Universal Love Down Memory Lane

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Tbh we weren’t the strongest of lists, essentially had 2 elite, but we really trailed off.

From memory, Dean, Naley and Frazer Murphy came in for, Evans, Blackwell and Sartori.

Yep, when I watch this team the part that stands out is some plodders in side like McKenzie and Kennedy would not have made the best team in the era before it. Even Robertson was nippy but not whole lot of class. Glascott was getting on and so was Hunter. Doro was no Perovic. Most of our guys from early 80's team gone or past their best but Dom, Sticks, Braddles and young SOS so much elite class we got the job done. Motley without the sad sliding doors moment would have meant far more class. The least talented best 18 of the 5 Carlton premiership teams I seen. It was a special one after dropping 86 in bad fashion and the emotions around Mots and English. We owed those Hawks big time. It was so good to run over top of them on grand final day.

Man, look at how dry our ground is in middle of winter in 1982. ****, what a dry year it must have been back then.
Extremely dry (although there was some rain during the '82 GF), ultimately resulting in the Ash Wednesday bushfires in Feb 1983. The older ones here will remember the massive dust cloud which engulfed Melbourne in the week before Ash Wednesday.

Don’t forget, when Sticks, Braddles, Doro, Naley came over, they were 22-24 years old, they’d done their apprenticeship.

Always say the draft age currently is at least a year too early.
Agree, if nothing else, it interrupts exam time for those doing Yr 12. Pretty important if the footy career doesn’t pan out.

Extremely dry (although there was some rain during the '82 GF), ultimately resulting in the Ash Wednesday bushfires in Feb 1983. The older ones here will remember the massive dust cloud which engulfed Melbourne in the week before Ash Wednesday.

It was very dry that year and ironically it rained a few times during grand final week. I was hoping for more rain on grand final day as it would adversely affect the tigers due to their tall timber. Our sides from '78-'82 could adapt to all conditions. Watching the game at home I remember it even pelted down with hail just after the grand final started (and at the G according to the commentators) and we kicked 3 goals within a few minutes.

One of the things that made football a very different game in the 80s and 90s was the ground conditions.

It was not unusual to see the centre square completely covered in mud and not a blade of grass. Struggling to think of the last time i saw mud on an AFL ground in the last few years.

In those days, all the ovals had cricket wickets in the middle.

Moorabbin however, used to receive extremely isolated thunderstorms on the Friday night before home games.

Then Tony Jewell fessed up and said he grabbed a few beers and did a bit gardening around the midnight hour.

In the 1980's before a Moorabbin game started the Carlton players were encouraged to grab some mud and rub it over their bodies so they could quickly acclimatise to the conditions. The players then noticed a horrible smell and started laughing. Justin Madden had rubbed himself with some manure that came from a police horse that previously patrolled the ground.

I can imagine Justin Madden doing that :D

Here’s a little known fact. Alan Mangels and myself clashed as opposing skippers when Oak Park Primary School took on Glenroy Primary School in 1968.
He went on to attend Oak Park High School....he was in the 5th form when me and my best mate back then started in 1st form...I remember Alan was just a barrel of a guy who was with Carlton at that stage. I was in awe of him of course being a Carlton player.

Nice side story though...my best mate was a kid by the name of Wayne Harmes....even as a 12 year old kid in his first year of high school straight out of primary school, he was every bit as good as Al Mangels at that time....probably better. Wayne was just a freak of a junior footballer (I can tell the story about how he was so close to being at Nth Melb under Ron Barassi if anyone is interested, we very nearly never got him).

