Does Murphy get to 300?

Despite the rhetoric on here, he's already thrown himself in this year, particularly after he was dropped.

The same complaints were being thrown at Setterfield, Ramsay, Owies, Martin and O'Brien at various levels and points in time this year. It's the system and coaching of it.
Earlier season form is largely irrelevant, all that matters is who's in/out of form now.
Setters is injured and I doubt we'll se him in the seniors again this year given his very poor form before his injury.
Ramsay hasn't played a league game this year so I can't see him coming in whilst we are a chance to make finals.
Owies is probably the one who could come out but he is much more of a like-for-like swap for Betts (who'll be available this week or next) rather than Murphy. The same argument goes for Honey who was good last week.
Martin is playing well now and LOB had a great return last week so it would be very harsh to axe either for Murphy to come into the 22.
I could even add Dow, Fisher and Newnes to your list but I'd take all of them ahead of Murphy based on current output which should be the measure whilst we are still a chance to make finals...its harsh but its got to be the way the club are thinking given the stakes.
Making him play his 300th as sub and risking the possibility of him getting 0% game time in his milestone game I'd imagine is not what anyone wants to see.
As soon as we are out of finals contention then by all means Murphy can come into the starting 22 for his 300th the very next game.

Let's be honest, we had to hold off subbing out TDK because Murph is cooked and can't be subbed in before half time. Get him to 300 and be done with it I guess.
No team seems to want the 8th spot. West Coast are cooked and if they make they will just make up the numbers. If Teague wants to save his job, he needs to make finals and then win one if possible. Play like they did against St.Kilda, anything is possible, but the Sainst were terrible, as was Charlie. I hope they let him go back to the magoos and get his match fitness and find the ball. You can't afford half fit players at this point.

Earlier season form is largely irrelevant, all that matters is who's in/out of form now.
Setters is injured and I doubt we'll se him in the seniors again this year given his very poor form before his injury.
Ramsay hasn't played a league game this year so I can't see him coming in whilst we are a chance to make finals.
Owies is probably the one who could come out but he is much more of a like-for-like swap for Betts (who'll be available this week or next) rather than Murphy. The same argument goes for Honey who was good last week.
Martin is playing well now and LOB had a great return last week so it would be very harsh to axe either for Murphy to come into the 22.
I could even add Dow, Fisher and Newnes to your list but I'd take all of them ahead of Murphy based on current output which should be the measure whilst we are still a chance to make finals...its harsh but its got to be the way the club are thinking given the stakes.
Making him play his 300th as sub and risking the possibility of him getting 0% game time in his milestone game I'd imagine is not what anyone wants to see.
As soon as we are out of finals contention then by all means Murphy can come into the starting 22 for his 300th the very next game.

Every other team seems to be flouting the medical sub rules on a weekly basis, opting for a medical sub for a player who can't continue, rather than diagnosing an 11 day + injury.

Maybe, we'd be better off starting Murph in his 300th, with the expectation that he will get injured himself and the medical sub would be handy. Cynical I know but those old man injuries you know ... (I know).

No team seems to want the 8th spot. West Coast are cooked and if they make they will just make up the numbers. If Teague wants to save his job, he needs to make finals and then win one if possible. Play like they did against St.Kilda, anything is possible, but the Sainst were terrible, as was Charlie. I hope they let him go back to the magoos and get his match fitness and find the ball. You can't afford half fit players at this point.

Charlie was fine fitness wise. He's just rusty in reading the play and adapting to the pace. He won't get that in the twos. His presence helped Harry, more than Gov's presence would.

Really? He couldn't lift his legs in the 3rd quarter. I know tired players when I see them. He was rooted. Let him go back to the magoos and get a kick and find his form. He gets into a tough tight game, and he is not prepared he will get hurt.

If he's so revered amongst the group, play him against Port (if we win GC)... let's see how much they lift for his 300 in a must win game!

We can afford to carry him against GC.

they are riddled with injury and their young blokes out of gas. No Ellis or Greenwood. It's a comfortable win.

And yes, a 300th v Port. Surely he lads will fire up....

Disagree, playing him against the GC (who are decimated with injury to key players) is exactly how to run a guy like Charlie into form.

Really? He couldn't lift his legs in the 3rd quarter. I know tired players when I see them. He was rooted. Let him go back to the magoos and get a kick and find his form. He gets into a tough tight game, and he is not prepared he will get hurt.

Played 80% game time.

Ed for example, looks like he is done after 10 minutes, drawing in the big ones and hands on knees. The brothers just keep going.

Being tired during a game is normal. Pushing through it is what matters.

