List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Haha, you got there eventually!
Yes, Tom Lee is the only one that has a contract.
Templeton, Shenton, Fisher, Murdoch are all gone. Templeton/Fisher could get rookied, but I don't think we need to
Lee has a contract?

i reckon Rhys Mathieson is the perfect comparison, he doesn't kick well, he looks a bit manic when he plays, he's sort of appealingly unappealing or something. He plays a really confident style of footy and is very assertive making shit happen. I actually like Rhys Mathieson by the way it's not a negative -both could turn into excellent players. The assertive thing is a trait usually found in guys like Fyfe, Danger and Selwood etc and is a bit of an intangible. I reckon his ceiling isn't as high as those guns but if we look at guys like Lenny Hayes possibly more in his range of expectation if he gets to his apex.

i dont think he will be a mid and i dont think he is an inside mid like matho

Shenton, Murdoch, Fisher out. If Lee does have a contract as speculated someone needs to be moved to the rookie list. If I had my way I would move Wright and Lee to the rookie list. The addition of Brown and Carlisle hurts a few of our fringe defenders but they've got to earn their spots.

Has anyone claimed him on here?

I'm wanna do a Barrels and live vicariously through a kid.

Too late. Picked Zac Fisher up during the championships. Have talked him up earlier in the thread. Can win the ball against the flow.

He would have been a reach at pick 10, but is just perfect at a second round pick.

Too late. Picked Zac Fisher up during the championships. Have talked him up earlier in the thread. Can win the ball against the flow.

He would have been a reach at pick 10, but is just perfect at a second round pick.

Good shit mate. I'll ride shotgun if that's cool.

And if someone else has called dibs on shotgun, just tie a dingy to the tow bar and I'll skid out the back like a mad kent.

Zed Fish pick 23 thanks.

i dont think he will be a mid and i dont think he is an inside mid like matho

He looks nice picking the ball up on the run and looks like he could easily become one to me. I assumed he'd be a half forward until he developed a tank.

Could very well be someone we already have...

Nick Coughlan.

Yeah, I love the way Cogs plays, I reckon he has something. He played well against North up in Wang or where ever it was preseason and his VFL form was solid. He looks likely.

Only Footscray defender to hold Paddy when he had a day out for Sandy in 2015.

He's tall enough to play KPD, but I wouldn't want to compromise his athleticism by bulking him up too much.

i reckon Rhys Mathieson is the perfect comparison, he doesn't kick well, he looks a bit manic when he plays, he's sort of appealingly unappealing or something. He plays a really confident style of footy and is very assertive making shit happen. I actually like Rhys Mathieson by the way it's not a negative -both could turn into excellent players. The assertive thing is a trait usually found in guys like Fyfe, Danger and Selwood etc and is a bit of an intangible. I reckon his ceiling isn't as high as those guns but if we look at guys like Lenny Hayes possibly more in his range of expectation if he gets to his apex.

He looks nice picking the ball up on the run and looks like he could easily become one to me. I assumed he'd be a half forward until he developed a tank.

I saw Matho play in both years pre draft and I've likewise seen SPP play in both years and there are some pretty big differences between their attributes and the way they go about it.

Matho plays mostly inside and can rack up plenty of the footy, but lacks speed and a tank, whereas SPP plays more across HF or HB and is not the type who accumulates a lot of the footy, like a Matho will, but unlike Matho, he has really good endurance and linebreaking speed. He is more the type who will get less of the pill, but make more of an impact per disposal and be more likely to make game-breaking/high-impact plays.

As such, the one that I always think of when wanting a comparison for SPP is Mav Weller, but possibly a better version (reaching good heights a lot earlier than Mav did and possibly with a higher ceiling and more versatility). Both have a really good tank and explosive speed, but don't really rack up a lot of the footy (hence not playing midfield) and prior to the last year or so Mav's kicking was likewise a real issue.

Lee has a contract?
I am lead to believe he does. There's an article claiming that he signed somewhere on the Internet (claiming Clairmont or some WAFL club was targeting Lee, but he's re-signed with the Saints). Additionally, Richo is pretty positive in his end of year assessment.

I thought Tom Lee played pretty well at the start of the year, but the fact he played very few AFL games afte being on our list for several years now is not a good sign.
I still have this idea in my head that Lee can be an effective third tall/medium defender (aka Dempster) with good kicking skills, I might be a bit crazy tho.

He is going to be seriously up against it if he does keep his spot because we now have the two big units in Carlisle and Brown (and hopefully Goddard as back-up if he gets back into it quickly) playing tall, and then Richo will almost certainly prefer the likes of Dempster, Gilbert and Roberton in the 3rd tall role, as they have more versatility and ability to play small than Tom. Richo really likes to have that tall/small versatility and Lee doesn't really have that.

I think he could go OK at a team that plays more of a zone set-up in defence (with less 1-on-1 contests) and where they try to take intercept marks, but I don't see much of a future with us, with the way we set up. He is just not Richo's type, either up forward, or down back, unfortunately for him.

Why don't you like SPP Barrels ?

I see the knocks on him, but he looks like a real competitor.
I reckon he's the type who will be good to have in your team in finals. Will break games open by busting through packs and breaking a line with his run.

Is also meant to have excellent leadership qualities. I believe he captained Australia in the AIS U17's or something, so that would be a bonus.

