Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Just following on from bluegal1983, my brother and I took our cousin from the UK to a game at the MCG about 20 years ago. No idea who was playing, but that's not important. We bought him a pie with sauce to really get into the spirit of going to an AFL game in Australia.

He couldn't figure out how to get the sauce out of the small packet exactly like the ones we get today. My brother and I both showed him how to squeeze it to get the sauce out, but when he tried it, rather than pointing it at the pie, he was pointing it at the guy sitting in front of him. Because we told him to give it fair old squeeze, the sauce went all over the bloke in front of him. All over his back, and some in his hair.

10 goal 3rd quarter, was there and will never forget that game, we were lucky to only be down by about 39 pts as Geelong kicked badly.

Sos kicked one of the best left foot goals on the run I have ever seen from right on 50.

That was the bi-polar team of 1990. Some huge comebacks that year. Came from nine goals down against Melbourne to lose by a goal, beat the great Hawthorn team by 11 goals and lost to Sydney, at home, in round one after being seven goals up. :confused:

That Geelong game was one of the best I've ever attended.

Just following on from bluegal1983, my brother and I took our cousin from the UK to a game at the MCG about 20 years ago. No idea who was playing, but that's not important. We bought him a pie with sauce to really get into the spirit of going to an AFL game in Australia.

He couldn't figure out how to get the sauce out of the small packet exactly like the ones we get today. My brother and I both showed him how to squeeze it to get the sauce out, but when he tried it, rather than pointing it at the pie, he was pointing it at the guy sitting in front of him. Because we told him to give it fair old squeeze, the sauce went all over the bloke in front of him. All over his back, and some in his hair.
You were lucky I didn't say something harsh. Still smell like tomato sauce on a warm day with the wind from the north.

Not sure this is the thread to bring up how often you shower Thy.

Oh another one, the 1992 Centenary match Carlton vs Collingwood. Was amazing
My Pies supporting friend didn't talk to me the whole way back to Adelaide.

Great call Neese!

Awesome game and I reckon we came off a 4 day break to play that match??

You didnt visit Iceland a few years back and stand on one of their mountains with a stiff northwesterly blowing?

That could explain that massive 'volcanic ash cloud' from a couple of years ago... it was thy giving himself a brisk airing.

What about some memories of the old suburban grounds...

I recall standing in the outer at Windy Hill one day in the early to mid 80's. Essendon spanked us by 120 odd points. I remember as they ticked over to triple figures a Carlton supporter yelling out in exasperation 'Do something Parkin!!!'...I didn't have the heart to tell him there was not a lot that could be done!

Also made the trip down the highway to Geelong with a massive hangover, was a hot north wind day and the dust and dirt was blowing right into your face, it was just a sea of knitted footy jumpers with the number 5 sown in! The bloke in front of me was sitting on a fold out chair and it collapsed on him and he got wedged in it, from memory we got beaten and it was a long trek home!

Good days and I must the tribal aspect of the old home ground advantage!! :) :thumbsu:

Don't know, I was't there the weekend before.

I did go to Kardinia Park the weekend after the Centenary match to see Crows vs Geelong. Crows lost by 20+ goals, Andrew Jarman got fully abused all day and I had to stand up. I got abused for cheering for the Crows. Long train ride back to the city. Was an experience!!!

It was and I reckon we played the Dogs on the Sunday before??
Think you will find that Collingwood played Sunday also.

Sticks was terrific that night with 7 goals, Sos kicked 4, Williams and Bradley over 30 touches each and Hogg belted Tony Francis on the nose also.:thumbsu:

show_image.php

This guy could seriously play, 3rd in The Brownlow in 1999 then cut down by injuries.

What about some memories of the old suburban grounds...

I recall standing in the outer at Windy Hill one day in the early to mid 80's. Essendon spanked us by 120 odd points. I remember as they ticked over to triple figures a Carlton supporter yelling out in exasperation 'Do something Parkin!!!'...I didn't have the heart to tell him there was not a lot that could be done!

Also made the trip down the highway to Geelong with a massive hangover, was a hot north wind day and the dust and dirt was blowing right into your face, it was just a sea of knitted footy jumpers with the number 5 sown in! The bloke in front of me was sitting on a fold out chair and it collapsed on him and he got wedged in it, from memory we got beaten and it was a long trek home!

Good days and I must the tribal aspect of the old home ground advantage!! :) :thumbsu:

I got taken to see a Fitzroy vs Carlton at the Junction oval once... my friends family were all Roy Boys members... so I am stuck in the Fitzroy members area, trying to cheer for Carlton and my mate and his family were getting a bit pissy with me... so I went off to find somewhere else where I could cheer for the Blues.

We rarely played the Roys at the Junction Oval, usually there was one at PP and the other at VFL Park.

Beautiful surface at the Junction mind you. Probably that and PP, the best of all Suburban grounds.

We rarely played the Roys at the Junction Oval, usually there was one at PP and the other at VFL Park.

Beautiful surface at the Junction mind you. Probably that and PP, the best of all Suburban grounds.

It was a mud bowl on this day... absolutely trashed... I think it was either 75 or 76.

Just went through the fixtures... round 10, 1975... so that made me 11 years old. Damn... nearly 40 years.

My older brothers were Fitzroy supporters and took me once to the Junction Oval. Remember their CHF Bernie Quinlan, a pretty good kick for goal and could roost a ball.

He was a bit after the time I went there... but they did use to have this little guy... flea. biggest balls ever