Every other team seems to be flouting the medical sub rules on a weekly basis, opting for a medical sub for a player who can't continue, rather than diagnosing an 11 day + injury.

Maybe, we'd be better off starting Murph in his 300th, with the expectation that he will get injured himself and the medical sub would be handy. Cynical I know but those old man injuries you know ... (I know).
That’s a pretty big risk to take in such an important game for our season.

Let him play in the 1s. He won't get his legs in the reggies, the pace won't allow it. Moderate minutes and let him get his legs at AFL pace.

He has been running for months and months - his fitness is fine.

We can afford to carry him against GC.

they are riddled with injury and their young blokes out of gas. No Ellis or Greenwood. It's a comfortable win.

And yes, a 300th v Port. Surely he lads will fire up....

Why would the lads fire up for Murphy? Do you think he is well liked? I would say there is a very deep resentment amongst the players.

Blows my brain that people are advocating for Murphy to be in the team - literally one bloke putting himself above the whats best for the team for the most trivial reasons.

Shocking stuff that will never, ever be forgotten by most fans and will leave a terrible stain on his career.

Why would the lads fire up for Murphy? Do you think he is well liked? I would say there is a very deep resentment amongst the players.

Blows my brain that people are advocating for Murphy to be in the team - literally one bloke putting himself above the whats best for the team for the most trivial reasons.

Shocking stuff that will never, ever be forgotten by most fans and will leave a terrible stain on his career.

This is ridiculous, he was unanimously voted in as the captain year after year when we gave the players the power to vote in the captain.. He is loved amongst the group, and he loves the club.. I have been a huge critic of his game, his inability to apply pressure and tackle have made him a liability in our midfield for 3 years but this wasnt his fault, his body let him down and made him unable to do the things required as a modern day midfielder. However no one should ever question his standing within the Carlton Football Club.

Going of what we saw on the TV Charlie spread the defence making it easier for H. He did get a free I50 that was played as advantage and set up Walsh's 2 nd goal. Saints defenders were out of position and stopped after the infringement. Structurally I think he played his role.

This is ridiculous, he was unanimously voted in as the captain year after year when we gave the players the power to vote in the captain.. He is loved amongst the group, and he loves the club.. I have been a huge critic of his game, his inability to apply pressure and tackle have made him a liability in our midfield for 3 years but this wasnt his fault, his body let him down and made him unable to do the things required as a modern day midfielder. However no one should ever question his standing within the Carlton Football Club.
Marc’s body let him down due to 2 impactful incidents in his AFL career , firstly Copland , Lions thumped & pummeled a youngster 10 yrs his junior, Marc ranked elite material already & a future star , secondly the Dangerfield crunch almost finished him off, sickening Dangerfield as usual.

Match fitness is a completely different thing and it showed.He could not get to contests and was totally ineffectual on the night. You could not play him in cut throat games coming up where we could sneak into the finals.
i'd argue dragging a defender from harry had significant value, casboult, for all his efforts seemed to lead to the same spots as harry too often.

having said that it was a poor saints defence and their best defender went down at half time.

i'd argue dragging a defender from harry had significant value, casboult, for all his efforts seemed to lead to the same spots as harry too often.

having said that it was a poor saints defence and their best defender went down at half time.
Harry had 4 at half time and Howard had no answers.

Disagree - the captaincy was stripped from him as soon as someone else became available - there was no one else since they decided not to give it to Simmo.

You can choose to believe whatever you like mate - if you think Marc Murphy is Voss, Cripps, Selwood or anyone similar then all power too you - no one else dose - least of all the players.

Match fitness is a completely different thing and it showed.He could not get to contests and was totally ineffectual on the night. You could not play him in cut throat games coming up where we could sneak into the finals.

How is it? This is just some meme made up on big footy - it has absolutely nothing to do with being able to run out a game - zero. Match readiness is about getting to the ball, reading the game, getting the "feel" of the game back - it has absolutely ZERO, not ONE THING to do with being actually aerobically fit.

It's honestly verging on ridiculous that you are continuing with this.

How is it? This is just some meme made up on big footy - it has absolutely nothing to do with being able to run out a game - zero. Match readiness is about getting to the ball, reading the game, getting the "feel" of the game back - it has absolutely ZERO, not ONE THING to do with being actually aerobically fit.

Spent 25 years playing footy, so I think I understand the difference. Modern day footy is about aerobic fitness but match fitness as well. Even Lyon conceded one of the reasons he should not have played is because he has barely completed half a pre-season. The consequence of not being match fit, is that you incur other soft tissue injuries which can hang around for a long time.

The intensity of match fitness can not be replicated running around an oval at training and that is a simple fact.. No amount of training can prepare the lungs and body for what is required to actually play elite level footy.