Opinion Dom Sheed

• Thread starter Thread starter dajesmac

Watts had no one picked before him.

Ah, blame that on my lack of coffee today... :oops: But I still stand by the fact that he'll continually be compared to the others around him, especially considering that we gave away a high pick for him

And you can try and spin it any way you want... we gave up pick 6 for Sheed.

Of course it's not his fault where he went in the draft or how he got to the club, but bottom line that's what we traded away for him.

Not sure I agree with that line of thinking. We didn't trade pick six specifically in order to recruit Dom Sheed.

We traded pick 6 for 11 and 31 in order to recruit Malcolm Karpany in addition to Dom Sheed.

You can't really spin it any other way.

Bottom line is he was pick 11. And YOU can try and spin it any way you like. But those are hard facts.

You don't know who we rated where and I don't remember club coming out to say who we were going to pick up at 6.

Good work at manufacturing crap.

I will completely hold my opinions on the kid until he has a couple of pre-seasons under his belt.
Not a lot of players are guns in there first season and not all guns in their first season remain guns. I would rather a gun that takes a couple of years to develop but can give you a good 10 yrs of high level service, not saying this is Sheed but let's just wait a bit until we start swinging the Rowan -Jones-Swift-Priddis bat.

Yeah but McKenzie is nearly 200cm with endurance, all he has to do is chase...punch..receive. Midfielders have go and get their own ball, if they're short then they have to be fast, Sheed could be serviceable but won't be anywhere near elite bookmark that and move on.

323312-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Geez tough on the kid here, has a poor game and the knives are sharpened.

Dom Sheed will be a dead set ripper of a player. Tested against kids his own age his decision making skills are elite, foot skills and hand skills close to elite plus leadership potential. Middle of the pack athleticly.

He was always going to take a couple of seasons but this kid will set the league on fire once he matures and loses that split second self doubt he is currently showing. His core strength as an 18yo is through the roof, in his mid to late 20's he will be an absolute powerhouse. Any doubters are insane

Dom Sheed will be a dead set ripper of a player. Tested against kids his own age his decision making skills are elite, foot skills and hand skills close to elite plus leadership potential. Middle of the pack athleticly.

He was always going to take a couple of seasons but this kid will set the league on fire once he matures and loses that split second self doubt he is currently showing. His core strength as an 18yo is through the roof, in his mid to late 20's he will be an absolute powerhouse. Any doubters are insane

That, is "dead set" speculation.

Define "ripper of a player" for me. You think that he will turn into something better then our current crop of sub standard midfielders? You think he has more upside then Masten? Scooter?

Just as you're speculating he's a dud after 5 games. Its moronic.

Simon Black, Luke Hodge, Lenny Hayes, Sam Mitchell etc are all players of Dom Sheeds mould. Same hieght and size, same athletic ability. They all took atleast 2-3 years to come on. Dom Sheed needs more time in the seniors and the kid will be a dead set ripper.

Just as you're speculating he's a dud after 5 games. Its moronic.

Simon Black, Luke Hodge, Lenny Hayes, Sam Mitchell etc are all players of Dom Sheeds mould. Same hieght and size, same athletic ability. They all took atleast 2-3 years to come on. Dom Sheed needs more time in the seniors and the kid will be a dead set ripper.

Repeatedly using the term "dead set ripper" doesn't really add weight to an argument.

Be more specific. Do you reckon Matt Priddis is a "dead set ripper"? Masten? Etc

Or are you saying he will be the equal of the 4 players you named?

What I'm impressed about is his ability to give off handballs while being tackled. There have been a few occasions when a bigger player has tackled him and he has still been able to get an effective handball off. He doesn't have the first year frame of a Wines or Viney, but as he builds up there is a lot of upside- He will be a dead set ripper ;)

Sheed had a limited preseason because of his shoulder injury he got at last years u18 champs. We certainly haven't seen the best of him yet, which is good because he has a long way to go.

The club has set him up for this. He's a victim of the wasted high draft picks from earlier years. People see him not establishing himself in a poor midfield and automatically think "here we go again".

This is what scares me with Dom Sheed he was touted as one of the player's that was ready for AFL football physically he raked up some big numbers in the Championships so how come these player's are having a bigger impact than sheed and were drafted a hell of alot higher and some have a huge room for improvement physically alot more than Sheed does !

Luke Dunston #18
Matt Crouch #23
Billy Hartung #24
Zach Merret#26
Lewis Taylor #28
Jay Kennedy Harris#40
Eli Templeton Rookie #3

personally I would nearly trade all of the above player's for sheed ! I know different player's come on at different times alot of the above player's have alot more room for improvement than sheed I know it's harsh and I hope he proves me wrong but I just cant see him ever been a powerhouse of the competition !

I look at Aish with jealous eyes, but to write of Sheed on the basis of 6 games, half of which were sub affected, and all of them spent sitting out of the action on a HFF for the majority of his match time is a bit much.

Predominantly outside players tend to adjust better to AFL at first than those who rely on their contested games. Guys like Aish, Gaff, Bontempelli and even Shuey in 2011.

Shuey is a good example of someone who excelled based on their outside game but went through a tough transition into becoming an inside player.

I didn't expect Sheed to be in the bests but it was his onfield demeanour as much as anything that caused me concern - ie it was clear he didn't want to get involved in contests.

This is what scares me with Dom Sheed he was touted as one of the player's that was ready for AFL football physically he raked up some big numbers in the Championships so how come these player's are having a bigger impact than sheed and were drafted a hell of alot higher and some have a huge room for improvement physically alot more than Sheed does !

Luke Dunston #18
Matt Crouch #23
Billy Hartung #24
Zach Merret#26
Lewis Taylor #28
Jay Kennedy Harris#40
Eli Templeton Rookie #3

personally I would nearly trade all of the above player's for sheed ! I know different player's come on at different times alot of the above player's have alot more room for improvement than sheed I know it's harsh and I hope he proves me wrong but I just cant see him ever been a powerhouse of the competition !
He touted him afl ready? Big footy?

Yes, on the basis of this.

Skill =/= Masten
Physical and Athletically =/= S.Selwood