Dockers targets for next season

dbhattarai

Jun 30, 2001
Dockers
As we all know, the Dockers have had a really really bad season, and so they will have to target key position players that are experienced but still reasonably young.

The 5 targets the Dockers have at the moment are Gasper, Farmer, Hall, Pickett and McKernan. I think all 5 will help the Fremantle Football Club immensely.

I just want to know which of these 5 do you actually think the dockers will end up signing?

I think Farmer and Hall would have to favourites because of their current status with their clubs. Gasper is also a reasonable chance because he hasn't signed to stay on at Richmond and he wants to return home to WA. The same story goes for Pickett, but I think NM will resign him. McKernan is a smokey and I heard rumours that Bandy might be traded for him, along with a 2nd or 3rd round draft pick. I also heard that Bandy might be traded directly for Hall. Freo also have the luxury of having the 1st preseason draft pick so this will make things more interesting. Anyway, it will be interesting to see what happens down at the dockers, and best of luck to them.

Kenny

:D :D :D :D :D

Freo will end up with none of them!

Why would them 5 want to have anything to do with the pack of losers known as the Freo Dockers???????

Look at Bell! stuffed his career.

But I do think freo are a chance at Calthorpe or Lyle :p

Originally posted by dbhattarai
As we all know, the Dockers have had a really really bad season, and so they will have to target key position players that are experienced but still reasonably young.

The 5 targets the Dockers have at the moment are Gasper, Farmer, Hall, Pickett and McKernan. I think all 5 will help the Fremantle Football Club immensely.

I just want to know which of these 5 do you actually think the dockers will end up signing?

Gaspar - possibility. Would be saying goodbye to Brown i think - even tho he has recently signed a contract (that means nothing anyway) or maybe Pavlich and mould him to a Half Back

Farmer - possibility. Would probably be saying goodbye to Pavlich or maybe Waterhouse

Hall - probably. Dunno why they would want Hall as i cant see him improving the club all that much. St Kilda would probably want another key player to cover his loss.

Pickett - no chance. If they did get him i think Freo would be saying bye bye to Haselby and Black.

Mckernan - dont think so. I dont think North would let him go. But if they did theyd more likely go for Pavlich to cover the loss of Carey when he retires next year

Actually, I think all 5 players are out of contract at the end of this year. With Freo pretty much guaranteed to have first pick in the pre-season draft, all they would need to do is to convince one of them not to re-sign with their club and they would then be free to pick up that player with no compensation going to the player's original club. For them to pick up a second player from that group of five, then some deals would have to be made.

I think that out of the five mentioned, the one most likely to go would be Farmer. His heart still lies back home in West Australia. But the thing is whether Farmer is the type of player that Freo really need. Gasper would be the ideal pick up....he's experienced and he's a key position player. But with Richmond seemingly finals bound, I think a taste of September will be enough to convince Gasper to stay at Punt Road.....remember, he's played most of his career without finals, why would he want to go to Fremantle and have the prospect of going another few years without September action.

There has been talk of Hall to Fremantle....smoke and fire? A change in environment may do him good and he has that nasty streak that could add a bit of steel to Freo. That probably puts him ahead of McKernan....with Pavlich as a centre half-forward and Michael as a ruckman, it would leave McKernan without a primary role (he really isn't a full forward, but he's handy rotating through that part of the ground). Still, we heard the McKernan to Fremantle rumours last year, but I'd be surprised if he finds himself in WA next year (unless Freo do give us an offer that's impossible to refuse).

The least likely to go would be Pickett. Despite his birthplace being in WA, his family are in South Australia, and so, there is no strong family reasons for him to go over to WA. He seems very content and settled here and all signs from his management and from North Melbourne is that he will re-sign with us pretty soon.

I think if I were to put money on this, I reckon if any of the five are to be in Freo colours next year, I think it'll be either Farmer or Hall, but if Freo could have any one of the five, they would take Gasper.

I think Freo desperately need to get their act together (new CEO, new coach, probably new recruiting staff) in order to attract any new players.

I think (and these are total guesses) that Farmer will not re-sign with Melbourne and will go to Freo. IMHO he is not the type of player they need (although see below*) and will cost a lot of salary cap, but there it is.

I don't believe they'll get any of the other players mentioned. I agree with Shinboners analysis of the Gaspar situation - that Finals (and possibly future captaincy) will keep him at Richmond. This is a terrible pity as we have a warm locker with his name on it next to his brother's at the West Coast Eagles.

