Do you feel old?

I'll be 24 in december, but have never felt happier in myself. I've had to work my butt off to get to my current level of happiness, really put myself out there and risked everything.

As for getting older, starting to feel it. I finish my six years in the Defence Force in early 2013, and getting out, so thats been a big portion of my life post high school. Completely different to the person that went in.
I ran marathons in 2010 and 2011. But come 2012, I couldnt finish it, and just cant run that far anymore (mostly due to medical situation and less-competitive attitude, I anticipated it). So physically i've peaked.

When I turned 21yo, I stopped going out and switched solely to red wine. Within a year I stopped alcohol completely and eat very healthy and vegan. Early to bed and early to rise. Also a mature age student, doing full-time work and online uni around that. So in comparison to other people my age, I feel old in terms of lifestyle. I also cop a lot of flack for prefering to watch an old b&w film at home compared to something like The Avengers. Mainly do long walks for exercise now, and do lots of reading. My youngest sibling is also about to finish high school, so that also changes the family dynamic a bit as well with no kids around anymore till one of us has kids. Also since high school, have generally hung around with people older than myself. I'm an old soul but always very optimistic, positive, compassionate and supportive of others.

I think for someone in their early 20's, I know exactly who I am, exactly what I need to do to be happy, and what is important in life. So to already have that out of the way should hold me in good stead hopefully. I dont feel like im wasting years away right now.

Life is a marathon :)

Never a truer quote from Grandpa in the movie Little Miss Sunshine: "Listen to me, I got no reason to lie to you, don't make the same mistakes I made when I was young. **** a lotta women kid, not just one woman, a lotta women."

Yes we're all happily married yada yada, but women generally are at their hottest from 16-26. You have to take advantage of this when you are young. Don't dilly dally young Bigfootyites.

Or you can just still shag hot 26 year olds when you are in your mid 30s.

Definitely don't feel like I recover as well as I did when I was 18 - 21. 25 now and the sport over the past 5 years especially has worn me down a little. Playing Basketball 2 days a week, footy and plenty of weight training kept me in great shape and fit although the injuries took their toll. Broke my jaw and a few weeks later tore a ligament in my ankle. Pulled the pin on both sports & now just focusing on weight training and took up 2 vs 2 beach volleyball which is pretty good on the body. Sports is a great thing but it can be very cruel injury wise.

When my parents were my age they had two boys on the threshold of puberty. I shudder to think how I would deal with that and all the inherent shit that goes with kids that age.

By the time my Granddad was my age, he'd already been shot down over Germany, spent three years in a POW camp and had like 7 kids (with more to come)

Why didn't he have a go? And what the **** are you doing with your life? Apart from nicky of course.

I'm just a weird person in general. Sometimes I feel old, but I'm fitter than I've ever been so that balances it out, yet I act like an 85 year old.

Why didn't he have a go? And what the **** are you doing with your life? Apart from nicky of course.

I'm just a weird person in general. Sometimes I feel old, but I'm fitter than I've ever been so that balances it out, yet I act like an 85 year old.

I'm pretty happy with my life. And lol at nicky suggestions.

Speaking the following day to the girl I had just spent the night with, it comes out that she has never heard Creep before. Shit, seriously, ok that's a little weird, mind slightly blown, but whatever. Huh, sorry did you just say you've never heard Sweet Child O' Mine either?

Ok firstly how the f__ does that even happen, and secondly gtfo.

This was the first time I've really felt old; a clear distinction between the generations below me. It's still fresh, so I haven't even come to full terms with it as yet. It shall however become my new bench mark for determining if a girl is too young for me or not.

Yeah... and I just turned 20.

I don't know, maybe it's just 'cause I miss high school. Hanging with your mates every day, house parties, getting away with doing stupid things and generally not really having a care in the world. Now it's just a life of Uni, work and responsibility.
I know how you feel. I think everyone feels how I'm feeling now: Gravitating away from friends, never seeing my old close mates again, 'finding myself' (or some equally cringeworthy but necessary part of young adulthood). I dunno. It's weird. I don't even feel as old as I am...

On the other hand, high school was weird. I had plenty of friends, went out a fair bit, had a girlfriend who was a great person and good looking, but I don't miss it at all. I wanted out of it. I hated my desolate coastal town and I grew tired of my friends – we were friends through geography, rather than interests. I dunno. I don't get this idealistic, retrospection of "I miss the carefree days." Everything is relative. Churning out year 9 essays were hell, just as churning out a tedious uni assignment is. I had a great childhood, I wouldn't change it too much, but I don't think I'd like to go back.

