OKC, Sturt, Cardinals
As you all know we are debuting 2 more lads this weekend which bring our total for the season to 7.
This may be a sign of where we are as a team at the moment but to me this is one of the most positive things to come from the club in a long time. Finally the club has got rid of the trading theory and decided to bring our own players through and develop them properly.

Including this week in the last 34 games we have had 12 players debut, so on average one every 3 weeks is being welcomed into the team and getting the test.
Hayden Ballantyne
Greg Broughton
Matthew deBoer
Joshua Head
Stephen Hill
Clayton Hinkley
Chris Mayne
Brock O'Brien
Rhys Palmer
Nick Suban
Luke Pratt
Clancee Pearce

And looking at how things are travelling at the moment i can see at least 2 more by the time the seasons is through with Clarke and Walters pressing their cases.
Clearly not all of these are going to make it as AFL players. Personally Head has no chance and i don't see much future in Pratt either but at worst from these 34 games we should have unearted at least 7-8 guys that will be 10 year players for the FFC.

I thought Pratt did ok in his first game. I agree with your sentiments on Head, but why dont you see a future in Pratt?

As you all know we are debuting 2 more lads this weekend which bring our total for the season to 7.
This may be a sign of where we are as a team at the moment but to me this is one of the most positive things to come from the club in a long time. Finally the club has got rid of the trading theory and decided to bring our own players through and develop them properly.

Including this week in the last 34 games we have had 12 players debut, so on average one every 3 weeks is being welcomed into the team and getting the test.
Hayden Ballantyne
Greg Broughton
Matthew deBoer
Joshua Head
Stephen Hill
Clayton Hinkley
Chris Mayne
Brock O'Brien
Rhys Palmer
Nick Suban
Luke Pratt
Clancee Pearce

And looking at how things are travelling at the moment i can see at least 2 more by the time the seasons is through with Clarke and Walters pressing their cases.
Clearly not all of these are going to make it as AFL players. Personally Head has no chance and i don't see much future in Pratt either but at worst from these 34 games we should have unearted at least 7-8 guys that will be 10 year players for the FFC.

Maybe Bucovaz, Sibosado, Hall and Ruffles are not without their chances, depending on the depth of our injury list and their WAFL form. But I agree, Clarke and Walters are both more likely to pull the jumper on this year.

I thought Pratt was solid in his debut, did some good work and only made the one critical mistake in handing the ball off to the familiar voice of his old team mate "Yarran". I hope he gets another chance soon because he's a goer, and likes dishing out the niggle as well.

Hayden Ballantyne
Greg Broughton
Matthew deBoer
Joshua Head
Stephen Hill
Clayton Hinkley
Chris Mayne
Brock O'Brien
Rhys Palmer
Nick Suban
Luke Pratt
Clancee Pearce

harsh on pratt, spot on with head

I think Greg Broughton looks the goods for you guys......what do you think?
(Seems to have stepped up to the AFL level well)

I thought Pratt went OK! He didn't mind backing into packs in the marking contests, some gutsy efforts for a first gamer:thumbsu:

Fremantle has reaffirmed its commitment to a youth policy by naming first-year players Hayden Ballantyne and Clancee Pearce to make their AFL debuts against Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium on Saturday night.

The selection of Ballantyne, the 2008 Sandover Medallist, and Pearce, who won All-Australian selection in last year’s Under-18 national championships, means that seven players will have made their debuts for Fremantle ahead of the mid-season break.

The team named for the clash with Port lists six first-year players and includes nine players who have played 10 games or less.

As of round 10, with five players for a total of 29 games played, Fremantle heads the list for the highest number of first year players to debut and most games played.

Carlton, five and 28, and North Melbourne, five and 24, are next (*see full list below).

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7009/newsid/78269/default.aspx

Wow, well done Freo for rebuilding and actually meaning it. But looking at that list I see one team that is just TOTALLY out of whack with it's supposed rebuilding phase.

First year players to debut and total games played in season 2009:

Fremantle – 5 players; 29 games

Carlton – 5 players; 28 games
North Melbourne – 5 players; 24 games
Richmond – 4 players; 22 games
Adelaide – 3 players; 21 games
Melbourne – 4 players; 20 games
Brisbane – 4 players; 19 games
Hawthorn – 5 players; 17 games
Collingwood – 4 players; 17 games
Sydney – 3 players; 16 games
Essendon – 3 players; 12 games
Port Adelaide – 3 players; 10 games
Western Bulldogs – 2 players; 10 games
West Coast – 2 players; 5 games
Geelong – 2 players; 2 games
St Kilda – 0 players; 0 games

With West Coast sitting behind Geelong and St Kilda, what are they doing? do they think they have a list that can make the 8? becuase that seems to be what they are aiming for, I can see teams like Geelong and StKilda not blooding the youth as they are having a tilt at the flag and are in the business of WINNIG games to secure a top 4 place but West Coast are bottom 4!!! The fact that they have only played 2 rookies this year just shows what a rabble they are at the moment with Worsfold. He can't build a list to save his life and with all these rookies waiting in the wings to get a game, now would be the time to do it. But hey if that's the way they re build then it's fine by me, I'll stick to the Harvey method ANY day of the week.

I'd say without a shadown of a doubt that Michael Walters & Zac Clarke will be added to this list by years end. If Van Berlo wasn't injured he would have debuted by now also

Yup WCE have given Cockie four games and Swift one, luckily they quickly shunted Cockie back to the rookie list so Ryan Davis could get games...

The only really positive thing we have about this season is these young blokes.:thumbsu: And for the most part, they do pretty much look the goods.

I agree that Head is a goner, and don't disagree with the Wizard's sentiments re Luke Pratt.

Pratt's debut was serviceable and his courage can never be questioned. However, he is and has always been injury prone. With a full squad available, I don't see Pratt being any more than a depth player. And Andrew Browne is not a good example of a depth player...

I hope I'm wrong of course.

I dont think Pratt has ever been injury prone?

Pratt atm is nothing more than a depth player, but he's got huge upside, he has pretty classy skills, and I see him slotting into haydens role over the next few years. Would not underestimate him

The only really positive thing we have about this season is these young blokes.:thumbsu: And for the most part, they do pretty much look the goods.

I agree that Head is a goner, and don't disagree with the Wizard's sentiments re Luke Pratt.

Pratt's debut was serviceable and his courage can never be questioned. However, he is and has always been injury prone. With a full squad available, I don't see Pratt being any more than a depth player. And Andrew Browne is not a good example of a depth player...

I hope I'm wrong of course.

:confused:

I think everyone is a bit harsh on head..
Just turned 26, i still think he would have a solid 6 years ahead of him..

Think he could add something to the team with that long kick of his..

Like to see him get a few more games under his belt

Yeah nah, lol.

IMO with Head, my frustration with his is due to the fact he has no influence on the game at all.

I dont think Pratt has ever been injury prone?

Pratt atm is nothing more than a depth player, but he's got huge upside, he has pretty classy skills, and I see him slotting into haydens role over the next few years. Would not underestimate him

Nothing against Luke, but he is currently on our injured list now (although listed as "test" and has been named on an extended I/C bench for Swans) and he's missed heaps of games for Swans through various injuries including shoulder, ankle and (I think) a back issue.

I admit he's no Andrew Browne, but he has been unable to string together a lot of games. But he is young, I spose.

I wouldn't underestimate his potential either, but if he is 100% fit, and considering he made his AFL debut just a month ago (and went ok), why would he not play ahead of Pearce then ATM?

no one wants Head more than me around here, but theres only so much a person can take