doggies doggies doggies - yelp yelp yelp

last night there was a team that showed heart, character, were aggressive and tough at the footy, and it wasnt the dogs. already half way to last years win total, you beauty.

spider everitt, when this bloke decides to play footy he is the best big man in the comp. he is extremely mobile, can mark, is a beautiful kick, has great ground skills for a big bloke and is a goal kicker. he was the difference between the two sides.

harvey, burke, loewe as usual fantastic. special mention to baker who only accumulated 5 kicks but thrashed west, so much so that westy was benched in the last 1/4.

also a special thank you to fremantle for giving us callahan, he is a dead set tough little goer.

the march to glory has started, i'm on board for the ride and i'm already loving it.

GO YOU MIGHTY SAINTERSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

good stuff sainters!!
and a question for the saints fans, do you think danile wulf will get a game in the seniors this season?

On the topic of last night's game, it was the first time I'd seen that animated bulldog on the big screen, and having Drew Morphett and Steve McPherson try and converse with it was downright embarrasing. The crowning glory was when there wasn't the slightest sound from the crowd when "it" called for a big "Doggies Doggies Doggies" call at 3/4 time.
Who thinks this is entertaining. In some ways it is worse than the Voice of the G. At least thats not so parochial.

danny chook fan club, well spotted about moyle. because of our poor form last year a lot of young blokes were tried at senior level, moyle was the best of them. this year he has already shown enough in the pre season games to suggest that he will step up and become a gun player.

vanders, the wulf man plays for springvale today. i liked the look of him in the reserves last year and was pleased that we drafted him. i believe he will play seniors this year and be more than useful across half forward. he needs to put together some good games for springvale first.

You can already see St.Kilda playing with some of the spirit and natural flair that seems to be a hallmark of Bligts coaching. Blight seems to simplify everything for his players and encourages them to be creative, yet disciplined at the same time.

It was a terrific match. Close, skillfull, presure oriented and dramtic. The key to the Saints win, was Scott West being held to a mere 12 possessiosn. In retrospect, this cost the Bulldogs the win. Which St.Kilda player was tagging West?

Dan
Steven Baker tagged West.
He has gathered a number of impressive scalps. Last year he gave Buddha a hard time when we beat them late in the season. He is a negative tagger, the likes of which I thought were dying out.
It's great to have one of the Bulldog stars subjected to this sort of pressure, after the type of football Liberatore, Romero etc have subjected us to over the last few years.

[This message has been edited by Hit The Boundary Saints (edited 01 April 2001).]

Even after my attempt at humour and an april fools joke on the saints board failed miserably, I have to say that we were beaten by a team on the night who wanted the hard ball a little bit more. I hate to say it but a couple of our blokes started taking short steps in the third quarter.

Localyokel
My honest impression was that St Kilda was played a bit better, and what the Bulldogs did really well was capitalise on StK turnovers, especially in the second quarter. Most of the goals here were a result of one or more Bullies finding themselves well clear after a Saints turnover, and running into an empty forward line.
In the end it was just Spider turning on a 15 minute burst that shows he can be just about the most unstoppable player in the competition when his mind is right.
Who in your opinion took the short steps , apart from Hudson who has always played that way.

I noticed that Harvey slapped Libba's face. Libba probably deserved it given the way he plays. But Harvey still should be reported. The umpires will ignore it, purely because is it is Harvey. If it was a Glenn Archer or a Garry Hocking there would be a report and a three to five week suspension. I am sure this type of unfairness and bias is what some clubs must find really unfair.

[This message has been edited by hotham (edited 01 April 2001).]

Well played Saints.

We had no answer for Everritt up forward, and he destroyed us ..... although I would have liked to have seen Hunter played on him.... even though it was good to see him do well up forward.

Didn't think I would see the day when West would be playing in a forward/back pocket again after his rookie days.... and never thought I would see him on the bench.
frown.gif
In saying that, I doubt I'll see it again for a very long time. Only one of our midfielders get over 20 possies, which was disappointing..... but at least shows where some improvement can come from.

Rapt to see Murphy/Penny get a bit of run, and hopefully this is a sign of things to come.

I must admit that although I picked ya's to finish in the eight, I didn't expect the team to gel so quickly. It was a great victory for you guys to have first up. Hamill didn't convert some good work into goals, and with Gherig and Lawrence to come into the team, you should be looking forward to a good season...... dammit!
biggrin.gif

And whoever mentioned that animated bear .... I totally agree! .... it's an embarassment..... and "It" trying to sing Who let the dogs out was even worse.
mad.gif

Originally posted by hotham:
I noticed that Harvey slapped Libba's face. Libba probably deserved it given the way he plays. But Harvey still should be reported. The umpires will ignore it, purely because is it is Harvey. If it was a Glenn Archer or a Garry Hocking there would be a report and a three to five week suspension. I am sure this type of unfairness and bias is what some clubs must find really unfair.

[This message has been edited by hotham (edited 01 April 2001).]

This is a typical ridiculous comment from a Roo supporter.

You are a jerk hotham!!

MB

The most pleasing thing about the game was the way our younger players are starting to come through the system.

Brett Moyle was excellent on his 21st birthday, Cadyn Beetham was good again and Lenny Hayes got the Libba treatment which is a sign of the respect that opposition sides may have in his ability.

I agree with you Dan. Steven Baker's job on Scott West may very well have won us the game. Like the other saints fans have already said, the guy is not fashionable, just a tough little guy that does all the team things.

Still can't believe we were able to get Craig Callaghan from the Fremantle. He is already a crowd favourite. Adds a bit of toughness and excitement to the team. Aaron Hamill seems to have no confidence in his goal kicking at the moment. Yet the way he splits open packs with his attack on the ball, he is still having a huge impact on our forward line.

Spider is Spider. The difference between his best and worst football was again on show last night. I think the doggies would have scored at least two to three goals after Spider errors yet when he lifted his game, he was virtually unstoppable in the forward line.

Harvey and Burke are just two dead set legends who I could speak about for pages and pages, but won't.
wink.gif

Lastly, I was rapt to see Jason Traianidis play so well in the second half. He is one of the more skillful players on our list and should be played as a midfielder/half forward player like he was last night.

------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius

yay go Spider...we were sitting not far away from Aussie Jones last night and u must wonder how he will get back into the side now! I reckon Trigger and Lenny did heaps well last nite and was good to see Maxy boy happy again; him and Aaron came past giving us all high 5's at the race was a heaps good atmosphere compared to the sh!t we put up with at Colonial all last year!

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!