I like being able to buy my own beers, go out, live away from home, have the freedom to (philosophical debate aside...) do whatever I want. Only losers say your high school days are the best. Surely casual sex (or, the adventures that attempt to get it), travel, and the occasional usage of recreational drugs are more memorable than getting pissed in some bogans backyards with the girls dressed in Supre? I dunno. I love being 18.

In general, I'm a bit of an introspective and nostalgic dude. I think a lot about my mortality and address a lot of situations with a "when I'm 60, will I regret not doing this?", which is a pretty lame way to dictate how to live my life. Whatever. I wish I wasn't like it, but I am.

I feel really old at the ripe old age of 22. My Ankles/Knees/Hamstrings always seem to hurt due to past injuries and the only thing I want to do is sleep. Hopefully it will change.

No, I'm still sprightly at 98.

Moleman.jpg

I could easily pass for an 85 year old.

Had a terrible injury run. Did my first knee at 16 missed 13 games, managed a full season at 17, had plenty of set backs in my second year of colts. The year I turned 19 I went into preseason in super shape was at the gym 6 days a week and running every night. Was thinking its my year. Absolutely smashed preseason. Peaking raring to go. First 30 seconds of our first scratch match ACL decides to go. Luckily it was a grade 2 didn't require surgery played round 2. This year did a medial. Missed 10 games.

Already started rehab and plan to be super fit next season.

Am only turning 21 next year and still feel pretty good. Work just is the killer being in the sun all day everyday. Takes it out of me. Hangovers slowly get worse. Now I have booze free weekends just to recover haha.

I hit my peak at 27 and 2 years on still consider myself at that mark, I expect the decline to kick in a few years but it'll be gradual. Where the physical goes the financial takes over (that's my plan anyway). From an emotional perspective the last 18 months have been the happiest period in my life (I've had happier moments previously but not better extended periods).

I'm actually really looking forward to my 30's still looking good with the financial means to do what I want, would love to hear people's experiences in comparing their 20's to their 30's

I hit my peak at 27 and 2 years on still consider myself at that mark, I expect the decline to kick in a few years but it'll be gradual. Where the physical goes the financial takes over (that's my plan anyway). From an emotional perspective the last 18 months have been the happiest period in my life (I've had happier moments previously but not better extended periods).

I'm actually really looking forward to my 30's still looking good with the financial means to do what I want, would love to hear people's experiences in comparing their 20's to their 30's

30's rocked for me. Probably had a lot to do with "growing up" as my late teens and early 20's were kinda messy. I completed tertiary education in my late 20's, therefore I was earning a decent quid, living abroad and slaying 'em with my cricket (seam bowler's peak late 20's, early 30's).

My 20s were a helluva lotta fun, but a bit of a white-knuckle ride. 30's were much better, not repeating the mistakes of yore and having a more rounded perspective on life.

P.S. Heaps more women in my 30s (slows down a bit in the 40's though)

I'm 39, and I honestly believe that at this age, each year gets better. You're have enough experience to (mostly) make the right choices and young enough to still be physically able to do anything. It's a good time of life, don't, and nor should I feel the least bit old.

I'm 35 and starting to feel a bit like that. The only thing that gets me is more and more friends having kids or buying property/investment property. I'm with someone that's already been married and isn't keen on kids and we own nothing so a bit of the keeping up the joneses comes in to it and I feel like I'm not achieving anything. Then again I've seen a good majority of the world and plan to see more in the next few years along with having a semi-decent career so glass half full etc. I also seem to want to spend more time with people older than me now which I find weird, it's never been like that with me.

I'm also now old enough for supers/masters footy so I'm the youngest there and therefore I made to look spritely. :thumbsu:

At 35 the body still feels really good so no worries there.

State of mind? Well I've been with my partner for 11 years now and have a young daughter, the mortgage, and the investment property. Sometimes its easy to look back with rose coloured glasses at my late teens and early 20's and think that period was awesome. No responsibility, do what I want, when I want, shag who I want, drink how much I want.

But your priorities change. No doubt it'd be nice to go and live in the skin of 20yo mancey again for a few months and just cut sick. But I'd miss my partner and kid. I'd have a shit job. I'd be pretty broke. I wouldn't know shit from clay. I wouldn't have the security of owning my own house, wishing my deadshit flatmate would move out but then knowing I'd have to find another person to share rent.

I feel like a man. Does that mean I feel old? Probably up to you

I'm 31, but I'm not at all fit - my fault for not exercising enough. So yes, I do feel old. I've also had medical issues (had a kidney transplant several years back), and I've never felt 100% well since way before I was diagnosed with chronic renal failure. Nowadays, it's fatigue that's holding me back - I get tired too easily.

Oh what I'd give to be 21 again ...