Veteran Roys FFC - Sweet F.A.
Feb 7, 2000
Horsham
Brisbane Lions
Lions
I think the Ansett Cup is a waste of time. Why have it? If clubs want practice matches then they should organise practice matches with other clubs. A 26 round season will be better than Pre Season "Rubbish" Games. It will solve problems i.e Televised matches will be solved. Some Brisbane supporters are already mad at Channel 7 for not showing Ansett Cup matches live. Also the game will be much more exciting with 26 round season. IMO Pre Season games are boring rubbish which are a waste of time. Wayne Jackson said these new TV rights are good for football, getting rid of the Ansett Cup will also be good for football.

[This message has been edited by SpecialBruce (edited 28 January 2001).]

I think it is interesting how the Ansett Cup (or whatever sponsors name it took previously) has deteriorated over the past 25 years or so.

When I was a kid, it was a midweek competition not unlike the Format of the English F.A. or Worthington Cups, where teams from various leagues could compete.

This diminished until it was only VFL clubs competing. The midweek format was scorned at by clubs who would only play effectively their reserve teams, so as to protect their senior players for the real stuff!

This competition was moved to be an elite preseason competition knockout competition which again changed last year to become a round robin format, replacing the practice matches.

I guess the only place left for this competition to go now is on to the scrap heap!

I would like to see this competition removed as well, and have the season proper extended to enable each team to play each other twice.

This will remove the amount of junk time each season!

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

I love the Ansett Cup it gives you a chance to see the new players in action and some of the olds as well, it is played in the cool of the evening (although i remember last season being stinking hot at a few of the games) and it can be a good night out for the family especially with daylight savings. Apart from all of that if we didnt have it then we would have to wait another six weeks for the season to start. The one thing it does not give us is an indication of how a team is going to go fair in the real season. I am all for it though. I have been known to go to watch other teams play as well, but I am always a desperate at the start of the season anyway

[This message has been edited by Daphne (edited 28 January 2001).]

A couple of years ago i would have said no. But since they introduced the new format of round robin i feel that it gives the teams those extra games to try new gameplans, lineips etc.
Previously, when you lost in the 1st round you were sent all over the country, playing on sub-standard surfaces, increasing chances of serious injury. Often these games were just chances to increase supporter base and little else.

I'm afraid in this day and age that the Pre-season competition is a must.
All clubs are going to insist on playing practice matches against quality opposition.They are no longer prepared to play on 'sub-standard' (their term) grounds so someone has to foot the bill.
All this means sponsors=exposure=competition=television.

Guess we're stuck with it.

-Rico

I too enjoy the Ansett Cup, but only because I'm hanging out for any kind of footy after 6 months or so of having withdrawl symptoms. I count down the footy season to the first Ansett Cup match - not the first home and away match.

Originally posted by Daphne:
The one thing it does not give us is an indication of how a team is going to go fair in the real season.

I have to disagree with you on this one Daphne. Over the past 5-6 years or so, the teams that play off in the final usually go on to have successful years when the real stuff comes around. Take last year for example, all four teams that made the semi finals in the Ansett Cup, were the same four that played off in the Premlins.

Originally posted by Daphne:
I love the Ansett Cup it gives you a chance to see the new players in action and some of the olds as well, it is played in the cool of the evening (although i remember last season being stinking hot at a few of the games) and it can be a good night out for the family especially with daylight savings. Apart from all of that if we didnt have it then we would have to wait another six weeks for the season to start. The one thing it does not give us is an indication of how a team is going to go fair in the real season. I am all for it though. I have been known to go to watch other teams play as well, but I am always a desperate at the start of the season anyway

We wouldn't wait 6 weeks for the season to start. Start the season when the Ansett Cup usually would be. That way the Grand Final can be the last day in September. That way a 28 round season can fit in. It will solve all the problems associated with the draw.

Yep bring on the EVEN draw-play each other twice which equals 30 games each and scrap the ansett cup.If the old timers can't play 30 games then give the youngsters a go.Until each team plays each other twice in the season then it won't be fair.Full stop.

My God, common sense is prevailing
wink.gif

The Ansett cup is a joke. Play yer rookies, try new rules out, play in wup-wup. The Mickey-Mouse Cup. But get more for winning it that winning a minor premiership. Make sense?
eek.gif

Start the season earlier instead of the Mickey Mouse Cup and get 26 or 30 rounds in. Play some local friendlies beforehand and try out new players and rules then.

------------------
Do not follow where the path may lead.
Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

Originally posted by SpecialBruce:
We wouldn't wait 6 weeks for the season to start. Start the season when the Ansett Cup usually would be. That way the Grand Final can be the last day in September. That way a 28 round season can fit in. It will solve all the problems associated with the draw.

Yes but it is a winter sport and it would defnitely be hot to play in February in the daytime, I dont think the players would agree with it, especially Hawthorn, werent they the ones who got the umbrellas out in Brisbane when the home and aways started about 4 years ago it was to hot for them then and I dont blame them.

