Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Thanks Blues 177!! I jumped the fence in 72 as an 11 year old and other than an old photo from the Sun which shows me, have never seen that footage of the lap of honour. As a 52 yo, it made my day to be able to see myself in the lap of honour as an 11 yo. Great work!

The colour highlights of the '72 grand final and the other games is included in the DVD 'Year of the Dogs' documentary from 1996. It was included in that DVD as additional footy features.

I kept the 2002 grand final footy record (Bris v Coll) because it contained a fantastic 10 page article on the 1972 grand final by journo Bruce Eva. There is a black and white photo of the players doing the lap of honour and a young boy wearing a light shirt holding a bunch of magazines or papers running alongside Nicholls. A note was added if anyone knows the identity of the child to contact Bruce Eva. Is that you? If you google 'Football Record - State Library of Victoria' you can view any footy record.

Never seen 1972 gf in colour, '73 was televised in colour, but not in Australia, first one I reckon was 1975, when those hideous (Essendon - Red, Richmond - yellow) colour shorts came in, and Hawthorn started wearing pixie boots. :cool:

Yes, the sensational seventies DVD mentioned the transmission of colour for footy footage was in 1975

The 1974 grand final between Richmond and Nth Melb was produced in colour but at the time was transmitted in black and white. The sensational seventies DVD shows the 74 grand final in black and white but now when shown during a footy flashbacks segment or footy marathon on TV it is shown in colour.

I remember watching the GF with a couple of friends. At 3/4 time we were crying because Collingwood looked the winners. We didn't think the wobbles could get them.

The irony of 1977 was Mike wasn't calling the game. It was the first GF I could remember where he hadn't called the game because he'd been replaced by Lou Richards. His perennial "I tipped this" would have been spot on. :rolleyes:

I could not watch the second half of the 1977 drawn grand final on TV because I had to attend a family friend's wedding. It was the first live grand final on TV and I was disappointed that I could not see the end of it.

My mum, sister and I got on the no.48 tram in Nth Balwyn soon before 3/4 time and headed for the wedding at the Greek church in Victoria Pde in East Melbourne. I took my transistor radio with me to listen to the rest of the game and thought that Tom Hafey would be the man that would end the colliwobbles.

We got off the tram at Wellington Pde and began walking through the Fitzroy gardens towards the church in Victoria Pde. By that stage the grand final was deep into the last quarter. I will never forget the huge rumble that came from the G and reverberated around the Fitzroy gardens, especially when Bill Picken took a crucial mark and his resulting kick being marked by twiggy Dunne who levelled the scores. When the siren sounded I was delighted because it meant that the footy was still alive and I could watch the whole replay on TV the following week! A bloke walking towards us in the gardens noticed I had a radio, that I was excited and he asked me the outcome of the game.

My dad met us at the church after he finished work and jokingly said to me that the game was rigged because the VFL and channel 7 wanted an extra game.

Peter Ewen was the commentator who replaced Mike Williamson and called the 77 grand final with Lou Richards. Ewen was on channel 7 for only one season and was replaced in 1978 by Peter Landy.

I could not watch the second half of the 1977 drawn grand final on TV because I had to attend a family friend's wedding. It was the first live grand final on TV and I was disappointed that I could not see the end of it.

Sat at the Punt Road end that day with the family, never forgot Ray Shaw hugging Peter Hafey, Tom's brother who was the runner, at 3qt.

The old man piped up with the Never celebrate at 3 quarter time, line.

Sutton went forward, Tiger went back, Manassa gave out a gift in the goal square, Arnie kicked 0.6, and Snake Baker went bonkers..........................then frigging Twiggy Dunne took that bloody mark, and kicked a spiral from 20 yards.

....and we all had to turn up a week later. :cool:

Will always remember Fev annihilating Collingwood and Harry O specifically. Was right behind the goals when he had that magical quarter and scooped the ball from a defender's legs to kick a goal over his head.

