Doug Hawkins

Originally posted by pazza
I also agree that as the Bulldogs games record holder, he should be entitled to some privileges...he bled for that club and stuck true when it could have been so easy to leave..then they decided not to continue his career for the one more season he deserved..it's about time the club gave something back to him for his hard work..

Remember! The club is broke. The club is bigger than the player. Such club champions should be providing their struggling team with assistance and rather than expecting an easy ride.

Keep digging holes Dougie. You've got all (and plenty more) you can out of footy. Footy owes you nothing, you owe footy!

Dougie's post-football life just hasn't gone the way he thought it would. He really thinks he has what it takes to be a special comments comentator and/or skills coach and he's bewildered and hurt that the world, especially his former club and media mates, can't see it.
The game does that to some players. Gives them delusions.

Originally posted by pazza
I actually with what Doug Hawkins is trying to put across here.

The Bulldogs sadly, have lost their direction under Rohde and somewhat justifiably, Hawkins is feeling for a great mate who got stupidly snubbed in Brian Royal, who must surely get the job next.

I also agree that as the Bulldogs games record holder, he should be entitled to some privileges...he bled for that club and stuck true when it could have been so easy to leave..then they decided not to continue his career for the one more season he deserved..it's about time the club gave something back to him for his hard work..I often wonder, if it wasn't for Dougie amongst others, would the Bulldogs be still around today?

Having have the unfortunate experience of dealing with Smorgan a few years back I can see where Doug Hawkis is coming from.
How many games did Smorgan play for Footscray ? Is that none I hear? and I bet when the Bullies finally go under due to his incompetence they might consider naming a stand after him.
Smorgan and his cronies ( who may be good at bussines- on that score the jury is out on Smorgan as his fortune was left to him) at Footscray havent got a clue on running a successfull AFL team. Just look at their record over the past 5 years ..If the Bulldogs were a normal business enterprise running massive losses they would have been wound up a long time ago.
I glad Doug Hawkins had the guts to stand up for the club he loves and gave so much to.

Originally posted by billy big ears
Having have the unfortunate experience of dealing with Smorgan a few years back I can see where Doug Hawkis is coming from.
How many games did Smorgan play for Footscray ? Is that none I hear? and I bet when the Bullies finally go under due to his incompetence they might consider naming a stand after him.
Smorgan and his cronies ( who may be good at bussines- on that score the jury is out on Smorgan as his fortune was left to him) at Footscray havent got a clue on running a successfull AFL team. Just look at their record over the past 5 years ..If the Bulldogs were a normal business enterprise running massive losses they would have been wound up a long time ago.
I glad Doug Hawkins had the guts to stand up for the club he loves and gave so much to.

Pity what Doug is doing though is hurting not helping the club. Imagine those that love and revere Hawkins and now see him bluing with the Dogs. That may sway them to not purchase a membership.

I don't seetoo many others trying to save the Dogs so it is a little hard to have a crack at Smorgan for doing what he has done for them.

Read the Herald-Sun yesterday.

Mike Sheahan gave Dougie both barrels, whilst Grant and Rohde supported Smorgon.

Interestingly though, was another former Footscray great (and extremely handy Kangaroo) Gary Dempsey, supported where Dougie is coming from.

How many games did Smorgan play for Footscray ? Is that none I hear? massive losses they would have been wound up a long time ago.

You're right Smorgon never played for Footscray. He has though basically quit his business roles to work for us for free, while Dougie who made a good living out of playing for the Doggies isn't prepared to pay to go to one function celebrating a team he wasn't involved in

And Smorgon and his group that came in 97 saved the club from extinction. We still might be struggling. But we ain't dead and without him we probably would be

Just because Dougie was a great player for the club doesn't mean he should be handed an assistants job. Smorgon loves the club just as much as Dougie does and doesn't deserve the crap Dougie's giving him. I love what Dougies done for the club and know that he does want whats best for the club, but theres been a few times since he left the club, that he's been anything but a help

And his point about forgetting about Footscray players is crap. Leon Cameron, Scott Wynd, Simon Atkins all played most of their career while the team was Footscray. They're all at the club still.

