Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Mosquito fleet resting in the forward line was certainly creative and dangerous and complimented those you have mentioned.

Less interchanges going forward might see more teams of this era doing the same with their midfield brigade.

But can they run through the forward line? :)

Go have a look at his game in the '82 GF, took his spekkie, kicked a sausage, but his pressure on the Richmond guys is unbelievable.

Him and Dominator used to mow down backmen and keep it in the forward line, unheard of in those days.
Exactly right those boys were pressure kings look at his goal of the year, great smother and snap from the pocket.
In that Grumpy old man interview he (The Buzz) reckons he had 17 tackles in a match. What a legend!

Went home to WA post '83, think his old man was crook, and was blitzing it...........there was a rumour he was coming back '84 the weekend of the Footscray game, long weekend (Easter/Queens Birthday????), but the cash wasn't resolved, and it was only something like 5k.

Pretty sure he did the pre-season in '86, then stuffed his ankle on a sprinkler, and that was that.
Real shame, may have been handy in the 86 GF.....

Thought it was time to kick this baby back to life.

What is the first game you ever recall attending? I know for me I started going to the footy around 1978 or 1979. The first match I can still remember being at was the 1979 Grand Final. I know I went to other games prior but that match is the first one I vividly recall being at.

Let us know your earliest Carlton game memory to help pass the summer along!

My earliest memory was in the late 70's i think and I went with the family to VFL Park to watch us play Collingwood and it was Peter Mckenna's first game against the Pies. Im pretty sure we got slaughtered that day!
My greatest memory though is the 99 Prelim and i remember standing out the front of the Essendon change rooms with about 30 other delirious Blues fans chanting "get ****** Essendon" over and over for what seemed like an hour:p. Growing up in Moonee Ponds and being a St Bernard's boy i had a pretty strong hatred of anything red and black !!
I remember Jo Silvagni walking past us and she was absolutely cacking herself laughing and one of my mates put her on the phone to another mate who wasnt there and she happily spoke to him for a few minutes!!
Ah so many memories...

Last edited by a moderator:
Was sitting directly behind the smother and kick at Waverley that day. Who did he smother, one of the Nankervis's?

One of my all time favourite Carlton highlights that one.
The smother, gather and then the composure to kick the ball around the corner for a sausage. What a player!
And he still loves the footy club also.

Did some tendons in an arm driving it through a glass panel post-match in WA one day. Can't have helped things much.

My mate Glenn Manton did a similar thing - put his elbow through a window. This is why he wore than elbow guard, but more as a reminder how hard he had to work to get back to AFL level.

I can't really remember much of my first AFL game, but I know it was against WCE at Princes Park. We drove the 4 hours to Melbourne for it and I was pretty excited.

My brother went for the Eagles at the time so Mama MEB jumped on their bandwagon to keep it even. I remember that we kicked the Eagles' arses so my brother had to deal with my gloating the 4 hours back to Wangaratta. I have a vague memory of having to stand on an esky or something so I could see? I guess we didn't have seats. It must have been around 1993 or 1994.

I can't really remember much of my first AFL game, but I know it was against WCE at Princes Park. We drove the 4 hours to Melbourne for it and I was pretty excited.

My brother went for the Eagles at the time so Mama MEB jumped on their bandwagon to keep it even. I remember that we kicked the Eagles' arses so my brother had to deal with my gloating the 4 hours back to Wangaratta. I have a vague memory of having to stand on an esky or something so I could see? I guess we didn't have seats. It must have been around 1993 or 1994.

It wasn't this game by any chance? If it was, you would have seen one of the all time best goals at Princes Park

First game my dad took me to Princes Park in about '70 or 71.

I was between 4 and 5 . Don't remember who we played or even if we won. We'd recently come down from country Vic and I just remember being completely overwhelmed by the sounds and sights and a general feeling that the place was coming off its hinges.

Swarms of kids running amok up and down the wooden grands stands with steel soft drink cans squashed onto their shoes, so they made the sort of noise you see in old movies where the prisoners drag their tin cups against the bars of the cells.

Still more kids smashing the fences and signs with open hands to make more racket.

Just when the din got as loud as you can think a noise can be the chant went up "CARLTON smash smash smash, Carlton smash smash smash" it was like South Korean protest rally from the 80's minus the water cannon.

I was scared shitless until the game started and then some normality returned .

Awesome!

You've got one over me, MEB. Was living in Perth when Bradley went fully sick that day.

Typical. Was waiting all day for you in the social club for a coffee. You'd do anything to get out of a shout.

My first was Rd 2, 1975 v Collingwood at Princes Park. After a few aborted attempts standing on steel beer cans for a better view (only the softies were aluminium) dad decided to walk my brother and I (aged 5 & 7) down to stand behind the seat on the fence. He disappeared to stand back a few rows with his mates and at 3foot nothing with the crowd packed in like sardines at the scoreboard end it was a pretty intimidating first impression of VFL footy.

Surprisingly there were a few kind hearted Collingwood fans sitting on a hand knitted Collingwood blanket in The front row who invited me to sit on the seat with them. Having explained that I actually barracked for Peter McKenna (courtesy of Hey Hey on Saturday mornings no doubt) they worked hard to convert me all game.

Fortunately for me the Blues won by plenty and dad wasn't entertaining the idea of anyone in our house barracking for Collingwood. McKenna crossed to the Navy Blues a few years later and I cherish many childhood memories swaggering around in my Navy Blue jumper knowing I supported the greatest club in the VFL.