Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

The Premiership quarter and the whistler!!!
Lost track of how many times in the early 80s we were able to turnaround a half-time deficit with a great performance in the premiership quarter.

Hey boys I'm not to much further behind in age finishing year 12 in "95" (what a great year by the way) and I used to go to PP every week and a few of the old boys from my high school used to sit behind the goals with a sex doll in a Carlton jumper and a blow up banana I think, do you remember that??

Thanks for trying to make us feel better but 6 years younger is a fair bit. I do recall the sex doll and banana!

And just getting back to the thread one of my favorites was The Buzz and when he left I added a #1 in front of the #4 on the dufflecoat and Rod Ashman became one of my favorites (plus it was probably an easy fix by the old man ;))

Pretty sure Bosustow only played 3 seasons and around 50 games for us but man what an impact he had!!

Came over in 81 and I think he finished in 83 ? I did hear he was a bit of a lad and would be out till 3 or 4 in the morning on match days, didn't seem to impact his on ground performance. He was an absolute ripper.

I have a feeling he tried to make a comeback but then put his fist through a window and suffered a major injury that put a stop to it.

As a little kid I couldn't understand why he ever left and went back to WA, just a super skillful footballer who was doing Ablett Snr sh*t before Ablett Snr!!
About 2:25 in he mentions going back to WA

I have a feeling he tried to make a comeback but then put his fist through a window and suffered a major injury that put a stop to it.

Went home to WA post '83, think his old man was crook, and was blitzing it...........there was a rumour he was coming back '84 the weekend of the Footscray game, long weekend (Easter/Queens Birthday????), but the cash wasn't resolved, and it was only something like 5k.

Pretty sure he did the pre-season in '86, then stuffed his ankle on a sprinkler, and that was that.

Was just reading this article the other day and loved watching everyone of these blokes go around in the Navy Blue all very worthy of the selection.
Is there anyone you think is stiff to miss out on being in this side?

CARLTON’S BEST OF THE AFL ERA

B: Kade Simpson, Stephen Silvagni, Peter Dean

HB: Andy McKay, Michael Sexton, Mil Hanna

C: Craig Bradley, Greg Williams, Fraser Brown

HF: Marc Murphy, Stephen Kernahan (captain), Brett Ratten

F: Eddie Betts, Brendan Fevola, Lance Whitnall

R: Justin Madden, Anthony Koutoufides, Chris Judd

I: From: Ange Christou, Bryce Gibbs, Scott Camporeale, Heath Scotland

Coach: David Parkin

Went home to WA post '83, think his old man was crook, and was blitzing it...........there was a rumour he was coming back the weekend of the Footscray game, long weekend (Easter/Queens Birthday????), but the cash wasn't resolved, and it was only something like 5k.

Pretty sure he did the pre-season in '86, then stuffed his ankle on a sprinkler, and that was that.
Spot on Stig

I started going to the footy pre-Barassi. 1964! Richmond were playing at Punt Rd. St. Kilda played at the Junction Oval. Fitzroy played at Brunswick St. Oval. 1965 Richmond were at the MCG, St Kilda at Moorabbin and North Melbourne played matches at the City Oval, Coburg. I can still smell the stench of the mud when we played at the venue that year.

Form 6, passed HSC in 1974. Your results depended on doing well in 3 hour exams at the end of the year. Now that's pressure.

Was just reading this article the other day and loved watching everyone of these blokes go around in the Navy Blue all very worthy of the selection.
Is there anyone you think is stiff to miss out on being in this side?

CARLTON’S BEST OF THE AFL ERA

B: Kade Simpson, Stephen Silvagni, Peter Dean

HB: Andy McKay, Michael Sexton, Mil Hanna

C: Craig Bradley, Greg Williams, Fraser Brown

HF: Marc Murphy, Stephen Kernahan (captain), Brett Ratten

F: Eddie Betts, Brendan Fevola, Lance Whitnall

R: Justin Madden, Anthony Koutoufides, Chris Judd

I: From: Ange Christou, Bryce Gibbs, Scott Camporeale, Heath Scotland

Coach: David Parkin

Earl Spalding??

It was difficult being Peter Bosustow. Very much a supernova. Inevitable that he shone brightly and vanished. Over the years very few players had that wow factor but Buzz had it in spades.

Go have a look at his game in the '82 GF, took his spekkie, kicked a sausage, but his pressure on the Richmond guys is unbelievable.

Him and Dominator used to mow down backmen and keep it in the forward line, unheard of in those days.

It was difficult being Peter Bosustow. Very much a supernova. Inevitable that he shone brightly and vanished. Over the years very few players had that wow factor but Buzz had it in spades.

The problem we had with Buzz was that he was never fully cleared from his club in Perth. Not sure how we got 3 years out of him, but he'll go down as one of Carltons best.

Go have a look at his game in the '82 GF, took his spekkie, kicked a sausage, but his pressure on the Richmond guys is unbelievable.

Him and Dominator used to mow down backmen and keep it in the forward line, unheard of in those days.
Superbly illustrated in his 1981 Goal of the Year.

Loved watching him, brought genuine excitement to me as a young Blues fan and was one of the reasons I fell in love with the game.

Back in those days, we had Sellers at CHF, and big Swanny McKay at ff. Both terrific marks, but utterly useless once the ball hit the deck. Buzz coming into that side with the little mosquito fleet whizzing about, was the icing on the cake forward.

'Course he had a WA mate in Kenny Hunter that made the flight over in 1981..........................
Sticks and Bradley came over in '86, but geez ........................

Back in those days, we had Sellers at CHF, and big Swanny McKay at ff. Both terrific marks, but utterly useless once the ball hit the deck. Buzz coming into that side with the little mosquito fleet whizzing about, was the icing on the cake forward.

'Course he had a WA mate in Kenny Hunter that made the flight over in 1981..........................
Sticks and Bradley came over in '86, but geez ........................
Mosquito fleet resting in the forward line was certainly creative and dangerous and complimented those you have mentioned.

Less interchanges going forward might see more teams of this era doing the same with their midfield brigade.

Thought it was time to kick this baby back to life.

What is the first game you ever recall attending? I know for me I started going to the footy around 1978 or 1979. The first match I can still remember being at was the 1979 Grand Final. I know I went to other games prior but that match is the first one I vividly recall being at.

Let us know your earliest Carlton game memory to help pass the summer along!
Although I went to a handful of games at the MCG in early 1974, my first real memory is of seeing us play Geelong at Princes Park in the second half of 1974. Mark Maclure made his debut that day, playing on a half back flank & it was a fiery encounter, with a number of players reported (including Maclure). We won by 73 points in what was probably our best performance of a disappointing season.

We need a Buzz. Not to save us, to exhilarate us. Cripps isn't it. He's still coming.