Draft camp invitees - confirmed

footyman said:
he's what you call an athlete ;)
And a very good one at that, but I would want to see Bronik V Gianfagna in a 5km time trial, I know where my money is going to be placed....

tiggy train said:
i like to keep to my self down there they are gay

give it up mate stop living life believing something u r not.
the jets players have been notified the three players going to the screening are dickson, lyons, and edwards, that is what i have been informed.

boys_light_up said:
the jets players have been notified the three players going to the screening are dickson, lyons, and edwards, that is what i have been informed.
yes, which means clifton and sutcliffe miss out.

Clifton no surprise, I guess his height is a small problem (for a 'key position') as is his lack of ball getting ability - which he should have worked on all season but its too late now.

Sutcliffe got seen last year at screening but probably hasn't enhanced his reputation any more this year.

The other three certainly deserve an invite.

footyman do u think that edwards or lyons will be drafted this year? i know ur a fan of edwards, i think imo that dickson should be at least rookied.

boys_light_up said:
footyman do u think that edwards or lyons will be drafted this year? i know ur a fan of edwards, i think imo that dickson should be at least rookied.
It is tough to know what might happen with those two given they are bottom age players.

Edwards is the most likely draftee of the three, I'm fairly confident on that. But as you pointed out I have given him a wrap enough this season.

I love the way Lyons goes about his footy and can be as exciting as anyone to watch, he has stood up and picked up a lot of possessions this season as a bottom age player, but he is short and he isn't a real tough nut. Not a lot of below 180cm guys get taken, say half a dozen go at the absolute most, I think you will find there are others ahead of him.

Dickson is probably a rookie list type, I agree with that.

footyman said:
Aside from the carnival, if you had seen Simon Phillips play you'd know why he didn't get an invite.

This is an interesting comment and I would like to know more. Obviously vic metro thought he could play and that is why he got a gig. Yes I have only seen his vic metro games and I liked what I saw.
His kicking may not be the best but I could put a lot of kids into that catagory.
Are you suggesting he has major deficiencies in his games that didn't come to the forward in the championships or is it more to do with charracter issues.
His stats from the TAC suggesst he should at least have got a screening invite.

missionpossible said:
This is an interesting comment and I would like to know more. Obviously vic metro thought he could play and that is why he got a gig. Yes I have only seen his vic metro games and I liked what I saw.
His kicking may not be the best but I could put a lot of kids into that catagory.
Are you suggesting he has major deficiencies in his games that didn't come to the forward in the championships or is it more to do with charracter issues.
His stats from the TAC suggesst he should at least have got a screening invite.
For a start...he is 172cm. Yeah he is lightning, yeah he is agile, but he is short. You gotta be exceptionally special to be taken at that height. Aaron Davey is short and skinny but he's got 5cm on Phillips.

He did kick goals in the carnival but he only averaged 10 touches a game in those matches. He plays a different role at Sandringham.

I wouldn't have a clue about his character.

It is very difficult to comment based on a couple of championships matches. The clubs watch every week, they've seen him heaps of times and had different spotters look at him. Clubs have ignored better small guys than Simon Phillips in the past I can assure you of that.

footyman said:
For a start...he is 172cm. Yeah he is lightning, yeah he is agile, but he is short. You gotta be exceptionally special to be taken at that height. Aaron Davey is short and skinny but he's got 5cm on Phillips.

He did kick goals in the carnival but he only averaged 10 touches a game in those matches. He plays a different role at Sandringham.

It is very difficult to comment based on a couple of championships matches. The clubs watch every week, they've seen him heaps of times and had different spotters look at him. Clubs have ignored better small guys than Simon Phillips in the past I can assure you of that.

Ok he is short, so are the following

Betts 173 cm
Bell 174 cm
Farmer 174 cm
Byrnes 174cm
Bateman 174 cm
Crawford 174 cm
Miller 174 cm
brent Harvey 172 cm
Krakouer 174 cm
Rodan 171 cm
Matera 171 cm
Wirrpunda 173 cm

looking at that list maybe clubs should be looking at the shorter players without predgudise. It would be interesting to see the amount of players drafted under 175cm that succeed in a percentage and compare that with players picked over 195cm.
There seems to be an unwritten rule that we accept misses with tall players but if you are wrong with a short player you will be hung.
I will agree with you that short players get ignored but I am not a beleiver in that.

footyman said:

Firstly, I think you'll find he's a bit taller than the record tells you at 172cm.... He really is an exceptional talent and his got a pretty good attitude too!

But his physicality is well beyond his size... I believe he could go on to be a midfielder as well as a goal sneak! He's had a great year at Sandy, and played really well last year too.... I think he is really unlucky to miss out, and i hope one club takes a punt on him so my comments can be vindicated!

bomberbluey said:
Firstly, I think you'll find he's a bit taller than the record tells you at 172cm.... He really is an exceptional talent and his got a pretty good attitude too!

But his physicality is well beyond his size... I believe he could go on to be a midfielder as well as a goal sneak! He's had a great year at Sandy, and played really well last year too.... I think he is really unlucky to miss out, and i hope one club takes a punt on him so my comments can be vindicated!
Well I'll trust the measurements I have. The VIS pre-season measurements of players, which I have right here in front of me, says he was 172.5cm and 65.6kg when measured pre-season if you want to be exact.

