Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

• Thread starter Thread starter TheMase

Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Originally posted by Top Dog

please let us pick this kid up :(

TD, I can understand your eagerness to pick up a player as highly sought after as Sampi but the Dogs have enough of these small midfielders. I would prefer one of the bigger midfielders or a key position player with our first pick.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
David Hale's performance at the camp was astounding, for someone his size his vertical leap is amazing.

Apparently Geelong are keen on him, hopefully he's still around at pick 8. The word is that he is the most athletic and agile big man to be seen in the draft's history.

Cheers

and the best thing??

He's a QLDER!

Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Originally posted by WCE2000

This guy will be brilliant, hes still got another year in under 18s so he may not get picked up this year, but if hes still around he will be someone i'd definetaly pick up around the 60 mark.

If he doesnt get drafted, he will be in the top 20 next year for sure, possibly top 10.

He played well against the Irish. How often have you seen him play?

Re: Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Originally posted by The Doctor

TD, I can understand your eagerness to pick up a player as highly sought after as Sampi but the Dogs have enough of these small midfielders. I would prefer one of the bigger midfielders or a key position player with our first pick.

Sampi will be a top class player.
But the chances of the dogs having a hope in hell of drafting him are extremely slim.
Eagles have 3rd pick
And will most likely take Polak
Dockers have 4th pick and will take without a doubt whoever is left out of Polak and Sampi.
I am extremely sure of this.
Sampi is exactly what we need.
He will be a docker next year

Why is everyone in Perth assuming that St.Kilda won't draft Polak?

and Why are the Eagles and Fremantle ONLY considering two players?

Cheers

Re: Re: Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Originally posted by sabre_ac

Sampi will be a top class player.
But the chances of the dogs having a hope in hell of drafting him are extremely slim.
Eagles have 3rd pick
And will most likely take Polak
Dockers have 4th pick and will take without a doubt whoever is left out of Polak and Sampi.
I am extremely sure of this.
Sampi is exactly what we need.
He will be a docker next year

It appears likely but by no means certain.

It does seem highly likely that Hawthorn will take Luke Ball with the first selection. As good a prospect as he is, he'll more than likely not play senior footy next year so that doesn't worry too much.

You are basing your thoughts on St Kilda taking Judd or Hodge at number 2. There's no reason to suggest that this is a certainty at all. Our coaching and recruiting staff have met with both West Australians kids and seem to be impressed with them. What's to say we won't take one of them at number 2. At the same time, why would the Western Australian clubs ignore the talents of Judd and Hodge because they are Victorians? The fact is they would be very interested in them.

Personally I'm hoping the scenario does turn out as you believe it would :-

1) Ball
2) Hodge/Judd - Most saints fans I've spoken too can't split the two of them
3) Polak
4) Sampi
5) Hodge/Judd

Who knows?

Hawthorn or St Kilda could pull a big surprise and the plans of all clubs could be thrown upside down.

Last year the standout kids were Riewoldt, Koschitzke and Didak. They went 1, 2 & 3 in the draft. The 5 players in question do seem the standouts in this years draft but what order and whether they will all go first hasn't been decided yet.

Correct me if I'm wrong guys, but didn't the Lions already say they were claiming David Hale as their one residential selection?

Also, not much talk of who will be taken in the 11 to 20 selections, hard to pick I know, but you Victorians would have a better idea than us interstaters, because you guys get to see the better juniors play most weeks.

Anyway, Port has selection number 15, who do you guys reckon will be the best available talent left by that stage?

Originally posted by Asgardian
Correct me if I'm wrong guys, but didn't the Lions already say they were claiming David Hale as their one residential selection?

Hale comes from Broadbeach?? outside 50kms from the centre of Brisbane... so unless the League pull a swifty and change the rules... he is not eligible under residential selection...

Definitely not. THis is one freebie that Brisbane won't be getting.

Cheers

Also, not much talk of who will be taken in the 11 to 20 selections, hard to pick I know, but you Victorians would have a better idea than us interstaters, because you guys get to see the better juniors play most weeks.

Anyway, Port has selection number 15, who do you guys reckon will be the best available talent left by that stage?

Players like Del Santo, Ladson, Molan, Davidson and Reilly might come into the reckoning at that stage.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Originally posted by sainter

It appears likely but by no means certain.

It does seem highly likely that Hawthorn will take Luke Ball with the first selection. As good a prospect as he is, he'll more than likely not play senior footy next year so that doesn't worry too much.

You are basing your thoughts on St Kilda taking Judd or Hodge at number 2. There's no reason to suggest that this is a certainty at all. Our coaching and recruiting staff have met with both West Australians kids and seem to be impressed with them. What's to say we won't take one of them at number 2. At the same time, why would the Western Australian clubs ignore the talents of Judd and Hodge because they are Victorians? The fact is they would be very interested in them.

