Dog act!

• Thread starter Thread starter neishah

I think freo has a genuine shot at top 4 next year after being cruelled by injuries thoughout the year. Ross Lyon isnt a developmental coach as he showed at st Kilda but can get the best out of already developed players. Hopefully for freo he can ge the best out of the younger players who arnt yet at their potential such as Hill Broughton Fyfe (can still improve) barlow mzungu ect. If these players can step up freo can do something they have never done before in the history of the club n have a genuine shot at the flag

Wow the AFL is pretty cuthroat, but this is a dog act, beyond comparison really. Fremantle have always been a club I kinda liked, but now your clubs admin are bigger backstabbers than the prime minister, and you have a coach that I never liked, and shows can't be trusted....wow I hope it turns out for you guys, but it's not a good beginning.:eek:

You know what Dogs_r_barking, we don't really care how you feel about it.

Hawks supporter here, never posted on another teams forum before. As a neutral, I say well done to Freo, showing the ruthless edge to win a flag. Were never going to win one with your existing coach.

Cheers mate. And you know what? I agree. Next year was already looking ho hum & I was mentally marking time till Watters or someone got the job for 2012. Harves proved this year he's not up to it & I commend the Board & management for having the cojones to do this now.

Well said. I thought we would just tread water for another six months.

No-one ever truly knows exactly what goes on behind closed doors. Secondly this ain't park footy. It's serious business. From an outsider looking in - Ross is a great signing. He needed to move from St Kilda and personally I think he will be great for Freo. Harvey looks as though he has come off worst but he'll bounce back and throw his energy into somewhere more deserved. Sometimes tough decisions have to be made. People come and go and no one person is the be all and end all of a Club. It might seem like a knifing but there is a bigger picture. You guys will be better off for this.

I don't disagree, it was definitely a dog act. But I for one prefer to go with the dog act rather than another couple of years of treading water and 'managing mounting injury lists' and playing every player on the field as a stop gap for another position, etc..

And now you have humiliated one of Melbourne's finest products. Mark my words - Harvey is a very popular figure around the football establishment in Melbourne and you guys will pay for screwing him like this.

ahahahahahahahahahhahahahhahahahah

oh dear

I don't know about you but I'd get over being fired very quickly when it means I get a year of pay.

In fact, if my boss were to walk into my office and say that they've decided to replace me with a year to go, I'd be wrapped. I'd walk into another job on Monday and bank the cheque.

Mark Harvey can get a gig with GWS with Solly if he wants.

If I were delisted, I'd nominate for the draft and you know what, if I wasn't picked up, that pretty much tells me where I'm at doesn't it?

From not-at-all bitter experience, here's what'll happen.

- over the next few months every man and his dog in the media, on BF, on talk back radio will be bagging the FFC and Ross Lyon, lack of integrity blah blah mongrels blah blah I wish my club had some balls

- you will weed out flogbag supporters like we did with Phatprick Smith. From the sounds of things the OP is the first.

- you will start winning games and you will not enjoy them any less than you would have under Harvey. People will try and claim that any win is tainted, you will look pityingly at them.

As much as I love Harvs, congrats to Freo on doing what is best for the club.

Great post mate and thanks for finding my post sigworthy; damn Melbourne flogs :D

Got to love all the moral highgrounders coming out, it's basically

Moral supremecist- "Mark Harvey is such a dud coach, how can Flogmantle keep this idiot as their coach, he is destroying the club" etc etc

Get's the sack, Ross Lyon appointed as Senior Coach

Moral supremecist- "What a disgusting and inhumane treatment of a senior coach, Mark Harvey has done great things for Freo he deserves better!!!"

Agreed. Even with all our injuries this year there was many a time I was left thinking that even with our full list available we'd still be struggling, such was Harvey's inflexible approach to the gameplan and player management.

Our performances this year were not purely due to mass injuries, it's a massive copout and unfortunately one Harvey used at any opportunity to deflect the weakness in his coaching ability.

I feel pretty bad for Harves, even more so when I heard how emotional he was; clearly he'd come to consider himself a Freo man and has formed close bonds with the playing group but the admin did what was in the best interests of the club going foward- for that I am grateful.

I am definitely not renewing my membership next year. Been a devoted fan since day 1, but the more I hear about how this sacking of Mark was done, the more disgusted I have become!

I give it until round 2 or 3 that you have renewed. Swiftly sacking Harvey and bringing in Lyon might be the best thing Freo have done thus far in their entire existence.

Mick Malthouse and Paul Roos were never sacked

The best coaches know when to leave and make sure they land on their feet. If Lyon looks after the FFC half as well as he looks out for himself then we're in safe hands.

Have a lot of sympathy for harves but unfortunately for him dog acts and correct decisions aren't mutually exclusive.

Put the wine glass down you silly cow,

Oh noes, we didn't even get the courtesy of a rumour being leaked

The poor ol media didn't even know.

The rest of the trash are winning grand finals, while we are left continually licking our wounds, with dreams of what could of been.

Stick to the wafl darl.

Peppy, was that wine glass, or the WHINE glass?

I think the important elements of your list are too old for Lyons game plan anyway.

We shall have to wait and see how he fares as a "rebuild coach"

$1.5 mill a year for a rebuild coach? Very, very, very steep dollars.

i think its a good move by freo - prob could have told harves to pull out of that gig with woosha in the morning with an ingrown eyelash or something - letting him go on and waffle on about next year was probably bad manners

but some of the sooks on here who are prepared to tear up their memberships in support of mediocrity......

yes they could have handled it a little bit better - but hey......

i guarantee you that a lot more eagles fans are not looking forward to next years derbies as much as they were 48 hours ago

I think the important elements of your list are too old for Lyons game plan anyway.

We shall have to wait and see how he fares as a "rebuild coach"

$1.5 mill a year for a rebuild coach? Very, very, very steep dollars.

Nice try troll. I guess we'll just rebuild by picking up some of your players when you go into liquidation.