Really thought it was going to be the beginning of magical times for the Blues and would be my first time seeing us be flag contenders.

How things change. :(

I'm looking down Memory Lane, and yes Immortal Tyrant, it appears I've reached a cul de sac. Fifty years of memories and I'm at a loss for a significant tale at the moment. I like to maintain a quality of post and the ideas at the moment don't have the wow factor.

I'm old enough to remember the great EJ Whitten playing football at the Western Oval and lobbing the footy into the crowd with the assistance of the gentle breeze that wafted across the ground from the Members to the Outer. Led to a rule change eventually. I remember the footage of Teddy playing his last game of footy. 321 games, I think. At 3/4 time the boys would often don the dressing gown to keep warm. On this day it was cold and muddy. In the middle of the group standing and imploring his team for one last effort. His words are ringing in my ear and I'm using them for all those out there with great stories of their own "I want you to inspire me". I couldn't have put it any better, Mr Football.

It's after the game now and I'm catching the bus home. I seem to know a few of these guys. I know this song. "Oh what a lovely pie me boys, a four'n'twenty pie...." There's Ted. "Oi!" :footy:

One of our greatest players in big games and grand finals.

Wayne Harmes #37

show_image.php

can not believe he did not make carlton's team of the century

was thinking abt starting an appreciation thread for carlton's 3/4 - 1979, 1981-2 teams - rarely mentioned in the greatest teams of all time but a fun time for carlton supporters.....

favourite players from the era for me; harmes, johnston, ashman, doull, hunter & bosustow

Guys I'm seriously lovin this thread. To give you an idea of how keen I am, last years final against Richmond was the first finals game in Melbourne I failed to attend since the Prelim Final of 1976! So some of the names you're bringing up ring loud & clear. To this day Bruce Doull is the best Carlton player I've had the pleasure of watching. From there you could throw a blanket over half a dozen or so, Kouta, Diesel, Dominator, Sticks, Braddles etc etc etc.
I grew up watching home games in front of the press box with my old man. How many times between 1981-1983 did we blow sides with Parkin Premiership quarter?
Great great times.

That was my prime period at PP, TB. Were you that mongrel who jumped the beer queue on me back in 81?
Mate I was 17 then so "no". In 1986-1988 I watched games with the Carlton Grog Squad. Gee we had some fun. It helped that we won almost every game we played in those years.

Guys I'm seriously lovin this thread. To give you an idea of how keen I am, last years final against Richmond was the first finals game in Melbourne I failed to attend since the Prelim Final of 1976! So some of the names you're bringing up ring loud & clear. To this day Bruce Doull is the best Carlton player I've had the pleasure of watching. From there you could throw a blanket over half a dozen or so, Kouta, Diesel, Dominator, Sticks, Braddles etc etc etc.
I grew up watching home games in front of the press box with my old man. How many times between 1981-1983 did we blow sides with Parkin Premiership quarter?
Great great times.

funny most of the names you mention are from the kernahan era ; maybe that era had more "a" graders but the mosquito fleet era had more depth ?

I reckon in the "Mosquito Fleet" years we had a more even side. Remember there's plenty of people who reckon the salary cap came about because Carlton "supposedly" bought a premiership in 87. So yes there were some stand outs in those days.

Great great times.

ps; pity you missed the richmond final ; great day ... best game I had been to since the 99 prelim

Yep, times change unfortunately. I now live 220kms north of Melbourne & am heavily involved in a local footy club. So much so I didn't get to even one game last year. Still a member though, have been since 1978.

I see you list your location as Upper Kumbukta West. I must ask, how are Mrs McGillicuddy & her son Robert these days? They must miss the halcyon days of the '70s through to the '90s.

He should be in it by default after kicking that goal from five rows back! ;)

Come on BG1983, he didn't kick it, Sheldon did!!! Stuff like this cannot be said in the Memory Lane thread! :)

Great great times.

Were you the 'whistler'????