Just thought I'd do a bit of name dropping....it even got better when Jim Buckley and Ken Sheldon came down from the bush in 1977 to do their HSC at Oak Park High School after Carlton had recruited them....Jimmy and myself became buddies in no time through the Harmesy connection, and I was doing a pre season with the Under 19's at that time...the first thing he asked me at his first day of high school was "where's the closest TAB to here?" :D

I actually took him down there that lunchtime....my grandmother's house was in between the high school and the shopping centre with the TAB down by the train station...she was a mad Carlton supporter and was out in the front yard doing some gardening as we passed by...I introduced Jimmy to my grandmother...and every time after that, he would pass by my grandmother's place on his way to the TAB, and stop to have a chat with her....hard as a cat's head, but a complete gentleman, our Jimmy :thumbsu:

Kenny was a ripper....I remember when he was picked for his first senior game, and he came over with that big Kenny smile to tell me he'd been selected. I dragged my Mum along to the game at PP against the Cats to support him...it was bucketing down all day and we were huddled in the outer under an umbrella...he was so rapt that we went along that day to give him support. Just a gem, Kenny.

Anyway, we could have had a fair school footy team...in fact Barry Davis was our sports teacher at that time!!!!

aggghhhhhhh....memories......it's great to re-live those times....

Seems if you have access to fox footy channel tonight they have Carlton v North game from 1987 on it, followed by a Winners episode from 1982 when we play Collingwood at home.
I wonder if the 1987 game is the final round game in amazing end to 1987 home and away season ?

would have to be - was directly behind sticks' kick - what a shootout that was - at arctic park
7-3o pm tonight it is on. Seems the full game too. Someone record it FFS!!!
someone here did for those that missed it.
Thank you!!!
Will be on their youtube channel to see from start

He went on to attend Oak Park High School....he was in the 5th form when me and my best mate back then started in 1st form...I remember Alan was just a barrel of a guy who was with Carlton at that stage. I was in awe of him of course being a Carlton player.

Nice side story though...my best mate was a kid by the name of Wayne Harmes....even as a 12 year old kid in his first year of high school straight out of primary school, he was every bit as good as Al Mangels at that time....probably better. Wayne was just a freak of a junior footballer (I can tell the story about how he was so close to being at Nth Melb under Ron Barassi if anyone is interested, we very nearly never got him).

Just thought I'd do a bit of name dropping....it even got better when Jim Buckley and Ken Sheldon came down from the bush in 1977 to do their HSC at Oak Park High School after Carlton had recruited them....Jimmy and myself became buddies in no time through the Harmesy connection, and I was doing a pre season with the Under 19's at that time...the first thing he asked me at his first day of high school was "where's the closest TAB to here?" :D

I actually took him down there that lunchtime....my grandmother's house was in between the high school and the shopping centre with the TAB down by the train station...she was a mad Carlton supporter and was out in the front yard doing some gardening as we passed by...I introduced Jimmy to my grandmother...and every time after that, he would pass by my grandmother's place on his way to the TAB, and stop to have a chat with her....hard as a cat's head, but a complete gentleman, our Jimmy :thumbsu:

Kenny was a ripper....I remember when he was picked for his first senior game, and he came over with that big Kenny smile to tell me he'd been selected. I dragged my Mum along to the game at PP against the Cats to support him...it was bucketing down all day and we were huddled in the outer under an umbrella...he was so rapt that we went along that day to give him support. Just a gem, Kenny.

Anyway, we could have had a fair school footy team...in fact Barry Davis was our sports teacher at that time!!!!

aggghhhhhhh....memories......it's great to re-live those times....
I wasn’t far away. I went to Glenroy High School so we’re almost paese. I’m working today as a casual. I’ll get back to you with some tales.

I'll never forget as a 9 year old at Moorabbin watching Lockett kick 10 at least on Silvagni, the banging on the fence and there supporters.....scared....
was at an infernal wedding that day with a radio and earplug - were we smashed or did we lose by a point - can't recall - stupid wedding

I think we got done, I honestly worried for my Dad and my safety they were feral and you could feel the hatred..
I went there once, never felt any concern. They are feral, but harmless feral..lol
We won by 140 points the game I went.

not likely to arc up much with a loss like that - even the animal enclosure would have been beaten into submission by the score