Personally I'm hoping the scenario does turn out as you believe it would :-

1) Ball
2) Hodge/Judd - Most saints fans I've spoken too can't split the two of them
3) Polak
4) Sampi
5) Hodge/Judd

Who knows?

Hawthorn or St Kilda could pull a big surprise and the plans of all clubs could be thrown upside down.

Last year the standout kids were Riewoldt, Koschitzke and Didak. They went 1, 2 & 3 in the draft. The 5 players in question do seem the standouts in this years draft but what order and whether they will all go first hasn't been decided yet.

Yes you are right about that, nothing is certain.
But I am basing my comments on probability.
Hawthorne have come out publically saying they will take Ball.
So I am almost certain of that one.

Personly if Polak is still around by 2nd pick.
The saints would be nuts not to take him, as isnt he the only key position player of the lot??
History has shown that high picks used for midfielders are usually diasasterous.
Then again the saints seem keen on one of the 2 you mentioned.

Eagles WILL take polak if he is still available.
Dockers WILL take sampi if polak is taken.

Say for example that saint kilda throw a spanner in the works.
And take Polak.
Eagles will take sampi.
Fremantle in my opinion will take armstrong before they take the other 2.

But that scenerio is highly unlikely.

My point of the original post was that sampi will not go to any club below the dockers 4th pick.
Not possible

Thanks for that Doctor, I'll check them out

Phatandphreaky and Rooboy, thanks, I must have got my wires crossed somewhere, maybe if the AFL rules re developing areas, Qld and NSW, came in, then the Lions were gonna get Hale under those circumstances?

Oh well, can't always be right;)

Thanks for that Doctor, I'll check them out

Phatandphreaky and Rooboy, thanks, I must have got my wires crossed somewhere, maybe if the AFL rules re developing areas, Qld and NSW, came in, then the Lions were gonna get Hale under those circumstances?

Oh well, can't always be right;)

That's right , Brissy also tried last year to extend their 50km radius to get Riewoldt.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Hawthorn have come out publically saying they will take Ball.
So I am almost certain of that one.

When and where did they state this??

All the Clubs said so far is that he (Ball) is of course being looked at. Along with Judd and Hodge (and their is a whisper over here of Hodge being looked at strongly). The only bloke they have said they are not interested in is Polak and that could be a furphy anyway.

Ball will probably go with the pick, yet its no definite at this stage of the game.

Originally posted by amazonstud
From all accounts Rodan would be a good pick up except for his height. At 170cm the only player in the league smaller than him would be Libba. May be worth a punt late in the draft.

Now that Libba has indicated he will play one more year and the Dogs want him to continue Rodan at least may have a chance.

I like Richard Cole and as a smokey Josh Houlihan although there are 1 or 2 players who are young in this draft and may need an extra 2 years to develop. Certainly worth taking the chance.

i like the looks of josh houlihan aswell
i hope essendon picks up, he has a lot of flair and skill
and can find the goals
he has a bit of arrogance about him aswell, which im sure will see him fit in well at essendon ;)

id also take a punt on rodan, but im not too sure if anyone will

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Fremantle in my opinion will take armstrong before they take the other 2.

If they do they are crazier then I thought. Armstrong is a great young player, a high chance he'll go in the top 20, but Pick #5? At least Armstrong is a local Perth boy, so he won't go running back home which could happen if you take Hodge/Judd. I don't really mind who goes where, I'm hoping for #3 Polak, #6 Xavier Clarke, #22 Armstrong (slightly doubtful).

Heard a couple of comments from Port people about Jordan Barham and Josh Dicketts, both seem to have size and good credentials.
What can you Victorians in the know tell me about them?

Barham kicked 6 goals in the U18 GF and looked quite good in doing so but did kick some easy ones in the last quarter whn they were "moving away" with the game. A good prospect though. Dicketts is a 193cm key position player who can play both back and forward and performed very well at the draft camp. Both are likely top 20 selections with Dicketts the most likely to go earlier.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Draft Camp - Player by Player summary

Originally posted by walshy1993

didnt you say in a previous thread that taking a midfielder with a top 5 pick is an extreme risk?

ahh but I said the in cases where that type of player is desperately needed the risk maybe viable.
Black was traded and he was our main "skills man" and we were very low on them at hte begging of hte season.
Sampi can play that position to perfection.

If Polak is still around there is no doubt we would take him over Sampi.

Has anyone heard any updated whispers about which clubs are looking at what players?

I don't think clubs will leak out what their priorities and wants are. They don't want to give anything away. Other than juggling the high profile draftees with the first 5-6 selections the rest is open to speculation. It seems to me this is one of those drafts that could still produce good players late in the order due to the even spread of many of the players, particularly flankers, that are available.