List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

There are heaps of good players around 23, example dmac and hugheyG around the mark hope we go for some speed instead of grunt tho, speed with a bit of xfactor? Who do you guys think, have a feeling with 23 we might do something out of the box we don't expect who could it be?

Best available really.
No idea at this stage.
Looks like there may be some speedy types around there like Galluci, Cox, Bolton who would be nice

Why no love for Powell-Pepper?

He's kicking in the Judd v Micky O match was ok without being spectacular, didn't miss a target from what I saw

Just think he could be a Dusty type
I'd be rapt if we got him with 23 mate, he looks the goods I reckon! Fast, tough and breaks lines!

I haven't been following the draft closely, but I believe there's a clear top 8, is that right?

With GWS moving up to pick 2, we're relying on ESS to bid on Setterfield with Pick 1, otherwise GWS get to pick from the pool. Which then they will match a bid for Setterfield after that. In that case, if we trade up to Pick 8 we're at risk of falling out of that top 8 and missing out on the elite, basically putting us back where we were with Pick 10 - i.e no mans land?

I haven't been following the draft closely, but I believe there's a clear top 8, is that right?

With GWS moving up to pick 2, we're relying on ESS to bid on Setterfield with Pick 1, otherwise GWS get to pick from the pool. Which then they will match a bid for Setterfield after that. In that case, if we trade up to Pick 8 we're at risk of falling out of that top 8 and missing out on the elite, basically putting us back where we were with Pick 10 - i.e no mans land?

Makes sense to me, though I don't know if there's a clear top 8 or not. More names than that have been bandied around.

Not really it seems like a clear of likely top 2 picks then a blanket up until 8 or 9 as teams rate players differently then another 10 or so after that that are remarkably even too but have a few question marks. Scharenberg for example seems to be a mid teen to mid 20s and probably a bit of a Seb Ross type of unremarkable solid mids.

Pick 8 could really work for us, as if things remain largely the same as they are at the mo, it looks likely that Bowes will be bid on before one of Gold Coast's early picks- meaning they almost certainly use one of them on him- and then there's Freo at pick 7, who might select English, who we prolly have no interest in.

Could mean that we then have the chance to get one of the supposedly clear top 6 "non-academy mid types" in Clugg/Mcgrath/Ainsworth/Brodie/Taranto/SPS, not to mention Scrimshaw or Logue, if we'd prefer one of them.

Will be stoked if we get that pick out of one of the 2017 firsts and maybe a later pick swap.

who is that beast? draft range?
Josh Begley. His club (Eastern) reckons 40-60, I could see someone take a flyer on him as early as the late 2nd.

Very impressive in the repeat sprints.

They've lost the plot if they give up 10 for Hanley.

He's a very good player at his best, I think it's not crazy overs, I reckon they need some run off the backline and he is capable playing on a wing.

What are you thinking they'll give up for him? I reckon 10, with maybe an upgrade from 4 to 3 and either a swap of later pix to their advantage or a pick like 30 coming along with him.
I would have thought pick 22 was spot on. He's 28 next year. Maybe throw in a later pick and they can try and upgrade it a bit.
An upgrade of 4 to 3 is pretty big for GC, stops a Lions bid for Bowes at 3.
Yeah that's a fair point.

He's a very good player at his best, I think it's not crazy overs, I reckon they need some run off the backline and he is capable playing on a wing.
If he was 25 maybe, but he's into the back end of his career and GC aren't pushing for a flag.

I'd argue they are much more desperate for midfielders than running outside players like Hanley also.