List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

liked it, but our selections seriously stunk :-(
Not too many better options at 23 I didn't think and the 3rd one makes sense, as we would probably be after an athletic "3rd tall defender" who can play both tall and small, so probably the only one I didn't think much of was Morrish, but he is meant to have a ripping kick on him, so we could probably do worse.

Himmelberg is one that interests me at that 2nd pick. Seems like there could be some really decent tall defensive options there, including possibly Sproule.

G'day boys and girls from a rather warm, weirdly sunny (and not invaded by Trump yet) Canada!
Great work over the Trade period, I kept an eye on the board and was very happy with the results.

I apologise for not posting, I wanted to but unfortunately I have spent the last few weeks with my Old Man who is not doing so well. All I can say is Cancer sucks and to those of you who have experienced it, are experiencing it or are watching some one you love experience it, my heart go's out to you.

As for the Draft, the Gresh was my fav but this time last year but this year I am less sure. For a while there I thought Venables was going to drop our way, but it appears he is rising again on the phantom drafts. I still think he may slide. Bolton would be an interesting addition and his speed is a big plus, but only if he can become a winger and the defensive side of his game can be worked on. I would be happy with a number of the KPD kids that are available, but will a decent one fall our way?

The thing that interest me most was Cal's mock draft pod cast comment: St Kilda are not really lacking for much. This made me very happy, and its a great sign.

He then went on to point out that most of the supporters think we need leg speed. He is right, most of us do comment on that here, but are we right? We moved the ball very quickly last year, just with boot and hand as well as quick thinking. I would like more leg speed, but I would only like it if it comes with quality foot skills and a good footy brain.

Just some thoughts.

Yep, it's a bugger.

Wecome Cedric Cox.
Because of his foot skills speed, character, no go home factor CEDRIC COX will be our first pick.
I may have been a bit harsh on him. Him coming from kimberlys as a kid to do what hes done is a great effort. While not dominating to make all stars is amazing and his skills / speed are as good as any.
And has shown courage with the flight and tackling pressure.

23 Cedric Cox
36 Drew, Morrish, Allison or Begley.

Wecome Cedric Cox.
Because of his foot skills speed, character, no go home factor CEDRIC COX will be our first pick.
I may have been a bit harsh on him. Him coming from kimberlys as a kid to do what hes done is a great effort. While not dominating to make all stars is amazing and his skills / speed are as good as any.
And has shown courage with the flight and tackling pressure.

23 Cedric Cox
36 Drew, Morrish, Allison or Begley.
Not sure if srs

Not too many better options at 23 I didn't think and the 3rd one makes sense, as we would probably be after an athletic "3rd tall defender" who can play both tall and small, so probably the only one I didn't think much of was Morrish, but he is meant to have a ripping kick on him, so we could probably do worse.

Himmelberg is one that interests me at that 2nd pick. Seems like there could be some really decent tall defensive options there, including possibly Sproule.

I think I'd prefer Rotham if it played out like that.

Interesting how earlier on, everyone was rating Brodie ahead of Taranto. We were all like "oh we probably won't be able to get Brodie , we'd have to settle for Taranto "
Funny how the consensus has changed, its not like they've played any footy meanwhile.

http://footyprophet.com/2016-draft-preview-st-kilda/

2016 Draft Preview: St Kilda

St Kilda was one of the big winners of the trade period, strengthening its 2017 draft stocks by dealing with a desperate Hawthorn who required an early draft selection to pass onto Gold Coast for Jaeger O’Meara.

It saw St Kilda give up pick No.10 and pick No.68 for Hawthorn’s pick No.23, pick No.36 and next year’s first round selection.

Using the AFL’s Draft Index Value points system, it becomes much clearer just how well St Kilda benefitted from the trade.

Let’s say hypothetically Hawthorn finish 5th in 2017 like 2016, the Saints would land pick No.14 next year and have collected a combined 2478 points from the trade.

Hawthorn on the other hand gained a combined 1454 points from the deal, giving St Kilda a +1024 point differential.

While Jaeger O’Meara could become anything, it was an agreement that posed no threat or risk for the Saints.

It is now brilliantly placed in the 2017 draft, but still relevant in 2016 with selections 23, 36 and 50.

On top of that gold mine, it added the highly rated Jack Steele from GWS, the opportunity starved Koby Stevens from the premier and strengthened its KPD stocks by signing Nathan Brown as a free agent. So many ticks for St Kilda’s list management negotiations and strategy.

http://footyprophet.com/2016-draft-preview-st-kilda/

2016 Draft Preview: St Kilda

St Kilda was one of the big winners of the trade period, strengthening its 2017 draft stocks by dealing with a desperate Hawthorn who required an early draft selection to pass onto Gold Coast for Jaeger O’Meara.

It saw St Kilda give up pick No.10 and pick No.68 for Hawthorn’s pick No.23, pick No.36 and next year’s first round selection.

