Does benny get another year?

What if he takes a 'Hawthorn Legend Pay Cut' & only plays for $50,000 in 2017 like the Hawk legends are.
That way we too can fit Fyfe in to our cap.

On a serious note, I have changed my mind on Ben. As long as he understands that he may play NEAFL if all doesn't fare well.
I think he & the club will work it out without our assistance. We have a great track record with these things of late.
Let's get Ben a premiership first & we'll all feel better should he retire!
Minimum he can get paid is around $200k under the CBA given how long he has been playing for.

No way the club only pays him $200k.

I think its more likely that he'll be around $250- $275k next season if he goes again. He might even get $300k.
$200k is the bare minimum if he got a minimum base and match payments etc.

$300k is the AFL average salary so you would expect he would be close to this?

Ask and you shall receive. A 4% swing on his season average from defensive half to attacking half and a slight change in his heat map from mainly around the middle to mainly around half forward

View attachment 290432

View attachment 290434

Legend!

Do you think this was a coaching decision, player decision or simply based on circumstance (ie we were getting good movement into the forward line, so he didn't need to go searching for the ball)? Whatever is the answer, it can't merely be coincidence that he played so well and hung out on the half forward line a lot more than usual.

Where do you get these from by the way?

Ask and you shall receive. A 4% swing on his season average from defensive half to attacking half and a slight change in his heat map from mainly around the middle to mainly around half forward

He's always been a far more effective forward than midfielder. He was ok as a tagger/defensive mid. I think he lacks the size, speed and strength to be really effective as a mid.

Daniel Caleb is pretty good for his size but you don't often see him scrapping like McGlynn does. Maybe McGlynn needs to play on the outside more ahead of the ball.

Legend!

Do you think this was a coaching decision, player decision or simply based on circumstance (ie we were getting good movement into the forward line, so he didn't need to go searching for the ball)? Whatever is the answer, it can't merely be coincidence that he played so well and hung out on the half forward line a lot more than usual.

A bit of all three really.

Horse wanted more pressure from him and Papley on the Crows half backs which they didn't provide the week before and with the ball moving into out forward line much easier than the week before both weren't sucked up the ground. Thus they both played well and our forward pressure was up where we wanted it.

Where do you get these from by the way?

The AFL Live App, if your a Telstra Customer gives you free access to the Premium section with the heat maps.

Reckon Benny is playing as if this year is the last he can squeeze out of his body. Taking no prisoners either. He's been a great servant and I would love to see him retire with the 2016 premiers' medal in his pocket.

When benny becomes a premiership player this year we will be asking him what he wants to do next year

Big week Benny

Will you turn up

No

Only turned up for a puff piece on the pain of missing out
Starting to think him being injured in 2012 helped us win

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-27...push-through-the-pain-of-missing-premierships

Talks about his struggles with missing out on 2012 and the failure of 2014, as well as the difficulty of being in and out of the side.

Like I said earlier in the thread, his last 2 games have shown great character. I hope he finally realises his dream on Saturday.

Go get em benny!
Should have spent less time talking about his struggles with missing being carried to a premiership medal by O'Keefe etc in 2012, and spend more time turning up when it mattered

Mcglynn must just mean he missed the driving around in a back of a ute on the friday
Because thats all he did this weekend

Would of rather see ted spud it up as a farewell

I could literally name a hundred players more deserving of a premiership than McGlynn without needing to open a footy record or do any sort of research