Originally posted by Wally Matera
Remember! The club is broke. The club is bigger than the player. Such club champions should be providing their struggling team with assistance and rather than expecting an easy ride.

Keep digging holes Dougie. You've got all (and plenty more) you can out of footy. Footy owes you nothing, you owe footy!

I agree with this - Dougie would be nothing without the club - He didnt play all those games for WB for free. He was paid and now its time to give something back rather than whinging about wanting more.

what a d1ckhead.
at least a few years ago he played up to being a d1ckhead but now he thinks he's got a clue.
what an a grade d1ckhead.

Originally posted by Falchoon
The line I couldn't work out was (regarding the '54 reunion) "I thought I should've (of;) ) been invited. It's a very fine one but if EJ was alive........he would've been invited"

A bit before my time but didn't EJ play in the team and Dougie didn't?

Dougie's taken too many hit's to the head, it's starting to affect him.

How many games did Smorgan play for Footscray
$

? Is that none I hear?
$

and I bet when the Bullies finally go under due to his incompetence
You moron. The bulldogs are alive because of him!!

Smorgan and his cronies
aka, the guys who write the cheques.

Footscray havent got a clue on running a successfull AFL team.
....except for maybe bailing the club out of a certain commercial death in 1997.

Just look at their record over the past 5 years ..If the Bulldogs were a normal business enterprise running massive losses they would have been wound up a long time ago.
***MEMBERS***

If he loves the club so much..... the club that gave him a wage and gave him the "great Australian dream"... if he loved that club so much, he'd buy a ****ing ticket to its special dinner like the other patrons who are attending.

Nothing is freeeeeeeee.

DOUG: WAKE UP SON!

Go ask Smorgan how much he has put in from his own $100 million fortune = very little.
I dont forget easily that when he took over the club the way he denigrated the former administration and guess what? after 5 years of Smorgan Footscray are in deeper s**t than they ever were and going nowhere as a club relying on AFL handouts to survive week to week..
Just another rich kid living out his sporting fantasies at the expense of the battler supporters who really make up the club.
Give me someone like genuine Footscray people Charlie Sutton and Doug Hawkins any day.

Perfect job for Doug Hawkins at the Western Bulldogs would be checking the spelling on the banner. Cmon Smorgon give him a go.

I've heard Hawkins bag on all week about nothing. The man is so freaking dumb that he has no idea why he's upset. Last night on the TFS whilst struggling to put two words together he could not actually state his problem with the Bulldogs or the reason he was even there. He sounded like a bitter old idiot. Absolute toolbag.

Go ask Smorgan how much he has put in from his own $100 million fortune = very little.
I dont forget easily that when he took over the club the way he denigrated the former administration and guess what? after 5 years of Smorgan Footscray are in deeper s**t than they ever were and going nowhere as a club relying on AFL handouts to survive week to week..
Just another rich kid living out his sporting fantasies at the expense of the battler supporters who really make up the club.
Give me someone like genuine Footscray people Charlie Sutton and Doug Hawkins any day.

Hmmm would be interesting to se where the Western Bulldogs would be without David Smorgan. Very easy to make stupid statements like this but reality says that in 1997 that club was going to fold and if it wasn't for Smorgan it would not even exist.

If you want an idiot like Doug Hawkins running the administration of the club then that is what you will get a dead club. What an idiot. Sooking becuase he didn't get a personal invitation to a reunion dinner for a premiership side he had nothing to do with. The club is in so much debt would it have killed the bloke to stick his hand in his pocket and shell out the $500 for a club he claims he loves so much.

I got the impression last night when he was on the Footy Show that Darcy was none to impressed with the way he was behaving. He is acting like a spoilt selfish child and should shut his mouth and move on with his life rather than trying to denigrate a club that is already struggling to survive.