Using the AFL’s Draft Index Value points system, it becomes much clearer just how well St Kilda benefitted from the trade.

Let’s say hypothetically Hawthorn finish 5th in 2017 like 2016, the Saints would land pick No.14 next year and have collected a combined 2478 points from the trade.

Hawthorn on the other hand gained a combined 1454 points from the deal, giving St Kilda a +1024 point differential.

While Jaeger O’Meara could become anything, it was an agreement that posed no threat or risk for the Saints.

It is now brilliantly placed in the 2017 draft, but still relevant in 2016 with selections 23, 36 and 50.

On top of that gold mine, it added the highly rated Jack Steele from GWS, the opportunity starved Koby Stevens from the premier and strengthened its KPD stocks by signing Nathan Brown as a free agent. So many ticks for St Kilda’s list management negotiations and strategy.

Reading this gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling :p and the rest of the article is very positive too.
Considering where the list was a few short years ago, our list managers and recruiters overall have done a superb job.

I have it on good authority that Brennan Cox is lazy off-field. He isn't talented enough to get away with that.

Lucky for us we are looking to draft Cedric.

Then next year we can offer a first rounder to whoever drafts SPS ;)

Those Emma Quayle write-up's are pretty awesome, like BA's.

After reading her write-up on Marshall I'm now a LOT more excited about the prospect that we might end up with him.

Earlier in the year he was talked about as possibly going top 5, but then his performances dropped right off later in the year, which now has him lasting as far as our first, but there has been talk that he was playing sore at the end and now having read this (the bolded in particular):

"He's had no base, no preparation, no pre-season and so to do what he's done this year has been quite amazing. I told the clubs about a month before the end of the season that he was cooked – he's had such a big year off no preparation – but he'll freshen up. He's grown rapidly in the last year – a lot of his junior development was as as midfielder – so he still has plenty of development as a big fella to go." (Lee Fraser, Murray talent manager)

it's perfectly understandable that he really dropped off as the year wore on.

Also really interesting that he's grown rapidly of late and previously played midfield (which probably explains why he's so good and clean below his knees), which means he's probably just getting used to playing FF and how to use his body and so-on and may still be growing, which suggests he still has heaps of development in him. Also has a late-year birthday, which adds to that.

Write ups by Emma Quayle:

Josh Battle (Dandenong Stingrays)

Born: 1.9.1998

Height: 192cm

Weight: 90kg

AFL bio: Tall forward with strong hands both overhead and on the lead. Has a huge tank and work ethic, which get him to numerous contests as a lead up forward. Kicked 11 goals in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, winning All-Australian honours. Impressed with six-goal haul for Stingrays in final against Murray Bushrangers to cap off his year. Member of the NAB AFL Academy.

"Josh has become Mr Professional. At 17 he was torn between footy and that's when the penny dropped a bit. He went away with the AFL Academy to the US and the only thing he wanted to do was win the three-kilometre time trial, which he did. He'd been running with his brother to get himself really fit and give himself a good chance. His willpower is a real strength – when he wants to do something he'll do it. He's a bit like a young Jack Riewoldt in that he's going to play up the ground, hit up and then burn his bloke coming back. Everyone's question is where he'll end up playing but he's definitely a forward. He knows where the goals are and he has a beautiful kicking style. He runs a 15 beep, so he's that high forward who can get up and down the ground and he doesn't like people standing in his hole so he'll make sure that if you do it once, you don't do it again. He's really coachable and a humble kid as well."

Mark Wheeler, Dandenong talent manager

Todd Marshall (Murray Bushrangers)

Born: 8.10.1998

Height: 198cm

Weight: 87kg

AFL bio: Emerging tall forward who played representative cricket in England last year before focusing on AFL this year. Showed real potential with his marking, agility and elite goal sense. Averaged 2.3 goals for NSW/ACT and 1.8 goals for the Allies in the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

"He's had no base, no preparation, no pre-season and so to do what he's done this year has been quite amazing. He didn't put together the one full game we were after, but he's shown plenty of signs and we know how much talent he has. He's a competitive kid, some of his run-down tackles and work at ground level has been really good and whether he'll end up a top five pick is up for debate but I think he'll end up a very good AFL player. I told the clubs about a month before the end of the season that he was cooked – he's had such a big year off no preparation – but he'll freshen up. He's grown rapidly in the last year – a lot of his junior development was as as midfielder – so he still has plenty of development as a big fella to go."

Lee Fraser, Murray talent manager

"He jumped up early in the year and has been a little bit inconsistent, but he hasn't been exposed to the level for long enough yet. He makes the most of the opportunities he gets in terms of kicking goals, but he could create even more by being more aggressive and more defensive at times. He might be one someone drafts and plays back for a year, just to teach him a bit more before he goes forward again. But he has some real talent in terms of cleanliness, finding space, kicking goals and jumping on heads. Those sorts of players are hard to find."

