Strategy Draft assistance 2023 [Twomey: NMFC get #19 in 2023, x2 end of 1st rd picks in 2024, and x2 extra rookie list spots in 2024; no Sanders/#11]

Talk back radio today...
1de1a855870a8ce71e907dfd2a9e5963.jpg

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
It’s been fun reading the melts but I’m not sure I can be ****ed listening to Neanderthals speak about it.

I agree with sentiment of this post.

I think that we probably need to account for the possibility that AC may not be our last great hope of ultimate success - he isn’t infallible.

The guy has worked with an army of talent to win 4 premierships which is incredible. He made bold moves early in his coaching career that almost always worked out. There was a bit of luck in getting (what many would say would be) the player of the new millennium for instance and the assistance Hawthorn received made a huge difference in the first few years in delivering hope for the future.

I don’t think we should be surprised if he makes some hair-scratching decisions along the way or gets a few trade calls going the wrong way.
No doubt the Hawks got some fortunate their way but they were incredibly savvy as well. They turned Thompson into Lewis, Lonie into Birchall.

They did have the occasional fail as well, like drafting Thorp in the 1st round. Max Bailey didn't set the world on fire for the Hay trade.

We might be part way to some savvy moves, a 2nd for Logue, Wardlaw for JHF. I could see both of these players being big contributors on the last day in Sept.

This will be an interesting draft / trade period especially if we get Band 1 for McKay. By Nov, we could have set up everything we need for a premiership window like the 90s.

Nothing funnier than clubs perpetually gorging themselves at the banquet table of structural inequity frothing at their overindulged gobs at the prospect that we get some crumbs.

Funny that this is the only time that the word "fairness" pops into their deluded brains. They are so busy believing their constructed narrative that they are self-made heroes of hard work & flawless decision-making that they cannot hear the hypocrisy dripping from their tongues.
Perfectly said.

But just as bad is not one sycophant from the massive afl media business can spell it out simply to the hyper ventilators out in the public domain.

Watching GWS running around on Friday night was another reminder that having the draft picks doesn’t guarantee anything - the ones that work out usually take time, and a lot else has to go right to turn the talent into a team that can reach and win big finals.

The assistance gives us the opportunity to rise off the bottom a bit faster than we would with natural draft picks alone, which is what it’s designed to do. But it’s still just a potential opportunity and it’s up to the club to make things happen. I think making it later picks is smart - puts more onus back on North.

Did that flog not sound like he had north’s finals stats written on a posted note before he walked in. He was just ready to go, ready to argue. campaigner
Such a straw man argument, you can cherry pick a stat to "what-about-xxx" for just about anything.... here's one at "random" St Kilda START of first round priority picks in 2000 & 2001, but, but, but they played in a GF in 1997, "what about" the Bulldogs, they hadn't played in a GF since 1961!

Just bull$hit clickbait outrage

Don’t know about anyone else, but I’m extremely nervous about what Brady is going to do with these extra picks. The meltdowns on the main board will have nothing on the meltdowns on this one.

Thought he did well last year:
  • Logue and Turner for a 2nd and a 3rd,
  • Sheezel, Wardlaw, F1 via our 1st and JHF swap.

Worth keeping in mind, he is now working with Viney / Clarko rather than Noble / Amarfio.

Don’t have to stress mate. Clarko has his fingerprints over every single football department decision made from here on out.

You reckon Clarkson will sit in the background and have no input?

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Honestly I kind of agree with him. We don't need these picks. (Provided we get proper compo for McKay.)

Maybe one of them would have been fair enough but we all know how good our younger players are. We have enough talent that we should build a dynasty anyway but especially now.

The pick package is clearly constructed to be traded for ready made players which is what will make us more competitive quickly.

23 #40 - Z. Fisher
23 #52 - D. Stephens
24 #19 - S. Darcy
24 #20 - J. Scrimshaw

When GWS and GC came into the competition, both were given opportunities to prelist underage talent for trading with the intended purpose of bringing in ready made players to make them more competitive quickly. GC did that but GWS manipulated the system and traded those prelists for more early picks. We have a similar choice to make.

The proof is in the pudding a bit there.

Judging by the reaction of non-north people this package must be even better than I thought. There have been some extraordinary reactions.
It just seems to me that some people really cannot handle the idea of people who they perceive as being lesser than them getting a helping hand of any kind.

Strategy Draft assistance 2023 [Twomey: NMFC get #19 in 2023, x2 end of 1st rd picks in 2024, and x2 extra rookie list spots in 2024; no Sanders/#11]