Does it hurt you?

speaking of the death march, we're out of drumsticks and was hoping we could borrow a couple of your wooden spoons to play the drums with as we only have one and thought that you might be kind enough to give us one or two, don't worry you'll get it back at the end of the year:thumbsu:
I wouldn't talk,because it wouldn't surprise me if Freo have a shocking season and battle for the spoon.I actually think the team is the most overrated team that has ever played AFL. It's going to be a long year for your club,but the upside there will be plenty of young players debuting and several gone by years end,Mcmanus,Bell,maybe Farmer,Hasleby and Tarrant.

Meh as long as they don't win a flag, I'm not unduly fussed.

In fact, I wouldn't mind if Tassie won a flag, their fans may be unpretentious gits at times, but they sure as hell aren't as bad as the bandwagon feral, toothless nerds that follow Essendon and Collingwood :)

What shits me the most this week is that we played first and lost then i have had to sit through all these other games (for my supercoach) and watch sides like Essendon,Hawthorn,StKilda all win:mad:

To me there was NO EXCUSE for round 1 and for that i cant wait for round 2 because the blues will be a totally different side.

What shits me the most this week is that we played first and lost then i have had to sit through all these other games (for my supercoach) and watch sides like Essendon,Hawthorn,StKilda all win:mad:

To me there was NO EXCUSE for round 1 and for that i cant wait for round 2 because the blues will be a totally different side.

you reckon you'll beat the saints?

The foundations of their current list are those players that took them to those successive GFs.

Hate to post on your forum, but I don't think that's true.

Egan, Maxwell, O'Brien, Pendlebury, Thomas, Cloke, Medhurst, Wood, Heath Shaw, Clarke, Goldsack, Brown, Rusling & Swan didn't play in either GF or came to the club post 05 & were in our starting 22 on Saturday (14 players).

time and time again i go to the footy each week only hoping we're going to win and not expecting. With these few years down the bottom it does hurt to see the team lose but soon enough our time will come, it just seems to be taking its bloody time.

Every loss hurts, I kind of take it personally. It makes my weekend a horror and monday mornings at work a nightmare.
I always go to a game confident...probably the reason I get so upset at a loss. But I know it will come and there's no better feeling than singing the song after a win :thumbsu:

You're damn right it hurts. I think I feel let down after the hype of the preseason but remain concerned at our deficiencies, a lot of the blame I believe lies in our lack of player development and recruitment over the past few years.
  • Why is it that Coillingwood bring in young blokes, eg Nathan Brown, and he keeps Pavlich to one goal. We bring young blokes in and they look lost eg Grigg, Austin last year.
  • Our only strength seems to be our midfield. We have a lack of big bodies down back and only one option up forward. It's all well and good to have a young list but I believe we needed to recruit another forward like a Welsh to give us more options. We desperately need some crumbers.
  • Gibbs, Betts and a few others need to take the next step
  • Why does Essendon recruit quality indigenous players and we've hardly got any?
  • Juddy's right some blokes need to step up.
I'd love to be proved wrong and i really hope I am but i can see us being 0-4.

Hate to post on your forum, but I don't think that's true.

Egan, Maxwell, O'Brien, Pendlebury, Thomas, Cloke, Medhurst, Wood, Heath Shaw, Clarke, Goldsack, Brown, Rusling & Swan didn't play in either GF or came to the club post 05 & were in our starting 22 on Saturday (14 players).

I used the word 'foundation' for a reason. The foundation around which the current Collingwood team is built are Wakelin, Johnson, Fraser, Rocca, Burns, O'Bree, Didak, Lockyer, Holland & to a lesser extent Rhyce Shaw & Presti. These are the players with a number of years in the system who provide the experience, harder bodies & finals know-how to enable the younger players you have named to 'learn on the job'. Remove 5-6 of these experienced players from the Collingwood list permanently & you are looking at a totally different team dynamic. That is where Carlton are at to this time.

