Draft camp Results.

Can anyone tell me why they do both the 3km time trial and the beep test, aren't they essentially testing the same thing? You mostly see the same players on top in both tests....
The beep test tests for speed and endurance. As people start dropping out the beeps are starting to get pretty close together so it's interesting to see who can still run quickly as the endurance wears down.

I guess in the time trial guys can pace themselves a bit more and some might choose to bolt early or hang back and make a late charge. In the beep test it's a bit more controlled. Everyone hits the line at the same time and have to go at the same pace all the time.

Can anyone tell me why they do both the 3km time trial and the beep test, aren't they essentially testing the same thing? You mostly see the same players on top in both tests....

Beep test takes out the benefits of good running technique because the change in direction stops players getting a rhythm.

Interesting that David Zaharakis came 10th in the 20 metre sprint (2.94 sec). he has had an abductor strain and due to that couldnt complete the rest of his testing, impressive that he could still perform.

any thoughts on how well he will go in the draft?

Could you please tell me where you got that result from?

Where have they published the top 10 of each test etc.

Could you please tell me where you got that result from?

Where have they published the top 10 of each test etc.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22548836-11088,00.html

Agility

1. Aaron Joseph 7.91 sec
2. Lachlan Hill 8.05 sec
3. Clayton Hinkley 8.07 sec
4. Tom Collier 8.22 sec
5. Jackson Hall 8.26 sec
6. Andy Otten 8.29 sec
7. Scott Selwood 8.32 sec
8. Brendan Whitecross 8.36 sec
9. Callan Ward 8.38 sec
10. Steven Gaertner 8.39 sec

Repeat 30 Metre Sprints
1. Chris Kangars 23.59 secs
2. Patrick Dangerfield 23.96 sec
3. Cyril Rioli 24.01 sec
4. Lachlan Hall 24.08 sec
5. Haelen Kay 24.17 sec
6. David Gourdis 24.22 sec
7. Levi Greenwood 24.22 sec
8. Brendan Whitecross 24.25 sec
9. Chris Mayne 24.37 sec
10. Joel Smouha 24.48 sec

Vertical Jump
1. David Gourdis 81cm
2. Lachlan Hill 74cm
3. Patrick Dangerfield 73cm
4. James Mulligan 72cm
5. Levi Greenwood 71cm
6. Matthew Lobbe 70cm
Steven Gaertner 70cm
Simon Starling 70cm
9. Robbie Tarrant 68cm
James Polkinghorne 68cm
Mitchell Farmer 68cm

20-Metre Sprint
1. David Gourdis 2.83 sec
2. Steven Gaertner 2.88 sec
Clayton Hinkley 2.88 sec
4. Jarrad Grant 2.89 sec
5. Brendan Whitecross 2.91 sec
Aaron Joseph 2.91 sec
7. Tayte Pears 2.92 sec
Patrick Dangerfield 2.92 sec
9. Jarrhan Jacky 2.93 sec
10. David Zaharakis 2.94 sec

Shuttle Run (Beep test)
1. Cale Morton 15.2
2. Joel Smouha 15.1
3. Brendan Whitecross 14.10
4. Clayton Hinkley 14.9
5. Rhys Palmer 14.8
Nick Murphy 14.8
7. Scott Selwood 14.7
8. Chris Kangars 14.5
9. Patrick McGinnity 14.4
10. Matthew Lobbe 14.3
Scott Simpson 14.3

3km Time Trial
1. Joel Smouha 10min 23sec
2. Rhys Palmer 10.25
3. Cale Morton 10.32
4. Hugh Sandilands 10.42
5. Nick Murphy 10.48
6. Scott Selwood 10.49
Patrick McGinnity 10.49
Matthew Lobbe 10.49
9. Matthew Kreuzer 10.51
10. Tony Armstrong 10.54
Chris Kangars 10.54

brent connelly is now 202cm, meaning he has grown 3cm, how do u think this will boost his draft chances??? he may still have more growing left to do...

also tom bellchambers ran a 13.07 for the 3km time trial and dropped out in the late 11s in the beep test...will this hurt his chances of going high in the draft???
I'd be more interested in Connelly's weight than his height, as he was pretty skinny at the start of the year... Still, he was always a chance to be drafted in the ND, if not rookied, and this will certainly help his chances.

And as for Bellchambers... As strange as this sounds, that might actually make me MORE likely to draft him. I've been on him all year for not doing enough around the ground, but if he actually lacks the fitness to be running hard, then it is at least a possibility that once he starts doing AFL pre-seasons, this will improve.

Better that he's not fit enough to run around the ground than not having any idea where to go.

connelly weighs about 86-87kg even though he is listed as 84kg in the records...he is still quite light but like bellchambers (being a bit unfit) do u think this may help his chances?? because clubs have control over how much weight they put on him and how fast!!!

bellchambers does make a good comparison to mcintosh and with a few pre seasons under his belt he should be right:thumbsu:

Nah - Still don't think he compares to McIntosh in terms of atheltic ability.

