Draft Crystal Ball

So, those of you in the know, if we end up with Myers, have we got a solid little midfielder? If not in the vein of Adam Selwood, in your honest opinions, is there an AFL player this young lad playing style resembles?

He is more in the Ryan Griffen mould of a player.

So, those of you in the know, if we end up with Myers, have we got a solid little midfielder? If not in the vein of Adam Selwood, in your honest opinions, is there an AFL player this young lad playing style resembles?

Ryan Griffen.

Maybe but Griffen was a pure onballer as a junior but has played off half back as an introduction to AFL. So I suppose you could say Myers is similar to Griffen's AFL work upto now but they will end up different players IMO.

Myers is the best fit for that. Palmer is top aged, took him a little while to develop into what he has, guys like Masten have been at his level and are younger. I think Palmer doesn't have much upside, where as Masten and myers would have a lot more upside.

Palmer improved immensely in 12 months, there's nothing to suggest he won't continue to improve. He was regularly gathering 20-25 possessions and among the top 3 or 4 players on the ground at WAFL level late in the season.

My Top 7 as I see it panning out...

1.) Carl - Kruezer
2.) Rich - Cothcin
3.) Wce - Masten
4.) Melb - Palmer
5.) Dogs - Henderson
6.) Ess - Morton
7.) Frem - Myers

Surprise will be Morton slipping to Pick 6....can't see Palmer lasting until Pick 7 after his form in the last month in the Wafl. Shame...but Myers looks a great kid...footy smarts....leadership potential....best at half back, but appears to have more of a chance cracking a midfield spot than Mundy. If I had my choice, I'd go for Ebert if Palmer wasn't available, but Myers will be good, & probably best to go local these days if they are 2 pretty evenly matched kids. Myers gives us some much needed running height as well...

Palmer can come home in 2009 :thumbsu:

So, if Myers played midfield as a colt .... and we are looking for a tall midfielder .... and he has both skill and pace ....???

If he was a 190cm natural midfielder with pace, fantastic skills and a strong mark then there is no way he'd fall to 7. The fact that he is an inbetween height without an obvious position at the next level is the reason he'll probably fall to our pick.

Talk is that Essendon have said they have drafted enough Midfielders recently (Who? Where? When?) And that they want the best available player. They are apparently looking at McEvoy the Ruck/Forward as a replacement for Lloyd down forward and to help with laycock in the ruck.

I hope you are right, but surely they have enough tall forwards.

like who? Gumbleton and Courtney Johns are the only two that spring to mind and Johns isn't exactly the greatest. Lucas is 29? Lloyd is 30? 31? They are building for the future.

Lloyd and Lucas are the same age iirc, 28 or 29. They both have a few seasons left, by which time Gumby should be established. They desperately need midfielders now.

If I was a 6 foot 4 key forward I'd be disappointed if I was picked by Essendon because it probably means you won't get a regular game until 2010-2011 regardless of vfl form.

Lucas turns 30 this year (And yes I mean 2007 - Dec 30), Lloyd will be 29 just afte rthe start of next season. Given Lloyds injury troubles of recent times, I give him 3 years and Lucas two. McEvoy can still get a game as a ruck though and resting down forward, and he's taller than 6ft 4! Given that Hille was also questioned last year and dropped, that makes it ideal for someone like him to develop. I mean look at Sellar from last year, he was the same situation and hasn't played a game because he's developing. Gumby played minimal games cause hes developing and wont be there till half way through this year I reckon.

They have plenty of midfielders, they got Bachar Houli last year and already have a plethora that Sheedy wouldnt give a game too.

Think you'll find their recruiting manager said they will pick a midfielder at 6 on Bomber TV or whatever its called.

Mm, Just what I heard from a bomber fan somewhere else thats all. Even if they do, we still have a chance at one of the boys cause I doubt the Bulldogs would overlook a key forward. If they do, then they may as well packup and go home because you can't win a game with 22 blokes at 5ft 10.

My prediction is that the guy we pick at 7 will be an injury prone player with heaps of potential, the bloke at pick 24 will be a solid fringe player, and the fella at pick 40 will become a 200 game legend of the club.

This is Freo we're talking about. :D

If he was a 190cm natural midfielder with pace, fantastic skills and a strong mark then there is no way he'd fall to 7. The fact that he is an inbetween height without an obvious position at the next level is the reason he'll probably fall to our pick.

An in-between height??? He's 190cm. What height would you like your tall midfielders to be?

A natural midfielder??? It is where he played colts football, so what makes you think he isn't a natural?; I personally don't know if he is/isn't. Without an "obvious position" is very likely simply the result of a player changing age groups, and coaches exploring his potential.

Pace and skills seem to be his major assets.

An in-between height??? He's 190cm. What height would you like your tall midfielders to be?

A natural midfielder??? It is where he played colts football, so what makes you think he isn't a natural?; I personally don't know if he is/isn't. Without an "obvious position" is very likely simply the result of a player changing age groups, and coaches exploring his potential.

By inbetween height I meant he's not your classic 183cm midfielder, 193cm KPP or 200cm ruckman. Guys his height often struggle to find a permanent position other than HBF at AFL level.

I'm only guessing because I don't watch many Perth colts games (;)), but I'd say he plays onball because he is their best player and that's where he can best influence the game. Having your best player as the 3rd tall defender would be a waste. That doesn't mean he isn't a midfielder or that he never will be, but that's the $64,000 question. Myers would have always been in the mix for our first pick so hopefully Smart has spent plenty of time watching Perth to gauge where he is at.

Do you see my point that if he is a 190cm genuine bonafide midfielder with pace, skill and a strong mark there's no way he'd be judged by many to be behind Masten and Palmer and ranked 5th to 10th best player in the draft pool. Morton's an outside receiver who'll play HBF/HFF/Wing and doesn't have the leadership skills of Myers and he'll go top 3 or 4.

Thats the thing. His pace is good for player his height but he is by no means quick for a midfielder. He will have sufficient pace but wont be bursting away from players. His kicking is very reliable and accurate but again its not ulta penetrating. He will be a very good AFL player, just not sure he is what Freo 'needs'. That said, if Masten and Palmer are gone, you would be well advised to go best available because there isnt anyone else that really jumps out who can fill a need for you guys at that selection.

I must admit I am working on the assumption that Palmer and Masten are gone. If not, then they sound just fine to me, probably prefering Masten. If those two are gone, then for me the selection choice become Ebert or Myers, possibly Rioli.

They seem the obvious options but you guys are one of the few clubs not to have spoken to Rioli and Ebert. I think you are just working on the assumption that one of Palmer, Masten or Myers will make it to 7. Which is a good chance but there is an outside chance they could all go before your pick.

Kruezer
Cotchin
Masten
Palmer
Morton
Myers

If the top six falls in this order it will be very disappointing. Aslong as the doggies go for a genuine KPP we are safe.