Dockerspotting

Photos, photos?? Who's got photos?? ;)

BTW - mib... I can tell you, no-one would think it at all interesting to see me out and about shopping. In fact - you may have already.... but you wouldn't know it. I'm not a public figure, you see, earning a 6 figure salary because of the notoriety that goes with my chosen profession. I don't have 40,000 people cramming into a stadium every other week to see me at work, nor does the media devote countless hours to letting people know what I'm up to. When I get a bung foot, it's not reported in the paper and on TV, nor do I have free treatment until it gets better... I have to pay for my own bloody physio!

Public figures accept that people are interested in them - if they don't, then they shouldn't accept the money, the adulation and all the "free rides" that go with their position. They should get a job in an office, or as a gardener, or a truckie, or some other thing that pays them $35K per year, and no-one looks sideways at them. I just happen to be a footy fanatic, who lives in Freo, and occasionally sees some of the players out and about doing their thing on a day-to-day basis.

As this is a board that discusses the Freo Footy Club, and the players are an integral part of that, I figured it might just something to keep us mildly entertained during the looooong off-season. If we're all thinking it's a bit freaky - close the thread. No harm intended. No harm done.

Take a step back from the world of talkback radio and newspaper columnists where you can justify everything by mentioning someone's pay packet and just think about the reality of what you're starting. Maybe imagine one of these players is a friend or relative or even put yourself in their shoes.

How would you like a group of people publishing to a large audience the date, time, location and your activities when you were just going about your own business?

A person should be free to ride their bike down the street or catch a train without having the information broadcast to the world. At best it's being a jerk and at worst it's stalking.

It might seem like harmless fun but it's the sort of stuff that turns footballers away from the supporters.

So report me to a mod and get the thread closed.

But I do think you're being a bit precious.

Originally posted by man in black
How would you like a group of people publishing to a large audience the date, time, location and your activities when you were just going about your own business?

This has probably happened to me, on a much smaller scale of course. In my job, I come across large numbers of people every day. No doubt when one of them see me coming through their check-out on a Sunday morning, with my hair messed up and sleep in my eyes they tell their friends... "guess who I saw looking like a hag yesterday? Guess what she was buying..." Maybe on MSN, or email, or just sitting around. My care factor is about zero on that one. I realise that in what I do, people outside of my work environment, who know me a helluva lot better than I know them (if I know them at all) may very well talk about me when I'm not there. Doesn't bother me one iota, and certainly doesn't "turn me away" from them.

Oh get a life MiB. It's freedom of speech and it's harmless. No ones stalking anyone and certainly no ones being a jerk (well other than yourself). No ones reporting any delicate confidential material to anyone. Go head hunt the journos and stop your sooking! If you had any common sense you would not draw attention to this.

Sandi would be an awesome drinking partner! I imagine he wouldn't have to wait long to get served at the bar, and because he is a giant he would be able to have 10 pints and still drive home under the limit!

At first i actually thought it was some crazy drunk bloke sitting ON the bar, with another crazy drunk bloke trying to dance nearby, then as i made my way through the crowd (towards the bar obviously) i realised who they were.

No, no people... I'm afraid MiB is right....

I mean Hase did look a little uncomfortable when I screeched on the brakes, jumped out of my car and ran up to him screaming, "Get better Hasey - we neeeeeeeed you out there next year." He looked positively freaked out when I grabbed his phone and yelled into the phone, "Is that you Captain Pav? Oh man, I think you're such a spunk". Hase's Mum apparently thought it was funny, but I didn't really get why Hase told me to "Piss off you freaking loon"...:confused:

And so yeah, I followed Matty Carr for about 3kms, driving 20kmh in the cycling lane, beeping and waving every time he turned around to see me. It kind of looked like he was frowning, but I'm sure he was smiling at me. Not sure why he put the middle finger up but, when he turned down the laneway - I'm sure he meant to wave, and he looked like he mouthed "Far cough".... Wonder what that means... maybe he has a cold and needed to take the short cut home. :thumbsu:

And Sandi looked pretty cool when I pulled the car up onto the sidewalk - he just stepped over the top of it and kept walking, didn't even stop. And Josh - well Josh gave me a mouthful when I said I saw his brother riding his bike the other day - I'm sure he must have thought I was someone else who saw his brother... not me who was being so nice and friendly. So I said, well I'm glad you came back home from Port and he said he'd like to see me at the bottom of the Port, but I didn't really get it. Murph just looked at me and said "Loser"... I looked around to see who was behind me but there was no-one esle there, so I told him that wasn't a nice thing to say about Josh. :thumbsd:

And I have to go out now, but later I'll tell you all what happened when Pav came out of his house to chuck some rubbish out just as I was looking through his bin.....
I knew it. Docker stalking is back. You've been told before. That time you put the 8 year old in the back of Pav's mazda with a GPS tracking device should have been your last throw of the dice young lady. You've got to seek treatment.

I've got a better game. Let's play Who Saw ImperialPurple Out and About.

Maybe we coud post photos of her down at the shops, or getting the paper in the morning, or enjoying a night out with her friends.

Invading a person's privacy is fun.
Strike one. Better to watch and get the feel of a board before weighing in with a heavy anchor.

I knew it. Docker stalking is back. You've been told before. That time you put the 8 year old in the back of Pav's mazda with a GPS tracking device should have been your last throw of the dice young lady. You've got to seek treatment.

He had already turned 9... and it was a Honda.... so you've got it all wrong there. :mad:

At first i actually thought it was some crazy drunk bloke sitting ON the bar, with another crazy drunk bloke trying to dance nearby, then as i made my way through the crowd (towards the bar obviously) i realised who they were.

I stood next to Sandi at a bar once and looked up and thought "geez, he is tall", then I realised he was sitting on a stool!

Take a step back from the world of talkback radio and newspaper columnists where you can justify everything by mentioning someone's pay packet and just think about the reality of what you're starting. Maybe imagine one of these players is a friend or relative or even put yourself in their shoes.

A person should be free to ride their bike down the street or catch a train without having the information broadcast to the world. At best it's being a jerk and at worst it's stalking.

It might seem like harmless fun but it's the sort of stuff that turns footballers away from the supporters.

Get a grip!

Erm...apparantly my two mates saw Troy Cook and Justin Longmuir at Subway in Warnbro (close to Rockingham if you have no idea where it is).

This was on the 1st November...royally annoyed actually, had to go with Mum to get relatives and when they told me I couldn't believe it! The one time I don't go to lunch with them...:(

Saw Tarrant and Soloman out and about on the weekend. They are a lot bigger than i expected. I've seen quite a few of the dockers out and these two looked bigger than their listed heights. For example Ryan Murphy (191cm) looks a lot smaller than Soloman (188cm).

Anyway they were both on the turps (no smoking). Didn't do anything too offensive were just having a bit of fun, Peake was out with them. I think they got kicked out of a nightclub towards the end of the night. Soloman seemed pretty angry with the bouncer. Tarrant was walking him across the road. But then Soloman was laughing and pointing as he was leaving, so i don't think it was too serious.

Peake has a wierd habit of denying he's Brett Peake. "Your Brett Peake", "No i'm not"......"yes you are"....."i'm his twin brother" etc etc.

Its the second time i've heard him say it. The first was in january this year, when he was out with Sandi and Josh Carr. Had a real good chat to JC that night. We both confirmed our hatred for Ben Cousins and laughed about the fact he had a black eye when he won the brownlow. Stuffed up his pretty boy appearance.

Sandi was a demon on the dance floor (this is in Jan 06), he picked up some chick (didn't see him actually get with her, but they seemed fairly close) who was using the stage to dance eye to eye with him. My mates and i nearly fell over laughing.

My mate had a chat with Shaun McManus, said he's an absolute champ (no surprises there).

Its preseason so i expect to see them out on a Saturday having a good one. Which they were. I'm not sure if anyone else has noticed. But our team is a little small, even the taller players don't have huge frames. Soloman will definately add something to the team. Those saying he will struggle to earn a place in the 22 haven't realised his position. Its called intimidator. I think both Tarrant and Soloman will slot in just fine.

To the precious children having a winge about this thread.