For mine, he projects as a Darren Jolly-type of player, but perhaps if he improves his fitness he could become more useful around the ground.

brent connelly is now 202cm, meaning he has grown 3cm, how do u think this will boost his draft chances??? he may still have more growing left to do...

also tom bellchambers ran a 13.07 for the 3km time trial and dropped out in the late 11s in the beep test...will this hurt his chances of going high in the draft???

How do you know these facts godockers22? Where and how did you get a hold of this information?
ie. Connelly's current weight? Bellchambers test results?

well meanman...i actually know tommy bellchambers a bit and i asked him how he went in the running....how i found out about connelly was i asked him who the tallest guys at the camp were and he said dawson simpson at 206 followed by will sullivan at 202 along with brent connelly....

So you know someone quite well from Tasmania and also someone quite well from Morwell! It seems like your a very popular man. And i suppose you also asked Brent exactly how much he weighed?

i didnt say i knew brent connelly i simply asked tom who the tallest guys at the camp were!!!!

I followed power a bit this year and attended a few games. I have noticed all your posts include Brent Connelly. You must know him! Obviously you have seen him play? Or at least know him?

I am not saying Brent isn't a bad player! But my suspcicions are that you are infact Brent or a good friend.

From afl.com

3km time-trial
Joel Smouha – Mt Gravatt (10.23)
Rhys Palmer – East Fremantle (10.25)
Cale Morton – Claremont (10.32)
Tom Collier – Tassie Mariners (10.38)
Hugh Sandilands – Oakleigh Chargers (10.42)
Nick Murphy – South Adelaide (10.48)
Clayton Hinkley – North Ballarat Rebels (10.49)
Matthew Lobbe – Eastern Ranges (10.49)
Scott Selwood – Bendigo Pioneers (10.49)
Matthew Kreuzer – Northern Knights (10.51)
Absolute gun:thumbsu:
Praying Carlton pick him up

What are the chances of the SA boys like Murphy, MacNamara and Greenwood of being drafted and if so at what time if anyone has a clue? i see Murphy and Greenwood went well at the draft camp will this help there chances?

McNamara and Greenwood very good chances for mine.

Greenwood top 20 and McNamara top 50

if you ask me that was weak from whitecross not to run. he went through the skills session like there was nothing wrong then when it comes to do the 3km trial he is no where to be seen making excuses is something that will not get you drafted.

on a lighter note the 3km time trial times where abit slower than last year because of the amount of people who didnt run it players such as grimes who runs less than 10;15 and reid who runs less than 10 would have made the times look alot more convincing.

if you ask me that was weak from whitecross not to run. he went through the skills session like there was nothing wrong then when it comes to do the 3km trial he is no where to be seen making excuses is something that will not get you drafted.

on a lighter note the 3km time trial times where abit slower than last year because of the amount of people who didnt run it players such as grimes who runs less than 10;15 and reid who runs less than 10 would have made the times look alot more convincing.

How can you make excuses when you're nowhere to be seen? How do you know there was nothing wrong with him when he did the stuff on the first couple of days?

fair enough a bit of a dumb question! where do u think they will go then? i beleive they are all under rated especially Murphy he has great hands as well as endurance.

Is Kangars any good? Or is he just another Austin Lucy?

Kangers is an athlete...and for an athlete not as mobile as he should be. skills shocking, footy brain shocking. isolated to one position, which is key position back man on a tall dumb forward. a club would be taking a massive risk taking him as there is alot to work on until he gets near AFL standards

i disagree with some parts bingo and i reckon u only saw a few games this season. everyone knows that he can't play, atm. yes his skills need work, but they did improve massive during the year. his decision making is poor also, and yes his footy brain is shocking. however, i dont think he is isolated to one position. his two best games of the year were against bendigo where he smashed robbie tarrant in bendigo, and against northern at optus when he played on kruezer, and arguably beat him. it would be a risk to take him, but i think an afl club can develop him and he could turn out to be a gun running backman for an afl club (he could also get delisted in 2 years time but thats the rink u take!).

there has to be a point where taking an athlete over a footballer gets ridiculous. and i personally think this is pushing it. you can take someone with an awesome football brain, and sensational decision making and turn develop them into athletes. i dont think you can develop decision making and a football brain to a point thats AFL standard, you can to an extent, but not from where Kangars is coming from. i'll be honest and say i did only see a couple falcons games this year. but the Knights game was one of them. and thought Kruezer had a shocker and still got in the best.

Damn that's quick it's the same time krakouer did and this is what wikipedia said about His time of 2.83 seconds puts his result in the top handful of all time, out of nearly a thousand players over the last 12 or 13 years. not to bad at all.

Any idea on when we will here all the draftees times?

i heard jarrad boumann 197cm from dandenong ran 2.85 sec