Dockerland

• Thread starter Thread starter Farrand

I think the issue that a lot of people have with dockerland is that it is seen by some as the voice of Fremantle supporters, when in reality it is a forum for people whose opinions are similar to those of Shane.

It used to be called 'Shane's Dockerland'. It should revert to the old name.

I think the issue that a lot of people have with dockerland is that it is seen by some as the voice of Fremantle supporters, when in reality it is a forum for people whose opinions are similar to those of Shane.

That doesn't bother me in the slightest, but I can see how it would bug people when the opinion of the majority on dockerland is seen as being the opinion of the majority of Fremantle supporters when in reality it isn't. Just like the viewpoint of the handful of people who call talk back radio doesn't represent the majority, neither does dockerland, the MOB, or any other group.

Its seen as the voice of some freo supporters, so whats the problem, it is. Are you worried your opinion is being ignored by someone?

Who?

Its seen as the voice of some freo supporters, so whats the problem, it is. Are you worried your opinion is being ignored by someone?

Who?

Maybe they should have a warning when you log in or look at it, that it is only the voice for 'some' people.

By "the media" I guess you mean Adrian Barich and the Inside Cover of The West. I reckon they go there for the humour. There are some very funny things posted on Dockerland. A lot of tripe as well but you get that in the big city. I like it that there are some snappier and better Freo posters here than there was a few years back but generally speaking it may be an age thing. YOunger people who are into more current popular modern culture references seem to prefer it here. I could be wrong. Personally i prefer jokes about biscuits (if you knwo why the jokes are being made) than jokes about Chuck Norris. At least the biscuits won't sue you for making the jokes.

Who is defending it?

I haven't sung Dockerlands praises, I have just said what it is.

I realize that many people have been offended by Dockerland and now see it something evil masterminded by evil powers, but in reality it is a site created by a hardcore Docker fan for hardcore Docker fans and run by the principle that if don't agree with it, or like it, you can **** off.
You are defending it RH and your obsfuscation doesn't change that fact.

As for the idea that it is for "hardcore" dockers fans, well that is laughable. Hardcore docker fans come from a number of different opinions, not just the singular ideology that dominates DL. Am I not a hardcore docker fan? Or do I have to be a member of the DL purple circle to qualify for that?

Does it really take 600 posts for everyone to realise there is a little thing called opinion, and its old mate choice.

Whilst there still a hole in your respective arses, there will not be agreement, so let the freaking issue go.

Ahhh, I feel better.

Who?

Ofcourse it's the voice of some Freo supporters, but the people who post regularly there are people with similar views to Shane. How many people would post on dockerland on a daily basis? 100? 200? Whatever the figure, it's a very small percentage of the 40,000 members and the fact that anyone who doesn't tow the corporate line gets deleted makes it anything but the voice of the majority of Fremantle supporters.

If I thought the club should listen to my opinion I'd run for the board or apply for a job in the media. But the opinion of Shane Richmond and 100 others with similar views to his shouldn't be considered the voice of Fremantle.

Does it really take 600 posts for everyone to realise there is a little thing called opinion, and its old mate choice.

Whilst there still a hole in your respective arses, there will not be agreement, so let the freaking issue go.

Ahhh, I feel better.

We aren't all arguing with each other about it. Many of us are simply agreeing with each other and discussing the issue. Because other people join in the discussion to defend Dockerland, doesn't mean we should all get over it.

Ofcourse it's the voice of some Freo supporters, but the people who post regularly there are people with similar views to Shane. How many people would post on dockerland on a daily basis? 100? 200? Whatever the figure, it's a very small percentage of the 40,000 members and the fact that anyone who doesn't tow the corporate line gets deleted makes it anything but the voice of the majority of Fremantle supporters.

If I thought the club should listen to my opinion I'd run for the board or apply for a job in the media. But the opinion of Shane Richmond and 100 others with similar views to his shouldn't be considered the voice of Fremantle.

Isn't this the same thing as the MOB?

Talk about a bunch of supporters who think they make the club.

Never once have I heard Dockerland say it was the voice of all Freo supporters. Do you want them to shut down because that is where the likes of Barich & Sattler go for headlines?

Isn't this the same thing as the MOB?

Talk about a bunch of supporters who think they make the club.

Never once have I heard Dockerland say it was the voice of all Freo supporters. Do you want them to shut down because that is where the likes of Barich & Sattler go for headlines?

Similar, although the MOB have made a concerted effort to give the impression that they represent the supporter base where as dockerland has become our voice by accident.

I didn't say that it's dockerlands fault that it is seen as the voice of the masses, but that is the reality.

If dockerland shut down I'd have to start buying a footy record, so I'm happy it's there. I just don't see the point in having a message board where everyone agrees, but hey, like others have said it's Shane's site so he can do what he likes.

Similar, although the MOB have made a concerted effort to give the impression that they represent the supporter base where as dockerland has become our voice by accident.

I didn't say that it's dockerlands fault that it is seen as the voice of the masses, but that is the reality.

If dockerland shut down I'd have to start buying a footy record, so I'm happy it's there. I just don't see the point in having a message board where everyone agrees, but hey, like others have said it's Shane's site so he can do what he likes.