Originally posted by Aussie_Roo:
I too enjoy the Ansett Cup, but only because I'm hanging out for any kind of footy after 6 months or so of having withdrawl symptoms. I count down the footy season to the first Ansett Cup match - not the first home and away match.

I have to disagree with you on this one Daphne. Over the past 5-6 years or so, the teams that play off in the final usually go on to have successful years when the real stuff comes around. Take last year for example, all four teams that made the semi finals in the Ansett Cup, were the same four that played off in the Premlins.

Was it Hawthorn or Port who won it the year before?, I think it was Hawthorn and they didnt do all that well in the real season although they did show some improvement in the first half.

I like the idea of the Ansett cup for the reasons that other people have mentioned. It's a great opportunity to test out new players, as well as to build up match practise/fitness before the real thing starts.

Unfortunately while the Ansett cup remains, there will never be an even competition where everyone plays everyone else twice, not unless we got rid of a few teams, which I'm sure would be much worse than uneven draw. So the question is, an even draw or match practice...?

I don't know maybe they could make the calander year 8 weeks longer or something.
wink.gif

[This message has been edited by aggels (edited 29 January 2001).]

Originally posted by aggels:
I like the idea of the Ansett cup for the reasons that other people have mentioned. It's a great opportunity to test out new players, as well as to build up match practise/fitness before the real thing starts.

Unfortunately while the Ansett cup remains, there will never be an even competition where everyone plays everyone else twice, not unless we got rid of a few teams, which I'm sure would be much worse than uneven draw. So the question is, an even draw or match practice...?

I don't know maybe they could make the calander year 8 weeks longer or something.
wink.gif

[This message has been edited by aggels (edited 29 January 2001).]

Like I said the clubs can organise their own practice matches between other clubs before the season. That way they do get practice and you get to see the new players.
The Ansett Cup is darn right pathetic. IMO it is a waste of time. :)

The Ansett cup is not about trying out rookies, new game plans or anything else. It's just about money.

Even if the AFL extended the season to 30 rounds they would still want a pre-season competition. It's about getting extra sponsorship dollars, extra television coverage, and extra revenue for the clubs.

I wonder what would happen if Channel 7 bought the sponsorship naming rights to the pre-season competition for next year? Would Channel 9 and 10 show the Channel 7 cup?

Some points

-With the new format, the AC semifinalists were the same as the preliminary finalists in the premiership, and the winner was exactly the same. This seems to be a product of the round-robin format. If this continues the AC winner will have a lot more credibility.

-A downside is the round-robin games are not cut-throat so are less attractive. In actual fact only one or possibly two games in each group (between the two strongest teams) are of any consequence.

-But they are good for clubs who have a 'planned' pre-season. They cannot all be shown live but they should show the 'better' ones

-Gives the AFL a good forum for games in 'development' areas. Hawthorn and Richmond, for example would never have a premiership game in Tassie, but the ansett cup will draw a very good crowd down there.

-The last two winners, Hawthorn and Essendon, acknowledge an extra 7000 members on the ansett cup win. This is better than you get for winning a flag (the previous year). They might consider that worth keeping, even though non VIC teams (who have pre-sold most seats anyway) have less interest in the comp as a whole.

-AC finals are drawing huge crowds. It's an actual final where the majority of the fans are just that, not corporates. Hence a better atmosphere.

Sponsorship money is there also. Early premiership games might not draw big crowds (witness this year with the early start)

I think a 30 game season is attractive in some ways but I can't see the ansett cup fading further.

Perhaps a 15 round main competition should be considered.

Take last year. If the season ended after 15 rounds the following would have happened

-Richmond would have made the 8 not Hawthorn.

-Melbourne would have finished lower and Richmond and Bulldogs higher.

To compensate for the team missing out there could be a final 10 with a 5 week finals series.

Before you complain about rewarding teams which finish 10th - positions 7-10 would be 'wildcard' only. 0nly 1-6 would have realistic chances and 1-2 would have 2 weeks rest out of the 5 weeks (playing 3 finals in all)

Although I agree that the Ansett Cup is redundant, there are some good arguments to the contrary, notably that of sponsorship dollars.

What about scrapping it and extending the H&A season, but allowing the top two teams after round 7 or 8 to play each other (in a valid H&A game which is scheduled at this point) for the [sponsor's name] Cup in which a considerable cash prize is awarded to the victor?

Just a thought.....

I think we do need the ansett cup. It's a great warm up for all the teams especially now that there is the round robin format. It's also a good chance to see the young players from the draft.

If the season was extended, there would still have to be a number of practice matches. I reckon the season is long enough as it is.

------------------
aka HahnPremium37
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood" TARGET=_blank> http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood
</A>

[This message has been edited by HahnPremium8 (edited 29 January 2001).]

Do we really need the Ansett Cup