Do you flash your headlights...

• Thread starter Thread starter GoEagles

Originally posted by evade28
everytime you post i get more and more convinced that you are some relation to suzi, the crap you come up with is unbelievable.

It is true. I have no sympathy for them as they obviously cannot read the speed limits so why should you flash them when you do the right thing and they don't.

Originally posted by eastaugh36
It is true. I have no sympathy for them as they obviously cannot read the speed limits so why should you flash them when you do the right thing and they don't.

When you're old enough to drive, feel free to contribute.

Originally posted by evade28
everytime you post i get more and more convinced that you are some relation to suzi

Isn't everyone related to her? :)

Although I beleive easty shares many more common traits with her than most.

FWIW: I flash my lights if the coast is clear, as I beleive the charge is 'hindering police'.

It's booze busses that I wont help people out with.

I used to flash, but driving sydney to Newcastle and back every 2
weeks and seeing all the stupid things some drivers do
it is better they cop everything they deserve.

Why are you worried about what other people are doing? I have no time for people who resent and worry about other people's business.

I bet you're one of these people who cut people off when they try to change lanes. I bet when two lanes are merging into one and everyone is going car for car that you're the one who sits right up the guy in front of you so the car in the next lane can't merge. I bet you're the one when in a shopping centre car park there is a space that isn't meant to be a space, so to stop people parking there, you park your car half in your space and half in the other to stop people parking there.

When you get your licence that is.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Why are you worried about what other people are doing? I have no time for people who resent and worry about other people's business.

I bet you're one of these people who cut people off when they try to change lanes. I bet when two lanes are merging into one and everyone is going car for car that you're the one who sits right up the guy in front of you so the car in the next lane can't merge. I bet you're the one when in a shopping centre car park there is a space that isn't meant to be a space, so to stop people parking there, you park your car half in your space and half in the other to stop people parking there.

When you get your licence that is.

Hardly. I detest people who do all this.
I get sick to death of doing the right thing all the time and then for some idiot to zoom past speeding without penalty.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
FWIW: I flash my lights if the coast is clear, as I beleive the charge is 'hindering police'.

That's a nonsense bull**** nazi charge IMO.

First of all, there's nothing at all unsafe with flashing the lights day or night, rain or sunshine. So let's get that out of the way.

Otherwise, you are simply communicating with your fellow motorists. It would be damn hard for anyone to prove what it is your are communicating by flashing your lights. Are you telling them that they are riding too close to the center line? Are you telling them that they have their bright lights on, and need to dim them? What are you telling them? The ****ing cop knows?

Even if there was a legal presumption that you are warning them they are driving into a speed trap, who gives a ****? That's called freedom of speech. Freedom of speech extends to forms of communication beyond the written or spoken word.

You're not telling a murderer how to escape a foot pursuit. You're not phoning a sniper in a hostage situation and telling them that a tactical police SWAT unit is entering their building from the South-West window. You're telling a guy to slow the hell down. That's a public service, and you have the right to communicate it.

If there are laws on the books preventing you from 'hindering the police' by telling people to slow down, get it changed. Harrass your legislative representatives. Start a grass roots movement. Get those laws stricken from the books. It's bull****.

Now that I've ranted all of that, I need to check the Missouri laws to make sure I'm not subject to the same oppression before one of you bored SOB's slaps me by posting the law here. :D

Peace & take no ****

Hardly. I detest people who do all this.
I get sick to death of doing the right thing all the time and then for some idiot to zoom past speeding without penalty.

But if the person was flashed before the camera they would have slown down in the dangerous area where the camera is situated and no fine would be necessary.

I was flashed the other day. I did immediately think it was a speed camera but it actually turned out it was warning everyone that a pretty bad crash had happened and that the road was partially blocked with ambos, firies and cops etc.

So it's a community service no matter what the reason or intention.

Re: Re: Do you flash your headlights...

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
If the purpose of camera's is to make people slow down then it has the same effect earlier if someone flashes you hence it is safer to flash someone.

I personally think that the speed factor is overrated and would like to see the breakdown of all fatalities cuased by speed. I.E. I believe a substantial portion are as the result of stupidity of young bloke doing 200Km and hitting something or the result of stolen cars.