Also, I think Freo will pick up Scotty Cummings and he will kick 50+ goals for them next year. *Yep, Cummings and Farmer, I can see it now, brilliant in flashes when it's going well, heads down and no show at the critical moments.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I don't believe they'll get any of the other players mentioned. I agree with Shinboners analysis of the Gaspar situation - that Finals (and possibly future captaincy) will keep him at Richmond. This is a terrible pity as we have a warm locker with his name on it next to his brother's at the West Coast Eagles.

Strangely enough, if Freo were to do a deal with Farmer, that would leave the door open for Gasper to take up that locker next to his brother's. Could the brotherly ties be enough of a temptation to lure him across? The irony would be that if the Eagles and Gasper could somehow force Freo use their first pick on the player most likely to head home (Farmer), it would leave the door open for the Eagles to pick up the player that would have been on the top of the list of Freo's targets (Gasper). What the Eagles and Gasper would need to do is to convince Freo that Gasper will sign for Richmond or the Eagles, but not Freo AND also put Freo in a situation where they would have to show a commitment to signing Farmer...it could be one of those situations where the dealing goes until the very last minute of the trading period......a very interesting game of poker.......

I published this on the 25th of June at TigerFury.net...

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saving Private Gaspar

By Chris Hoy
Date: 25/6/2001

I guess I am not going out on a limb when I suggest that either Fremantle or West Coast will finish on the bottom of the ladder at the end of this season. As it is, Fremantle really only have one decent chance of knocking up a victory and that is when they line up against West Coast in Round 20.

As Fremantle are yet to win a game and West Coast have managed only two - looking even less likely a chance than Fremantle of adding to this total - this means that both clubs will certainly have the first round picks at the National Draft and also priority picks in the 2002 Pre-Season draft.

Fremantle have already flagged their attention in off-loading current players and will aim at targeting a big name player to move over west in the name of dragging them off the bottom of the ladder.

High on their hit list is our All-Australian Centre Half Back, Darren Gaspar who was originally drafted from South Fremantle at the 1993 National Draft and who comes of contract at the end of this year.

It is my belief that resigning Gaspar should be given the maximum possible priority from our administration and should do absolutely everything possible to retain his services. Do not leave a single thing to chance and go out of you way to get his signature.

You see, if Gaspar wants to walk we have no power whatsoever to stop him. We cant threaten him with being picked up by St Kilda because it is unlikely that they will finish bottom and won't have the pick required.

That pick will be held by either Perth club who will gleefully pick him up for free as a priority pick as an uncontracted player.

We are not even in a position to trade because if Gaspar has actually decided to go home all his has to do is nominate for the pre-season draft and fall into Fremantle's lap. They will not give him away for players / draft picks because they don't have to. This is unlike Peter Bell last year because Fremantle and Bell ran the risk of St. Kilda picking him up first - this scenario is what North Melbourne used as leverage to get decent draft picks out of Fremantle.

So, what can we do?

Simple. Make sure that Gaspar wants to stay at Punt Road. Let him know that he is loved by the coaches, administration and supporters. Let this love also be reflected in the form of money as well! Plenty of it! Get rid of any highly paid dead wood to make room for him. He is worth it!

Point out to him that we have built a team that will be challenging for a premiership if not this year then probably next. Point out that he has been there all throughout this rebuilding and it is time for him to reap the rewards. Point out that with players like Himself, Richo and Ottens we have too much talent not to win a premiership.

Why go to Fremantle or West Coast and build a team from the start? Why go through all that hard work again? You've already done it once son, spare yourself the pain. You've already put the hard yards in, time to cash in. It's all your's for the taking.

For the only reason that Gaspar won't leave is because he wants to stay.

Originally posted by Shinboners

Strangely enough, if Freo were to do a deal with Farmer, that would leave the door open for Gasper to take up that locker next to his brother's. Could the brotherly ties be enough of a temptation to lure him across? The irony would be that if the Eagles and Gasper could somehow force Freo use their first pick on the player most likely to head home (Farmer), it would leave the door open for the Eagles to pick up the player that would have been on the top of the list of Freo's targets (Gasper). What the Eagles and Gasper would need to do is to convince Freo that Gasper will sign for Richmond or the Eagles, but not Freo AND also put Freo in a situation where they would have to show a commitment to signing Farmer...it could be one of those situations where the dealing goes until the very last minute of the trading period......a very interesting game of poker.......
good post there shinboners if gasper wants to return to WA id say it would be with his brother at west coast and if this is the case then all the west coast has to do is trade with the tigers who in their wisdom could either put both west coast and freo into a position where both will have to come to the party reagrding trades to the tigers.
having said all that who of the 5 really if u put ya mind to it apart from say hall would want to leave their respective clubs knowing that they too could end up like peter bell and face the prospect of not playing finals football in the forseable future?
cheers!

