Analysis Dom Tyson

• Thread starter Thread starter Topkent

Slow, poor decision making, poor disposal, can't defend... If he wasn't a top pick we gave up a lot for everyone would be all over him a'la Melksham

I think you'd find people would be more likely to be all over him as we're generally harder on them the more they cost.

He tends to always struggle a bit with disposal ext when he hasn't had a full pre season. Ala this year and 2015

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

Reckon he's a good player out of form. He'll probably never be the star we thought he may become a couple of years back but I think he's capable of getting back into form and becoming a key cog of our midfield.

PS - the Travis Johnstone comparison is way off! Kicking is Dom's primary weakness and TJ was one of the silkiest we've ever had. Plus Dom can win a hard ball ...

Reckon he's a good player out of form. He'll probably never be the star we thought he may become a couple of years back but I think he's capable of getting back into form and becoming a key cog of our midfield.

PS - the Travis Johnstone comparison is way off! Kicking is Dom's primary weakness and TJ was one of the silkiest we've ever had. Plus Dom can win a hard ball ...
Agree with this. Just like I said about Salem when so many of us here were questioning him last year, he's bloody fine.

Eh. He's struggled since 2014 with injury but he was a star that year in just his third season, had the most Brownlow votes of anyone drafted after 2010 and that was playing in a side that won four games. He's playing probably the worst he can play at the moment and still not actually doing that bad so I think he'll be fine

In 2014 he could be unaccountable and do what he liked because we were a poor team. We were also a high stoppage team and move the ball slowly
Since we have opened the game up he has struggled.

The comparison wasn't in playing style but in consistency. TJ showed silk through his whole career then one day he was 28 and traded to Brisbane and he never won a BNF. I see Tyson doing the same

Ah Tj. What could have been...

Always sad to see. My mate dropped out of TAC cup footy to pursue other sports because he was a wingman in the same side as TJ and thought he would never get a look in. He had the drive, TJ had the natural talent.

He played a few years in the NEAFL after the Lions dropped him, the first club were happy to see the back of him after one season, and by the time he got to the second club, he was just terrible.

Bit frustrating for my mate. He was a workhorse (and actually fairly good). Chose to play another sport but wanted to play footy.

He was probably unlucky with the time he was coming through, but if it was these days, he'd be mad not to stick at it. It's those sort of guys who get picked up Mature Age and make themselves a pretty good career.

Yeah back then it was harder I think
Plus he was a gun at 2 other sports, and ended up getting picked up in one of them. He would've preferred footy though

The comparison wasn't in playing style but in consistency. TJ showed silk through his whole career then one day he was 28 and traded to Brisbane and he never won a BNF. I see Tyson doing the same
Agree with your point re consistency, but Johnstone did win a B&F in 2005.

Geez some people here are quick to write someone off.

He is playing terribly at the moment, thats certainly not a secret. But there is a difference between being out of form, and being shit. At his best, Doms clearance work is better than anyone else on our, with the exception of probably Oliver. His hands in close are superb. He has that Mitchell like ability to hold a handball that extra split second to really release someone from a contest etc. It's clear he isn't playing at that level, but lets not throw the baby out with the bathwater. Give him time.

I don't know when this board has the "New Whipping Boy" meetings, but it'd be nice to get an invite occasionally.

Bin man could have been a great player

I've always felt that Tyson is a really dodgy player. Kicking is too often mediocre, marking is about average.
But then you see some of his big game performances. 2014, 3 votes 3 times in losing sides when we just fell short. That performance against Hawthorn last year was incredible and would've been three 99 times out of 100(not often you have Gawn grabbing 10 contested marks or something ridiculous like that). 32 against Richmond on Anzac Day eve and 32 in that nail biter vs GCS.

I think he's getting overlooked because of our youth, but let's remember that he's barely 24 and is averaging 25 touches a game. Have some bloody perspective, Cripps hasn't even touched that so far this year, Boak, Duncan, Hodge, Armitage can't touch 25 a game and yet most would take these guys in heartbeat.
He reminds me of Dyson Heppell in that he makes many unnecessary turnovers and he can seem really off the pace. But look at Heppell R1. Matchwinning goal. Tyson is the same mould. A ball winning midfielder who kicks goals. How long did it take JPK to fully develop? What if the Swans discarded him early for Kirk to keep playing on? How long did it take Boak who was rated as a perennial A grade midfielder ever since his debut? Jobe? What about Wines, Priddis, Barlow who have far bigger flaws than Tyson yet are wanked over by so many others.

Lay off Dom. He's a stud. Also has ditched his beautiful wavy long hair in order to not be persuaded into growing a man bun. But on a serious note, hes not playing that badly and his positives far outweigh the negatives. Big time goals, big time performances are the stuff you need in finals. The occasional clanger is really annoying but will be phased out eventually.

And enough about Kelly. Any time a trade turns out like Kelly + Lobb for one team and Tyson + Salem + Hunt for the other team, it's a bloody good trade. We don't get many two sided trades in the AFL so appreciate it.

If we ignore the third side, Lumumba for Clarke was as two-sided as it gets. Damn Collingwood...
Two-sided shit. If every trade was like the Kelly trade we'd have 10,000 trades every year.

Damn those naturally talented footballers (insert rant about old man yelling at clouds)

Being named on the bench is a sign that he is on 'drop watch' imo

In the top 5 in the AFL for clangers and averaging the most of the top 10

Some other members of the 10 are Danger Fyfe and Dusty
However you tell me with a straight face Tyson had half the impact of any of those 3 players did against us in the result

If only there had been room for two wingmen in the same team!

Bit hard to show off your talent when all the focus on tj though isn't it. This discussion was already had
Solid 5 day turn around on this zinger