Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Two terrific games were witnessed by this footy fan today...and what different styles of games they were! The arvo game was all skill and free-flowing football with goals galore; the evening encounter was physicality plus and pressure, pressure, pressure with every kick at goal important.

Kudos to all four teams involved - made for a great day's watching!

P.S. What did we all think of the umpiring tonight? At least they could never be accused of being boring and predictable!
wink.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
What did we all think of the umpiring tonight? At least they could never be accused of being boring and predictable!
wink.gif

Well to tell you the truth some of the decisions made today by those men in white... The umpire who gave away a free kick to Rehn coz a doggie player bumped him is a weak piece of shit... come on its not like he was intending to do it!
rolleyes.gif

The umpired don't realise they can change the whole game by making stupid decisions so i hope that at the end of the day when they watch the replays they feel really guilty for some of the stupid things they did on the field that day!

GO DEES!
smile.gif

p.s- two great games today!

------------------
Footy. It was just a sport.
But now it's also a business.
However, according to the fans it's a religion,where the people rule!

The Mighty Melbourne Demons- My passion, My obsession!

The free to Rehn when Curley ran into the ump was a bloody joke.
As Hollywood Wallace said after the game,why wasn't Curley reported if the ump thought it was delibrate.
Tonight we saw Rishito run into the ump & Fudley Cornes asked why it wasn't a free to North.

------------------
"FIGHTING WITH ALL OUR MIGHT"

I reckon they should let us go to as many games as we want with AFL membership. Very few members use up all 24 games. I usually use up about 20, or so.... not including finals.

What do you think of the ballot for GF tickets this year? Half of thr 20,000 seats are through a ballot. I hope they are first in first served, and not randomly distributed. Do you know if they are?

Originally posted by Dan25:
The umpiring tonight was terrible. They seemed intent on paying as many free kicks as possible. Fortunately, it didn't affect the "fairness" of the end result.

Great games though.

Dan25,

Interesting topic. One that I can reply to with being accused of "Essendon bashing".!!!!???

I thought the umpiring was shocking!

I am glad others thought the umpiring was bad, because I would then be open to accusations of bias! (Not that I care).
Dan you said the free kicks didn't effect the "fairness". Why in the hell was a free paid against Jason McCartney in the goal square which resulted in an Adelaide goal. The 20-25 minute mark in the 1st qt, Carey was clearly held on and no free kick! There were a couple of other discraceful decisions, which had North players puzzled.

Having said that, North missed a couple of shots which would have made a difference.

But that free against Jason was inane. A couple of ridiculous frees for ??? to Smart, but he didn't convert.
THE UMPIRES MUST BE ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR MISTAKES.
The free paid against the WB player because he collided with an umpire???? Riccuto did that tonight - no free. Blatant inconsistency which mostly had an outcome on BOTH games. Much different if one team is dominating, but a close match and a BAD decision can stop an opposition's run and change the game.

Michele

NMFC 1869

BTW Interesting letter in today's Herald-Sun, but as usual the writer manages to contradict himself.
Is the Richmond and Carlton rivalry, higher than the Collingwood and Carlton rivalry, or Carlton and Essendon?

Originally posted by Michele:
Interesting letter in today's Herald-Sun, but as usual the writer manages to contradict himself.
Is the Richmond and Carlton rivalry, higher than the Collingwood and Carlton rivalry, or Carlton and Essendon?

Rich vs Carl is NOTas big as Carl vs Coll or Carl vs Ess. I never said it was.

What I actually saidm,was that Carlton was RICHMOND's biggest rival. Now, where have I contradicted myself? Please tell me, because I would like to know?

Dan25 believes:
I reckon they should let us go to as many games as we want with AFL membership. Very few members use up all 24 games. I usually use up about 20, or so.... not including finals.

Couldn't agree more. What would the AFL lose from it? The way I see it, they'd be able to make more $$$ from catering, Record sales, etc, etc.

Dan25 continued...
What do you think of the ballot for GF tickets this year? Half of thr 20,000 seats are through a ballot. I hope they are first in first served, and not randomly distributed. Do you know if they are?

It'll just be a random ballot. The first 10,000 (or whatever number it is) nominees to have their number drawn out of the hat will be on their way to the Granny. Hopefully I'll be one of 'em!
wink.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

Hopefully I will be too Ripper.

I used to like it when it was first in, first served. Now, full members miss out, which is pathetic. The waiting list is up to 20 years now, and you would think after waiting that long, full membership, at nearly 400 bucks would have guaranteed access to the GF.

Fortunately, I got only had to wait 5 years as restricted and was elevated to full in 1997. I am pissed off that memebrs voted to get reserved seats at the Grand Final.

The AFL sent a surbey out (which I got) a few years ago (1998), and asked whether we want the GF all reserved or "first in first served". I voted for "first in, first served".

The problem, is the AFL tried to convince the cretins by saying: "it will save you getting to the MCG at 6am"

That is true, but unfortunatley, it means I had to queue at ticketmaster last year for 12 hours, and I had to pay 27 dollars for the privilige. The AFL reckons it stops queueing. It doesn't stop queueing at all. it just stops queueing at the MCG. What do you reckon?

Maybe we can do somethign about it. I think Uncle Mike might be getting another letter this week.
wink.gif

Seriously, why don't we write to them. I at least think this ballot should be first in, first served. At least that way, the 10,000 "keenest" fans, who make the effort to get the form in first will get a seat.

If it is just random, like you believe it will be, it means you could miss out, while an AFL member who has gone to 2 games, could get in. Although, after club support memebrs have got their tickets, there will probably be some remaining tickets for other members who missed out with the first two options. Still..... it just not right. I go to a game a week, and I should be guaranteed a GF ticket. You and I are probably in the top 1 per-cent of fans who will go to any game, regardless of who is playing.

Rich vs Carl is NOTas big as Carl vs Coll or Carl vs Ess. I never said it was.

What I actually saidm,was that Carlton was RICHMOND's biggest rival. Now, where have I contradicted myself? Please tell me, because I would like to know?

Dan25

Whose interests are you looking out for? Does Carlton have an "obligation" to help Richmond if they are not Carlton's main rivalry? Or were you just suggesting that the Big 4 have ANZAC Day and ANZAC eve to themselves?
That would at least derail Richmond's President from calling for the "sharing" of ANZAC Day. hmmm? Try and keep all 4 happy.
You mentioned North and a big crowd in attendance on ANZAC eve, yet Richmond and Carlton is your suggestion!!
Other clubs realise just HOW much a money spinner this day is for the SAME 2 clubs EVERY YEAR.

You are kidding youself, if you believe that this game is an Ess & Coll 'event'. This a special day for ALL Australians. It is the ONE day of the year when ALL Australian are united - starting with the Dawn Service, the eerie light, playing of "Last Post", solemn mood and reflections, the patriotism and feeling by the Australian people for this day and Coll and Ess try to sell this as their special day for the ANZACS.

Both Clubs have called for other clubs to "find their own niche" and "leave this day to us, because they initiated this 'event'. How crass!!!

North initiated FRIDAY NIGHT football. Every club wants and had taken "our niche". Can't wait until 'Eddie Mc9' has the footy rights. Will North still have the 'tradional breakfast'?

Michele

NMFC 1869

Michele,

Oh, for gods, sake, why do I bother responding to such crap.
rolleyes.gif

The big 4 clubs are the ONLY clubs who could virtually guarantee 80,000 + every Anzac day, and Anzac eve. It would be a huge event to stage the 4 biggest clubs over that 24 hour peiod on an annual basis. Why do you think Collingwood and Essendon play on Anzac day? Because they are the two most popular clubs, and can guarantee a sell-out every year, that's why.

Anzac day, being a public holiday, adds about 25% to the crowd. If the Kangaroos payed on Anzac day, against, say, geelong (for example), they might get 55,000 if they're lucky. if you played the Cats on a Saturday, the crowd would probably be 40,000. It's not worth it for you. The costs of staging a match on a public holiday, with wages at 250% would be huge, so you need a huge crowd to make a profit on the match.

North cah have Good Friday, if they want it. I think that's fair. They have been asking for it. Richmond and Carlton is an "event" style match, with a huge tradition, and massive followings for both clubs. North vs Richmond doesn't have this "event" status.

Look Michele, this is not really about money. It's about staging a wonderful 2 day period every year, with the 4 biggest clubs playing each other over a publi holiday and the "eve" of that public holiday. This is for the fans. 80,000 for both matches over 2 days is great for footy.

You shouldn't be worried about playing "other" clubs, just to get your finances up, due to big gate takings. If you are successful enough, you will get big gate takings. Anyway, i'm only talking about ONE round here, and the best way to make that round special, is to involve the 4 clubs whom more Melburnians support than any other. I love Richmond-Carlton matches. they are huge, and I think it would be great if it was played annually n Anzac eve, to take advanatge of the large followings of the clubs, which would be accentuated given the public holiay the next day.

Michele, I thought the umpiring was bad both ways, they were consistent in that respect, it didn't matter who the free kick shouldn't have gone to, the umps always paid it.

There was the free kick taken off McLeod and given to Pickett in the last quarter, the Edwards holding the ball in the second quarter when he had no prior opportunity and another holding the ball given against Goodwin which was also incorrect in my view. As many decisions were puzzling to crows players as they were to North ones.

The free to Smart was a bad one, granted, it gave us a gimme goal just when we needed it but as Dan said the umps didn't affect the result, the better team on the night won, again, in my opinion.

I tend to agree with you ant,there were some shockers to both teams and the umps,ultimately ,didn't affect the result. I must admit though I've looked at the Smart/McCartney one several times now and still can't figure that one out!

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
The arvo game was all skill and free-flowing football with goals galore;- made for a great day's watching!

So I can assume that you don't still want to see us lose every match because our "boring style is killing the game"?
tongue.gif

Only kidding. Fantastic match, and I loved the brand of football we played in stages yesterday... pity it didn't result in a win!
mad.gif

I didn't see the Crows/Roos game because I was out celebrating a great Hawthorn win
biggrin.gif

But on the umpiring of our game I thought it was disgraceful. The Rehn free kick was a shocker and so was Dixon's disallowed goal. In the end it was a fantastic game in spite of the umpiring.

Disappointing to see some media outlets reporting that the Rehn free kick changed the momentum of the game, some even suggesting it changed the result. How that could be when the Dogs kicked three goals in a row after it is beyond me.

------------------
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

Yeah I have to agree elt. The umpiring marred a really good open game of footy.
Our problem was dropping too many easy marks and missing too easy shots at goal.
Interesting that Wallace decided to take you guys on in a shoot out. And he damn near pulled it off-good luck to him. I would like to see us play more of this type of footy.

Originally posted by Westy Boy:
So I can assume that you don't still want to see us lose every match because our "boring style is killing the game"?
tongue.gif

Only kidding. Fantastic match, and I loved the brand of football we played in stages yesterday... pity it didn't result in a win!
mad.gif

LOL! Come on, Westy...you know I was referring to the Dogs and their dreaded f-word tactics!
tongue.gif
I noticed that when yous did flood for all of about two minutes yesterday, the Hawks duly popped through 3 majors!
biggrin.gif
wink.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

[snip}The waiting list is up to 20 years now, and you would think after waiting that long, full membership, at nearly 400 bucks would have guaranteed access to the GF.[snip]
Well 10 lucky (??) souls will be elevated as of next year on behalf of my family and friends. We are ditching our AFL Memberships (after 15 years) because we are getting sick of the things Members supposedly 'asked' for. Like next year getting the privelege of paying for a junior Membership for our four year old, the Reserved Seats for Grand Finals (we were early birds too), Reserved Seats in our usual seats M20 for big games, no guest passes for our three year old at Colonial meaning she either can't get a seat, can't sit with us or can't go .... the list does go on.
My dollars will no longer be going to the AFL .... Club Membership + Social Club + Supporter Groups for us next year ... same benefits and none of our dollars go to the AFL.
Kaz

------------------
http://www.kaz68.homestead.com/heaven.html

Dan25,

For goodness sake! Stop ruining your own argument with contradictions.

Loosely your words - North wouldn't be able to pull off such a big crowd and the public holiday costs of 250% would "kill" North. Only teams with large followings could do this. (Play and make a profit on a public holiday.)

In your next sentence, you state "North are 'welcome' to play on Good Friday (that's very big of you - thanks). In this 'pagan' society is Good Friday still a public holiday?

If so, however could North "afford" the costs on 'this' public holiday and not another?

Does it suit you better personally, because as you stated previously, you enjoy Carlton and Richmond games and you can't/don't have a long weekend April 24/25?
Do you go away at Easter and therefore, North playing ????? on Good Friday doesn't worry you?

You accuse me of writing ....., yet you are trying to convince me that the ANZAC Day clash and proposed Eve game are not "REALLY ABOUT MONEY"

So both clubs play for the ANZAC spirit (as opposed to cashing in on it) with absolutley no financial gain or stuffing up the fixture?

Dan, you perhaps as passionate about Essendon as I am about North, but if North played on ANZAC Day, I would never try and claim that the real reason wasn't finacial.

If both clubs are that philanthropic - why not give ALL proceeds to RSL or Veteran's Association.

Why is ANZAC Day match constantly raised as being uneven to other teams?

Michele

NMFC 1869