AFL Autopsy Done by the dogs

I’m not too sure what we do with Perkins going forward. Can’t break out of a jog. He just doesn’t have an appetite to compete, can’t get separation on a lead, a liability when the ball hits the ground. Needs a decent spell in the reserves.
A spell that finishes with him delisted at end of year

I really feel our players are just really Low on confidence, cause in that 3rd quarter, I really saw some good stuff from our senior boys in Cadwell, Merrett, Durham who I thought was really good.
Archer May I thought had a good game, nice to see Edward’s look a real threat, felt wright had another solid game. I didn’t like Scott moving Blackiston to the defence in the last quarter, I thought that was poor.
Probably Greshams best game in his time with us. Farrow had some moments, can really see his agility and foot skills on display.
Now the negatives, Guelfi, Perkins, McKay and Prior, dont deserve to play for us and are not afl quality. Perkins development is a real shame, I just know if he went Geelong we’d be seeing a much better player but it’s disappointing how we’ve ruined a good prospect.
Yeah there’s just not much optimism with our team, we’re probably the 17th worst team in the competition, Richmond look very poor and look a lot worse than us. There’s so many holes on our list, and we’re just not a great club at developing talent.
Overall happy it wasn’t a blowout but yeah it’s just been a disappointing start to the year and it doesn’t get any easier.

Gees it’s grim when we are celebrating a 6 goal loss, our 17th in a row.

**** green shoots. Win a game of footy please. We know we aren’t making finals but anything less than a win, is still a loss.

Good second half out scoring them by 20. Some good signs from some of the youngsters. Merrett second half was huge, Caldwell better, Wright was ok in the ruck

Gees it’s grim when we are celebrating a 6 goal loss, our 17th in a row.

**** green shoots. Win a game of footy please. We know we aren’t making finals but anything less than a win, is still a loss.
What more could you have realistically expected out of this game?

If this was the score line against a bad side I’d agree with you, but the almost universal expectation pre-game was that this would be a ****ing massacre.

What more could you have realistically expected out of this game?

If this was the score line against a bad side I’d agree with you, but the almost universal expectation pre-game was that this would be a ****ing massacre.

Certainly not the optimism being shown here, it’s another smashing by a side that was missing two of their best midfielders and our 17th loss in a row.

That’s not rebuilding areas, that’s genuine cellar dweller areas.

Great performance, best yet

Zerrett thanks for trying, but dont require us to be in the game for you to start trying, your inability to want to defend irks me, your as bad as Parish

Prior - Amazing, maybe winning our BnF right now, been brilliant

Tom Edwards , Outstanding attack and contest, gave the smalls somethintlg, forced the clubs hand with the ruck

Roberts - Have you forgotten how to kick? Please dont become soft and start laying body on body in contest and tackles

Farrow - Please dont be soft, only game 2, but intensity needed

ZakJo - Hope club can see what you are and give you the keys, looking really good

Overall very good game against a good side without some quality soldiers

Time for Ridley, DSharp, Fiorini ect troops to return next week

Zach Reid injured?

Certainly not the optimism being shown here, it’s another smashing by a side that was missing two of their best midfielders and our 17th loss in a row.

We lost by 34 points.

Because of junk time goals and two injuries, to their ruck and their leading goal scorer. And it’s still a 6 goal loss, repeat our 17th in a row. There are no positives to be had when you lose 17 games in a row. Start winning before you get complacent as a club playing a quarter here, a half there.

Were missing 8-9 best 23 players aswell

Nic Martin
Ridley
Redman
Bryan
Setterfield
Fiorini
Robey
DSharp
A.Clarke

We lost a qtr tonight between half way through 1st to half way through 2nd term against an undeafeated side who has great depth

We are cellar dwellers, have you not watched us the past 17 games, what did you expect, great result from a team with that history

We were well within the line

Because of junk time goals and two injuries, to their ruck and their leading goal scorer. And it’s still a 6 goal loss, repeat our 17th in a row. There are no positives to be had when you lose 17 games in a row. Start winning before you get complacent as a club playing a quarter here, a half there.
If your glass was any emptier it’d be entering negative values. Christ.

There’s many positives to be had. They’re listed throughout this thread. You’re just throwing a tantrum.

