Quinten Kennedy
I agree, and you could add more names to that list.Ex-footballers like Dyer and Lou Richards used to be able to call games really well.
Just saying that being able to 'speak good' really should be the bare minimum.

I agree, and you could add more names to that list.Ex-footballers like Dyer and Lou Richards used to be able to call games really well.
Thats it. Call the game clearly and accurately with no added bullshit thrown inJust give me matt hill on every game
I see you're unfamiliar with Peter Drury.EPL and NFL commentary a million times better
I see you're unfamiliar with Peter Drury.
This is a fantastic thread and I'm not surprised it's come from PerthBoy86One thing you notice when watching old games, is the commentary seems a bit more sedate usually, depending on the caller, but on average they didnt get that excited unless something really exciting happened. Now it seems every possession is the last 5 minutes of a grand final, if a side is likely to score etc. Like theyre trying hard to get people excited. I mean I like the drama, and I think some of the old calls were a hit pedestrian (some certainly weren't) but it's starting to get over the top. BT is entertaining but you feel he's having too much fun at times lol. I feel he and Bruce really began that super dramatic excited modern style of commentating. Callers like Cometti and Quartermaine were a good balance, Huddo too.
What are your thoughts on this? I mean besides all the general commentary complaints.
Assuming youre not being sarcastic, thanks for the compliment mate.This is a fantastic thread and I'm not surprised it's come from PerthBoy86
The channel 7 callers are insanely intense. I remember during a final recently, Luke Darcy was literally SCREAMING for the entire 4th quarter. BT was also screaming a few weeks when Collingwood were 5 goals up against freo. Obviously the 7 producers direct their callers to do this to appeal to children, and people with low attention spans who are addicted to the 15 second instagram reel cycle which burns out their dopamine receptors. But I also feel like football in general is so much more intense than 20 years ago. Obviously the pressure is at all time high levels, but also the mood of the fans matches the pressure and maniacal playing style of today, fans are so emotionally invested in their club, they watch like it's life and death. Footy is by far the least relaxing sport for a spectator, it's the complete inversion of a comfortable sport like cricket. The broadcast, callers' wild intensity and rapid ball movement make for a highly stimulating and uncomfortable watching experience
Max props for the rare smiling Nietzsche!This is a fantastic thread and I'm not surprised it's come from PerthBoy86
The channel 7 callers are insanely intense. I remember during a final recently, Luke Darcy was literally SCREAMING for the entire 4th quarter. BT was also screaming a few weeks when Collingwood were 5 goals up against freo. Obviously the 7 producers direct their callers to do this to appeal to children, and people with low attention spans who are addicted to the 15 second instagram reel cycle which burns out their dopamine receptors. But I also feel like football in general is so much more intense than 20 years ago. Obviously the pressure is at all time high levels, but also the mood of the fans matches the pressure and maniacal playing style of today, fans are so emotionally invested in their club, they watch like it's life and death. Footy is by far the least relaxing sport for a spectator, it's the complete inversion of a comfortable sport like cricket. The broadcast, callers' wild intensity and rapid ball movement make for a highly stimulating and uncomfortable watching experience
Andy Townsend and Conor McNamara are excellent.EPL and NFL commentary a million times better
Just give me matt hill on every game
Can't stand him. I don't know what his background is but it feels like he learned about footy last year and swotted up on it. Got no feel for the game and makes weird mistakes. Like one game said someone was running in the wide open space of the outer wing, while he almost literally ran through the centre circle.Thats it. Call the game clearly and accurately with no added bullshit thrown in
Can't stand him. I don't know what his background is but it feels like he learned about footy last year and swotted up on it. Got no feel for the game and makes weird mistakes. Like one game said someone was running in the wide open space of the outer wing, while he almost literally ran through the centre circle.
I watched one game him and Mark Howard co-ommentated and Howard was so much more enjoyable, even if a little excitable. He described one bit of play where someone "handballs to himself, KB style" and it was the perfect description, although maybe lost on anyone under 50. Couldn't in a million years imagine Matt Hill picking that up.
Correct.Having said that I hate the commentary on 7 far more than Fox. I'll take Hill over bloody BT, Hamish and Brayshaw any day. Only ever see it when I'm at the GF's place, and **** me it's diabolical.
Footy is not that exciting all the time. And when it is exciting it doesn't need to be pumped up, just reflected.
Yes he definitely did that, I clearly remember my mum doing the ironing, screaming at Peter Landy "It's dropping the ball!" or "How did he bloody get rid of it?" But he certainly did legitimately handball in front of himself on occasions too.The stupid thing is I saw lots of KB and cannot recall him ever handballing in front of himself like that. Before they changed the rule in his honour he used to throw the ball out in front of himself as he was being tackled and win holding the man free kicks that way regularly. It absolutely(and rightly) infuriated opposition fans. After they changed the rule Hungry just changed his policy to unloading a shot for goal every time he was about to be tackled - even from the back pocket.
So Howard's commentary isn't as informed as it may seem, he is copying the same fallacy he has heard other commentators use before him.
Yes he definitely did that, I clearly remember my mum doing the ironing, screaming at Peter Landy "It's dropping the ball!" or "How did he bloody get rid of it?" But he certainly did legitimately handball in front of himself on occasions too.
In any case whoever it was certainly reminded me of KB in that moment, and it was better than the trite cliches Hill comes out with time and again.
McNamara is awful. Awful voice and barely understands the game.Andy Townsend and Conor McNamara are excellent.
Snuggled up under a blankieI’ve never thought of it like this but I just had a cold shiver down my spine thinking about BT or Derwayne sitting on the couch with me all afternoon
Don't watch NFL but 100% agreed on EPL.EPL and NFL commentary a million times better
Each to their own. Generally I find the EPL commentators decent. Here’s a random thought, imagine BT commentating soccer!McNamara is awful. Awful voice and barely understands the game.
Nowhere near as bad as that smug, self important flog Peter Drury though.