Ok few points here

Finals in the future is not that far off, its my opinion it will be as soon as next year.
Why you ask??

Well Im guessing that we will draft at least one of those players prementioned.

Micheal will be back, this is the most vital point of our revival.Micheal on top of being a good ruckman allows longmuir to go into the forward line.Where he is at his most damaging and as a pinch hit ruckman.He has kicked 22.4 as a ruckman and playing rough 1 WHOLE game in the forward.He is a gun and will only get bette, much of our lacking has been that we have been unable to play him for entire games in the forward line.

Waterhouse will be back, again vital, he is a target and attracts the number one defender, taking the pressure off the forwards, like schell and Pavlich.

With these 2 VITAL players back will free up and enable us to have targets in the forward line.And the highly regarded inside men will not only gain heart but know there work has more chances of registering on the scoreboard.

Haselby and Brown will be one year older.Brown will be able to hold down a half back or fullback, and our backline should be able to hold it together.

No matter how you look at it freos rise will not be a long and drawn out affair.It will be dramatic and fast, mark my words.

This rapid rise, playing at home and a good experienced coach is more than enough to entice all those players back.
Not to mention the big pay packet.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
Ok few points here

Finals in the future is not that far off, its my opinion it will be as soon as next year.
Why you ask??

No, I don't, because you have been saying this ever since I first saw a post from you

Well Im guessing that we will draft at least one of those players prementioned.

Big call, since on average star players do not move clubs, sure they hold off signing for a while, but in most cases they eventually stay where they are

Micheal will be back, this is the most vital point of our revival.Micheal on top of being a good ruckman allows longmuir to go into the forward line.Where he is at his most damaging and as a pinch hit ruckman.He has kicked 22.4 as a ruckman and playing rough 1 WHOLE game in the forward.He is a gun and will only get bette, much of our lacking has been that we have been unable to play him for entire games in the forward line.

This is also the same old stuff, you are relying on a young inexperienced ruckman, who has undergone experimental knee surgery, who according to all reports was supposed to be back playing 7 weeks ago, still no sign of him yet.
When and IF he does come back, you are assuming he will be able to hold his own and beat the best big men in the league, Sabre, be realistic, this sort of thing just doesn't happen overnight, Primus for example has been in the league since 1996, suddenly he is a sensation this year Ottens has been around for 3 years now, he is still mainly a forward. Clem Michael is a good young player, but will he physically and emotionally recover from a radical proceedure? who knows, if you get anything out of him next year regard it as a bonus, don't lump all this responsibility on him.
As for Longmuir again he is a talented kid, like Pavlich, but he'll still have to do the majority of your ruckwork, and frankly the boy is getting beaten up badly in that position, from what I have seen.

Waterhouse will be back, again vital, he is a target and attracts the number one defender, taking the pressure off the forwards, like schell and Pavlich.

This a where Freo has a problem, Waterhouse is only a flanker, not a key position player, if, and it's a big IF, you have a forward line of the 2 Longmuirs, Schell, Pavlich and Waterhouse you have the beginnings of a reasonable forward structure, the problem is where is your back up? trust me, injuries do and will occur

With these 2 VITAL players back will free up and enable us to have targets in the forward line.And the highly regarded inside men will not only gain heart but know there work has more chances of registering on the scoreboard.

Your in and under men are HIGHLY REGARDED in Fremantle, the rest of OZ regards the Freo midfield as okay. Time and time again your midfield has been 2nd to the ball, your midfield has talent, it does not have pace

Haselby and Brown will be one year older.Brown will be able to hold down a half back or fullback, and our backline should be able to hold it together.

Yes, Brown is going to be a good key position defender, where is the rest of your quality defenders?

No matter how you look at it freos rise will not be a long and drawn out affair.It will be dramatic and fast, mark my words.

This rapid rise, playing at home and a good experienced coach is more than enough to entice all those players back.
Not to mention the big pay packet.

