Fixture Do interstate clubs have an advantage from playing more away game?

Does playing away more often make you better at playing away?

• Yes

Votes: 1 11.1%
  • No

Votes: 8 88.9%

Cleric

Oct 14, 2011
There used to be a theory that the more you played away from home the better you become at playing away..
Well, the stats don't really back that up, and some actually show the reverse is true.
Collingwood play more games in Victoria historically, yet they tend to play well away, while alot of the interstate teams who do so every second week don't have a better record.

Obviously the talent of the team plays a role in performing well anywhere, but there isn't any real stat's that show its an advantage to have more experience in playing interstate.

Maybe a team that doesn't do it as often actually have more of an experience dy doing it less.

If Collingwood was based in Perth, we would probably win 80% of our games each year.

With what team? Most of your best 22 would have retired years ago if Collingwood were based in Perth.
No. The advantage is great when you have your own ground where opposition clubs are lucky to play at once a year.

The Pies have had no trouble travelling and with the added experience, the club would be good enough to put in place a system which supports travel while maintaining the conditioning of players.

Just like when players were considered retirement ready at 30.

No. The advantage is great when you have your own ground where opposition clubs are lucky to play at once a year.

The Pies have had no trouble travelling and with the added experience, the club would be good enough to put in place a system which supports travel while maintaining the conditioning of players.

Just like when players were considered retirement ready at 30.

Yeah, if WCE and Freo have struggled to keep players playing at their peak over 30, why on earth do you think Collingwood would swan in and do it when they rest players for trips to Perth?

That’s your issue why, after all these years, your clubs have struggled.

It wasn’t that long ago players were forced to retire at 30. But here we are and Geelong and Collingwood are able to get their players playing good footy into their 30s.

Be better. Don’t whine all the time.
The constant whinging is why your club has taken its eye of the prize.

That’s your issue why, after all these years, your clubs have struggled.

It wasn’t that long ago players were forced to retire at 30. But here we are and Geelong and Collingwood are able to get their players playing good footy into their 30s.

Be better. Don’t whine all the time.
The constant whinging is why your club has taken its eye of the prize.
Struggled?

Your trams don't travel mate. Pretty easy to manage older players when they barely play outside their home ground, duh.

We've also won more flags since inception than Collingwood.

Pick a different battle.

Struggled?

Your trams don't travel mate. Pretty easy to manage older players when they barely play outside their home ground, duh.

We've also won more flags since inception than Collingwood.

Pick a different battle.
No. You are whinging because you need to travel.

I’m saying if it was a Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorne etc, we would have figured the travel thing out by now.

Your club has had plenty of time to do so and you’re basically saying you are failing because your older players are ordinary.

From my point of view there are 16 interstate clubs and two non interstate - Freo and West Coast. I would say let the "interstate" teams, especially in Victoria play more away games, and let's find out ? Maybe 10 per year ? Also make them fly 4-5 hours even if it's only a one hour flight to Adelaide. Also don't let them train on the ground they get to play on, or have anywhere except some sort of paddock to do their captain's run. Then schedule 5-6 day breaks after they travel. Oh and perhaps have a flight where the toilets aren't working ....

No. You are whinging because you need to travel.

I’m saying if it was a Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorne etc, we would have figured the travel thing out by now.

Your club has had plenty of time to do so and you’re basically saying you are failing because your older players are ordinary.
What are you talking about?

Your club takes 6 weeks to plan for a trip to Perth, according to the footy media.

You reckon they can manage that every 2nd week?

I'm not even whinging, just stating the bleeding obvious that most of your best 22 would be retired by now if they were based in Perth.

Delusional to suggest otherwise from a supporter of a club that rarely travels.

Stop embarrassing yourself.

No.

Interstate travel involves barriers to recovery, changes to training and living arrangements and having to deal with one sided crowds and influenced umpires.
The barriers to playing interstate far outweigh any benefits.

Fixture Do interstate clubs have an advantage from playing more away game?