 x Win, 1 x Loss.
Giants Stadium: 7 x Goals, 4 x Games, (1.75 average) for 2 x Wins, 1 x Draw, 1 x Loss.
Optus Stadium: 6 x Goals, 2 x Games, (3.00 average) for 2 x Losses.
ANZ Stadium: 2 x Goals, 2 x Games, (1.00 average) for 2 x Wins.
UTAS Stadium: 0 x Goals, 1 x Game, (0.00 average) for 1 x Loss.

A descending ladder of where big Tommy kicked his goals and built his legend as the man who missed the home final versus
Fremantle and missed the preliminary final against Richmond, does that tell us anything who knows.

Alright before this fine thread descends into chaos and loses total control let us look at the perceived Geelong home ground
advantage through the eyes of one man the great Tom Hawkins an icon of self discipline and control.

GMHBA: 195 x Goals, 83 x Games, (2.35 average) for 74 x Wins, 9 x Losses.
MCG: 130 x Goals, 75 x Games, (1.73 average) for 45 x Wins, 30 x Losses.
Marvel Stadium: 104 x Goals, 43 x Games, (2.42 average) for 33 x Wins, 1 x Draw, 9 x Losses.
Gabba: 25 x Goals, 9 x Games, (2.78 average) for 6 x Wins, 3 x Losses.
Domain Stadium: 24 x Goals, 11 x Games, (2.18 average) for 6 x Wins, 5 x Losses.
Metricon Stadium: 18 x Goals, 6 x Games, (3.00 average) for 4 x Wins, 2 x Losses.
SCG: 14 x Goals, 5 x Games, (2.80 average) for 3 x Wins, 2 x Losses.
Adelaide Oval: 14 x Goals, 9 x Games, (1.56 average) for 4 x Wins, 5 x Losses.
AAMI Stadium: 9 x Goals, 5 x Games, (1.80 average) for 3 x Wins, 2 x Losses.
Canberra Oval: 8 x Goals, 2 x Games, (4.00 average) for 1 x Win, 1 x Loss.
Giants Stadium: 7 x Goals, 4 x Games, (1.75 average) for 2 x Wins, 1 x Draw, 1 x Loss.
Optus Stadium: 6 x Goals, 2 x Games, (3.00 average) for 2 x Losses.
ANZ Stadium: 2 x Goals, 2 x Games, (1.00 average) for 2 x Wins.
UTAS Stadium: 0 x Goals, 1 x Game, (0.00 average) for 1 x Loss.

A descending ladder of where big Tommy kicked his goals and built his legend as the man who missed the home final versus
Fremantle and missed the preliminary final against Richmond, does that tell us anything who knows.

Geelong should play home games in Canberra so Tommy can win a Coleman?

Thank you Yojimbo

If GEELONG want to play theit home games at GEELONG this year, then let the dogs play at Whitten and give Carlton Optus oval, there are no crowds, why is this even an issue??

They are alarming !!! Now I hope this helps too, this isn't like a basketball court, where the measurements are cm perfect, this 'oval' has the configurations no other oval has. The ability to train, practise specific gameplans thst would be more of an unfair advantage then normal is quite alarming.

This is the most narrow ground in the country, whilst being on the of the longest in length.
View attachment 879430
The AFL really needs to put some sort of criteria required for the dimensions of the grounds. It looks like it's all over the shop. If there already is then it certainly needs to be tightened.

Ultimately this is why Geelong gets a massive advantage playing at their home ground. It's not to do with travel (It's laughable to think a Melbourne based team travelling an hour down the freeway is going to have an impact).

Looking at that data there are other grounds where the dimensions don't look that great, but Geelongs ground is the most blatant.

The AFL really needs to put some sort of criteria required for the dimensions of the grounds. It looks like it's all over the shop. If there already is then it certainly needs to be tightened.

Ultimately this is why Geelong gets a massive advantage playing at their home ground. It's not to do with travel (It's laughable to think a Melbourne based team travelling an hour down the freeway is going to have an impact).

Looking at that data there are other grounds where the dimensions don't look that great, but Geelongs ground is the most blatant.

You'd think 'an oval' would be pretty close to the top of the requirements, but instead we have a D shape down at KP.

Id've thought Hawthorn at Pork Barrel Park in Launceston would have the leagues biggest home ground advantage?

Can't be. Hawthorn has to get on a plane to get there, and we're told by our friends in WAh, that's a massive disadvantage. (except when flying to Perth of course)