Sabre, I admire your tenacity, your loyalty, but your faith is reliant on the acquisition of several, and I do mean several big name players, in the real world this just does not happen

Originally posted by Shinboners
Actually, I think all 5 players are out of contract at the end of this year. With Freo pretty much guaranteed to have first pick in the pre-season draft, all they would need to do is to convince one of them not to re-sign with their club and they would then be free to pick up that player with no compensation going to the player's original club.

Shinners... I may be wrong on this... but I was under the impression.... the pre-season draft for next year... would be slightly different to previous years... in the bottom four club would have their selection order determined by a ballot... if this is so... Freo will need a bit of luck too...

Originally posted by tiger of old
if gasper wants to return to WA id say it would be with his brother at west coast and if this is the case then all the west coast has to do is trade with the tigers who in their wisdom could either put both west coast and freo into a position where both will have to come to the party reagrding trades to the tigers.

There has been very little gossip wise that I've heard that would indicate that Gasper wants to go home. With the Peter Bell situation, it was an open secret that he wanted to be back in Perth.

If Richmond were to trade Gasper, then the Eagles would have to offer a pretty impressive package of draft picks and players. For Bell, North got 2 picks within the top 10 plus Jess Sinclair....since key position players are a premium and Gasper was the best centre half back along with Sean Wellman last season, then I'd think that the Tigers would look for at least 2 top 10 picks, one of them in the top 3, and at least a couple of players.

I don't think the Eagles need to target Farmer, we already have a similar style player in Phil Matera who IMO is a more consistant player than Farmer who has 'spurts' of brilliance. Gaspar is definately a possibility of returning home. Would Richmond be interested in a possible trade with some Eagle players who are from Victoria (Bruan or Morrison) and a draft pick?

A question for tiger fans, is Gaspar out of contract? If he is, it could very well end up for you like Gehrig for us last year where you have to accept an average deal at best so that you dont lose him for nothing and he goes where he wants to.

I however dont support such policies and would be willing to give you Banfield & Braun and a 2nd rd draft pick for him...sound reasonable?

Vis

Vis,

Gaspar was interviewed on channel 10 news an hour ago and said that he wants to stay at Richmond and that the contract negotiations had progressed a long way.

Apart from that, just the way he spoke indicated how much he wanted to stay at the tigers.

If he wasn't telling the truth, he'd be a top poker player.

Yea, i saw the interview with Gaspar too. The interesting thing was he mentioned how he wanted to play finals.

This (Finals) was one of the keys last season to the Hawks being able to keep Chick. Now for all the names being put forth as trades to the west, how many blokes will be looking at them and thinking 'okay, so i go for the big bucks, but do i kill any chance of seeing finals action for 'X' amount of years'?

Of course to some players if the money IS big enough they might go, but there would be some players that will look at a difference of perhaps 20-30% of what they might get if they go as not worth it for staying at the club they are currently at and a shot at playing finals footy.

If I were in charge of either of the West Australian clubs, the first thing id do though is get rid of this 'targeting' of ex-sandgropers. Its a national competition. There has always been (and no doubt will) always be footballers that will see the dollar signs and head towards them. If by only targeting ex-W.A born players they are severly limiting themselves. There would be many more players coming out of contract that are not W.A born that im sure would at least look at what the West would have to offer them, even if only to go back to their clubs with a 'hey, have a look at what ive been offered by Freo/Coasters'. If those clubs then choose not to meet those offers, who knows just what disgruntled player might decide to head West.

Grendel - even if he (Gaspar) wasn't from WA I'd still want the club to target him, because with McIntosh/Jakovich retiring either this year or next, we desperately need a Full Back/Center Half Back positions filled. The fact that he can return to his home state, be with family & friends, play with his younger brother Travis and probably get a pay rise is just the added bonus.

Originally posted by Visro
A question for tiger fans, is Gaspar out of contract? If he is, it could very well end up for you like Gehrig for us last year where you have to accept an average deal at best so that you dont lose him for nothing and he goes where he wants to.

I however dont support such policies and would be willing to give you Banfield & Braun and a 2nd rd draft pick for him...sound reasonable?

Vis
vis i would take that deal drew banfield and a rnd 2 draft pick for gasper but as mentioned this wont happen THANK GOD!
cheers!

Originally posted by Asgardian
Sabre, now would be the perfect opportunity for you to answer my post.

ps - congrats on the win today mate

AHAHAHAH
I think you know your mistake, and ill take this as a admission of guilt;)

Just on the longmuir thing, he is a forward and a pinch hit ruckman.He always was

He has held his own in the ruck and dominated everytime he plays up forward.

Dockers targets for next season