You're damn right it hurts. I think I feel let down after the hype of the preseason but remain concerned at our deficiencies, a lot of the blame I believe lies in our lack of player development and recruitment over the past few years.
  • Why is it that Coillingwood bring in young blokes, eg Nathan Brown, and he keeps Pavlich to one goal. We bring young blokes in and they look lost eg Grigg, Austin last year.
  • Our only strength seems to be our midfield. We have a lack of big bodies down back and only one option up forward. It's all well and good to have a young list but I believe we needed to recruit another forward like a Welsh to give us more options. We desperately need some crumbers.
  • Gibbs, Betts and a few others need to take the next step
  • Why does Essendon recruit quality indigenous players and we've hardly got any?
  • Juddy's right some blokes need to step up.
I'd love to be proved wrong and i really hope I am but i can see us being 0-4.

Have never been able to fathom this. Sheedy was brilliant, a real pioneer in getting wonderful indigenous players to his club and even more importantly keeping them there.

We have Eddie, Joey, Clint and to a lesser extent I guess, Tex. But Essendon seems to be going the way of American basketball. I'm not saying we will see entire indigenous teams but they are obviously making a big impact on the game with their exciting, burst-style footy.

Where's our cut?

I was hurting thursday night cause i was pumped for this season. I am only 15 and I have never seen a season in my life when we were a good team. Hopefully our time will come soon.

Sorry to hear you haven't been able to enjoy much success, champ. Hang in there. What doesn't kill you can only make you stronger. We'll come good soon enough. :thumbsu:

Every loss hurts, I kind of take it personally. It makes my weekend a horror and monday mornings at work a nightmare.
I always go to a game confident...probably the reason I get so upset at a loss. But I know it will come and there's no better feeling than singing the song after a win :thumbsu:

Best way to handle this is becoming self-employed like my goodself. That way you dont need to worry about copping shit every Monday from co-workers cause a) you dont have any or b) if you do, you just sack them. The only tricky part is smart-ass clients but hey, they pay you so there's a level of tolerance there. In fact, I have been self employed since 2002 ;)

I used the word 'foundation' for a reason. The foundation around which the current Collingwood team is built are Wakelin, Johnson, Fraser, Rocca, Burns, O'Bree, Didak, Lockyer, Holland & to a lesser extent Rhyce Shaw & Presti..

I'd hardly include Holland, Johnson, Rhyce Shaw & Prestigicamo as foundation players according to your analogy, the are fringe/injured players. Didak & Davis are competiting for roles with Thomas & Medhurst too. I'd only really label Fraser, Rocca, Burns, O'Bree & Lockyer as the base that our side is set on, comparatively, you guys have Judd, Scotland, Fevola, Stevens & Thortnan as their counterparts. Difference is the players under Collingwood's group have developed, Carlton's hasn't. All comes to player development, which is more / as important as your recruiting department.

Best way to handle this is becoming self-employed like my goodself. That way you dont need to worry about copping shit every Monday from co-workers cause a) you dont have any or b) if you do, you just sack them. The only tricky part is smart-ass clients but hey, they pay you so there's a level of tolerance there. In fact, I have been self employed since 2002 ;)

i work with crows and power supporters.
It's easy to shut the power supporters up....
just say ONE ONE NINE.
for crows it's mention either buddy or the eagles
and they cringe every time.
I cop it constantly for the blues...
But the office will be quiet tomorrow...
;)

I'd hardly include Holland, Johnson, Rhyce Shaw & Prestigicamo as foundation players according to your analogy, the are fringe/injured players. Didak & Davis are competiting for roles with Thomas & Medhurst too. I'd only really label Fraser, Rocca, Burns, O'Bree & Lockyer as the base that our side is set on, comparatively, you guys have Judd, Scotland, Fevola, Stevens & Thortnan as their counterparts. Difference is the players under Collingwood's group have developed, Carlton's hasn't. All comes to player development, which is more / as important as your recruiting department.