Well, the standard has been set. No excuses not to play with the same effort or better next week. Tightened up through the middle of the ground and it made all the difference. Impressed by Farrow and Reid. May will only get better. Solid outing. Roberts is going to be a 200 game player. Just looks so comfortable.

Was really good to see Scott actually make some moves in game for once. Giving Caldwell the job on Bont at 1/4 time worked really well, and gave Caldwell a way to be involved. Swapping Wright and Blakiston not as successful, but Wright really worked hard around the ground when the switch was made.

Good to see Merrett pull his finger out.

I'd still rather see Tsatas than Parish. He went missing a bit tonight, as did Durham and Kako.

Thought Duursma, Johnson, McGrath, SEH and Edwards tried hard.

Out: Parish, Guelfi, Perkins
In: Tsatas, Unwin, Robey

Also, kicking the first four goals of the second half and then holding your own for the rest of the game, which is what we did, is not even close to the definition of junk time goals.

There’s many positives to be had. They’re listed throughout this thread. You’re just throwing a tantrum.

There’s no tantrum. Winning organisations don’t embrace mediocrity like we all have become attuned to do. It’s actually quite informative reading this thread and seeing just the lengths our fan base are willing to go to at the moment to defend the club.

A loss is a loss. A 17th loss in a row is genuinely diabolical, irrespective of the “expected result”

Realistically with the upcoming fixture it could be quite some time before we win a game as well. Dark days, very dark days but if it helps people survive to bury their heads in the hand then so be it. I tried it for a while and we just keep getting shitter and worse 🤪

Second half was good, though they flattered us by not kicking straight in the 3rd.

First half though? Woof.

There's nothing more deflating as an Essendon supporter than a behind. Especially if it's kicked by a senior player.

I reckon we probably win that game or at least get a helluva lot closer if we kick straight.

At least we get Caddy back next week.

Oh well, fingers crossed we show up next week against Melbourne.

I want a win so ****ing bad.

We are a rubbish team, and are on route for a one win season, performances like tonight will be some of the only positive signs we see for the season.

There’s no tantrum. Winning organisations don’t embrace mediocrity like we all have become attuned to do. It’s actually quite informative reading this thread and seeing just the lengths our fan base are willing to go to at the moment to defend the club.

A loss is a loss. A 17th loss in a row is genuinely diabolical, irrespective of the “expected result”

Realistically with the upcoming fixture it could be quite some time before we win a game as well. Dark days, very dark days but if it helps people survive to bury their heads in the hand then so be it. I tried it for a while and we just keep getting shitter and worse 🤪
Defending the club? Are you serious?

Do you read this board often? Most of us criticise them day in, day out. We’re all sick to death of supporting the club and its shitness.

Jesus, it just is what it is - a better than expected performance from a really shit team against a really good one.

Doug is right - stop sooking.

Great performance, best yet

Zerrett thanks for trying, but dont require us to be in the game for you to start trying, your inability to want to defend irks me, your as bad as Parish

Prior - Amazing, maybe winning our BnF right now, been brilliant

Tom Edwards , Outstanding attack and contest, gave the smalls somethintlg, forced the clubs hand with the ruck

Roberts - Have you forgotten how to kick? Please dont become soft and start laying body on body in contest and tackles

Farrow - Please dont be soft, only game 2, but intensity needed

ZakJo - Hope club can see what you are and give you the keys, looking really good

Overall very good game against a good side without some quality soldiers

Time for Ridley, DSharp, Fiorini ect troops to return next week

Zach Reid injured?
I must have been watching a different game.

Has a turning circle of a truck, constantly out of position and outmarked and gives away dumb frees to boot.

Defending the club? Are you serious?

Do you read this board often? Most of us criticise them day in, day out. We’re all sick to death of supporting the club and its shitness.

Jesus, it just is what it is - a better than expected performance from a really shit team against a really good one.

Doug is right - stop sooking.
Our Jesus has risen. Archer Roberts. Guide teammates with your wisdom of hitting targets

I must have been watching a different game.

Has a turning circle of a truck, constantly out of position and outmarked and gives away dumb frees to boot.
Hes not a superstar we got him for off twisties dated back to our last finals win

But hes stepped up massivily this year, been huge, has skill and kicking ability, stands out like a sore thumb right now

Been our best over the last 2 weeks imo