Emphasising maximum speed's actually gives people a false sense of security when they should be driving more to the conditions. I.E. It is far safer on the freway at 130KM on a fine day than 100Kmh on a wet night.

Instead of speed kills etc being ramed down our throats with the resultant camera controls far more emphasis should be put on driving to the conditions.
yeah, like at 4am in the morning, there should be different speed limits as to when there are peakhour conditions. It happens overseas, but not here. It's ridiculous having to go up pittwater road at 60km/h on a straight stretch of road that has nothing but bush either side with not a car in sight.

And i've also noticed that speed limits are coming down everywhere, they never go up. Just recently the 70 and 80 zones around have gone to 60 and 70.

Originally posted by Mooster

Flash your lights today. Nay! Flash your lights everyday!

Peace & together we can win,
the thing is if everyone flashed, it builds up a resistance to speed cameras. Sure people will slow down near a radar, but they will zoom along everywhere else knowing that there is little risk of being caught.

I know myself one thing that keeps me honest is not knowing if there is a radar up ahead.

Originally posted by Cobber
Hence why Victoria started raking the money in big time when they reduced the tollerance to 3km over.
That explains it. I couldn't believe how religiously people were sticking to the limits whilst i was down there. I thought it was just a generational thing that was better passed down from parents to their learner driver kids, the importance of sticking to the speed limit.

I normally cruise at 5km/h over the limit, because frankly if you don't, you get tailgated or the traffic goes whizzing by. Even traffic around a cop car and the cops themselves do this. Though i was going through a school zone at the customary 40km/h yesterday and some b*tch behind me starts gesturing and flashing. Cue 20km/h.

Originally posted by nicko18
That explains it. I couldn't believe how religiously people were sticking to the limits whilst i was down there. I thought it was just a generational thing that was better passed down from parents to their learner driver kids, the importance of sticking to the speed limit.

I normally cruise at 5km/h over the limit, because frankly if you don't, you get tailgated or the traffic goes whizzing by. Even traffic around a cop car and the cops themselves do this. Though i was going through a school zone at the customary 40km/h yesterday and some b*tch behind me starts gesturing and flashing. Cue 20km/h.

The speed limit is 60. There is no need to go 65, if people are passing you when you go 60 then let them go, they will be the ones caught.
Also, why is this woman a b*tch? I would have done the same thing if I were her and someone was breaking a speed limit.

reread the post idiot. I was going 40km/h in a school zone, ie the speed limit.

The speed limit is 60. There is no need to go 65, if people are passing you when you go 60 then let them go, they will be the ones caught.
wrong again. You do not get 'caught' doing 65 in a 60 zone in Sydney.

So what. It says 60 so you do 60. Not too hard to figure out.
I bet bunsen was right. You are one of these righteous people that resents people parking illegally in the spot next to you, and thus park covering two spots. I bet you also jump in the outside lane prohibiting anybody from overtaking you as well. Do you get all uptight and yell at the ladies who do not stand to the left of the escalator like they are supposed to?

If someone parks too close and over my line I generally open the door and whack their car with it. Serves em right!
But I do not stay in the outside lane as it doesnt bother me if people pass. I just normally put a finger to my head as they drive past, insinuating that they are stupid.
As for escalators, doesnt bother me if people dont stand to the left.

If someone parks too close and over my line I generally open the door and whack their car with it. Serves em right!
yes, they deserve to have their car bashed if they do not park at 90 degrees, parallel and equidistant from the lines. And you resent people who break the law. how ironic.

wish someone had warned me on main south road in adelaide when i speeding fine cost me $140, when there were 2 cars in the photo. (me and another)

always hear the "dont speed wont get caught" but people speed no matter if there were cameras around, just slowing down for the camera doesnt mean they wont be speeding once outta site of it?

i dont see the main point in the cameras ... i speed... i dont mean to ...just hate people tagging right behind me, the more and more you try and get away from them, the more you speed.

yes, they deserve to have their car bashed if they do not park at 90 degrees, parallel and equidistant from the lines. And you resent people who break the law. how ironic.

You make it seem like I do it to every innocent person who parks.
They park illegally so I dont see a problem with it. Park how your meant to and it doesnt happen, once again like the speeding people it is quite simple and basic stuff to understand! But some people cant manage to understand it!