He is going to be seriously up against it if he does keep his spot because we now have the two big units in Carlisle and Brown (and hopefully Goddard as back-up if he gets back into it quickly) playing tall, and then Richo will almost certainly prefer the likes of Dempster, Gilbert and Roberton in the 3rd tall role, as they have more versatility and ability to play small than Tom. Richo really likes to have that tall/small versatility and Lee doesn't really have that.

I think he could go OK at a team that plays more of a zone set-up in defence (with less 1-on-1 contests) and where they try to take intercept marks, but I don't see much of a future with us, with the way we set up. He is just not Richo's type, either up forward, or down back, unfortunately for him.
Yeah, I don't think he'll have much of an impact if he keeps his spot on the list, but who knows. Wright pulled a role out of his ass, maybe Tom can too.

Ironically I reckon if he gets a contract for next year it's because we want him as depth as a tall forward because after Roo we have diddly.

I reckon he's the type who will be good to have in your team in finals. Will break games open by busting through packs and breaking a line with his run.

Is also meant to have excellent leadership qualities. I believe he captained Australia in the AIS U17's or something, so that would be a bonus.
God knows we need a bit of line breaking speed through the middle.

Zac fisher highlights ... I thought he was beaten against vic metro, but showed great composure and never dropped his head. Also, his highlights in that game were super, though limited. His biggest flaw is height at 174cm.

For pick 36, I am thinking Zac Sproule... GWS might let him go despite being an academy talent and he'd be available as a hard leading winger. Has modelled his game on Riewoldt, though not within a cooee of the same talent, he can still help cover similar tall winger style that Riewoldt plays.

Wonder if we have any interest in Kayle Kirby?

As soon as I heard about him after he kicked those 9 goals in two games in the VFL (including 5 against Sandy) I thought he'd be just the type that Richo would love to have in his team.

Meant to hit hard like a Byron Pickett defensively, but with a bit of Cyril-like skill and goalkicking ability to go with it.

So basically like Nathan Wright up forward defensively, but with much more of an offensive, scoreboard-hitting game.

Have been surprised at the lack of talk about someone who went so well against senior VFL opposition. No-one seems to rate him.

Why don't you like SPP Barrels ?

I see the knocks on him, but he looks like a real competitor.
Just not a fan.

I don't see the positives in quite the same vein as some of you, and I think his improvements may well crumble under real pressure. I don't really see this 'line-breaking speed' that people bang on about either.

He'll probably go on to play 300 games, win a Norm and multiple premierships and make me look a right flog though, who knows!

The way I see it the following players will probably be gone by pick 13 or so.
Mc Luggage, McGrath, Bowes (GC),Brody,Ainsworth,English,Petrovski-Seton,Setterfield,Taranto,Perryman,Scrimshaw,Scheer,Marshall

That leaves players like Simpkin , Venables, Logue, Berry, Florent ,Rotham a possibility but unlikely.

So then possible for our first draft pick we have. ( If my second hand tiny descriptions are bad let me know - but i'd rather focus on negatives now than after the draft ).
Bolton: A small forward from W.A. Magic with the ball, but may have a weak defensive game and not have the traits to ever go through the midfield.
Gallucci: A 183cm general mid/fwd/def possibly with inconsistent kicking.
Battle: A 192cm key forward, not particularly agile.
Kerr: A 194cm forward from W.A. Don't know much about him.
Witherden: A Medium Defender with good skills but average pace.
Scharenberg: A medium paced inside mid, but with good skills. From S.A.
Powell-Pepper: A 188cm Utility from W.A. Known to turn it over by foot.
Clarke: 187cm Inside mid, good hands not so good feet. Wins contested ball.
Villis: South Australian small defender.
Drew: Very very good inside mid with iffy foot skills.
Fisher: 175cm W.A. Sounds like not much at all to dislike except at 175cm 61kg, most of the WAFL players could throw him round.

The way I see it the following players will probably be gone by pick 13 or so.
Mc Luggage, McGrath, Bowes (GC),Brody,Ainsworth,English,Petrovski-Seton,Setterfield,Taranto,Perryman,Scrimshaw,Scheer,Marshall

That leaves players like Simpkin , Venables, Logue, Berry, Florent ,Rotham a possibility but unlikely.

So then possible for our first draft pick we have. ( If my second hand tiny descriptions are bad let me know - but i'd rather focus on negatives now than after the draft ).
Bolton: A small forward from W.A. Magic with the ball, but may have a weak defensive game and not have the traits to ever go through the midfield.
Gallucci: A 183cm general mid/fwd/def possibly with inconsistent kicking.
Battle: A 192cm key forward, not particularly agile.
Kerr: A 194cm forward from W.A. Don't know much about him.
Witherden: A Medium Defender with good skills but average pace.
Scharenberg: A medium paced inside mid, but with good skills. From S.A.
Powell-Pepper: A 188cm Utility from W.A. Known to turn it over by foot.
Clarke: 187cm Inside mid, good hands not so good feet. Wins contested ball.
Villis: South Australian small defender.
Drew: Very very good inside mid with iffy foot skills.
Fisher: 175cm W.A. Sounds like not much at all to dislike except at 175cm 61kg, most of the WAFL players could throw him round.
I think we need a longer list.......

What impact do we think GC having so many picks will be - surely they're not going to just keep picking mids.....

Brisbane are pretty much after the same players as us though unfortunately and they have what 3 or 4 before our pick......