Darren Denneman, AFL NSW

Zachary Sproule (Murray Bushrangers)

Born: 12.5.1998

Height: 197cm

Weight: 84kg

AFL bio: Versatile tall forward or defender with a huge tank and an excellent long kick, whether from defence or at goal. Played mainly forward for NSW/ACT and Allies this year and played back for Murray Bushrangers in the TAC Cup. Member of the NAB AFL Academy and GWS Giants Academy.

"I've really enjoyed some of Zach's work down back late this year. He's shown some real athleticism down there. He's still learning the nuances of the game but he runs well, he kicks the ball well and he's a pretty good package. I think it's been good for him to get experience in different parts of the ground this year and become a more rounded player, and I think being settled in an AFL environment will be good for him as well. He's had about eight coaches in the last two years. He's a popular kid, the kids enjoy his company and he's very likeable."

Lee Fraser, Murray talent manager

"I love Sprouley. He has a great work ethic. He's like a number of our players in that he needs to use how to use his body better. He can outrun his opponent and beat him on he the burst but he'll become an even better player when he develops some size and learns how to push and shove. I think he's just starting to understand how versatile he can be. We played him predominantly forward but he pinch hit down back at times and it won't hurt him to play down there for a while when he gets to an AFL club. He's quietly competitive and was very popular amongst the group."

Darren Denneman, AFL NSW

I'm warming to idea of getting Ridley at 23. If Florent, Marshall or Battle is gone, I think he could be a really good pick for us. He seems to have a bit of a DMac feel, being picked on potential and glimpses rather than being overly dominant yet.

I think at 36, we could hope for Mutch or Begley but maybe Poholke is a more likely chance.

Then take a project player at 61.

Looking at last years phantom drafts, Twomey had 19 of the first 24 within 3 places of where they were picked.
By contrast Knightmare and Snoop dog had 15 and 13.
Also interesting where they all got mucked up.
Adelaide unexpectedly bidding for a GWS tall ( Himmelberg) who was tipped to go later, then taking Doedee almost a round earlier than expected.
Hawks picked Lovell earlier than thought, and Cunningham slid to the Blues.

ie: it was more later rated picks being picked early than early picks sliding significantly. ( Interestingly Mathieson was NOT in Twomeys or Knightmares top 24).

If we see a similar thing ( a few smokeys being picked early ) it can only mean some highly rated players slide our way.
Surely Carlton couldn't take something weird like Boekhorst or Bootsma at 5 could they ? (He asks hopefully ).
Adelaide are in there too .

The one that might get taken early is Luke Ryan. Been linked to Sydney at 19. Would be freaking awesome for us if they did that I reckon.

Maybe with two picks in a row before our first Brisbane might also reach for someone who fills a need.

hey aussierulesrules when do you think we will start hear the more solid order rumours fall. like we did with hugh goddard sliding to our pick
With only a week to go I imagine we'll start hearing more and more as every day passes from now on.

The one that might get taken early is Luke Ryan. Been linked to Sydney at 19. Would be freaking awesome for us if they did that I reckon.

Maybe with two picks in a row before our first Brisbane might also reach for someone who fills a need.

There's been a few surprises in the last couple years first rounds;

Apeness and Lang in 2013
Boekhorst in 2014
Doedee in 2015

Reckon we can bank on at least one club making an unexpected pick.

Looking at last years phantom drafts, Twomey had 19 of the first 24 within 3 places of where they were picked.
By contrast Knightmare and Snoop dog had 15 and 13.
Also interesting where they all got mucked up.
Adelaide unexpectedly bidding for a GWS tall ( Himmelberg) who was tipped to go later, then taking Doedee almost a round earlier than expected.
Hawks picked Lovell earlier than thought, and Cunningham slid to the Blues.

ie: it was more later rated picks being picked early than early picks sliding significantly. ( Interestingly Mathieson was NOT in Twomeys or Knightmares top 24).

If we see a similar thing ( a few smokeys being picked early ) it can only mean some highly rated players slide our way.
Surely Carlton couldn't take something weird like Boekhorst or Bootsma at 5 could they ? (He asks hopefully ).
Adelaide are in there too .

i think its more likely to come from a club that has two picks in the first round

EDIT: did a sandra

People suggest it is not a strong draft for talls - its obvious they are not tip 10 or 20 but there is plenty of capable later draft picks as evidenced after reading those summaries!

Thanks AR!
Yeah it looks like there are plenty of "project types" who are worth taking a punt on if you've got the patience. Some clubs might not want to wait 3 years for a Marshall to develop enough to be of value to their team, but with us having Paddy/Bruce/Skunk/Roo/Carlisle/Goddard already, we're a team who could definitely afford to take the punt and give them the time they'll need.