That's the only problem I personally have with Dockerland (other then the fact I was banned for being hostile :p but meh who cares). The fact that a majority of AFL supporters believe that because we support Freo that we post on Dockerland. It's an ok website, just the whole deleting of posts gets annoying after a while.

You are defending it RH and your obsfuscation doesn't change that fact.

As for the idea that it is for "hardcore" dockers fans, well that is laughable. Hardcore docker fans come from a number of different opinions, not just the singular ideology that dominates DL. Am I not a hardcore docker fan? Or do I have to be a member of the DL purple circle to qualify for that?

Agreed.
The whole Freo' clan n Bigfooty are pretty much Hardcore Freo supporters.... It's the middle of off-season and we can still talk about footy, players , match-ups etc....
We don't even have a little brake like Dockerland does....
I would say both sights have groups of Hardcore Freo' supporters....
I still think the better posters are here due to the fact it's a lot more of an open forum plus we have a lot of dialouge with opposition supporters as well as we get a cross section of views, which is a BIG difference from DL.
I wonder guys - where do We Have The Passion and other AFL/ Freo forums rate in the scheme of things compared to us & DL?????

Agreed.
The whole Freo' clan n Bigfooty are pretty much Hardcore Freo supporters.... It's the middle of off-season and we can still talk about footy, players , match-ups etc....
We don't even have a little brake like Dockerland does....
I would say both sights have groups of Hardcore Freo' supporters....
I still think the better posters are here due to the fact it's a lot more of an open forum plus we have a lot of dialouge with opposition supporters as well as we get a cross section of views, which is a BIG difference from DL.
I wonder guys - where do We Have The Passion and other AFL/ Freo forums rate in the scheme of things compared to us & DL?????

I would say BF is in the middle

WHTP is the place for constant knockers of the club, staff , players. The reason its there is because their negativity was too much for elsewhere

Dockerland is where such knocking isn't tolerated. Fairly light hearted and a place for the glass is half full types rather than negative types. Dont whinge too much there.

BF has a bit of both, supporters and knockers, Can be entertaining at times but you have to put up with some rubbish as well.

Just waiting for bushie to change his bigfooty login to Shane_Richmond.

I assume from that little dig that you are implying that I am of the "purple tainted glasses" variety.

Jesus, how wrong you are!!:rolleyes:

Do a search.

I am very vocal in the negativity department.

However, unlike you and your clique, I do not need to bang on and on and on about my chosen flogging horse.

And yes we all know that you love yourself and your supposedly chiselled body.....( and how it is Soooo much better than Hase's), and pulls all the chicks for you.

But do we constantly need to hear about it??

I assume from that little dig that you are implying that I am of the "purple tainted glasses" variety.

Do a search.

However, unlike you and your clique, I do not need to bang on and on and on about my chosen flogging horse.

And yes we all know that you love yourself and your supposedly chiselled body.....( and how it is Soooo much better than Hase's), and pulls all the chicks for you.

Just pointing out anyone can say some stupid crap about other people in one sentence that is somewhat true..... maybe so you won't do it as often in the future to others. We'll see how this experiment turns out.

Who cares if I "love myself" or tell you facts about myself? Do I come out with rubbish like :- "bushie said he was a guy, a guy!!!! he must love himself because he's proud to be a man and drinks beer! he's also an alcoholic!". Just because I mention some facts about myself as a qualification of why I'm saying something doesn't mean you can infer all sorts of crap about those facts outside of what I'm saying, at least without sounding willfully ignorant and/or threatened. It's like a weagle supporter saying I'm gay because I like the purple in the dockers uniform, it's just rubbish and you shouldn't be doing it.

Just pointing out anyone can say some stupid crap about other people in one sentence that is somewhat true..... maybe so you won't do it as often in the future to others. We'll see how this experiment turns out.

I have read and re-read this paragraph about 50 times and it still makes little sense.

However, all I can come up with is that you think that I post stupid crap that is true!!:confused:

But you don't want me to do as often to you or others.:confused:

O.............K:rolleyes:

Who cares if I "love myself" or tell you facts about myself?

Well you obviously don't!!

Do I come out with rubbish like :- "bushie said he was a guy, a guy!!!! he must love himself because he's proud to be a man and drinks beer! he's also an alcoholic!".

WTF are you on about pal??:confused:

Too many roids??

Just because I mention some facts about myself as a qualification of why I'm saying something doesn't mean you can infer all sorts of crap about those facts outside of what I'm saying, at least without sounding willfully ignorant and/or threatened.

I am not inferring, implying or imagining a friggen thing pal.

Everthing I said is contained in your little rant on Neutral Posters in the Horde.....I will save our posters further pain by posting a link.

Please tell us all the bit I made up!!

It's like a weagle supporter saying I'm gay because I like the purple in the dockers uniform, it's just rubbish and you shouldn't be doing it.

I'll say what I like.

And if you keep on acting like a tool, I will keep on saying it.

Do a search.

You're probably fat too...

Back to the point of the thread though.

Isn't Dockerland crap :)

I don't mind Dockerland but refuse to post on there because of posts continually being deleted for no reason at all.