I'll trust those figures more than the bathroom scales and what mum and dad mark on the wall and measure with a ruler at home.

Anyway whether he is 172cm or 174cm now, the fact is he's short.

does anyone know when the invites for the allies-vic game go out i heard that they came out with the letters for whome are going to the creening days is this true??

chooknafied said:
does anyone know when the invites for the allies-vic game go out i heard that they came out with the letters for whome are going to the creening days is this true??
mmm, don't know about that.

I thought the team from Vic includes players from the sides knocked out in the first week of finals, so in that case how would they decide that already.

I heard that there was going to be some kind of Allies VS Victoria U18 game. Apparently it will be played on the 20th or 21st of September during the school holidays as for the players involved got know idea how they are going to be selected or if they have been already, we will just have to wait and see

I know Ben Home from Nth Adelaide got a screening not sure about the camp boys though

I have heard that Phillip's pace isnt as good as many people are lead to believe. At that size, you are always going to be up against it. From what I have gathered he only played the small forward role for Vic because he wasnt good enough to play midfield. AFL clubs query his role at AFL level because some believe he wont make it as a small forward. At that size for a midfielder, you will get found out at AFL. Look at James Allen for an example (admittedly he did his knee but it still stands).

I havent seen him play but this is what I have heard.

theorangeapple said:
I have heard that Phillip's pace isnt as good as many people are lead to believe. At that size, you are always going to be up against it. From what I have gathered he only played the small forward role for Vic because he wasnt good enough to play midfield. AFL clubs query his role at AFL level because some believe he wont make it as a small forward. At that size for a midfielder, you will get found out at AFL. Look at James Allen for an example (admittedly he did his knee but it still stands).

I havent seen him play but this is what I have heard.

A couple of comments here even though one can assume if no draft camp or screening invite one can now assume he wont be drafted.

His pace is good but by no is he the quickest guy going around, however his advantage is that he gets to top speed very quickly.

As to being found out at that height in the centre as stated above I dont think it is that important (nice to have have as a bonus), it is more recruiting people dont want to go there.

If you say a player wont get drafted because he couldnt get a gig in vic metros midfield we can put a line through a lot more midfield players because murphy and jones spent most of the games in the middle. IIRC against vic country he was moved up the ground in the 3rd quarter and he started to rack up some stats and the question I have about him in the midfield is does he have enough penetration in his game to break the lines.

missionpossible said:
A couple of comments here even though one can assume if no draft camp or screening invite one can now assume he wont be drafted.

His pace is good but by no is he the quickest guy going around, however his advantage is that he gets to top speed very quickly.

As to being found out at that height in the centre as stated above I dont think it is that important (nice to have have as a bonus), it is more recruiting people dont want to go there.

If you say a player wont get drafted because he couldnt get a gig in vic metros midfield we can put a line through a lot more midfield players because murphy and jones spent most of the games in the middle. IIRC against vic country he was moved up the ground in the 3rd quarter and he started to rack up some stats and the question I have about him in the midfield is does he have enough penetration in his game to break the lines.

The query over a players height isnt for marking, its more the size of your body and reach of your arms. Imagine how easyily a bloke about 175cm would get pushed off the ball by a player like Judd (189cm). 14cm is a massive difference if you dont have a pace advantage. Also small midfielders often get dragged forward but their taller opponents and get exposed.

theorangeapple said:
The query over a players height isnt for marking, its more the size of your body and reach of your arms. Imagine how easyily a bloke about 175cm would get pushed off the ball by a player like Judd (189cm). 14cm is a massive difference if you dont have a pace advantage. Also small midfielders often get dragged forward but their taller opponents and get exposed.

I understand that arguement and I would not tend to suggest that one would match up a bell (174cm) on a Judd (189cm) as you are right there is a good 6 inches difference. Mind you if I did and they put judd forward I would think that would be more of a win as it get judd away from his most damaging position.

Mind you having said that If goddard was the 190cm opponent in the centre I would back my guy to get the ball first. Goddard may be stronger but hopefully my guy would be more agile and have more footy smarts.

As far as knocking a small guy off of his feet, this can be harder than it appears as they still tend to have strength.

To use your arguement to the rediculas just imagine if judd (189cm ) had to stand Sandilands (210cm) one would think he would knock over judd and have a greater reach (ok judd has a huge pace advantage).

I just find height is over rated. There is the total package to go through (ie height, pace, agility, endurance, strength, ball skills, and football smarts) and to ignore someone because they fail one part of the game is dangerous. What astounds me is we are quite willing to over look players with football smarts for an athlete that has no idea what he is doing. Mind you an athlete with football smarts and skills is a dream come true (ie M.Voss).

The Nth Ballarat invitees were Grigg, Owen and Tyler... not sure which one they are going to. Draft or screening. Anyone else know any others??????

Local T.V. news said Murray got three going to the national camp, Looby, Drum and Muston. There were 4 going to state Collins and Carlise the only 2 i can remember. The likes of Rowe and Prior normally go to the state screenings for ACT/NSW so they have a better shot of the special rookie list of the swans