Any comparison to paparazi or stalking is ridiculous, what poster honestly runs home to get online to post where they saw a docker.
Most may post a comment later in the day, furthermore who is going to race down to a certian location after it has been named as a place freo players have been seen?

Former Docker-spotting...

Read with interest (well mild interest anyway) in the very trashy Fremantle Gazette Community newspaper, that Schofield has decided to go back to cricket this summer - a sport at which he excelled as a youngster, even playing first grade (I think) with Mike Hussey, and being named in the Aus u17s, before having to make a choice between footy and cricket.

He is also going to go around at Subi for another season in 2007, as well as taking on some developmental coaching position at the Lions. He has aspirations of one day joining the AFL coaching ranks....

So it got me to thinking... when I saw him arriving at Freo Oval a couple of weeks back, he must definitely have been collecting his final pay cheque (;) )... or coming into collect the speedos he left in the #17 locker before Taz fills it up with his stuff.

BUT - driving along Parry St earlier today, past the driveway into the ground, who should I see driving out but Bloody Jarrad Schofield. My question is - why is he still there? I'm intrigued.

Saw Tarrant and Soloman out and about on the weekend. They are a lot bigger than i expected. I've seen quite a few of the dockers out and these two looked bigger than their listed heights. For example Ryan Murphy (191cm) looks a lot smaller than Soloman (188cm).

yeah I saw those two coming back from north cott beach and from far solomon caught my eye I was thinking ******** that guys huge some sought of body builder but as they got closer i realsised it was them, tarrants big but solomon is massive.

Saw Shane Parker, Luke Mcpharlin, James Walker and Scott Thorton at the amplifier bar last week watching the band tapes n tapes from the US... To be honest they were quite arrogent.. were not really in the mood for talking...

Saw haddrill at garden city the other day...

Saw Shane Parker, Luke Mcpharlin, James Walker and Scott Thorton at the amplifier bar last week watching the band tapes n tapes from the US... To be honest they were quite arrogent.. were not really in the mood for talking...

Saw haddrill at garden city the other day...

That sucks when they come across like that, but I can understand where the players are coming from if you came across them like that particularly at a bar. Sometimes, from the ******** they cop from the many idiots when they hit the pubs and clubs, you can't blame them from displaying a bit of arrogance and not taking to others. Haselby and Pavlich cop a lot of ******** from idiots when they go out from all reports, so no player is immune to it.

Saw most of The Docker players @ the Left Bank last night.

Pav, McManus were the first ones to arrive about 5pm & the rest of em came in dribs & drabs after that.

They were all having a good time & having a few drinks.

Hasleby & Heath Black were pretty smashed last I saw :D

Pav was dressed in shorts & a singlet, Geez his upper body was impressive.

Tarrant was getting plenty of attention from the ladies, there were no shortage of fine specimens around, I will give u the tip!!

Most of the guys I had a kwik chat to were all really nice :thumbsu:

In the tradition of bringing you the threads that really matter, the posts that count, the words that cut straight to the core of this great game and the hard-edged stories that we love about this proud, loyal and (dare I say it) passionate club of ours, I bring you....

Dockerspotting

Spotted a Docker out and about? - tell us about it here. This is the thread for all the reports about the unexpected sightings, the moments that catch you by surprise when you realise you have spotted a Purple Warrior out and about living among regular people, doing normal day-to-day stuff.

I'll get it under way...

Spotted:
Paul Hasleby - talking on his mobile phone out the front of the Seaview Hotel, South Tce, South Fremantle. 19th November, 2006.

Spotted:
Matthew Carr - riding his bike along Marmion St, Palmyra. 24th November, 2006.

Spotted:
Josh Carr, Aaron Sandilands, Ryan Murphy - walking along William St, Fremantle. 27th November, 2006.

This is no easy task; but it is up to you - the Freo supporters of BF - to bring this cutting edge info to your fellow fans. Spot a Docker - tell us about it. :cool:

;)

Are you stalking these guys ???

was at left bank also. pretty much whole squad was there and alot of them kicked on into the night in freo ala harbourside. worst of lot were headland and warnock. a humourous sight was headland grabbing pav from behind and bending him over and dry rooting him in the main bar of leftbank

Good to see my buddy Warnock getting into the booze :thumbsu: