Strange or normal?

• Normal

Votes: 53 96.4%
  • Strange

Votes: 2 3.6%

There's meals and then there's meals.

I have no problem sitting in a cafe for half an hour, flipping through my phone having a few coffees, and I'll have a curry or something before meeting people out or after the footy. But I'm not going to something nice or expensive alone, simply because half the joy of that is being able to order more stuff and share it.

I've seen about five or so bands alone. If it's a small gig at the Corner I'll probably give it a miss, but I went to two shows at Festival Hall when I first moved here as well as the Strokes and Blur in a park in London and had no troubles. At one I bumped into some guys I knew a bit, the other I met a chick, and at Blur I ended up getting pissed with these lads from Watford and some shithole town near Nottingham. It was great. I have more mates into the same music now though so it rarely happens these days.

I'm very much hit and miss with this concept. Will definitely do most things on my own as there are times where I just need to do things alone or be alone with my thoughts; particularly as currently I share a house with relatively extroverted mates.

Going to the footy, exercising (running or going to gym), going out for lunch or a coffee are all activities that, to be honest, I'd find more enjoyable in my own company, particularly if I have a paper in front of me when I'm out for lunch or coffee. Also I go to the footy with the purpose of actually watching the game I payed to see, I don't pay to got to the footy to socialise with peers as I can do that for free.

Movies it depends. If I'm riding solo in somewhere like Melbourne and there's a movie on that I'm keen on seeing, I would go see it without hesitation. Back home it's a little different however, even though it shouldn't matter, I'd still be a bit hesitant to go if I knew there would be a good chance of running into groups there that I knew or have previously interacted with, even if I didn't know them well. The stigma attached to other people seeing you go by yourself makes me feel a little uncomfortable still, even though deep down I know it shouldn't. I guess being at the footy is a little different given that there is less of a chance of bumping into former colleagues given the amount of people that attend the footy compared to the cinema.

I general though I'd say I don't mind doing this on my own, given the appropriate setting.

Most things I don't mind doing alone. But dining out seems like one thing that is weird to do on your own. Dining out to me is a social thing. If I want food and I'm on my own I just order take away.

Mate, some women would be mortified to have sex alone.

Ignore.

same

that's why I prefer to masturbate at bus stops. It feels creepy doing it alone.

Movies. I think I've done it once. Would prefer to go with others.

Traveling. Haven't done it but would.

Cafe. Have done just for a coffee

Restaurant. Nope. And feel sorry if I ever see someone on their own at a restaurant.

Pub/ club. Nope have never done this and wouldn't. Although I think it's more common to see guys on their own at the bar than a female. Clubbing I reckon it's wierd to go on your own , unless you are a stranger to the city.

I have done the restaurant thing a couple of times when I was on holiday and it makes you feel really lonely. You usually get a few looks too. A cafe or smaller place is fine and its actually quite common to see people in there reading.

Movies is common to go alone. I dont bother these days as almost everything is able to be streamed online.

I've done the travel thing both by myself and tours alone. Its pretty good most of the time. You do get occasions where you are lonely though and if you aren't an extrovert it can be difficult in those situations.

Footy yep. Don't mind it, but not every week

Cafe yep. I gotta eat

Restaurant no. Rather get takeaway or cook something and chill out at home.

Pub yep. There's cold beer, TV, and chicks behind the bar to talk to.

Shopping of course. Much prefer it.

Movies no. Watch something at home instead

Club no. TBH thats the only one that seems really weird

Travelling. Yep.
Eating in a restaurant/cafe. Plenty.
Footy. Yeah sure why not.
Shopping. Yeah.

I probably would never have done any of them alone besides shopping had I not started travelling alone though.

Also been to clubs alone. End up meeting someone and having a chat while having a smoke or beer and not having to spend the rest of the night actually alone for more than a couple minutes so it's not like I'm just standing around awkwardly anyway.

Eating out by yourself is common when travelling for work. At first it felt a bit weird but I would just play on my phone and drink piss, not too bad.

Also while travelling for work I'd go to the pub by myself. The one thing you don't realise is that every time you go for a piss in a crowded pub you'll lose your seat, ****ing annoying.

Actually I will go the footy by myself if I have to. I am meant to sit with my brother, but sometimes he won't be able to come for various reasons.

I wouldn't like to do it all the time, but it's okay sometimes.

Clubbing alone is terrible. I've done it twice and neither was a great experience.

The first, I was a friend's 20th in Footscray and me and a mate were the only ones with the foresight to realise a party peaks half an hour before the last train and totally peters out 40 minutes after it. We decided to head to the city. We had to run across the Western Oval and I remember seeing the train's lights hitting the mazey platforms of West Footscray... somehow I made it and as I looked back, my mate wasn't. Ended up going to Rats because I was in a good mood and didn't want my night to end. I pulled but left after about 40 minutes. The old "I've lost my mates" didn't really fly....

The second was in Sweden and I was only about four days into a trip overseas. I hadn't gone out yet and I went to one of those state-owned bottle shops. It was shit. Everyone there was an arrogant Iranian or something and the clubs there are shitful.

I know people who have gone out alone willingly and intended to at 6pm on a Friday. I honestly couldn't think of much worse. It's extremely embarrassing. It also has some sex offender vibes when a bloke is going to a venue to pick up and not have a laugh with his mates.

When I was overseas I inevitably got quite lonely. Sometimes you have a few days where you don't meet anyone in a hostel. It can be sad when you're in a cool place but instead of living an exciting life straight out of a TV commercial, you're having dinners out by yourself, but it's worth those lonely moments for the majority - which are good.

Over here I've had a pub meal alone though, I see it a bit on a boring Sunday. Sit at the corner of the bar, watch the last game of the round, and have a pint or two. It's relaxing in a place where there's almost no chance of bumping into a mate.

Nothing strange about doing things on your own.

I'll often go fishing, have a quick nine after work, have a quick pint and check emails at a pub after work, go to the beach for a dip etc.

I do whatever I feel like doing. I don't need company.

I prefer to travel alone so naturally any of the aforementioned tasks, except clubbing solo, have lost any previous shred of awkwardness to me by now.

I've only ever been out clubbing solo the once, in Tokyo, and it's not something i'd be quick to do again. The night wasn't a bad one, it just got a bit depressing due to my lack of Japanese and the furiously expensive spirits.

Went on a trip over east recently alone (my workmates were shocked when they realised I was going alone). Did the touristy things, watched some footy at Etihad and the G as well as in Sydney and it was a totally guilt free trip as it was everything I wanted to do. However, some tourist activities when you see other couples participate or when you visit famous landmarks, you often want someone to enjoy those memories with which is why things can feel a bit lonely.

I'm a fairly independent person so travelling, shopping, watching movies with someone all the time would drive me insane, even if it was my best mate.

Going to a restaurant at night/dining out by yourself is a little weird. So is going to a club by yourself, unless you're extremely confident you'll be leaving with someone at the end of the night.

Most other activities are fine solo. In fact, I'd feel weirder going shopping or to the beach with a mate as opposed to being by myself/with a girlfriend.

Going to the beach alone is weird?! Seriously I've never even considered it odd. Maybe if you have the binoculars out it is...

I think i only ever go to the beach alone. I don't really like the beach in general, but on the odd occasion where i feel like a dip in the ocean i'll just drive out in the morning and spend a couple hours. pretty relaxing.

Going to the beach alone is perfectly normal. Going shopping alone is perfectly normal.

Eating a meal alone depends on the context. I'll go and grab a cafe lunch during work or a counter meal/hotel restaurant meal if away by myself, but if I'm home by myself I won't ring up and make a reservation somewhere. 99% of the time I'll just get takeaway or cook something.

I've been 'out' a few times alone but never in Perth. I'd rather just stay home and watch Fox Sports or whatever than head into the city or Northbridge solo. The only times I've headed out alone is when I've been in a foreign place and alone and there's nothing else to do. I don't think I've ever been out for more than 2 or 3 drinks without being out alone turning into being out with other people I met along the way. The idea of going out for a big night without really talking to anyone seems weird to me.

Went on a trip over east recently alone (my workmates were shocked when they realised I was going alone). Did the touristy things, watched some footy at Etihad and the G as well as in Sydney and it was a totally guilt free trip as it was everything I wanted to do. However, some tourist activities when you see other couples participate or when you visit famous landmarks, you often want someone to enjoy those memories with which is why things can feel a bit lonely.

I'm a fairly independent person so travelling, shopping, watching movies with someone all the time would drive me insane, even if it was my best mate.

Yes I agree with those points, there are certain things you don't mind doing with others as it makes the experience more memorable however a lot of things I do like doing myself. travelling for one whereby you make decisions for yourself and don't worry about what others want to do. when I went to NYC on holiday with one of my oldest friends it left a bitter taste in the mouth as we had huge falling out. we were still friends after that but it really wasn't the same. my dad did say, you find out who your real friends are when you go on holiday and ironically that was very true.

I really don't get going out alone, I'm pretty happy having four or five beers and sitting on the internet alone. It's probably not very healthy though.

I have a friend who binge drinks pretty scarily alone. He works a white collar job in a sort of lad environment (sports-based) and they all wind up having Friday drinks. He basically always ends up heading out alone after but he is the sort of dude with a weird charm in his braggadocio and he usually takes home 35-year old women. But he does usually end up incredibly, incredibly pissed. His snapchats are messy. And he's constantly letting us know that he's getting home at 9am. I think that's something I could never ever do.

I still think calling in for a beer alone is fine. Lots of young blokes don't like it these days but I'd say that's to do more with the fact 20-year olds drink in a more abusive, less casual way. One of life's great pleasures is being alone in taking in the shit going on outside. Of course another one is being with a mate and analysing the shit going on around you, but you know.