Johnson is certainly more than a fringe/injured player. I think the fact that he was kept by Collingwood while Tarrant was traded following the well publicised 2006 incident, tells everyone how important he is to the club.

A fully fit Holland would be a definite selection in the best 22 at Collingwood & I find it very hard to believe that Didak & Davis are competing for roles with Thomas & Medhurst. Maybe someone should tell the Collingwood faithful that these 2 are in danger of becoming yesterday's news, particularly those who constantly remind anyone who will listen of Didak's selection in the 2006 AA team. What a quick fall from grace this would be, if it was true. Somehow I don't think it is the case.

I think we are all jumping the gun a little.

Why are we even worrying about what Essendon, Collingwood, Hawks or StKilda did in round one.

Think about it for a while, Essendon beat the Roos who are considered one of the worse sides and lucky in 2007, Collingwood beat Freo who at best are a bottom 8 side at best and Collingwood we know year in year out of late are over achieving and as for the Hawks they were great in 2007 and their preseason form shows that wasn't a mistake and StKilda have had the talent for years and maybe are finally performing after using the boring lock down game plan.

As for Carlton, Ratten said prior to Christmas that 2008 will be a foundation year for Carlton...i think we all expected so much from round 1 after the HUGE preseason that gave us Judd, Hadley, Kruezer etc.

We need to be happy with what we put out on Thursday, our back line really missed Tex, he dash and courage was something we could have used, our forward line really missed Fisher, he is one of the hardest players to match up on in the comp and gives Fev a cop out. Add in players liek Kruezer, Hampson and Bentick and the team takes a completly different look and adds strength to the game plan.

On the upside we are giving our youngest players experience, on Thursday we had something like 16 players with less than 100 games experience...16 players...that is massive, imagine if we can keep the team together for season 2008 how they will gel!!

Considering important players like Judd, Stevens, Hadley, Fev, Setanta all had injury interrupted preseasons and will take a good 4-6 weeks to hit their peak, just what will come of the team.

Players like Bower, Thorton, Simpson, Hoops, Murph had fantastic games on Thursday, which is good signs....

Rest easy, let the season unfold, and worry about Carlton and not the others teams....our trust and faith must remain strong, the hard times are over, sit back and enjoy the evolution of the next era!!

speaking of the death march, we're out of drumsticks and was hoping we could borrow a couple of your wooden spoons to play the drums with as we only have one and thought that you might be kind enough to give us one or two, don't worry you'll get it back at the end of the year:thumbsu:

Man, that was one hell of a crappy, laboursome comeback.

I also was disappointed with the loss especially seeing as we were playing 2007's wooden spooners but I think the level of doom and gloom is a bit over the top.

If you look at the stats we were around the mark in most areas except for the atrocious last quarter and that may be explainable due to the number of youngsters and their inability to run out a full game. I think Richmod had almost 50 more disposals in the last quarter than we did and the soreboard reflected this.

Things will improve -- maybe not next week as we don't do well against St Kilda (in recent years) but I am cautiously optimistic about an improvement this year over the last few forgettable years

What i meant by that was, we should be happy with the positives to come from the game.

Ok, fair enough then.

We shouldn't be happy with a loss any day of the week, and i was really disappointed witht the fade out we had, but with young kids i expect that.

Phew. I was worried that you were happy with mediocrity. ;)

Ok, fair enough then.

Phew. I was worried that you were happy with mediocrity. ;)

Not at all, i live in eurpoe, i had to wait 24 hours to download the game, then avoid all media on the net to hide from the score.

Starting watching it at midnight my time, Friday, was very excited throught the 2nd and then it just got worse from there.

But i think there were many good things to come from the game, i think Jammo although Richo kick 5 was very good, and will be better for it, very much same style of FB as Scarlett, light frame with run...Richo got very lucky on a few.

Hopefully this fade out and loss will fire the team and Ratts for the unexpected win against the Saints...ones hoping anyway.

Does it hurt you?