It seems to me that good old Dougy wont go back to this club that he claims to love unless he gets paid to do it. Sentiment means nothing in football anymore it is business. To sook that Brian Royal didn't get the job when Wallace left is ridiculous. Obviously for a numbr of reasons they didn't think he was up to it. The fact that he was a Footscray champion is irrelevant. It wasn't the first senior job Royal had been knocked on.

Doug get over it. Either shut up and move on with your life or go back and embrace the footy club you love and ask what you can do to help it not demand they give you a handout or a free ride.

In the end Dougie admitted that he was upset that the club chose to ask him to pay to attend the 54 reunion rather then offer him a ticket. H e felt that as the clubs game record holder he deserved more request.

My take on this whole scenario is that Dougs narcissism is the reason behind his distress. He wants and expects that the club will fawn all over him because of his on field heroics. He believes that Doug Hawkins gave more to the club then the club gave to him. He continually refers to himself in the third person. He continually rafers to the service he has given the club rather then what the club gave him (his life basically). He dredged the name and legend of Ted whitten completely inappropriately to further his argument.
Basically Dougie you are a ****er. Get over yourself and your monster ego. Your club is in deep **** and your grandstanding and attention seeking is not helping anyone. Carlton recently had a Premiership Ball where every guest payed for their ticket. Players like Steve Kernanhan and John Nicholls are more respected at Carlton then any player is at their club but they were asked to pay and did so. If your are too tight to pay for a ticket, Footy Show would have payed for you if you promised to get drunk and made a goose of yourself. Actually you wouldnt have had to get drunk.

A prime example of an ex jock who is given a forum greater then he deserves. If I was aBulldog fan, player or official I would want to wring his stupid neck.

Originally posted by Runknisse
I've heard Hawkins bag on all week about nothing. The man is so freaking dumb that he has no idea why he's upset. Last night on the TFS whilst struggling to put two words together he could not actually state his problem with the Bulldogs or the reason he was even there. He sounded like a bitter old idiot. Absolute toolbag.
Runnynose.
I thought what he said was quite intelligent and am glad Newman didnt get a chance to aks a question.

No point dragging Newman's name into it. He pays his way at Geelong every time there's a club function. He's even bought things and then donated the back to the club. Granted, he is in a much better situation financially than Hawkins.

The point I cn't get out of my head is that Doug was saying "If we had won a GF in 85 and had a 20-year reunion, would the Bulldogs expect Whitten to pay for his ticket?"

Well, suspending reality for a second and bringing EJ back to life, I actually don't think that they would ask him to fork out dollars to attend. They'd comp him, no doubt as there'd be hell to pay if they didn't.

Hawkins is a different prospect though. Whitten commanded respect... Hawkins just wants it

**Yawn**

This isn't 1995, Doug Hawkins has no name value anymore, he is yet to realise that.

Seeing as Doug wants to **** on EJ's memory, lets put this into perspective. Say if EJ came, and was given free entry, Dougie certainly wouldn't get it.

And to clarify that earlier post about him arking up about a fine. He was actually disputing the fine he got for littering by throwing the parking fine on the ground. "He's not a litterer.". I believe that last word there was meant to be "literate".

****ing sick of footballers who are continually brought out as light entertainment that shouldn't be anymore......although I do have time for Tony Shaw.

**** off Hawkins, **** off Bartlett, **** off Capper.

Originally posted by Mithrandir
No point dragging Newman's name into it. He pays his way at Geelong every time there's a club function. He's even bought things and then donated the back to the club. Granted, he is in a much better situation financially than Hawkins.

The point I cn't get out of my head is that Doug was saying "If we had won a GF in 85 and had a 20-year reunion, would the Bulldogs expect Whitten to pay for his ticket?"

Well, suspending reality for a second and bringing EJ back to life, I actually don't think that they would ask him to fork out dollars to attend. They'd comp him, no doubt as there'd be hell to pay if they didn't.

Hawkins is a different prospect though. Whitten commanded respect... Hawkins just wants it
Newman "thinks "he's funny.Sam's mailbag and Street Talk are the most moronic segments of TFS.Newman may once of commanded respect,but that's no longer true and many people think he's a Dipshyte.